Customer Reviews for Victor Mouse Trap M040

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   79
4 stars   4
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   2

Average Customer Rating

4.8 of 5 stars
(87 customer reviews)
Victor Mouse Trap M040
$12.60

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 79 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ONLY way to go

    By M.b. on 10/23/2008

    Thees Victor Mouse Traps are the ONLY way to go, as all the competitors' traps are not worth the trouble to buy and carry home. We have had Tom-Kat traps (ain't worth a darn) and some of the others on the market, and we keep going back to the "old standard", VICTOR, as it is the only trap that catches mice! Hard to find locally, so we are ordering via the Internet.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked like a charm

    By Jill on 11/12/2006

    I live on a farm. My hobby is to go out every day and get the hay for my loving animals. See, I had no problem with this, until I saw at least 20 mice scurrying around my hay stacks! They would burrow into them, and before you knew it, there isn't 20, but 50 in my hay! The horses and my other animals would eat them without knowing, and they would get terribly sick because of it! I then found the Victor Mouse Trap. That baby worked like a charm, and I now have no mouse problems, Thank you Victor Mouse Trap!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tactics and VICTORy!

    By Hugh on 12/29/2012

    I recently had an annoying experience catching some lucky little pests, I have to say lucky with a little conferred intelligence to the rodents. I placed baited glue boards (banana scented) along a wall where the pest traveled (droppings were clues) and I saw the mouse walk AROUND them to hide behind some cabinets. I then used the snap traps I am endorsing here first baited with cheese (not big chunks mind you but globs pressed heavily on to the metal trigger so the pest could set off the trap). Nothing. No response. Found out that the mouse found another food source - had a stash of rice in a dark nook of a cabinet. I removed the food source and cleaned up the mess and stuffed and sealed any possible other entry points (cracks) with the copper mesh they sell here and some concrete or wood patch where necessary. Four days passed with very little activity until I saw "evidence" of its existence one Thursday morning. I was fed up. I added three more snap traps this time baited with peanut butter and a drop of vanilla extract and made sure there was no food of any kind available. Later that same day I heard VICTORy! The tactics of corraling and starvation worked and the little emaciated pest was tossed and a few hours later another was caught as well and I have not seen any since - that was two weeks ago from the time of this post. I ordered 'Provoke' just in case the other tactics didn't work so I have it just in case. I must thank the poster who suggested adding vanilla.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The "Bomb"!!!

    By John on 01/21/2007

    Victor Mouse Traps are the "Bomb"...they never miss. The fastest and easiest way to get rid of those pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Victor-the only real mouse trap!

    By Freg on 08/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Bought a dozen of these Victor mouse traps because the Dollar store and Walmart only sell junk from China. All of it worthless, inferior garbage. Their mouse traps were weak, lost their slap power within a few days after being set. Mice walked away, ate their fill of cheese and peanut butter, threw the pretend mouse traps around and then laughed at me for buying such junk. I put two of the Victor traps out last night (the first night that I received them in the mail/quick shipping), and Mr. Mouse's head was squished flat this morning. He will no longer be leaving me his meese poops in my stove, microwave or drawers. I've already had his burial in my trash container this morning. My traps are still set/reset and I'm waiting to kill a few more of his closest meese friends, now that I've actually got a real meese trap with some slap and snap. The plastic ones that you squeeze the handles together to set are completely worthless like all traps made in China. Love these Victors, their the real deal, old time, tried and true, now I'm also looking to find a really strong metal handled fly swatter made in the USA with a plastic end. The metal ends scratch computer and TV screens if you slap a fly on them. Victor-the only real mouse trap! Made in the USA by Americans

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best trap out there

    By L. on 06/25/2014

    I have used so many other traps but to no success. The key to this trap is to NOT use peanut butter because the rat just licks it off but to use an actual peanut in the shell. Lodge the nut tight into the trigger and the rat will do all it can to break it free and WHAM! Mice and rats LOVE peanuts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective, Inexpensive & Easy to Use

    By Carly on 02/11/2013

    There had been no mouse issue in the house until this colder winter. We had no experience in dealing with mouse control before purchasing the M040 case (72 traps). After doing some research online and watching the Victor Mouse Trap Youtube video, we decided to give it a try. ... We set up a trap with very thin layer of peanut butter on the trigger metal and put it under the kitchen sink where some mouse drops appeared. It got 100% result within 12 hours - one mouse was snapped and dead without suffering. We repeated 2 more nights/days and got 2 more mice. The reason for buying the 72-trap case was to dispose the trap after one use to avoid any possible complications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Set the trigger as light as possible

    By Rich on 05/10/2011

    The plastic trigger is the best. I don't use bait. Set the trigger metal arm so it just barely catches the plastic trigger. The plastic trigger if done right will be laying down almost flat.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    clandestine pests

    By Ken on 03/16/2012

    I like to load and cock trap and place into a grocery bag with one corner cut out of the bag. When trap is tripped with mouse in it I through bag away. I rarely have any misses. Just keep bag away from windy areas.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finding a good mouse trap

    By Marty on 03/13/2016

    Cut every stinking Mouse in our house. One mouse that thought he was too fast for the Trap was hit in the head and died several inches from the trap!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    mouse trap

    By Rodney on 01/25/2015

    I like these better than the ones with the fake cheese on them. These are more sensitive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    fast and economical

    By Beth on 12/09/2010

    This is the second time I have ordered, both times the traps were shipped promptly, and the price is great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Traps Ever!

    By Tim on 01/06/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I can not find these traps in stores and I don't need to look anymore now that I have found this site. They arrive ahead of the promised scheduled time. This trap works better than any trap I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Old school mouse traps

    By Tod on 03/30/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The newer mouse traps with the glue inside them only leave the hair of the rodent without the capture of the rodent. The old school traps, meaning the M040 traps, did the job within 24 hours.  Plus it kills them instantly unlike the newer liberal traps that just sometimes capture the rodents, and then they just simply starve to death!!!! So what's the sense in that??

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Victor "Better Mouse Trap"?

    By Gman on 11/12/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I don't know if Victor builds "a better mouse trap" or not but they do build one that works every time. I have been using these for decades and all I can say is that they "just work" and every time if used correctly. DoMyOwnPestControl makes it easy with a great price fast shipping, free I might add, and delivered to your door. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Customer Service

    By Judi on 09/11/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Excellent company to work with. We had a delivery issue (not caused by them) and they worked with us with a quick and useful resolution. They showed the kind of customer service that has been forgotten in our society and we were very grateful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Mouse Trap In The World!

    By Diana on 01/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have used the Victor Mouse Trap M040 for many years and when my old trusted ones finally wore out I went looking for new ones. None available in the local stores so I tried the new plastic "easy clean up" models. What a waste of money. I then went on line and Voila! There was my favorite trap! With my order carefully baited with peanut butter and set with the hair trigger that only the Victor Trap engineering allows, I am wiping out the mouse population of my barn! I am one very happy customer!! Thank you, Victor and Do My Own Pest Control!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent product arrived in excellent condition

    By Win on 06/30/2017

    Reliable Victor traps. Best price I could find on the web. Happy repeat customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Great Trap for Mice

    By Terence on 10/11/2012

    These traps work and kill mice fast!(No suffering)These are easier to set than the yellow bait paddle ones from Victor because they are less sensitive they can be put in hard to reach places with out miss firing!The bait area is smaller so just bit a very small amount in the curved bait area so the mouse as to work at it and it will fire!These are the best traps to buy from Victor!Stay away from cheap knock offs!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Still the Best!

    By Kc on 03/28/2012

    I have trouble finding these in stores but they are the best. If you mash the bait into the sprue they never miss. None of the other similar traps work as well as these.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Victor Mouse Trap #M040

    By M. on 07/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    These old fashioned mouse traps are the only one that work and your company is the only place I can get them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very satisfied!

    By Jennifer on 11/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I wanted this kind of mouse trap and I found it for sale here. It came in the mail and as soon as I set it up, it started catching mice. I think we have rid our house now of mice, thanks to this old fashioned designed trap. We like to put a kernel of corn in the trap as bait.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Victor Mouse Trap

    By Fred on 08/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Got him first time! Love the old technology! Also, This model allows you to customize the sensitivity by bending the latch to accomodate the most light weight varmits!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Got em!!

    By Patrick on 07/27/2017

    I was sitting there watching TV, and the Little Critter walked right out from underneath the couch I was sitting on and looked up at me. I really didn't know what to think and neither did he but I got em.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Sweet Good-bye to Mice

    By Sue on 09/13/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I have had a mouse problem for ages... with them coming and going, especially during the winter in my attic. I've tried peppermint and all kinds of different traps, but I could still hear them. I finally decided that the old-fashioned trap was the answer, so I purchased the Victor trap with the little yellow plastic cheese type of plate. I baited it with peanut butter the first few times I used it, only to find the trap licked clean but not sprung. I even tried threading salami and bacon through the little holes in the "cheese." Again, the bait was eaten but the trap not sprung. I then decided that I was tired of feeding these mice and read the reviews for the M040 Victor traps on your website and bought a dozen. By this time, I had found droppings in my kitchen! I followed the instructions about setting several traps, not just one. Well, I put the second trap down near my fridge and turned away to put one on the cellar steps. I hadn't taken two steps toward the basement, when I heard the fridge trap snap! Success! I set a few more down in the basement and the next morning I had gotten another one. The rest of the traps have not been sprung and I haven't seen or heard a mouse since. These Victors are the BEST!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Victor Mouse Trap M040

    By Joe on 03/07/2011

    This is the best mouse trap on the market. I have been trying to catch a few mice over the period of about 2 months with no success using glue boards. Put out the Victor trap and in 5 days I have caught all the little critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    They work

    By Shorty on 12/30/2011

    We've had better luck with the old fashioned metal bait pad than the new plastic ones. Fewer traps cleaned out without snapping. Hit rate with these is ~85% vs. ~50% for the plastic

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Box of mouse traps

    By Mike on 01/12/2019

    Tried and true design, still comes with the good strong spring and the "tunable" metal trip pan. Delivery on time, no frills packaging, modest price. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The best product at the best price

    By Joel on 08/25/2018

    We find Victor's traditional snap traps the most effective way of dealing with the occasional mouse who finds its way into our home. DoMyOwn had the best price, and shipment was prompt. Yes, we would buy the same product (although we hope to have no need to) from DoMyOwn again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Purchase

    By I. on 12/21/2018

    These traps are excellent quality and very effective. I caught two mice within the first 12 hours of setting them. I have not seen any more mouse activity since then. I used a little peanut butter for bait. The traps were shipped very quickly and the price was excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 79 reviews)