Customer Reviews for Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   89
4 stars   8
3 stars   6
2 stars   3
1 star   8

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(114 customer reviews)
Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun
$49.99

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 89 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fun and Practical

    By Joe on 05/27/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I bought the Bug-A-Salt gun along with other things in my order. The idea to have a gun which will knock down bugs from 3 feet away was entriguing. I have long gone through the ritual of taking a towel and swatting flies, mosquitoes, and other critters, only to miss them and have to track them down again. Then there are the spiders on the ceiling which I needed to stand on a chair to reach. With the Bug-A-Salt, one shot kills from 3 feet away are common, and, with no mess to clean up on the wall. The latest trophy was a millipede. It took 3 shots though, but in the end, did not have a leg to stand on. With a bit of practice, you can take out flies in flight too. Finally, there is a weapon which allows my wife to face down a double-ugly spider and take it out her self instead of shreiking in terror. Operation is easy. Fill with table salt, pump the slide action, then take the safety off and you are ready to fire. Take a couple test shots at a sheet of aluminum foil to see how the shot pattern and sights align. You are ready to go hunting. The only problem I saw with it was when my (older) kids saw it, they wanted one too to take home. Will have to order a couple more now. As with anything which fires a projectile (salt), the same care you would take with any gun, BB gun, etc applies. Make sure the stray salt which does not hit the bug has a safe backstop and the stray salt will not enter electrical outlets or electronics. Otherwise, have fun.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    342 of 380 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fun

    By Vince on 12/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Bug-A-Salt has never made fly and insect control more fun. Not only will it eviscerate flies from a good distance, but any other insect or unwanted spiders in the house without harming the surface behind. Great weapon for the wife as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    176 of 203 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fun Gun - Deadly

    By David on 12/13/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This gun works as advertized and is easy to use. It takes out snails and slugs as well. Well built!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    141 of 165 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I LOVE IT, BUT IT DOES HAVE SOME LIMITS!!! (of course!)

    By Tia on 04/07/2013

    I gave several of these guns to adult members of my family who are gun enthusiasts. Such a surprise was the one who has the biggest and best collection of guns than the others!. He absolutely LOVES his BUG-A-SALT!!!!! He couldn't hardly wait until he got home and showed his co-workers in the field how great it worked! This gun is great on flies, slugs, and other creatures with soft skeletal bodies. Do not expect it to work on bug with the harder extraskeletal bodies, i.e. wasps, hornets, etc. To see what your spray shot is, practice with a piece of aluminum foil to see what the spray pattern is from different feet away from the bug. Always perform maintenance on your gun when not loaded, just as you would any other firearm! Happy Hunting! Kodos to DoMyOwnPestControl for becoming a distributor for BUG-A-SALT!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    111 of 130 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fun and efficient way to eliminate little pests

    By Jenni on 02/07/2013

    Who knew shooting salt was practical! I bought 2 of these for my brother-in-law and nephew for Christmas. Not only do these work, but it provided hours of entertainment just watching them hunt down flies and spiders. I highly recommend this salt gun, especially for that hunter- minded individual that would enjoy adding a little fun in taking down those pesky critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    105 of 120 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Be sure to test fire for a good pattern.

    By Cole on 10/31/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Mine shoots low, but once I compensate for that it's great. I've even taken a flying wasp down from 3 ft. It won't kill them, but it will shred their wings so you can finish them off easier. Much better than flailing around with a fly swatter!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    64 of 73 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love the Bug-A-Salt, makes killing flies fun!

    By Sam on 06/05/2014

    I got one as a gift from a buddy a few years ago when it was first in production. It works great, I just killed my first fly this season a few days ago. It often makes you wish you had flies to be able to kill. If they are fast, shoot from a distant to injure then go in for the kill that will shred them to peices. Sorry I had too much fun with this shotgun. By the way, this is NOT A TOY, the salt at that pressure hurts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    60 of 66 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bug-A-Salt

    By Don on 03/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I actually bought this to shoot slugs in my yard and it works just as planned. It is very well made and kinda fun to shoot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    36 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love it

    By Rick on 04/19/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Beats a rolled up newspaper every time. I love this thing. Would like smaller size but it feels solid, works very well. I'm going to buy another. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    32 of 38 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    bug-a-salt

    By Anonymous on 06/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This, is without a doubt, the most fun way to eradicate pesty vermin. The gun is well made. best darn pest control device I have ever purchased. Bees and wasps get a little testy when you shoot at them. So far, no stings yet.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Salt shotgun

    By Anonymous on 08/03/2013

    This is about the neatest fly killer on the planet.The only thing better is to own two of them.So reliable,deadly and fun to use. Everyone wants one once they use it. These will make Great!!!! Xmas gifts for all the adults in the family.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bug-A-Salt Gun

    By Rodgers on 04/25/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This product is Great! I bought two and gave one to a friend. He showed it to his neighbor and he bought one immediately. This past weekend my cousin came for a visit and I showed it to him and he bought one. This is a product that sells itself!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works!

    By G on 07/11/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I am a volunteer at a youth camp. Flies are always a problem, especially in the kitchen. We use various aids to control and get rid of flies in the kitchen. The Bug-A-Salt gun is now one of them. I can get take out the flies that refuse to sit still for the fly swatter and it is fun. Does not make a mess with the salt or with the flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bug-a-Salt Gun

    By David on 05/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This device is excellent, works as advertised and is fun to use. The flies disappear! I bought 2 more as gifts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    FLY GUN IS AWESOME

    By Keene on 06/02/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Skeptical when I purchased it, but it is very cool. Family loves using it when we are on the patio cooking and chilling. The men have competitions on how many they can shoot. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fun with Salt

    By Gary on 12/13/2013

    When my son first showed me the video, I thought what a gimmick. Then when he presented me with a Bug-A-Salt for my RV I was instantly sold. Constructed sturdy, operates without a flaw. What an ingenious idea. Now my friends want to know where to get them, and I am excited about giving them your information.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Gun

    By Clyde on 06/18/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have to say that this Bug-A-Salt Fly Gun is everything I expected. I Love it!!! I shot a Bee from about 2-1/2 feet away and it took it out. I would recomend it to everyone. The gun is very well made. I thought it would be made more like a cheap toy, I was impressed. Buy one.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product and lots of fun

    By Tony on 07/14/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased 2 of these guns. One for me and one for my son(37 yrs old). We have so much fun with these guns out on the deck. My neighbor saw these guns and he ordered some. The customer service was great and the shipping was extremely FAST. Thanks for a fun product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Assault A Bug --

    By Ronald on 12/25/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Really interesting and fun way to annihilate fly's and other small insects. I tested firing into a sheet of Aluminum foil. Pattern is good. Haven't seen any residual salt. Works in corners and places where fly swatters don't. Gun is far enough away to not cause the bug to fly off. The only negative is the size vs the fly swatter. And its a good conversation piece to boot!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fly repellant

    By Rev. on 11/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    For months on end I had a problem with flies landing on my monitor. That sort of thing becomes maddening. My poor monitor almost got punched more than once. So I ordered this thing. Up until the day before it arrived, the flies kept landing on the monitor. And the day it came, the flies stopped. The only thing this has been fired at is the palm of my hand (it stings). Oh, and it was tried on the monitor to see if it would damage it (it didn't). But it's apparently an utterly fantastic fly repellent. Maybe they all moved out when they heard it was coming.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great gift

    By Dan on 12/27/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Purchased three after seeing and using a friends salt rifle. Gave step son and so in law one, then kept the last one for me. A guy gift!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fly Sniper

    By Darlene on 07/03/2017

    My husband is the Fly sniper since I bought him the Bug a salt gun. I think he leaves the door open on purpose , just so those Darn Flies can come in. And I went to fill the salt shaker and I had no salt in the pantry, what did I say honey!!!!! HE SAYS what? It was Rusty the dog. Anyway my husband totally enjoys this gun he says Chris Kyle has nothing on him. Great product the only thing that that could make it better if it had a vacuum attached.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Don't forget the Spiders

    By Gary on 12/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with the Bug gun. Having multiple shots is much more fun than the old single shot way. I have lots of daddy long leg spiders around my place, and the Bug-A-Salt makes short work of them. It's my form of hunting without leaving home. Thanks for a new slant on an old problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sea Salt Works Best

    By Dave on 07/07/2016

    I'm always having trouble killing flies in the house. This gun is excellent for taking out those nasty critters. I did find that sea salt is more effective at killing flies and yellow jackets as it is a bit more coarse than table salt and has greater impact.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wow

    By Andrew on 03/15/2017

    Got mine today and eliminated dozens of flies. For each dispatched adolescent fly, hundreds of thousands of potential maggots were never laid. Also dismissed a poisonous spider (recluse). Better than sliced bread. I'm going to order more as gifts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Absolute blast

    By Bill on 01/11/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Love it. Buy several, all your friends will want one. Built sturdy and works great. Can't wait for spring and more targets. Thanks guys.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun

    By Dave on 03/01/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Great fun and safe bug popper. Don't have to open the shutters inside the house to kill the elusive flying pest anymore. Sure keeps the kids busy outside !!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bug A salt purchase

    By Patrick on 06/21/2017

    Fast free shipping. Very pleased with gun. It's fun and effective. Girlfriend loves it because it kills spiders from a safe distance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wasp A Salt

    By Levi on 08/08/2017

    I received the camo Bug A Salt for my birthday close to a year ago and when we moved to the country, our property was infested with Mud Dauber Wasps, the standard type as well as the Blue and Black Mud Daubers. I have sprayed them, set out traps for them and in the process, I got stung by a Blue wasp on my thigh and it hit me in the wrong place. I wound up with a blood infection, lots of swelling and a whole lot of pain to go with it. Since then, I declared war on those wasps and I began attacking them with my Bug A Salt and have been taking them down faster than I could with spray. Granted, it takes more than a couple of hits but they go down and once they are down, I finish them off. All in all, I bet I have nailed down well over 30 wasps over the last several days and I am very happy with my shooter. It has been a lot of fun and the wasps try to escape after the first shot. But, I am always ready for them when they return. This shooter takes down all kinds of other critters such as spiders, lady bugs, small beetles and just about everything else. So far, I have yet to see anything that it hasn't had results on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Takes the work out of killing flies.

    By James on 06/14/2017

    I purchased one right after they were introduced on the market. I have killed hundreds of flies, some camel crickets with multiple shots and a carpenter bee with multiple shots. There is no other easier safe way to kill the pesky critters. I have even lukily killed a few on the wing. It sure beats missing them with a swatter or rolled up newspaper.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 89 reviews)