Customer Reviews for Dismiss Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(150 customer reviews)
Dismiss Turf Herbicide
$94.53

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide

    By Vicki on 09/13/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Our lawn guy recommended this product. He charges almost $200 for one application. I purchased the product myself, and he told me the mix ratio and I applied to my lawn myself in a 1 gallon pump sprayer. The stuff works...just make sure you apply enough on the areas. I missed some spots, so I need to re-apply. But where I did do a good job of applying...no more nut sedge weeds. I recommended your site to a co-worker so he could purchase some for his lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    64 of 68 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Its good, but not perfect

    By Jason on 08/25/2015

    Sedge is a difficult weed to get rid of. As you probably know by now, you can't pull up all the roots. In fact its a complete waste of your time to try to uproot THIS weed. So, you're left trying to treat it chemically. From my experience, Glyphosate (round-up) and diquat don't kill the root system. So, even if you were to paint broad-spectrum herbicides on your sedge within your turf, you should expect to do it in another couple weeks. ...which completely sucks. So, the two leading sedge killers are: SedgeHammer (or generics) and Dismiss [I've used both]. Sedge Hammer is targeted for the homeowner and Dismiss is serious stuff targeted for the professional. Dismiss has some very serious warnings, you're not suppose to use sooner than 30 day intervals and they don't give you the concentration for a hand sprayer...as if to say it is a bad idea to hand spray. But when you are really frustrated with sedge you tend to overlook those issues and look for the sedge nuclear bomb. Dismiss yellows the sedge in 24 to 48 hours....which is satisfying. SedgeHammer takes about a week so you're left wondering if you hit the sedge or missed a spot...for a week. Dismiss was very effective against my "Globe Sedge" [at least that is what I believe it was] and much less effective against my yellow nutsedge. I'm currently on my second Dismiss treatment. I have also found it effective to stagger the application of SedgeHammer AND dismiss on the same turf area [did I mention sedge was hard to kill]. I also used Dismiss for a "high concentration" amount for a 1/2 gallon assuming I would spray that over 1000 sq ft. Dismiss was on my empire zoysia for around 48 hours without water. It browned up the zoysia -- which scared me. But, when the zoysia got some water it came right back to green. Overall, I would buy Dismiss again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Star of Bethlehem Control

    By Gary on 03/19/2012

    Verified Purchase

    In the past we have not had much success controlling Star of Bethlehem with glyphosate. Thus I tried Dismiss as a spot spray for controlling star of Bethlehem in a garden and was not concerned about selectivity on any other plants. The correct concentration for a spot spray isn't clear so I tried 3 ml/gal. After several days the tips on the Star of Bethlehem plant were brown but the plants otherwise seemed healthy. I sprayed again with 0.5 oz/gal and several days later the plants were turning brown and flat on the ground. To be safe I did another spray with Roundup (the one with diquat mixed with it) and after another few days the plants seem dead. I think it is a perennial so I don't know if they will reemerge or not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide

    By D on 05/02/2013

    Verified Purchase

    So far product is great. Only gripe is with manufacturer. Did not return calls for information! Shoddy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    The must have product for controlling sedge

    By George on 08/31/2018

    I bought it for killing sedge in Augustine grass. Does an excellent job of discriminating between grass and weed. You will see the effect within 24 hrs. Does not effect most landscape bush foliage. Excellent product. They could improve on explaining how to use the measuring cup. At first I couldn't get the concentrate to fill the cup very well until I discovered a trick. I noticed in other comments that this was a common problem left unexplained by DIMISS or your websites answers to questions. You must leave the measuring cup cap slightly loose for a trickle of air release in order for the concentrate to gush up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works quite well

    By Lorenzo on 06/22/2018

    Applied to my empire zoysia and St. Augustine lawns and 2 days later the nutsedge was wilting. 2 wks later it is all gone. No impact on the lawn. Other broad leaf weeds browned out but came back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Anonymous on 05/31/2013

    Product worked great out the door. It took a couple of days to work. Nutgrass turned brown in 3 days; some turn brown immediately because of high temps (90 degree day). New nutgrass is popping up; will purchase the dismiss for southern states next time. My next spray will be with MSMA to finish the newlings off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sedge knock out

    By Brian on 08/28/2015

    2 days after treatment my yard was 50 shades of brown. Sedge fully browned out. Some crabgrass died but most is still green and thriving. Most of the other weeds wilted over and 2 weeks later I now have large sections of my yard with no vegetation. I expected this as those sections had no grass. Stage 2 is transplanting the hybrid Bermuda to those bare spots. 4 stars for product, would have been 5 but so expensive. Took an entire bottle to treat .81 acres.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great on Dwarf Mondos.

    By Lisa on 09/02/2015

    This thing works fast and great. I could see results within 3-4 days. However, the 4 star is from the slight discoloration on the tips of the dwarf mondos. Nutsedge and Kalinga was completely consuming my 1gal dwarf mondos (over 5000 of them). Dismiss browned them all up and made them soft and easy to remove out of the dwarf mondos.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Hervicide

    By D. on 11/23/2016

    I used .18 for two gallons of water and the wild violet weeds looked pretty healthy yet. Will try again this spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Herbicide

    By Terry on 08/02/2019

    Learned about this product from the greens keeper at my local golf course. Best product I've tried for control of nut sedge and other hard to kill weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works but not as quick as others stated for green kyllinga.

    By Drew on 09/25/2020

    I called with a question between this and another product and was told it contained the same ingredient to kill green kyllinga so decided to purchase this one since it was much less expensive. I used a 2 gallon tank and mixed enough just for 1 gallon. It started working in 2 days on some of the kyllinga and in other areas took almost 2 weeks to take effect. I am not sure as to why other than I was not agitating the tank after the initial fill up. Others indicated to continue to agitate the tank while using this product - next time I will try that. But I am happy with the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide

    By Ronald on 09/25/2020

    Your product worked quite well in killing my nutsedge and spurge. Your dosage measurements on both products I purchased leave a lot to be desired. I would purchase again, but use a different way measure.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss

    By Victor on 09/20/2020

    It was my first time using the product, and was very impress with the result of my yard. It really killed about 85% of the Nutsedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    dismiss concentrate

    By Gerald on 08/07/2020

    did a good job at stopping growing process, some juvenile nutsedge coming back will spray again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismissed my nutsedge quickly and easily

    By Tom on 06/21/2019

    My yard was being overtaken by nutsedge in the past 3 years. After researching option, I chose dismiss based on reviews from the DoMyOwn site and happy I did. The surrounding grass turned brown but is bouncing back. this time without the nutsedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good on St. Augustine grass

    By Alan on 03/09/2018

    Dismiss controls weeds pretty good in south Florida. It does hurt the grass too for a while, but if you water every couple days until it recovers it is fine. It doesn't kill all the weeds completely, but it keeps them from overtaking the grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)