Customer Reviews for Grass Out Max (Clethodim Herbicide)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   47
4 stars   8
3 stars   1
2 stars   5
1 star   10

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(71 customer reviews)
Grass Out Max (Clethodim Herbicide)
$38.49

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 47 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Takes Patience, But Very Effective

    By Happy on 09/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We have about 12000 square feet of lawn with curbing and beds throughout. Kentucky bluegrass creeping into the groundcover of the beds used to be a real problem. Then my neighbor introduced me to to Grass Out Max. He had used it the previous fall and his beds look great. He said it took about a month for it to work. I tried it and it and for the first couple of weeks didn't see much difference, but after a month it did the trick. Now just an occasional touch up application keeps the beds looking good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out Max

    By Jon on 09/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I'm very pleased with the product. Grass out max work as advertised. Definitely will purchase again and will try other products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Resurrected food plot

    By Les on 06/05/2016

    followed recommended dosage on 1 acre alfalfa food plot that grass was threatening to take over. after only about 5 days grass going, going, and a few more days gone! Alfalfa came back strong and looks great now!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Andrew on 08/04/2017

    This product does what it says! Kills grass and nothing else. My strawberry patch is happy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass out max

    By Jason on 07/21/2017

    Shipping could not have been faster!! I applied grass out max at 16oz per acre with surfactant on my clover. Seven days later grass turned yellow three more days it was dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great on Wildflower Garden

    By Steve on 06/02/2016

    I have two large wildflower gardens that were getting overrun by grasses of all kinds. I was real close to tilling everything in and starting over. I am so glad I tried Grass Out Max first. It takes a while but most of the grass is dying out and my wildflowers are winning. Worth every penny. I used a fifty gallon pto sprayer on my compact tractor. Also used extra in flower beds around the house. I am now my wife's hero if I wasn't already.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wonderful!

    By Carrie on 04/09/2016

    This really worked great in my bed. It killed the weeds but not my plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Time saver

    By Jeff on 07/06/2018

    I used to spray mixed clover food plots. Mixed as per instructions using suggested oil to help aid in contact. Works well. Have patience it will not kill overnight. Takes about 12 day’s and grass in clover plots was dead and clover was unaffected. Will save lots of time with plot maintenance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    nice

    By Ddwag on 07/08/2017

    got r dun, killed the grass near my maters

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out the best!!

    By Dave on 08/26/2015

    Use this on my berries. It works the best without harming the berry plants. Ultra fast delivery and great customer service.Gets rid of all that pesky grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked like a charm!

    By Clay on 08/25/2016

    I was a slight bit biased on purchasing Grass Out Max when comparing the price to the other big names out there. I thought it was worth a shot for controlling the grass takeover in my strawberry bed. One application on a dry hot day was all it took! Less than a week and the color turned and all the grass was dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    grass killer

    By Bruce on 08/30/2019

    I used clethodem as directed on the label and it worked great. The annual grasses were dead within 2 weeks,the tough perennial grasses such as mature fescues and Bermuda will get a second treatment. This product was used on perennial beds with no side effects on desirable plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass out max

    By Mark on 05/23/2018

    I mixed the product with the recommended surfactant at the specified rate and got excellent results. There was no effect on my peonies and Japanese irises.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out Max got the grass out

    By Steve on 06/01/2016

    Product worked as promised and did NOT harm my sunflowers!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    First experience with Grass Out Max

    By Danny on 06/26/2020

    Being new to this product I was a little concerned (a lot concerned) about spraying my tomatoes wit this product but I give it a try. The first one I used it I only sprayed 1 row of tomatoes and was careful not to spray the tops of them. It didn't hurt the tomatoes and after a few days my grass was turning yellow. So I sprayed another row and was not as careful about not getting the spray on the tomatoes and again after a few days the grass was turning yellow and the tomatoes were doing good. Then I got brave and sprayed the rest of my tomatoes and sprayed grass and tomatoes and now 2 to 3 weeks later I have pretty tomatoes that are grass free. I did mix the spray as directed. I recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great!

    By Karen on 06/14/2018

    We had a nasty patch of quackgrass that pretty much took over our small strawberry patch. This product worked like a charm but took 2 weeks, so you must be patient. It did not kill the strawberry plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass Out Max got the grass out

    By Steve on 06/01/2016

    Product worked as promised and did NOT harm my sunflowers!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for orchards and berry plantings

    By Jane on 04/19/2019

    Grass Out Max is just the tool we were looking for! In a new orchard planting that was previously hay field we had tons of grass intrusion even after getting a strong initial kill before planting. Started using Grass Out Max around trees and at the base of perennial berry bushes and now only have to spot treat. We love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    WORKS GREAT

    By Daren on 06/20/2020

    I followed directions exactly, I had grass in ornamental plants. In 2 weeks grass died, perfect, thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great on Kentucky Bluegrass

    By Jim on 06/15/2020

    Verified Purchase

    I have a bed of Euonymus ground cover in front of my home. My Kentucky Bluegrass lawn had invaded the bed and I had tried all kind of grass killers to get rid of it and not damage the Euonymus. The only thing I managed to do was kill the Euonymus and not the grass. I was ready to kill all the ground cover and cover the bed with mulch. I came across Domyown’s website and the “Grass Out Max” herbicide. I bought it and the recommended surfactant for herbicides. I used the amount of herbicide and surfactant written in one of the reviews. (“If you use the surfactant, the recommended mixing rate for one gallon would be 2 tsp of surfactant with approximately .4 oz of the Grass out per gallon of water per 1,000 sq feet.”) I sprayed both the grass and Euonymus. You have to be patient with this herbicide. I noticed after a week the grass stopped growing, but the ground cover was not affected. I noticed the grass started to turn yellow after 2 weeks and was continuing to die. It has now been 5 weeks since I applied the herbicide. The grass has continued to wither and the ground cover has grown and filled out. I don’t normally do reviews, but this herbicide isn’t fast acting like “RoundUp”, but it does the job and has saved me both time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Looking Good

    By James on 07/24/2020

    Although we been having lots of rain in Florida, I mixed and sprayed the grasses growing up through out ground cover beds. That grass is turning brown now and our landscape plants were not affected. I’m gonna spray over it again soon but it may not need that, I just want to be sure it’s killing it. I’m thinking I’m done pulling grass out of our landscape borders from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what I was looking for

    By J on 09/08/2020

    The product worked great. I used it on my food plots which had a lot of foxtail, among other unwanted grasses. After 1 week, I could see that some grasses were starting to die off, but not all, so I sprayed a second time. I probably could have been more patient, but I wanted to make sure I hit everything. 2 weeks after the first application, I really noticed the results. I bought this with the surfactant, as suggested, and I was really pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really works!

    By Julie on 06/26/2018

    I had grass taking over my flower bed. It took two applications but it did the job and my flower bed is rescued!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    worked for me

    By Patrick on 10/09/2020

    Used to eradicate some stubborn grasses from my brassica/clover plot. Took about 10 days to show full effect, but the grass is gone and my crop looks to be fine. Will use this again if needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Garden Weeds

    By Jason on 07/31/2020

    Great product. It knocked the weeds out of my whole garden with just one application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good service.

    By Graham on 07/27/2020

    Excellent customer service and timely delivery. Followed up well on a shipping issue and took care of it promptly. Would definitely buy from DoMyOwn again

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked

    By Jan on 08/14/2020

    Yup, it killed all the grasses, perennial and rye that snuck back into my deer hunters mixture (radishes turnips etc). Looks great again. I’m sure the deer appreciate the clean look now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works - be patient

    By Scott on 07/07/2020

    Does not work as fast as roundup (weed killer), give it a couple weeks. Best price per mixed oz.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kill grass

    By Jim on 08/22/2020

    worked great to kill grass without harming clover patch. Will us again. Great delivery. Price was very good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass control in ground cover

    By Dave on 10/23/2020

    Spring i planted English ivy 1ft grid pattern . Middle of summer grass taken over. After 3 application of cethodim by directions grass gone. Hoping ivy takes over by next spring but if grass comes back will apply again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 47 reviews)