Customer Reviews for Monterey Spurge Power

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   18
4 stars   5
3 stars   2
2 stars   2
1 star   4

Average Customer Rating

4 of 5 stars
(31 customer reviews)
Monterey Spurge Power
$27.99

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 31 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    wild violets in fescue lawn

    By Don on 06/25/2017

    I tried many products and nothing would kill the purple violets taking over my yard. I order Spurge Power and after spraying the violets started to fade. That was 2 weeks ago. I now need to do a small application to get the ones I missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    47 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Matt on 06/19/2016

    Well it doesn't kill the grass in my yard it does kill everything else though my problem was clovers and creeping charlie thissels and dandy lions. Knocked them all down after a few applications of little over 3 ounces per gallon spray jug. Recommend 2 ounces per gallon. Anyway it did kill my flowers and other plants I had near so you will have too watch out for the over spray. Otherwise it doesn't work that fast, it takes about 2 days to see them die and then I resprayed in a week. Long story short use approx 4 ounces per gallon and it will do the job it's too bad the product only comes in a small bottle and the other is just too much money. I am from Madison Wi.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    42 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Spurge killer

    By Steve on 09/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Hey, it works! (But it also kills a tiny bit of grass around it already not drowned out by the spurge). For 2 years I was told by a Nursery that I had to apply a powder mixture that would keep spurge seeds from germinating the following year. It was a joke, I might as well have applied fertilizer to the &%$# spurge. Spurge Power works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    29 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Power

    By Judy on 07/13/2018

    The best I've ever used. Its already curling up the violets and all the clover spreading everywhere. In just 2 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good!

    By George on 06/14/2017

    Using to control spurge on centipede. This stuff is killing the spurge with minimal effect on the grass. Every previous year I have watched spurge take over my lawn and nothing else has seemed to affect it. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Yep it works!

    By Tom on 08/18/2018

    Finally found a product that kills the nasty spurge - and doesn't damage the Bermuda grass - very satisfied!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Optimistic

    By Itty on 06/02/2018

    Bought this product a few weeks ago. Delivery was timely and all as expected. Applied it last week so i don't know exactly how well it's going to work yet. I have a bumper crop of violets in the lawn and am trying this as a post-emergent to combat them. So far no dead grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Matthew on 05/11/2018

    This product works great on my bermuda for spurge and clover as well as other weeds. Make sure it is mixed to recommended rate or it will kill the bermuda grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Oxalis gone at last

    By Chris on 11/24/2017

    Finally a product that got rid of the Oxalis in my grass. I tried other brands and all they did is stress my grass and oxalis was still present. Spurge power left my grass stress free and oxalis is gone. It did take 4 or 5 days before I saw the results of oxalis start to die but it may have been the cooler fall So Cal weather. I highly recommend it for oxalis.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    helped some

    By Rosi on 09/06/2017

    After spraying it took close to a week for milkweed (spurge) to start looking wilted. At the same time, my tif-green grass looked pretty bad. In a week to 10 days, the grass started to recover some, but milkweed started to come back in fair amount. I started pulling milkweed manually for several hours almost daily. I'm still pulling some every day, but slowly getting control. I don't think spurge power is that great, it helped some, but without the endless hours that I spent pulling weeds, I would have had the same problem all over again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wild violets gone

    By Kathy on 07/12/2019

    I used this last year on my Mom's yard. Violets were everywhere! I know they have a waxy coating, so I sprayed the yard first with a light dish detergent, then applied the spurge. This year I just have a few individual clumps that I must have missed. Best product for this i have ever used!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Spurge power

    By Rafael on 10/15/2018

    I used it for wild violet like it said on the label and it does not work at all i mix it just what it say in the label and nothing they are still green and strong. ????

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works!

    By Shane on 04/23/2020

    My new home needed lots of work. Previous owners were clueless. The spurge, African Violet and many other weeds had taken over. I tried Spectracide, Tenacity and even Knockout and the results were minimal. However, the day after I tried Spurge Power I saw results. I mixed 1/3 cup to 2.25 gal of water and coated the entire affected areas. I saw results the next day and am very pleased. I live in Pasco, WA.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Spurge is almost gone

    By Kathy on 07/13/2018

    Spurge took over my yard very fast. It is hard to get rid of. This Spurge Power dried up the spurge within a week but there was still some that survived so I had to spray again and hand pull. I’m not sure the spurge power worked any better than regular weed killer for lawns so I don’t think I will order online again. I would however purchase again if I could find it at a local store. It’s priced comparible to other products I’ve tried.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Products and Service

    By Bill on 08/13/2018

    Always great service and products from your site! Our garden has expanded from a hobby to a large display garden and we rely on the great chemicals you offer for weed control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works

    By Rick on 08/05/2017

    seems to work as advertised

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Works very slowly

    By Gbt on 12/11/2019

    I purchased Spurge Power 6 weeks ago, primarily, for spurge infestation in my St. Augustine and Zoysia lawn. Since I was "spot" treating, I mixed several strengths in a small spray bottle, starting with a light mixture and progressing to stronger mixtures, to determine how much is needed, without harming the grass. It took about 5-6 weeks to see any results on the spurge. (It may have died from cool temps or old age.) It worked on some other weeds, but several other type weeds seem, largely, unaffected. The grass tolerated the treatment well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Spurge Gone!

    By Owen on 08/09/2019

    Had a backyard full of spurge and carpet weed that had slowly taken over after I nuked all the crabgrass with a pre-immergent. The Centipede I sodded in was spreading like I wanted but the spurge and others were embedded in the new grass and all the bare areas. This stuff wiped out the spurge and carpet weed in one set of spot treatments. It also wiped out the spurge growing within the Centipede without any undue effects. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Better than a Greenskeeper

    By John on 10/06/2020

    A local greenskeeper couldn't tell the difference between Black Medic and Yellow Wood Sorrel, so I've been wasting time. Found this at DoMyOwn and it doesn't care - a pretty aggressive killer for both. You have to pay close attention around St. Augustine, but except for a brief color challenge, it works in my common Bermuda.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Spurge

    By Robbie on 09/25/2020

    This product is what I’ve been looking for & it’s WONDERFUL. Since my neighbors have plenty of spurge & are willing to share it I’ve battled it for years. This product has been the answer to slowing it down on our place. THANKS for asking..,

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Wild Violet

    By Ka on 09/11/2020

    Sprayed the solution 2x and no result so far. Its not working for me like some of the other reviewer stated.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DMO and Product

    By Matt on 10/23/2020

    No surprises with this purchase. Same GREAT service that I have come to expect from Domyown. There is none better product at eradicating spurge in a short time. Soooo satisfying!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Spurge power

    By Rick on 08/21/2020

    I have had trouble controlling spotted spurge in my zoysia lawn, this product was impressive be sure to follow the rate of application charts, will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Monterey Spurge Power

    By Al on 08/14/2020

    _ On the grassy spot next to my driveway spurge had literally taken over my lawn in less than 25 days. I used the monterey spurge power and was worried at first because i didn't see any reaction after 3 days and it was a HOT 3 days. On the 5 day I started to see the spurge leaves fold upward and then discolor. After about 12 days 75% of the spurge was clearly dead. Because this plant seeds so quickly there were some area of growth that were not present on the initial application but it was clearly a significant reduction. this Product works well!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Creeping Charlie was eliminated

    By Michael on 08/14/2020

    I had to spray the Creeping Charlie twice with a heavy dose both times but I eliminated all of the Creeping Charlie had in my yard and grass got a little affected but not really that bad

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    weed killer

    By Steven on 05/01/2020

    Well I put it on a test area over 2 weeks ago. Well it did nothing. I bought it mainly for wild violets. Did not effect them at all. Not satisfied. Will give it another try and see what happens. Am I doing something wrong?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Spurge Power Works

    By P on 10/25/2019

    I had this weed coming up everywhere even in the cracks in the pool deck. Thankfully, I was able to identify it through the DMO website and found the right product for the spurge in my yard. It worked although it took several days to actually kill the weed. I’m happy with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not effective on Creeping Charlie

    By Kenneth on 10/11/2019

    Purchased to address Creeping Charlie but did nor work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Spurge Power(LESS)

    By Benjamin on 09/21/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Bought this product specifically for spurge and also saw notes that it was effective on on Virginia Buttonweed. Unfortunately, it had absolutely no effect on either. Granted I was treating late summer mature weeds, but this was totally useless.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don’t waste your money

    By Mike on 07/17/2019

    Like a fool I purchased 2 pints of this stuff and did some test areas before mixing up a backpack full. Absolutely no effect on crabgrass and ground ivy. Dandelion’s did curl but dog pee will do that. Not a happy camper. 2 test areas I sprayed twice a few days apart and still no sign of any effect. Mixed at 1.5 oz per gallon as directed and sprayed at full sun and dry conditions. Buyer beware

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 31 reviews)