Customer Reviews for Dismiss Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(150 customer reviews)
Dismiss Turf Herbicide
$94.32

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 2 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Did not control Yellow Nutsedge on St. Augustine in South FL

    By Gray on 09/09/2014

    I've used Dismiss for a year, applied several times. Cool applicator to measure. Killed the Yellow Nutsedge and killed the St. Augustine too. Then Nutsedge grew back before SA could recover. Wasted $$$

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Per the product label: "Dismiss Turf Herbicide may cause temporary discoloration to exposed leaf surfaces on St. Augustinegrass and certain cultivars of zoysiagrass, bahiagrass, or rough bluegrass. Treated turfgrass will recover with new growth. Discolored leaf tissue will be removed with mowing. To reduce potential for discoloration, do not apply Dismiss Turf Herbicide on turfgrass that is weakened by weather, mechanical, chemical, disease or other related stress."

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide

    By Dan on 06/08/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I cannot rate this product, because I am in the process of using it. The product appears to be working, but takes longer than I first thought. I am into the second week of killing nutsedge. I believe the product works, but I still have nutsedge, although it appears to be dying. I have applied the product a second time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 49 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicie

    By Judith on 08/15/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Really do not know how it is working as I just put it down yesterday and then of course it rained. The directions for putting it down were very poor. Did not say had to do entire lawn or if I could spot treat and no information re being rain tolerant. Finally called parent company in Philadelphia to find out that I could spot treat but forgot to ask re about rain tolerant. Did find something on Internet that said it was rain tolerant if rain did not occur for at least an hour. Will find out, put it down, rained about l and half hours later, so time will tell. More direct info re putting product down needs to be included with the product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    great on sedges , aweful on weeds

    By Lawrence on 08/09/2020

    This product is great on all sedges and Kyllinga, However It is labeled for clover , and sedge , do not expect it to do anything . applied at 6 oz per acre wiped out all Nutsedge and kyllinga . Didnt do a thing on the spurge and Clover

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Wild onions

    By Gene on 04/05/2019

    Applied this on wild onions in my zoysia dormant yard as recommended and they curled a little, but did not die. Somewhat disappointed as to no success. Feel like I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not working!

    By Mike on 09/10/2019

    I've been battling both purple and yellow nutsedge for years. I've tried multiple products, including sedgehammer, ortho and dismiss, all with limited results, and most of the success on yellow nutsedge. I rarely see the yellow any longer, but still annually battle the purple. I think my purple nut sedge must be some kind of mutant weed. The prescribed ratios weren't effective after 8 days, with very limited damage on the weeds, and some burning of turf, which I know is expected. this is my third season using dismiss. I know if i up the ratio or add a surfactant, I'll just burn the lawn, but that's almost what it feels like i need to do. Easily the most frustrating weed on earth. I want to take a flamethrower to it. is it possible my weeds have built up a tolerance to treatment? I feel like they actually like this stuff given how green they are, while being surrounded by burned grass. Lawn is fescue and bluegrass in New England.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work on Carpet Weeds (?)

    By Paul on 09/14/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss was recommended specifically for the weeds I'm trying to control (carpet weed...not sure). I sent DIY a photo, and this is what was recommended. It didn't phase the stuff. I used it on what I think is spurge grass, and it killed it pretty well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Dimiss Turf Herbicide falls short

    By Vern on 03/20/2020

    2 weeks ago I applied Dismiss as directed in the instructions. To date the effects are mediocre at best.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)