Customer Reviews for 5 Star Fescue Grass Seed Blend

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   24
4 stars   1
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   3

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(29 customer reviews)
5 Star Fescue Grass Seed Blend
$24.69

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 Star Fescue Grass Seed

    By Tom on 04/19/2015

    I purchased 5 Star after being told by a local garden center it would grow better than any sod type grass in my lawn due to my lot being very shaded. I initially planted the seed in the fall and it came up pretty well but followed up with heavy oveerseeding this past March and April. The lawn is now beatiful and the envy of the neighborhood. Seed is cheap to attain a great lawn so buy enough to seed sufficiently and overseed as needed. I also applied a starter type fertilizer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    70 of 72 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 Star Fescue

    By Barbara on 03/06/2017

    Love this grass! Planted for the first time October 2016 in my more shady areas. I have horrible sandy dirt and nothing has worked. This grass came up in eight days ..... beautiful green! I was worried that it wouldn't make it through the winter even though Texas winters aren't horrible. It lightened in color but during February it started greening up - a deep green/blue color that is gorgeous - and it's growing again. I over-seeded last week (March 1) and planted a new section. It's all up, and the established section is starting to run. LOVE this product!! Going to order more. I have an acre that I am going to plant. Neighbors have said how pretty it is. I ordered and had the product within 5 days....love this company! Will continue using them....very pleased! :)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    31 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Fescue seed hands down.

    By Keith on 03/16/2018

    I did this professionally for 10 years and this always gave the best turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    31 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    AMAZING

    By Rebecca on 06/21/2017

    I tried everything from sod to more expensive grass seeds. This stuff is amazing. Grew in 5-7 days in the heat of Oklahoma. Hopefully it won't die off in the winter since I planted it during the summer (not optimal time). DoMyOwn has great prices and awesome customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    26 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 Star Fescue Grass Seed

    By Joel on 04/26/2014

    The grass is in the process of growing. The great thing about this seed and Do My Own Pest Control is the price and the quick service. Fantastic service! Quick time that I received it and the price was the best I found. My local guy said two weeks and the price was $40.00 higher. Keep up the good work!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stays green summer and winter!

    By Rachel on 04/22/2019

    I planted this seed to make a new lawn in Queen Creek, Arizona. The grass survived our summer temperatures of 110 degrees in full sun just fine. During the winter, we saw lows of 20 degrees quite a few nights; the grass was not as green then as in the summer, but it did not turn brown. The lawn is now 1 year old and doing great. The only downside is that this is not a spreading type of seed, so I had to buy more seed to fill in some bare spots (thanks, rabbits!)--and the formulation has changed since the first bag I bought.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not come up

    By Eugene on 09/15/2015

    I figured I try this 5-star grass seed. It is 2-times the price of grass seed I can get at the garden centers, but thought why not try something new. Put it down following proper procedures for new grass seed, straw, starter food, watering, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 41 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Top notch seed, excellent germination!!

    By Chris on 01/04/2020

    I have used this brand several times and have never been disappointed. The seeds are highly viable and very predictable. Sow the seeds and 7 to 10 days later a hint of green. I have even buried these up to an inch, too keep birds from eating them and they still germinate pushing a layer of garden soil up with them

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Never germinated....

    By Ellen on 05/25/2020

    I purchased a 10lb bag on 2/25/2020 and stored it in my utility rm, which is at room temp. When the danger of all frost and freezing temps were past, I live in lower Northern, MI, I prepared my backyard lawn and overseeded it along with Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass. It has been several days past of which I have kept the seed damp and there are only very minimal amounts of the seed germinated. The rest are doing nothing. I never should have went with such an off brand.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tall Fescue

    By Chas on 09/25/2019

    Planted the seeds in a small area next to the garage. The seeds germinated and the grass was up in about a weeks time. Follow the directions on the package. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Miracle Seed!

    By Dwanda on 07/19/2019

    We live in the south and our half acre our home sits on is mostly sand. we have bought numerous different seeds with no success. This stuff has sprouted like crazy and we finally have a lawn! cant wait to apply to our all sand back yard now!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 Star Fescue

    By Todd on 09/22/2020

    I researched what seed to plant on a new lawn in a relatively shady yard and landed on Five Star fescue, primarily based on recommendations from landscape pros in my area. I originally contacted two local vendors to purchase the seed, but their price was as high as 60% more than DoMyOwn. After ordering, the seed was delivered in individual boxes within a week. I planted the seed on 09/12/2020 and on day 6 the seed germinated. Now on day 10, green is everywhere. For the very best results, fescue will germinate when the temperature is around 75-80 degrees during the day. Also, I spent a lot of time preparing the soil and have kept it consistently wet with an irrigation system. Temperature and moisture are critical! Excited to see what my new lawn looks like in a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Glad to have found Sod Quality Seed.

    By Rich on 05/01/2018

    I gave it Five Starts because I have been trying to get the Quality seed that was used to grow the Sod that I have put down in my yard. I had tried the local Sod Farms but they seemed reluctant to sell to anyone who was not a Landscaper. I found the same mix here at DoMyOwn. I have some bare spots in the lawn, but did not want to fill in with just any type of seed, I wanted an even look for my yard. Being we have had a cold spring so far, I am waiting for the seed to sprout, but I am very confident that it will soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Never germinated

    By Nate on 11/04/2017

    This seed never came up. I aerated and top dressed with black kow and applied milorganite. Maybe a bad batch?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast, easy

    By Steven on 09/16/2018

    Great selection and in stock. Easy process. Quick delivery. No hassles.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Just what I was looking for

    By Joanna on 06/19/2020

    I like this type of seed. It works beautifully and quick. I do not like the other seeds with coatings on them. I will be buying more. I like the tall grasses and it is so green. I had growth in less than a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great grass seed

    By Jer on 10/23/2020

    I ordered a bag and applied, yet was skeptical due to my area and soil. Well, the seed has done great, so great that I ordered another bag and finished the job! Fescue for my area & soil is perfect! Not all grasses are for all areas, but to prevent wash out, have good rooting grass, as well as, finally to have a just grass seed that works, is awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 star fescue grass seed

    By Hw on 10/02/2020

    I live in central Oklahoma USA and the 5 star seed works great in this area. I over seeded and germination was quick (6 days) and the yard looks really good. Highly recommend 5 star.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Grass Seed

    By William on 10/31/2015

    Will know better next year is it lasts through the summer growing season. So far, so good, has come up great

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    complete lawn restoration

    By Terry on 07/03/2020

    I'am giving it a 5 Star right now because that is what the grass seed is. This will happen the first week of Sept. Looking at 24000 sq. get back to you with results Oct. 1 2020.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for shade

    By Hillbilly on 07/03/2020

    Seeded a test plot two weeks ago. It's a very shaded spot on my property, gets maybe 2-3 hours of direct sun a day, if that. All I did was rake the leaves and natural mulch back to expose the soil and scattered the seed. Didn't fertilize, or anything else, just threw it down. Never thought I could have such a green little patch in that area. Grew about an inch in the first week or so. I'll be buying more to do the rest!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excelent

    By Ernie on 11/11/2015

    Not yet sprouted ,but great expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 Star Fescue

    By Paula on 04/06/2017

    Accurate, fast, reliable delivery just in time for overseeding.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great

    By Rodney on 05/15/2017

    Just as it says

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    GRASS SEED

    By James on 04/18/2020

    PLANTED SEED ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO AND IS ALREADY PENETRATING THE GROUND. HAVE NOT HAD THIS RESULT WITH 3 OTHER TYPES OF SEED THAT I HAVE PLANTED. TIME WILL TELL BUT 100% SATISFIED AT THIS POINT.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass seed

    By Ron on 08/07/2020

    I like product Shipping very good. Service excellent

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Skeptical

    By Jer on 09/27/2020

    Tilled, seeded & fertilized and then leveled and repeated the process. Finally applied straw and seems I only got approximately 35% sprouting growth from the seed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    New Fescue user

    By Linda on 11/09/2019

    After having fescue grass sodded in the Spring, this Fall was the first time to over-seed. At the advise of a neighbor who has had fescue for many years, I ordered this seed. When I went online to DoMyOwn and typed in what I was looking for, I had trouble finding the exact thing at first. But eventually I found it after several searches. After that, the ease of ordering and fast delivery was great! I will certainly come back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great In Central Oklahoma

    By Mark on 11/24/2020

    I live in central Oklahoma. There were a lot bare spots in the lawn at the new house, so in mid September I tilled the bare spots, threw the seed down heavily, raked the loose dirt over the seed, applied starter fertilizer, and kept the ground moist. At first it looked a lot thinner than I expected, but by spring it thickened up exceptionally. I don't have an irrigation system, and I only watered by hand once or twice this summer. By August, it thinned a little in some spots, but now that November has hit it's nearly as lush as it was this spring. And it keeps some color all year round! Now that the rest of my grass is going dormant, I can really tell how well it's spread. Originally I planted in an area that was 2 feet wide, but it has spread out from the house about 8 feet, and is really taking over the lawn. That Blade runner is amazing. Most fescue doesn't spread. I plan to buy some more next year to overseed he entire lawn. I am impressed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 29 (of 29 reviews)