Customer Reviews for ProSedge Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   45
4 stars   13
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   6

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(65 customer reviews)
ProSedge Herbicide
$12.70

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 45 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works good

    By Paul on 05/30/2011

    I used this last year, and quite a bit less sedge has come up so far. Like all sedge control products, it will be a multi-year project, requiring multiple applications. The hardest part is measuring out the product, an accurate scale is a must. (I tend to mix 1 gallon of product at a time, but for spot treating, I mix up 1 quart). The little packet is convenient, but the bottle is alot more affordable. Be sure to use a spreader sticker.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    36 of 37 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge Herbicide

    By Bob on 09/17/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Took care of our nutgrass problem with one application. You have to be patient ---- It took one week to turn the grass yellow and another two weeks for it to die.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works great

    By Mike on 09/08/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product works great on nut ledge. It takes a couple days to see results but you will definitely see them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge

    By Bill on 09/23/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Here in No VA, the short name for this stuff is "Nut Grass." I have been in battle mode for nearly three years and during this period I have received lots of advise as to what I should do. This advise has ranged from "just pull it out, you will never get rid of it," to "molasses will do the trick--just pour it on each clump of the nut grass." I have tried many of the commercial products as well. Pulling it out has worked best. A local garden shop said try "ProSedge Herbicide." All the university studies say it is the only way to go. So, I bought it, $25.00 plus tax. I applied one gallon of the solution to just the areas where I saw the nut grass growing--the bring green. I used a one gallon sprayer. I waited four days, and could see a big difference, except for the area, where the nut grass first started. So, I came to these folks, throug the Web, and bought another package (at half of what I was paying). I applied two gallons. For the most recent growth, the nut grass was gone in about three to five days (it varied). However, the original growth area was still a problem. But the second application was starting to eat away at the nut grass. I would recommend this product. It beats three to four hours of pulling the nut grass out. It is simple to use. I opened the package and dropped the packet in the water and added a table spoon of foliage stuff so the Herbicide sticks to the grass. It only attacked the nut grass. My tall fescue grass kept growing. It will now be a regular on my shopping list.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge Does it!

    By Anonymous on 08/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I applied Prosedge to my flower garden a bit heavier than directions, first time about a month ago. After about two weeks, it looked as if nothing changed much, only slight wilting. Then about the third week, there was extensive die off. This is the fifth week since first application and there is little Sedge life left. I just made a final application to kill the few surviving plants. This stuff works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pro Sedge Herbicide

    By Donald on 12/13/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Sprayed the nutsedge last week. It is turning yellow so hopefully I'll get rid of it. I had a few spots in the yard that was heavy with sedge so I may have to apply another app. Product works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Woo Hoo IT WORKS!

    By Barb on 08/09/2015

    My yard is over an acre and I had a bumper crop of Nut Sedge. Bought ProSedge and Non-Ionic Surfactant and simply followed the directions. In one week most all of the Nut Sedge was yellow and no longer actively growing; easy to tell where I missed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge Herbicide

    By Bruce on 09/22/2011

    One spot application to several yearly troublesome areas, now two weeks later all the sedge has gone yellow and is dying. This product appears to be performing better than I expected and so far receives my highest recommendation. Real test will be if the sedge shows up next season......have my fingers crossed and will comment on the results at that time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works

    By Nancy on 03/17/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I have used this for a few years now. It is great for reducing the nut-grasses within my existing lawn. With repeated applications, it works in areas where the nut-grasses become prolific because the soil has been disturbed. That allows my centipede to creep for better lawn coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge Herbicide

    By Al on 08/13/2015

    I've used this before. It the only thing that works on sedge weed. The best, only takes a week and gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Made it stop growing

    By Ralph on 09/07/2015

    I used one packet per gallon and it worked great.The grass keeps growing but the nutsedge doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    All signs look food

    By Joseph on 05/20/2017

    I think this is doing the trick. I am at day 13 since application and 99%of the nutsedge looks extremely sick. I had a very heavy infestation, so I am sure another application in 4 weeks will be in order, but it appears it will be well under control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Product worked great

    By Steve on 08/26/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This product worked great. Sedge quit growing in a few days and turned brown within a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge WORKS!

    By Tim on 08/02/2017

    I have to admit that I mixed the chemical a bit on the heavy side. After just one application I noticed within four days the sedge grass began to turn yellow, seven days the sedge grass was brown. Two weeks the sedge grass was gone and the St. Augustine grass began to fill in the bare spots left by the dead sedge grass. I highly recommend this chemical to flat-out kill sedge grass infestations. Lastly, this product caused no issues / harm to my St. Augustine and other sensitive flowers and plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Tom on 09/19/2016

    Used 1 spoon (provided with product) to each 1 gal of water for spot application. Added 2 teaspoons surfactant per gallon also. Saw results in 5 days. Weeds continue to die until gone. About 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge for Nutsedge

    By Bob on 08/26/2016

    I used it as directed for patches in my back yard. It has now turned yellow and appears to be dying off. Of course we know it may come back requiring a 2nd treatment but that's OK. I'm after it now and I will win! I also used the non-ionic surfactant which is a must.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Danb on 07/18/2016

    Works great but takes awhile to show results. Don't expect the weeds to die over night.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge

    By Joe on 07/14/2016

    Use as directed, works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works just fine

    By John on 08/22/2020

    mixed per instructions in a gallon of water in hand sprayer. added blue dye and spreader sticker as suggested. Had a bad front yard of nut grass on Bermuda lawn. first application in a few days yellowing started and nutgrass has disappeared. I did this 3 different times of a 3 week period. Had nutgrass in flower beds and work fine there too. You just have to stay after nutgrass. On each gallon I only used .09 oz in each gallon, spoon is included with product. No side affects to lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Prosedge

    By Ben on 08/28/2020

    Prosedge works as good as the sedgehammer packets. Would highly recommend as it is cheaper and you get more uses with this than the individual packets. Bottle is only about 1/2 full, but weighs out correctly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Actually works!!

    By Shane on 09/10/2019

    I have been battling Nutsedge in my yard for years. I’ve tried several different products repetitively hoping that higher dosage and repeated applications would somehow end my battle. They didn’t. The other products would weaken plants but they seemed to come back stronger. I had avoided sedgehammer Due to the cost. For the size of my yard it just was not possible If I had to follow up with multiple applications. When I saw this had the same active Ingredient and realized I could treat my yard multiple (10) times for less than the cost of one application of the Name brand I figured it was worth a shot. Within a couple days the nutsedge began to yellow and now it’s all brown. I did only spot treat my yard I can definitely tell the areas I missed. Very impressed with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By David on 07/20/2018

    Mixed it up, from very poor instructions, sprayed it on and it is killing the sedge grass without harming the St. Augustine grass or other plants. It takes a couple of weeks to see results, but it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge

    By Will on 07/30/2017

    The product worked very well on killing off the nutsedge in my yard without harming my fescue. I have used other products that claim to kill nutsedge but most just burn it for it to return. This actually killed it. yellowed in one week and dead in two.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective. Very satisfied!

    By John on 07/31/2017

    There is so much nutgrass in my lawn so I have to try hose sprayer(1.8g in 32oz sprayer) and Nutgrass were killed in one week. I'm very satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ProSedge Works Great

    By Paul on 10/20/2017

    My back yard was inundated with netsedge for the past two years to the point that in some areas that's all that there was. My usual 3X per year application of Trimec did absolutely nothing. Sprayed ProSedge 3 weeks ago at the suggested application rate and I'm happy to say that all of the nutsedge is totally dead with not a bit of damage to the Bermuda grass. I was a little skeptical given the miniscule amount used in a 25 gallon sprayer tank but it worked better than I imagined.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills nutsedge DEAD!

    By David on 07/13/2019

    OK, so I was skeptical at first, given that nutsedge will survive a heavy dose of glyphosate. But work it does! I've tried it both in the one-gallon mix packets for spot treatments around the yard and the 1.33 oz. bottle for use in my PTO-drive sprayer for use in food plots. Don't expect a "next morning" kill. It takes about a week to ten days before results are seen. The nutsedge will begin turning yellow at first then it dies. If you get good coverage with your spray it appears to have some residual effect up into the next growing season, too. It is pricey, but nothing else that I've found will kill the stuff. Don't forget to add a surfactant to the 1.33 oz. bottle mixes. The small packets contain a surfactant already, the 1.33 oz. bottle does not. I use one quart of NIS per 40-gallon sprayer tank mix.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    What I needed

    By Bubba on 08/07/2020

    Price, easy to order, this is what I need for my yard and DO MY OWN is my GO TO PLACE.... has been for two years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective herbicide.

    By Paul on 07/04/2020

    Within a few days of application the nutsedge started to show fatigue. I'm very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works!

    By Frank on 06/19/2020

    This worked perfectly. I had to treat the areas twice as the nutsedge was fairly big by the time I was able to spray it. You have to be patient because it is a VERY slow kill (two weeks) but it did kill it. Just follow the label and you shouldn’t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Smoked my Sedge

    By Steve on 05/08/2020

    Mixed it in the tank and boy did it smoke these Sedges. Remember it needs a little bit of time to kill it all the way to the roots. Follow the label and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 45 reviews)