Customer Reviews for Ferti-Lome MoleGo Granules

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

3.5 of 5 stars
(44 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 44 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't Work on Gophers

    By Gopher on 08/27/2017

    This product was purchased to repel pocket gophers in our lawn. Since gophers are considered an endangered species in our area we could not kill them, but did want to repel them from our lawn into the surrounding fields where they were prevalent. Though the product name is "MoleGo", Ferti-lome lists gophers as a targeted pest so I will review it in that regard and offer suggestions of what did work. MoleGo granules are easy to disburse with a broadcast spreader. It was applied as per the instructions, although at twice the listed rate, and watered in. Using a garden trowel with a 10 inch nose the existing gopher holes were carefully excavated so there was a clear path deeper into the tunnels and a few tablespoons of granules were dropped down the holes, which were then left uncovered. After treating nine holes the next morning five of the nine holes had new mounds. The granules were simply kicked out of the holes by the gophers, along with new soil from their digging. Ever the optimist I tried again and again for two weeks with zero reduction in gopher activity, but a much lighter wallet. So I gave up on the granules. A little research online indicated that dogs were a natural predator. We have a dog, and I had the idea of dropping dog poop down the holes. So, instead of granules, I started dropping dog poop down the holes. And it worked MUCH better than the granules, no hole that had dog poop scooped into the hole was ever active again. One problem with this method is that it did not dissuade the gophers from digging new holes, and the other problem was that there were more new holes than dog poop to fill them. My mother in law is a master gardener and she said that a long time ago they were taught to pour Pine-Sol down the holes and the pine oil would repel them. Unfortunately, in 2016 the Pine-Sol formula was changed and it no longer uses pine oil. A little research turned up an inexpensive product called Pinalen that has pine oil. I bought a NINE liter jug of Pinalen for close to the price of one bag of MoleGo granules. Winging it, I mixed one part Pinalen with three parts water in a gallon jug. I shook it up (it doesn't foam) and then poured one quart down each gopher hole. After a week I'd say the Pinalen works. NO holes treated with Pinalen have been re-used. And after "sweeping" the gophers toward the fields we haven't had a new hole started in four days. That's a vast improvement over the 4-8 new holes each day we had before. I have no illusions that the Pinalen is a permanent one-time solution, gophers like to reuse burrows and the Pinalen smell will abate and disappear, but it is an easy product to use to fight the good fight.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    78 of 86 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very PleasedProctorville, OH

    By Barbara on 04/21/2016

    It has been 5 days since I used the MoleGo Granules in my yard and have not seen any new mounds. I hope that is the end of them, if not, I will order more. I recommended this product to my neighbors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    40 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    momoles

    By Sandy on 06/08/2016

    I use way more than recommended because I've spent way to much time trying to control those little devils. Take no chances put it down to your line of thinking I want and need absolute contriol so I do it my way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    34 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    my experience with mole go granules

    By Harold on 09/15/2016

    use the product put if down watered it get enough to soak in....saw a couple of hole in the yard the next day but have been hole free for the last three days...plan to buy some more to keep it down...worked for me!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    29 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as good as advertised

    By Jerry on 10/14/2016

    This product does a good job on moles and voles but WILL NOT control armadillos at all. Applied over a month ago and no control at all, even applied at triple strength. Finally used a trap with success.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Seems to Work

    By Tony on 11/17/2018

    I used MoleGo to get rid of voles in my front yard. After getting a beautiful lawn (finally), I noticed tunnels all over the place! I got a lawn roller and a week later the vole neighborhood was back. I then purchased MoleGo and put it down as soon as it came - which worked because it was raining and had been for a couple days so the ground was nice and wet. About a week later I looked around and saw new trails away from the yard. I didn't roll the lawn yet, but will do so in the spring time. I will definitely get another bag or two of MoleGo in the early spring and put it all over the perimeter.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Frank on 08/04/2017

    I purchased this product to get rid of moles on my property, once I received it followed application directions and my mole problem disappeared. I recommend this as a great non chemical way of handling the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    mole hater

    By Ken on 07/03/2017

    Seems to do an alright job but not much product in a bag. Doesn't cover much area. If you have a large yard this could be costly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Mole removal

    By Joseph on 12/29/2017

    Didn't see any difference, I Still have problems after months!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't Work

    By Evan on 05/08/2020

    I applied this very expensive product at One & 1/2 the required minimum. It rained that night, soaking the product into the ground-- BUT, the moles kept coming. I will never buy this product again. Maybe the problem is in the ingredients which are 10% Casteroil, & 90% Paper?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MoleGo

    By Terry on 09/19/2020

    I put this down around the perimeter of my property to prevent the moles from coming onto my property from the woods and my neighbors lawns. Now it looks like they tunnel to the property and stop after they get a taste of this stuff. I was able to put a couple of strips down around my half acre of property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally!

    By Jeff on 05/08/2020

    This is the first product that I have used (combined with Merit Insecticide) that actually worked. NO MORE MOLES!!! It has been a 3 year battle but I finally have won.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Seems to make them crazy

    By James on 06/01/2017

    I applied according to the lable, and within a couple of days, my yard was a wreck! This may work for keeping moles out of the yard, but it seems to drive the current moles crazy & makes them tunnel even more than before.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Appears to work as advertised

    By At on 04/24/2020

    I suffered from numerous mole holes and tracks in my front and back yard regardless of the season. I was unsuccessful with traps, worm bait, and pellet bait. Since I sprayed the granules on my yard, I have noticed a significant change in the number of mole holes and tracks. I will continue to use this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mole elimination

    By Elizabeth on 06/22/2018

    It must be working because we haven't seen any signs of the pest & the lawn isn't tore up anymore. We continue to check the situation & any negative occurrences, we'll let you know.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    gopher problem

    By Robert on 07/05/2017

    I have tried everything and this works best. I have a real problem with them and this year I have maybe 2 new mounds only. use as directed and you can't go wrong

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It Worked!

    By Mark on 03/20/2020

    I applied the MoleGo as directed and within 10 days the Mole activity ended. I am very pleased with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not sure if it is working

    By Mary on 07/05/2019

    It is easy to apply but am not sure if it is working or not. There have been fewer mole mounds and displaced plants, but it is still happening so it may have moved some, but not all of the moles out of the area in which I applied it. At this point only time will tell if it will be effective or not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work

    By Alice on 05/14/2022

    Verified Purchase

    On the first application I saw mole trails. It was suggested to do a second application. Well, I have more mole trails than I have had in years. I am going back to milky spoor which I have not had problems with. It takes care of getting rid of the moles. I thought by using a simpler product to put down it would make my life a little easier but now I will continue with a product that I know works. Don't waste your money on Ferti-Lome MoleGo granules.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Moles go away

    By Robert on 04/21/2020

    My lawn joins up to our woods. The moles come down into the lawn and it's a mess. I applied the Mole Go and am watching for any further activity in lawn. They are working in the woods but are not coming into lawn. It is a bit early for me to give a 5 star rating but am hopeful it lasts for 6 months. I use other Ferti-Lome products and and am pleased with them so that's the reason I'm trying these Mole Go granules.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product!

    By Shawn on 11/08/2019

    Best stuff ever! No more moles or gophers in my flower beds

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Joe on 07/07/2022

    Verified Purchase

    Hat is off to Do My Own. I've tried it all. This stuff works great on moles and lasted thru summer into fall when 2nd application was made. Have killed every living crawling creature in my yard to eradicate the food source and still had moles. One application of the Fertilome granules worked. I used a hand held spreader. Easier to manage and control the distribution. I apply about every three months now along with the Talstar liquid. It's become my routine. The Talstar gets rid of fire ants but more importantly mole crickets. They are my curse. The mole crickets have to be treated in early spring when the new hatchlings are emerging from the soil. Adults come in fall to lay eggs that hatch in the spring. The moles come for the feast on the adult female egg bearer who's life cycle ends once the task of providing the next generation is complete. Not even Talstar will kill the adult mole cricket due to it's tougher shell. Last thing, if you have mole crickets, you will always have them. I bought Zoysia sod early in the spring, 20 years ago, that was harvested in Norther Florida. Have had them ever since. Treat with both the Talstar and the Fertilome. You'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Review

    By John on 05/24/2016

    Applied first bag not much in actvity

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Product

    By Bob on 04/02/2017

    Seems to be working, must be watered in good, time will tell if it got the job done but I would purchase again. Mole crickets can really mess up a nice lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff

    By Owen on 11/30/2018

    Had a mole or moles borrowing under my recently installed centipede sod. After trying to tamp down their tunnels with no success figured I'd try these castor oil granules. So far so good - no new tunnels!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Moles are in my lawn

    By Sam on 11/18/2018

    Did not work on moles in my lawn They are ruining my yard I’ve tried several different products but this one did not seem to work thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Moles gone

    By Robert on 07/26/2017

    it took a few days but all signs of mole activity has ended. I've tried everything to rid my lawn of moles but only MoleGo Granules worked. Thank you Ferti-Lome.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ton of Moles

    By Wyatte on 05/29/2020

    So far so good. Haven’t notice any moles after a week of applying. Keeping a eye on them and will retreat when it’s time again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    MoleGo Granules

    By Bruce on 05/02/2022

    I do have some luck with this brand, but only if I double the application. I would say I still haven't found a product out there that lives up to their claims of effectiveness. My research says spraying castor oil seems to be a reliable deterrent. I may try that in conjunction with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    more moles!

    By Arthur on 04/28/2022

    Most granular mole repellants only kill the mole's food source, not the mole. The only sure way is traps and poison worms which are guaranteed to kill. Liquid repellant is more likely to make the mole find another location, or die from ingesting the liquid or body absorption.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 44 reviews)