Customer Reviews for Duke Standard Single Door Rodent and Squirrel Cage Trap (1100)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   16
4 stars   7
3 stars   1
2 stars   2
1 star   2

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(28 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good for squirrels but needs to be secured to the ground

    By Phillip on 08/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    The trap works but it is very light and a squirrel can push it and move it without entering, setting off the trap prematurely. I solved this by getting some tent stakes and staking it in the ground.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Company and product evaluation

    By Barry on 11/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    The company is helpful and very responsive. I purchased this same trap B4 and loved it!! I ordered a second , and the Quality was POOR! EVERYWHERE! Poor bends , door didn't shut very well, Trigger mechanism rubs on the side and wasn't very sensitive. I had to rework it. Wire was cut poorly and left many pointed sharp wire prongs. It was not operational as received.The trigger wire attached to the trigger plate was bent too long , forcing the trigger wire into the side of the trap causing it to bind and not go off. POOR QUALITY CONTROL!!!!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you are unhappy with the product you received. If any products that you receive do not function or have been damaged in transit, then we always want to know so that we can correct the situation. If the product is defective, then we can offer a replacement or an appropriate refund, whichever works best for you. We do carry alternative live traps as well which will be more consistently of higher quality, such as the Tomahawk Model 103: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/tomahawk-original-series-model-103-rigid-live-trap-with-one-trap-door-for-squirrel-rat-muskrat-similar-sized-animals-p-3043.html. We are always available by email or by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST. We apologize for any inconvenience, and we appreciate your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Duke Squirrel Trap

    By Bob on 06/10/2015

    Verified Purchase

    This trap does not work worth a hoot!!! It looks very similar to a trap I bought a few years ago that worked well, but this model is not very sensitive and our yard is overrun with squirrels. The original trap was made of galvanized metal and this one is painted. About the only thing I have caught in this new trap is snails. I tried to give it a zero star rating but apparently this is not allowed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Edges Sharp Enough to Cut You

    By Melody on 06/13/2016

    Bought this trap after speaking with the rep on the phone. I got it for my Mom. When I took it to her, boy did I ever get an ear full. Every edge was sharp enough to cut yous skin. Yes, it was painted, but that did not help with the edges. My hubby bought some Plasti-Dip. Guess I'll try to brush it on the ends to make sure Mom doesn't need medical attention after setting the trap. She said the last one she bought had some sort of coating.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Squirrel live trap

    By Dave on 04/03/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I have not caught a squirrel yet but was well pleased with it's quality and all aspects of dealing with this company. The price was great as well as shipping quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good trap but needs instructions

    By Jessica on 08/05/2016

    Bought for my grandmother and she said theres no instructions and she cant figure it out. Had to send the husband her way to show her. Maybe there should be instructions for people who have never used a live trap before

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Squirels caught

    By John on 01/15/2017

    Dont know if it is me or what But I have yet to catch a squirrel.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! Please feel free to call our Customer Service staff if you would like assistance using your squirrel trap. Placement and food source are the factors that usually can be most easily addressed to improve catch time. You can reach us at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Peace of Mind

    By Rick on 10/08/2015

    My wife is scared to death of squirrels and this trap did the job. A time factor involved in taking the squirrels to the other side of the river to release them but its worth it for her peace of mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Will on 03/08/2017

    I have been trying to get after these fruit thieves for a while, tried a lot of things, with little luck. I set up the trap - nothing for a week, then I caught two squirrels in two days. I set it up again, and again nothing for week. That is ok, I put saran-wrap over the little tray with fruit and nuts to keep the rain off, it can sit there for another month or two. If there are other squirrels around I will catch them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Trap !

    By Michal on 04/16/2020

    We ordered this trap last week and it took a bit longer time to receive it than was advertised. But once we got it and worked wonderfully. We received today and within four hours we caught two very annoying squirrels that were digging up holes in our flower beds. Easy to install and light and easy to carry for the relocation. Only advise would be to put something heavy (we used a rock) on top so it does not move when the creatures are trying to figure out how to get inside. In terms of bait, we used a peanut spread with a little bit of peanut butter on top (for the smell) and it just drove them "nuts" to get the stuff. To ensure they have to really get in and to the end, we tied with a bit of rope the peanut to the bottom at the very end of the cage (away from the door). But we simply loved that trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    trap 1100

    By Warren on 12/28/2014

    Just what I wanted / easy to set & easy to use / & you can't beat the price / I'm using it in the basement to catch Roof Rats that sneak in under the door.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I like it

    By Sheng on 04/24/2020

    It helps me catch three squirrels. It's very efficient. The first one was caught just 30 minutes after I put it in my backyard. I highly recommend such a ONE DOOR cage trap instead of the two door cage trap, which was totally ineffective based on my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Cage trap

    By Billy on 02/12/2016

    Great Item, caught squirrel I was after 2nd day I had it. I will be ordering some other things later.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great price and fast delivery!

    By Roger on 11/06/2015

    Good quality, multipurpose and reusable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Caught my squirrels!

    By Andrea on 12/21/2016

    Bought 2 of these, placed one on the roof over my porch and one in my attic crawl space. Caught 4 squirrels in a week! I used PB with sunflower seeds sprinkled in and trapped about one a day. Two outside and two inside. Took them to ththe forest preserve and it's blissfully quiet now. Success!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fantastic Rat Trap!

    By Judy on 01/20/2016

    A neighbor had a rat serious infestation and it moved across the neighborhood. These traps work! Easy to bait with crackers or fruit. The biggest rat cannot escape. They are easy to empty after you kill the rat. I gave the purchase information to our local animal control officer because the department was looking for a source for reasonable prices on good traps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Rodent/Squrrel Cage Trap

    By Toni on 07/13/2016

    This is the best cage product so easy to load and dispose of these pests!! It's the right size for my small garden that was being terrorized by these squirrels and rats. I have gotten rid of so many pest without using pesticides around my dog and vegetables... GREAT PRODUCT

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    -standard-single-door-rodent-and-squirre cage trap (1100)

    By Don on 07/10/2020

    great trap 5 stars what more can i say.ITS JUST WONDERFULL

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good product

    By David on 06/05/2020

    Nice price and free shipping. Looks to be a good purchase

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Solid Product

    By Blake on 06/05/2020

    This trap worked as stated. As with other reviews, the trap isn't as sensitive as others, but if you a light with the trigger pin is will work fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Squirrel trap

    By Kendall on 05/16/2020

    Excellent product! Already caught two big Mama squirrels that were nesting in my attic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Not yet

    By Stuart on 09/13/2019

    I purchased and used but have not caught anything yet. As it turns out it was a large possum that was escaping from my larger trap instead of a rat. The trap is well made and solid. The trigger seems a bit stiff but can’t say for sure if it is since nothing has entered it for me to know.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what I needed

    By James on 02/01/2019

    Perfect trap for catching squirrels. I had two squirrels in my attic and quickly caught both with a week of setting the traps. Previously used a trap with two doors and they were able to escape. This one worked like a charm.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great little trap

    By Dona on 08/24/2018

    Great service, order arrived quickly. Trap was nicely packed, easy to set up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Product evaluation

    By David on 07/18/2017

    Slick paint job! Had to re-adjust the spring mechanism to have it operate correctly. also sharp edges, did not appreciate one bit. But all that aside, I'll see if it performs!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Squirrel in the attic

    By La on 05/29/2017

    This trap worked great. Once I figured out how to set it ( instructions were missing from box), it worked like a charm. We caught the squirrel in a few days and problem solved.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Duke Standard Single DoorRodent and Squirrel Cage Trap

    By Larry on 01/24/2017

    Caught My pesky squirrel in a short time. Was very pleased with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Re squirrel cage

    By Anthony on 08/30/2020

    The cages take a few tries to set but once you get the handle of doing it,its not a problem.The cages seem to be effective so far.I was able to trap and relocate a few squirrels that were really wreaking havoc on my fruit trees.I will have to see if they continue to work well in the long run.I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)