Customer Reviews for Gordons Trimec Classic Broadleaf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   29
4 stars   6
3 stars   2
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(38 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 38 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Joe on 04/19/2015

    I used 3.5 oz per gallon in a 2 gallon pump sprayer. It rained within 24 hours of application and I used no surfactant. To my surprise most of the weeds were dead and gone within 2 weeks. There were a couple weeds along the fenceline that I may have missed or from the rain. All in all I'm very pleased and will use again. Also, price is half as much as my local nursery!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    72 of 75 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing product

    By Michael on 06/11/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I have been fighting the Creeping Charlie for years with products from the big Home stores, without success. Gordons Trimec Classic wiped out 95 percent of weeds with one application this spring. I was so impressed, I had to leave this review.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    62 of 64 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Clover killer

    By Jase on 01/17/2017

    I'm a homeowner with no experience in pesticides. Grasses and clover popped up in the mulched yard after recent rain in SoCal. My first treatment was with RoundUp and it was ineffective. My landscaper buddy recommended this product to kill the clover....and it worked. Within 12 hours the clover was starting to wilt and by 48 hours it was dead. Cons: The dosage instructions. I'm a city boy that moved out of the city to the burbs. The directions call for ounces per sprayed acreage, something I wasn't familiar with. Perhaps they could say "2 ounces per gallon" is effective or something along those lines. My application was very potent and effective, but next time I'll go lighter on the herbicide. This stuff isn't good for the ground water and eventually runs into rivers and oceans.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are so glad to hear you have had success with the Gordon's Trimec for your clover problem. Regarding the usage rate instructions, most professional herbicides will have directions to use an amount of concentrate per area, rather than an amount per gallon. This is because equipment output can vary greatly, and we want to think of water as being a carrier of our active ingredient: it is much more important to use the correct amount of concentrate for the treatment area, and you just need to use sufficient water to cover that area. If you are using new equipment, then it can be helpful to mark off a small area to calibrate your equipment using water only before applying the herbicide. You can also always call us for assistance at 866-581-7378. Thank you for your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    54 of 70 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Creeping Charlie Beware

    By David on 09/25/2015

    Was told about trimec Classic by a friend's dad. He showed me his son's treated lawn and I was amazed! Creeping Charlie and many other broad leafs took it on the chin in this matchup! My results were equally as good so far. I may throw a booster application on in the spring time to completely win the war!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    gordons trimec

    By Victor on 01/31/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I'm a landscaper, this product works well if used as directed.I found this site and decided to order it due to best price. I'm going to keep them because it was delivered promt.Thanks AZuas landscape.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    33 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    AMAZING RESULTS

    By Earl on 05/09/2016

    I used this TRIMEC weed killer for lawns and it works with AMAZING RESULTS!! Will now be using it in my lawn care business needs. It KILLS 230+ weeds and WON'T HARM LAWN!! TRU-GREEN WE HAVE YOU BEAT!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Trimec Weed Killer

    By Richard on 05/09/2016

    This is my second year using Trimec weed killer and the results have been very good. When applied in temperatures below 70 degrees and the temperature stay for days in that range killing weeds take longer. PLEASE BE CAREFUL AND READ ALL DIRECTIONS. THE FIRST TIME I USED TRIMEC I DID NOT DO A GOOD JOB OF FOLLOWING DIRECTIONS AND APPLIED A SECOND APPLICATION WITH 30 DAYS OF THE FIRST.IT SERIOUSLY EFFECTED MY LAWN BY ALMOST KILLING IT. HOWEVER OVER THE WINTER THE LAWN DID RECOVER ABOUT 85%. GOOD PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By Mk on 04/13/2018

    I bought this because of other reviews saying it was good for purple creeping charlie and it appears it works. I used 2oz per gallon and 1 tablespoon of cheap dish soap as a surfactant (put this in right before you top your tank). I had some more to spray and I was about out so I mixed the same but also added 2oz of roundup. Now that's the way I should have done all of it, because the 2 together kicked butt. The area where I sprayed the combo looks better than my neighbor who has his done...so I will be getting more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    known product

    By Larry on 05/11/2016

    Have used this in the past as my only weapon against broadleaf weed killer. It took my lawn from a dandelion show case to being almost dandelion free. I have the upmost respect for this products ability to control broadleaf weeds in my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product!!

    By Chris on 09/29/2017

    Had a backyard full of creeping charlie. used this once,and after three days, the majority of it has withered up and is dying, not to mention all the other weeds in the yard. great product!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great

    By Norma on 05/16/2016

    Struggled to keep purple creeping Charlie under control on our acreage. This product worked great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Nice results

    By Robb on 05/31/2016

    Appears to works well. Shows results within 48 hrs. I am heading into the 2nd week after the application so I am still analyzing my results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Gordon's Trimec Classic

    By Dave on 08/30/2017

    Have used Trimec off and on for many years. Just decided to buy a gallon because it would get used. Sprayed and a few days later ground ivy and other weeds are dying. Bought this time mainly for ground ivy. Highly recommend this and DoMyOwn. Not my first purchase here.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wow!

    By Tyler on 04/12/2019

    This stuff works! I had clover and creeping charlie taking over my lawn. A few weeks after I put this stuff down, my lawn looks as if I never had an infestation! It even stressed out and killed some of the crabgrass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really effective

    By Robert on 06/15/2018

    I have an empty lot/land next to me which has been overrun with thistles the last two years, now starting to invade our property. The Dimension herbicide I normally lay down kills everything except thistles so I bought Gordon’s and it got the job done. Within a day of application the thistles were wilting and ultimately died. I added about 6oz to my 4 gallon backpack sprayer along with surfricant (sp?).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works on Creeping Charlie

    By Jeff on 08/11/2018

    I had tried every other weed killer (Ortho, Roundup, etc.) on the ground ivy in my lawn with no success. Finally, I found something that actually worked on creeping Charlie ... Trimec! The first time through I'd say it killed a half of it and just slightly damaged the rest, so I will have to go and apply another round of it. But this gallon goes a long way. My lawn is about two thirds of an acre and I only used up about one fourth of the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great weed control

    By Chondell on 04/23/2021

    I used Gordons Trimec on two yards and it worked great. I used a 4 gallon pump sprayer and used 2oz. per gallon. Weed were dead in about 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty good weed killer

    By Roland on 04/24/2020

    Figuring out the right rate for different applications is not easy but once that’s done it does work well. Not a vegetation killer but does work against broadleaf weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stuff is powerful

    By Kristopher on 08/06/2019

    Verified Purchase

    You need so little of this to kill the weeds in your lawn, making this a very economical choice. My new favorite broad leaf killer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Gordon's Trimec Classic Broadleaf Herbicide

    By Satisfied on 06/03/2017

    If you have problems with creeping beggarweed or other broadleaf weeds, Gordon's Trimec Classic is a must-have! These weeds seem to always reappear but they haven't come back since using this fine product. Off the shelf herbicides at the retail stores just don't seem to work anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dormant Bermuda Lawn

    By David on 02/18/2018

    After one day of use the clover laid over and after 4 days the dominant broadleaf appears to be dying in my dormant Bermuda lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Why buy from DoMyOwn?

    By Steve on 06/20/2017

    Compared to the "big box" stores, at DoMyOwn, I have a better selection; equal or better prices and it is shipped to my front door. I also find the labels easier to read. Need help...no problem. They have qualified people that can help just a click away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Lawn Cosmetic

    By Michael on 09/15/2018

    Great product...I've used it for years. Keeps the grass free of ugly broadleaf plants and doesn't hurt the good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec

    By Bill on 08/07/2020

    The Trimec worked great on eliminating the black medic in my lawn. I used 3 oz. To a gallon of water and sprayed directly on the black medic and by the following day it was shriveling up and was gone. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Gordons Trimec Classic

    By Mary on 03/06/2020

    Have seen improvement, will take a few applications. But the best lawn weed killer so far I have tried, I have Bahia Grass, so very weedy. I will continue to buy, very easy to use, very fast shipping!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked well on Fescue lawn infected with Chickweed

    By Ed on 11/22/2019

    Gordons Trimec appears to be a more concentrated strength than the Big Box Stores sell. I got Very Good results from my Fall Application. I Will apply again in late Winter. My lawn was heavily infected with Chickweed and broadleaf grasses. My Dethatcher is raking up dead broadleaf grass after 3 weeks. It killed Clover on contact. I expect to get many applications from the 1 gallon size. I used a Hose End Sprayer, followed the mixing instructions, and matched the test area for size and it worked. I would recommend Gordons Trimec for regular lawn maintenance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Florida snow

    By Tony on 06/29/2019

    I thought we lost our lawn to Florida snow we have about an acre and it was just choking out the lawn covering more lawn area Every year. In a desperate attempt to try to save our lawn, we tried Trimec at the suggestion of a landscaper within a week you could tell it was killing off the Florida snow which is supposed to be very difficult to do. The lawn looks better the Florida snow has almost been completely killed off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Gordon’s Herbicide

    By Kathy on 04/17/2020

    I am probably going to have to do more than 1 treatment. I still have quite a few weeds growing. It did kill some but my lawn is definitely going to need another treatment soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Keeping my lawn green

    By Stephen on 05/31/2020

    Best product I have found for keeping the clover and dandelions out of my green lawn. Excellent broad leaf control product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec

    By Jim on 04/27/2018

    fast delivery. exactly what my lawn needed. free shipping sealed the deal

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 38 reviews)