Customer Reviews for Dismiss Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(150 customer reviews)
Dismiss Turf Herbicide
$94.53

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 116 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great!!

    By Mike on 05/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss worked great using a portable sprayer. I mixed the solution at a rate of .275 oz per gallon. This mixture was applied to many sections of my yard where weeds were growing mixed in with grass. The treatment was applied around a temperature of 90F degrees. I do not recommend applying at temperatures above 90F. Some weeds got weak in 24 hours and most showed signs of damage by 48 hours. For some weeds it took 1 week for the real effect to show up. My St. Augustine grass showed no signs it had been treated at all. The weeds died but the grass was unaffected. After treatment the grass has really started to take off. The product comes with a add on filler tube, similar to pest control mixtures, where you can accurately and safely measure the amount of product being added to your mixer. Be sure to shake up your sprayer every 10 minutes to ensure the mixture stays consistent. I applied the mixture to the yard in more of a spot treatment process than covering the whole yard. Why spray weed free grasses that are not the target? The treated section should just get wet. There is NO need to soak the ground. This product is a contact product so the roots are not the target, it is the plant above ground. Best effect was on nutsedge. Showed significant yellowing and weakness quickly. Worst effect was some form of clover. It took 2-3 weeks to show signs it was dying. We have about 15 varieties of weeds in our yard and this product killed them all. It did take a second treatment on the crab grass to fully kill it. The cost of this product seems high, but it will save you hundreds versus yard spraying service people. I decided to use my pest control experience on my yard after some clown showed up and killed most of our yard with improperly applied chemicals. Do yourself a favor and fire your yard service before they kill your lawn and leave you with just weeds. Do it yourself when you want to, how you want to, and save money in the process!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    234 of 245 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    WOW!

    By Gary on 07/30/2011

    Went to my local flower seller. They sold me "Sedge Hammer." Required a product to help it stick to the plant. Between the two products: $35.00. Did an experiment: while not scientific, it told me what I needed to know. I sprayed one side of my driveway with "Dismiss," and the other side with the local product. It was amazing! Following the instructions to a 'T' on both products, the Dismiss side was dead and withered within 4 days. The local product showed no change. After two weeks, the local product made the sedge plants look sick-yet still green and present in my yard. I am sold on Dismiss for a rapid removal of this pest. I have been trying to rid the lawn in these areas for years. I now think I have the answer: Dismiss. Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    128 of 135 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Review of Dismiss Aug 2011

    By Dr. on 09/09/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Had been using Sedgehammer on Yellow Nutsedge for couple of years (with surfactant); was generally successful but took several weeks to show effect. Sometimes did not work; perhaps because I occasionally held unused quantities over for several days, then using the remaining portion?; or maybe not. Blogs note Sedgehammer must be used within 4 hrs of mixing or it loses effectiveness. Seeking more responsive control, tried Dismiss, using only as a spot spray at .0275 per 1.5 gallon water. Killing effect seen in 48 hrs. Discoloration of grass seen in sprayed area(s), but this disappeared within 7-10 days. I will reduce dose in future to see if discoloration persists.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    79 of 84 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss - It really works

    By Jim on 08/01/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I hate nutsedge and have tried everything to get rid of it, even using RoundUp which killed my entire back yard. I have been on hand and knees with a water color brush painting it with Roundup. I have used Sedge Hammer which was fair. Now I am delighted to report that Dismiss actually works! I am thrilled. Nutsedge loves this dry hot weather and I have practically eliminated it (I missed some with my spraying). I am telling all my friends and neighbors. Expensive, but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    70 of 73 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This is good stuff

    By Randy on 05/15/2012

    I have fought with nut grass and spurge in my lawn for years. One application of Dismiss removed the nut grass within days. A second application finished off the spurge as well. You can't go wrong with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss works

    By Anonymous on 08/14/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss worked as promised! make sure you do not overapply! I went over my infected area twice in some areas and killed the grass also! The areas that I did once killed the Yellow Nutsedge with no harm to the grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome!

    By Hunter on 07/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have had great success with everything I bought from DoMyOwnPestControl, in service and actualy product effectiveness. and never write reviews for products but because I based my previous purchases on them I know how helpful they are in deciding! Location: Va Beach VA Weather : 90 degrees, Sunny, Humid Mix Rate: 3 Gallon Back pack Sprayer .22oz mixed per 3 gal - area covered 1500 sq ft multiple passes 750 sqft misting spray for total lawn treatment Lawn : Bermuda & St. Augustine - Water: Full irrigation system Weeds :Yellow Nutsedge & Crabgrass I applied this product on a semi directed approach, where there were large areas of nutsedge present I made sure to focus the spray in a fine mist with repeated passes, also did walk treat the remaining areas with an overall light coverage of spray. I was very nervous about the effect on St. Augustine so I opted to mix a low ratio on a high coverage area, with all intentions of having to come back atleast 1 to 2 more times for treatment.- I would advise all persons to mix on the side of caution- 24 hours after initial treatment there is no noticible effect on the St. Augustine or Bermuda, but the nutsedge has already begun to show very obvious and heavy browning, the crab grass is also depicting wilted signs of death. I am not talking examining it with a fine tooth comb to see if it is dieing, it is very obvious 24 hours in. If you have warm grasses like I, especially St. Aug, spend the money and get this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DISMISS TURF HERBICIDE

    By Tom on 03/09/2012

    This stuff rocks! I have been using it in SW Florida for a couple of years now. It can be applied anytime during the year and is more effective than the crap local pest control companies charge an arm and leg for. Also, the local John Deere store charges double for what I paid for on this site. Be sure to store it as recommended in a cool place. If not, unused liquid may begin to harden after a year in the bottom of the bottle leaving the remaining liquid less potent but still somewhat effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismissed dismissed my nutsedge

    By Anonymous on 08/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I live in central Ohio and had a horrendous yellow nutsedge problem. I did a lot of research and was about ready to order a product called Sedgehammer. I happened upon this product (Dismiss) and after reading many reviews on both products I decided that Dismissed sounded all around better than Sedgehammer. I very carefully applied .18 ounces per 1,000 feet. It has not even been a week (6 days) and while I was cutting the grass today I noticed all (99+ %) of the nutsedge is totally brown and dead. I intend to pre-emerge with Echelon in the spring but for now my yellow nutsedge is GONE. Great and thank you FCM!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killed everything I had

    By T on 08/21/2014

    Verified Purchase

    .18 oz per 1000 sq ft no more. Zoysia Emerald was a little stressed only in the areas I over sprayed. In all the heat now in north florida I feel it worked perfect. Goose grass nutsedge and all the weeds I have are dying. Also the measuring device made it easy to pour out .180 oz without having to worry about spillage. Perfect and great service from domyownpestcontrol thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective on Nutsedge

    By Anonymous on 08/29/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I use Dismiss in spot spraying of nutsedge in high quality turf. It is highly effective. Minor browning off of turf grasses (mine is tall fescue and bluegrass) may occur, especially at high temperatures, but color returns within a few weeks. I do not add a surfactant. I now use this herbicide in place of Manage and Basagran that I had used for many years. Excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Lee on 09/24/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Kills yellow nutsedge like a champ. A little slower on the purple, but results are great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    dismiss purchase

    By James on 08/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    excellent service! 100% satisfaction. I have made several purchases through this sight and been totally satisfied each time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good to remove Kyllinga from St Augustine but use caution

    By Scott on 06/27/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss killed Kyllinga quickly while Sedgehammer had little to no effect. To avoid damage to St. Augustine it helps to spray the product dilute making more spray passes, this way it gets absorbed more by the roots as it turns the grass brown where it makes contact. Also it is important to follow instructions and not use surfactant or the grass will turn very brown and suffer damage. I used 1/2 tsp in 1 gallon over 500 sq ft. Then 5 weeks later repeated with 1/4 tsp in 1/2 gallon over the 500 sq ft. I applied in early Spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nutsedge is dead

    By Tom on 08/09/2011

    Our grounds contractor at the Hospital applied this product to our nutsedge problem and in a few days, the nutsedge is dead! Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    finally

    By Dave on 09/25/2015

    I ordered the 6 oz bottle. I did my front 50 x 40 with just a tablespoon in a gallon. I used a gallon and a 1/4. All the Kyllinga turned brown and died within a week. I mowed my lawn then followed each path(line) i made with the lawnmower and sprayed with a gallon sprayer. Finally got rid of this terrible weed. Can't say enough about it. I live in Jersey and applied to my sodded lawn. I cut today a week later. The brown spots are there where I had the infestation, but the sod is already poking thru. Get this stuff if you have Kyllinga. PERIOD....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Pleased

    By Anonymous on 06/23/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Newly seeded centipede lawn from May planting. Some are mature with runners already spreading while late seed germination in other areas with sprigs being quite young. I sprayed while knowing the risk of high temps and humidity here in Texas. Temps were 91 degrees and with this in mind I mixed .180 per 2gal of water for 1000 square ft. In all fairness of this review I also mixed along with it .5 oz of Vantange grass killer since the Dismiss is mainly for broadleaf and nut sedge. Within 48hrs of spraying, the temps begin hovering around 94 degrees and everything in my yard either turned completely brown or sickly green color (mature centipede) and I seriously thought I'd just killed centipede grass and all. Its now been four days later and even the young centipede sprigs is regrowing new blades while the mature grass is rebounding aswell. Nut sedge and along with probably 10 other weeds and junk grass is gone. There is one type of clover that's still hanging on but showing signs of damage, another reviewer mentioned it took 3 weeks for some type of clover to finally die so we shall see. Now that my centipede is rebounding, it should have free growing space with none of the others weeds no longer smothering it. I won't be debating whether to go with cheaper products for nut sedge. Dismiss doesn't mess around and works extremely fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    FMC Dismiss kills nutsedge / water grass

    By Ronald on 10/01/2011

    Verified Purchase

    It is expensive; however, it does the job. Comes as a concentrate. Mix in 1 gallon quantity. Spot spray those nasty little stalks. Within 3 days noticed browning. Gone in a weeks time. Recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss

    By Al on 12/16/2015

    It worked as expected and I was very satisfied. Please MAKE SURE you measure it very carefully and don't add "extra". I saw nothing for two days, but then it kicked in and did its job and the St. Augustine was not hurt. Expensive, but well worth it! I live in Lakeland, Florida.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide

    By Brett on 05/11/2016

    This is a wonderful product. I noticed that my lawn care company was using it with good results, so I decided to buy some and fire them! I can now treat my lawn on my schedule for a fraction of what they were charging to come at rather inopportune times. This works incredibly well on sedge and dandelion. Clover seems to require a subsequent spot treatment, but it will eventually die out. I have a zoysia and PA-mixed grass in the yard, and Dismiss is gentle on everything, provided you don't over-concentrate. .27 tsp/gal max, so the bottle goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Product works exactly as advertised

    By Chip on 10/11/2019

    Mixed at the low end of suggested per gallon (lower line on the mixing cup.. 0.18) for control/killing of Green Kyllinga and Purple and Yellow Nutsedge, within 24-48 hrs the weeds were visibly distressed. A week later the Green kyllinga was obliterated/completely gone and both Nutsedges were on the downhill slide and didn't show much if any distress to my established St. Augustine. For reference, it was applied with lows and highs of 85-95F night and day temps. Buy with confidence. This stuff works wonders.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing!

    By Nancy on 03/13/2016

    This worked fantastically! Bought it for sedge in our Bermuda grass lawn. Pricey, but worth it! We mixed it at the .275 measure in 1 gallon sprayer. It took out those awful yellow nutsedge! First, within a day or two, a few of them looked a bit sick, then turned brown and curled up dead within days. Some were more resistant, and my husband did not think they would die. But I noticed the tips were barely broken off looking or tan, and had been a healthy bright green before. It took them about a week. All gone! great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective on Star of Bethlehem

    By Rich on 04/07/2016

    Star of Bethlehem was taking over large portions of my yard. One treatment at 0.18 fl oz / 1000 sq ft seems to have wiped them out entirely in a few days. I was also hoping this would work on my secondary plague of wild onions. They look like they are ailing a bit, but if it's working, it's not working as fast. Fingers crossed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide - Atlanta, GA

    By Jeff on 08/25/2016

    Sprayed Dismiss on my Bermuda grass lawn 4 days ago and within two days several weed types were browning and wilting and now appear close to dead already. Works great on Kilenga and clover type weeds. I would highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss works

    By Sammy on 07/18/2017

    Sprayed dismiss and 3 hours later it rained. Thought I would lose my application but in 2 days boom it worked. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works!

    By Steve on 07/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    All other products seemed to simply be fertilizer for my nut grass infestation. Literally nothing worked until I tried Dismiss. Very expensive at first look, but if you consider the time, money, and effort using any alternative, you'll realize Dismiss is a bargain. If Nut Grass is driving you crazy - Dismiss It!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss works good.

    By Gerry on 07/24/2014

    Dismiss works as the manufacturer says on nut sedge. It is expensive but it does the job of killing nut sedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Weed Killer

    By Leslie on 04/18/2015

    Verified Purchase

    After using a bottle of Weed B Gone and a bottle of Spectricide weed killer with almost no effect on the weeds, I bought this product on a hope that it would actually kill the weeds in my lawn. After one spraying, most of the weeds were either dead or dying. After the second spraying, my yard is weed free for the first time since moving here. A word of warning, the grass, if a little weak, ( I am also fighting grubs that eat the grass roots ) it will turn the grass brown, but if you water it well for a few days, it springs right back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills the Nutsedge

    By Caleb on 09/24/2015

    72-96 hours after the treatment, the Nutsedge was brown and was wilting. I applied .0925 oz. / 1 Gallon and sprayed heavy on 500 sq. ft. 3 weeks later I applied again not quite as heavy just for good measure. GREAT PRODUCT!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Knocked out the dreaded

    By Kevin on 07/06/2016

    I live on the TX Gulf Coast, and we have the dreaded Deep Rooted Sedge that is slowly working its way across the country. If you don't know what Deep Rooted Sedge is, it looks like Yellow Nutsedge on some serious steroids. A mower with sharp blades will barely cut it because it's so tough and fibrous. I did two experimental applications of Sedgehammer and Dismiss. The Sedgehammer area is largely unaffected. The Dismiss area shows dead sedge after 13 days. I expect to make more applications over the next few years to kill all the tubers, but I'm real happy with the results I'm seeing now. It's going to make mowing my 2 acres so much easier.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 116 reviews)