Customer Reviews for Hi-Yield Triclopyr Ester

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   35
4 stars   8
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(45 customer reviews)
Hi-Yield Triclopyr Ester
$21.13

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Magic on Wild Violets

    By Adrienne on 04/25/2017

    I've been fighting with wild violets for about three years, tried a bunch of different products. Sometimes I'd knock them back a bit, and sometimes I'd knock the grass back a bit, but overall it was getting worse each year. This stuff works!! My only disappointment is that the violets were dead within a week; I would rather they had died a slow painful death, screaming for their mommies like little girls :) I used a pump sprayer. In 2 gallons of water I put 3 tbs Hi-Yield and 2 tbs surfactant. I sprayed just until the weeds were wet. I didn't use that blue marking dye but next time I'm going to try it. With so many violets it got hard to keep track of where I sprayed, and I missed some. Between the ones that I missed and the new ones that popped up since I sprayed, I'm going to have to do a second round. But at least now I'm winning the war. Die, you violets, die, die, die!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    58 of 59 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Truly a Great Product recommendto me by an ag Lab

    By Justin on 09/08/2016

    Here is the thing it is 1 TBSP per gallon per the supplemental documents, which is 3 TSP = 1 TBSP. Get yourself a medicine measure from an old cough syrup bottle and dedicate it to herbicides (NEVER use it again for medicines or anything else). I used 1.5 (1 and a half) teaspoons and mixed it up in a dedicated sprayer with half a gallon of distilled water (it is free of all contaminants). From there I added 1 teaspoon of non-ionic surfactant for herbicides (because the product I used recommends 2 TSP/ gallon and I mixed up half a gallon.) Lastly, a blue dye that recommends 1oz per gallon. Two tablespoons is an ounce; hence one (1) tablespoon was what I used for half a gallon... In a gallon sprayer I put a nozzle on it that atomizes the spray and pumped to high pressure. Worked great completely curing my lawn of creeping vine Charlie and surges. I have Centipede grass which is a riskyer lawn to use this on per the instructions, but I had no lawn damage whatsoever on my TiffBlair type Centipede warm-season grass in West Columbia, SC. Your results may of course vary from mine which was 100% elimination of the weeds with no lawn damage, but I think most critical is the instructions by the manufacturer realizing that this small bottle is a potent product not forgiving in that you must measure accurately in teaspoons per gallon unlike diluted homeowner products. Alway wear the appropriate PPE and do a test spot to verify you have things dialed in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Perfectly!

    By Steve on 03/30/2014

    Prior to my purchase of Hi-Yield, I had only bought the "other brand" of Turflon. For the uninitiated, this is the only product safe for killing bermudagrass and several other invasive grasses from your otherwise beautiful lawn. It kills many noxious weeds without destroying a nice Marathon lawn, for instance. The price I paid for this was a bit less expensive than the other brand and worked just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Oxalis control

    By Howard on 02/23/2016

    First product I've found that truly controls oxalis and doesn't harm grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Gets rid of broadleaf weeds and Bermuda in Fescue turf

    By Mike on 08/18/2015

    Works great on getting rid of broad leaf weeds and Bermuda in Fescue turf. Also kills tree stumps and woody vegetation. Keep away from shrubs trees and vegetation you don't want to kill. Don't spray when it is windy as the pesticide ca be blown off target and kill adjacent shrubs and trees. Also don't spray when temperature s are above 85 degrees. Don't water for 24 hours after application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So thankful for Triclopyr Ester

    By Mike on 07/02/2017

    Over the last 3-4 years I've watched wild violets creep into my lawn from my neighbors. They were beginning to completely cover the lawn in spots. I'd NEVER experienced them before despite moving 5 times across the northern US from Washington state to Massachusetts. I'd tried standard broadleaf killers to no avail. The first online search I'd done to find what is effective against them, I read the generic version of RoundUp. I was devastated. I'd put in new lawns at other homes of ours and did not want to do that again. I contemplated paying my grandchildren a nickel a leaf to take a RoundUp-soaked QTip and 'paint' each wild violet leaf one at a time. Then I decided to do a second search and came across Tricyclopyr Ester. I added 0.8 oz of TE to a gallon of water in my pump sprayer, followed by 1.8 tsp of surfactant (ProSolutions nonionic surfactant). In two days the wild vioIet leaves were turning brown. In four days they were almost completely brown and withered. In two weeks I saw no sight of them. It was phenomenal. This combination killed off some variations of clover (others were unphased), and other weeds I don't know the names of. I am ecstatic! This stuff works!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Pleased So Far

    By Peter on 09/29/2015

    I have large numbers of wild violets in my lawn. I applied this product mixed with another product that promotes stickiness rather painstakingly with a tank sprayer. Despite the fact that we are having a severe drought, the spraying has had a dramatic impact, particularly with the smaller, less mature plants. While it is usually necessary to do at least two applications, as I understand it, due to the effectiveness of the initial application, I am just following up with a spot application on plants that do not appear to be much affected by it. I have tried less concentrated products sold at big box hardware stores and found them ineffective. I am also pleased that this product is said to be effective to eliminate bermuda grass, another plague of my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    weeds dead not grass

    By Al on 04/03/2016

    Killed the weeds not the grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing stuff.

    By Jim on 07/19/2016

    After my neighbor introduced Bermuda grass into his yard I was really at a loss. It expands up to 10 feet a year and when I use round up it would die and comeback stronger. I know this product requires regular treatment and it will take time but it is selectively killing the Bermuda as promised and hopefully I can, over time, get the fescue to come back strong. Now I have to get the neighbor to buy a gallon and do his yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product!

    By Laurel on 10/28/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Love the results of using Turflon Ester on my Marathon lawn! It kills the hybrid Bermuda grass while turning my grass a beautiful shade of dark green! This product is easy to use when directions are followed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good Stuff

    By Dave on 06/21/2016

    Had a major issue with wild violets. Nothing from the local big box stores would work on them. Contacted the local County Agricultural Agent and they suggested Turflon. Found it here and used it according to directions. Voila! No more wild violets!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Clover B Gone! This stuff works!

    By Ron on 05/23/2016

    Having been battling clover over the past few seasons I decided to give Hi-Yield Turflon Ester Ultra a try this early spring when the clover in my grass started growing. Been battling the stuff for 2 years and kill a lot, but they just keep coming back. Followed the instructions for a 1 gallon mix in a hand sprayer and in less than a week those pesky clovers patches are dead and gone with no signs of coming back after a month! Great price and easy to use - should have used this from the start!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally something that works

    By Gary on 09/05/2017

    Wild Violets, gone! 40% of my back yard was overtaken by wild violets and nothing else I tried seemed to have any effect on them. I used this product in combination with hi-yield spreader sticker surfactant, and mark-it-blue. Within a few days the wild violets started dying off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great

    By Roger on 08/21/2017

    I spent over $200 the past two years to get rid of clover in my lawn and didn't work. Purchases hi yield triclopyr ester ultra for less then $20.00. Used one application and all clover is gone. Great product but use as directed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Now I am sure that I will continue to use

    By Ellen on 07/06/2018

    I was skeptical that the product would work. I had an invasion of Bermuda grass into my Zoysis grass. I searched high and low for a product that would not harm my zoysia, which is a lush grass. Slowly, the Bermuda grass is dying off, and the zoysia continues to look lush

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death sentence for wild violets

    By William on 06/20/2017

    Three weeks after application in concert with quinclorac my wild violet infestation is yellowing and withered. I dare believe they are doomed after multiple doses of other so-called "final solutions." Once more in the fall and we'll see if they are gone for good next spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Use turflon ester, skip ornamic recommendations

    By Chris on 10/01/2016

    good product at a good price to control bermuda and other invasive grasses in fescue. Note: I tried ornamic to save some money and because it claimed it would eliminate, but it did too much damage to the fescue and didn't. Turflon controls, but does not eliminate, without damage the fescue grass. One a month for 3 months, then every 3 months for control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Turflon & Tempo SC

    By Jd on 10/02/2015

    Great prices and fastest shipping on the planet! That's the best service I've ever had!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Jane on 08/19/2015

    Bought it to kill Bermuda grass. Sprayed it once and the Bermuda grass Is dying. Will spray again to kill it completely. Also, my daughter has a horrible weed called dayflower. Hard to kill but I cut it dins with a weed eater then sprayed it. The day flower is now dead with one application

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No More Creeping Charlie!

    By Rick on 10/02/2015

    Product worked as I had hoped. I will use it when needed in the future. Very happy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bermuda Grass

    By Paul on 07/15/2019

    Last year I had a bad Bermuda grass invasion. Killed it off with Roundup and started over. This year, I started to see Bermuda grass back in the yard and this stuff has killed it off! Be patient as it does take time but we’ll worth it in the end.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ester vs Bermuda

    By Ron on 08/03/2018

    It is doing the job and the fescue still looks fine. Again, be patient. This will take time and several applications but the results look promising. Bermuda in a fescue lawn is bad stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ground Ivy Eliminator!

    By John on 07/06/2018

    I bought this product to kill two large sections of Ground Ivy in my yard. It worked very well - I used 15-20 mL/gallon in a regular direct application yard sprayer and the ivy was pretty much dead in a week! A second application helped get what I missed the first time. I had tried weed-be-gone in the sprayer, but it doesn't have enough Triclopyr to kill the ground ivy. Service and price from DoMyOwn was fantastic!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wild Violets

    By George on 06/01/2018

    Only chemical that kills them. Kill in fall then hit the seeds that come up the next spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Dick on 04/29/2018

    Kills about any kind of weed that I have. Nice to have one chemical that can do that.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff just plain works! Wild Violets are gone.

    By Gary on 10/27/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I have a very large back yard that was nearly overrun with wild violets. Roughly 60% of my yard was covered with them. I'd tried several things from the local big box stores and nothing worked. I even hired a professional lawn company. After months of no results, I cancelled the lawn service. I found this website, read some of the success stories and decided to try this product. As advised, I mixed with a surfactant and blue dye. It took two treatments over several weeks but I'm happy to report my yard is 100% free of wild violets. There is not a single one left.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works!

    By Karen on 10/25/2019

    I have purchased numerous products from home depot for the creeping Charlie that is taking over my yard. All of them did not work. Being frustrated, I began searching the internet. After reading many reviews, and being desperate for a solution, I decided to try Hi-yield Triclopyr Ester. Mixed with the surfactant, this stuff works....period!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hi-Yield Triclopyr Ester

    By Stephanie on 09/06/2019

    This is fantastic! I poured a tablespoon of liquid dish washing soap in the 1 gallon sprayer with the product and the weeds started dying in no time. Highly recommended. I does not kill the fescue grass either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff WORKS on Creeping Charlie!

    By Stephanie on 07/27/2019

    Verified Purchase

    This pesky vine like weed has invaded my fescue lawn, along with sedge grass. I bought this Triclopyr Ester to deal with the Creeping Charlie first and that stuff is dead, dead, dead now. Yippee! I also bought the Dismiss product to deal with the sedge grass and it's deader than a doornail now, too. Yippee again! I'm grateful for the folks at DoMyOwn for these great products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Triple Threat.....

    By Michael on 10/22/2017

    .....indeed..... You must first have the expertise that you can TRUST..!!!..... with the right advice ..... with the right product b/c if you make a bo-bo.... you can not get it back..... like scorching your yard can happen.... These guys/girls..... are really impressive! 1st, 2nd, and 3rd .... the value that they bring.... HAVING A BEAUTIFUL YARD is no automatic... as you know..... There you go yard lovers....!!! good folks....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 7 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)