Customer Reviews for Gordons Trimec Classic Broadleaf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(44 customer reviews)
Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Joe on 04/19/2015

    I used 3.5 oz per gallon in a 2 gallon pump sprayer. It rained within 24 hours of application and I used no surfactant. To my surprise most of the weeds were dead and gone within 2 weeks. There were a couple weeds along the fenceline that I may have missed or from the rain. All in all I'm very pleased and will use again. Also, price is half as much as my local nursery!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    88 of 91 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing product

    By Michael on 06/11/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I have been fighting the Creeping Charlie for years with products from the big Home stores, without success. Gordons Trimec Classic wiped out 95 percent of weeds with one application this spring. I was so impressed, I had to leave this review.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    82 of 84 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Clover killer

    By Jase on 01/17/2017

    I'm a homeowner with no experience in pesticides. Grasses and clover popped up in the mulched yard after recent rain in SoCal. My first treatment was with RoundUp and it was ineffective. My landscaper buddy recommended this product to kill the clover....and it worked. Within 12 hours the clover was starting to wilt and by 48 hours it was dead. Cons: The dosage instructions. I'm a city boy that moved out of the city to the burbs. The directions call for ounces per sprayed acreage, something I wasn't familiar with. Perhaps they could say "2 ounces per gallon" is effective or something along those lines. My application was very potent and effective, but next time I'll go lighter on the herbicide. This stuff isn't good for the ground water and eventually runs into rivers and oceans.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are so glad to hear you have had success with the Gordon's Trimec for your clover problem. Regarding the usage rate instructions, most professional herbicides will have directions to use an amount of concentrate per area, rather than an amount per gallon. This is because equipment output can vary greatly, and we want to think of water as being a carrier of our active ingredient: it is much more important to use the correct amount of concentrate for the treatment area, and you just need to use sufficient water to cover that area. If you are using new equipment, then it can be helpful to mark off a small area to calibrate your equipment using water only before applying the herbicide. You can also always call us for assistance at 866-581-7378. Thank you for your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    63 of 81 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Creeping Charlie Beware

    By David on 09/25/2015

    Was told about trimec Classic by a friend's dad. He showed me his son's treated lawn and I was amazed! Creeping Charlie and many other broad leafs took it on the chin in this matchup! My results were equally as good so far. I may throw a booster application on in the spring time to completely win the war!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    57 of 57 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    gordons trimec

    By Victor on 01/31/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I'm a landscaper, this product works well if used as directed.I found this site and decided to order it due to best price. I'm going to keep them because it was delivered promt.Thanks AZuas landscape.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 41 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    AMAZING RESULTS

    By Earl on 05/09/2016

    I used this TRIMEC weed killer for lawns and it works with AMAZING RESULTS!! Will now be using it in my lawn care business needs. It KILLS 230+ weeds and WON'T HARM LAWN!! TRU-GREEN WE HAVE YOU BEAT!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    known product

    By Larry on 05/11/2016

    Have used this in the past as my only weapon against broadleaf weed killer. It took my lawn from a dandelion show case to being almost dandelion free. I have the upmost respect for this products ability to control broadleaf weeds in my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product!!

    By Chris on 09/29/2017

    Had a backyard full of creeping charlie. used this once,and after three days, the majority of it has withered up and is dying, not to mention all the other weeds in the yard. great product!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great

    By Norma on 05/16/2016

    Struggled to keep purple creeping Charlie under control on our acreage. This product worked great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wow!

    By Tyler on 04/12/2019

    This stuff works! I had clover and creeping charlie taking over my lawn. A few weeks after I put this stuff down, my lawn looks as if I never had an infestation! It even stressed out and killed some of the crabgrass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Gordon's Trimec Classic

    By Dave on 08/30/2017

    Have used Trimec off and on for many years. Just decided to buy a gallon because it would get used. Sprayed and a few days later ground ivy and other weeds are dying. Bought this time mainly for ground ivy. Highly recommend this and DoMyOwn. Not my first purchase here.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really effective

    By Robert on 06/15/2018

    I have an empty lot/land next to me which has been overrun with thistles the last two years, now starting to invade our property. The Dimension herbicide I normally lay down kills everything except thistles so I bought Gordon’s and it got the job done. Within a day of application the thistles were wilting and ultimately died. I added about 6oz to my 4 gallon backpack sprayer along with surfricant (sp?).

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great weed control

    By Chondell on 04/23/2021

    I used Gordons Trimec on two yards and it worked great. I used a 4 gallon pump sprayer and used 2oz. per gallon. Weed were dead in about 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Why buy from DoMyOwn?

    By Steve on 06/20/2017

    Compared to the "big box" stores, at DoMyOwn, I have a better selection; equal or better prices and it is shipped to my front door. I also find the labels easier to read. Need help...no problem. They have qualified people that can help just a click away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dormant Bermuda Lawn

    By David on 02/18/2018

    After one day of use the clover laid over and after 4 days the dominant broadleaf appears to be dying in my dormant Bermuda lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Michael on 10/08/2021

    I was previously a pesticide applicator during a 5 year stent as a greens keeper and am very familiar with this product. It's been awhile since I have had a yard big enough to justify using a product of this caliber. I have a lot of Pennywort(dollar weed), various crab grasses and spurges in my centipede lawn and this knocked out over 95% of it in the first application. Please make sure you read and understand the application rates as this is not your typical big box store product; there's a little math involved and it's easy to mix a hot dose that can damage your lawn!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Lawn Cosmetic

    By Michael on 09/15/2018

    Great product...I've used it for years. Keeps the grass free of ugly broadleaf plants and doesn't hurt the good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Gordon's Trimec Classic Broadleaf Herbicide

    By Satisfied on 06/03/2017

    If you have problems with creeping beggarweed or other broadleaf weeds, Gordon's Trimec Classic is a must-have! These weeds seem to always reappear but they haven't come back since using this fine product. Off the shelf herbicides at the retail stores just don't seem to work anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec

    By Bill on 08/07/2020

    The Trimec worked great on eliminating the black medic in my lawn. I used 3 oz. To a gallon of water and sprayed directly on the black medic and by the following day it was shriveling up and was gone. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stuff is powerful

    By Kristopher on 08/06/2019

    Verified Purchase

    You need so little of this to kill the weeds in your lawn, making this a very economical choice. My new favorite broad leaf killer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked well on Fescue lawn infected with Chickweed

    By Ed on 11/22/2019

    Gordons Trimec appears to be a more concentrated strength than the Big Box Stores sell. I got Very Good results from my Fall Application. I Will apply again in late Winter. My lawn was heavily infected with Chickweed and broadleaf grasses. My Dethatcher is raking up dead broadleaf grass after 3 weeks. It killed Clover on contact. I expect to get many applications from the 1 gallon size. I used a Hose End Sprayer, followed the mixing instructions, and matched the test area for size and it worked. I would recommend Gordons Trimec for regular lawn maintenance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Keeping my lawn green

    By Stephen on 05/31/2020

    Best product I have found for keeping the clover and dandelions out of my green lawn. Excellent broad leaf control product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    very effective

    By Troy on 06/19/2020

    I have so many different weeds in my yard, didn't bother to try and identify them. Wanted to try a reasonable priced weed killer so I selected Trimec. I sprayed half my front yard, 1/2 oz per gallon, no surfacant. Amazing results you can clearly see where I started and stopped spraying. 90% of the weeds are gone. Didn't get the clover so much but the directions say it's best to get that in the fall. Going to spray the rest this week

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Clover gone

    By Mary on 04/26/2017

    This spring my field set aside for native flowers was completely covered with field clover. I used Trimec Classic and not only did it work to kill the clover, but I saw the results in 2 days - so I could quickly get to the areas I had missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec Classic

    By Del on 08/16/2020

    I have used Trimec Classic as the principle herbicide for control of broadleaf weeds on undeveloped land, right of ways, weeds in turf and flowerbeds. Product mixes well, easy to apply and produces great results. The percentage of 2-4D is superior to any other product on the market. Fast acting, very limited tinting of desired grasses it is a go to for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Performing as expected

    By Charles on 04/23/2021

    After one spraying the weeds started dying. Of course it was not overnight, but with patience we started seeing the results. We plan on giving the first spraying plenty of time to do all it can and maybe in the fall do a second spraying. We sprayed too late to get the weeds before they reached maturity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec

    By Jim on 04/27/2018

    fast delivery. exactly what my lawn needed. free shipping sealed the deal

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills Henbit and other weeds

    By Jeff on 06/24/2022

    I have used this product several times. Before this product, I was having trouble controlling Henbit and a few other weeds that taken over half my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Trimec Classic

    By Dan on 07/08/2022

    Works much better than what I had before + covers more area per gallon

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Broadway herbicide

    By James on 06/24/2022

    After my first application you could see results in 24hrs. Works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)