Customer Reviews for Master MFG Master Gardener Cart Sprayer 9 Gal.

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   36
4 stars   11
3 stars   7
2 stars   1
1 star   3

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(58 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 58 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    The good, the bad, the ugly

    By J. on 05/13/2011

    Spray pattern is great. Cart and tank are well designed. Battery life is good because pump only runs on demand. Battery charger did not work. Replaced locally. Hose is too short and stiff. Also replaced locally. Would like longer spray wand. Could be a 5 star product with a few modifications and good quality control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    49 of 51 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I love this thing!!!!

    By Rob on 04/11/2011

    I bought one and everyone loves it! It says 2 hour run time but I have been using it for almost 3 hours without recharging.  Great tires also. Well worth the money. I highly recommend this thing!!! Rob

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    44 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    UPDATE - Feedback on common issues

    By Justin on 10/04/2012

    I wanted to give an update on this sprayer after reading through the reviews and using this personally. First common issue was the stiff hose. This will get flexible the more you use it. There are much cheaper coiled hoses that are thin and not durable. Second was the battery issue. The new version has a red and green indicator light on it so you know when it is charged. Third is the poly fittings. Keep in mind that many people use corrosive chemical in these and metal is not always an option. Lastly on the comments about the price. This is a steal for $229.99. the pump alone is $50, not to mention the $30 battery, 2 big spoked wheels (not cheap plastic) plus the heavy duty frame. I think this is a good product and they have addressed all the issues they had with the first model. Happy Spraying!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    42 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Needs some work!

    By Jerry on 04/24/2012

    I have had three issues with the sprayer. First, the hard plastic hose is far too stiff to make it usable. I had to immediately change it to a rubber hose. Second, the center of gravity is off and the spray tips backwards towards the battery if there is not enough water in the tank to balance the batteries weight. Last, as others have reported, the battery charged indicator does not work. There is no way to know if the battery is charged regardless of how long it is on the charger.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    37 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    9 Gallon Master Gardner cart sprayer- battery powered

    By A. on 06/22/2011

    Verified Purchase

    It worked very well for the first 1.5 hr, I charged it up for the next day and it does not work now. The battery is not charging up. There is no battery life indicator, so if you run the battery out completely you void the warranty. It would be better if it had a manual pump option, so you could use it longer, and get the job done at one time.  I wouldn't recommend purchasing this model with the battery system it presently has.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Mom' s Day Gift........

    By Charles on 05/05/2013

    The wife saw a comparable unit at F&F, for less. After looking both units over, they both have pros and cons. Remember - in todays market place, cheap is in, well manufactured is out. So it's up to you the consumer, with a little initiative to try and make your purchase last a long time and get your moneys worth out of it. If it says 'POLY', it's PLASTIC. So, take all of the POLY hose connection pieces to your local hardware store and purchase the NYLON equivalents. While you're at it, purchase a tube of 'RTV BLUE' and if they didn't come with the sprayer, 1/2" to 3/4" hose clamps (some manufacturers ship their units with plastic tie straps). As to the battery, over time, it's charge time should increase. As others said, the hose is stiff at first, but over time should soften. If you want, run a hair dryer, NOT A HEAT GUN, over the hose for a few minutes. As to the wand, should it break, contact the manufacturer or Northern Tool & Equipment sells new ones.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SPRAYER FOR MULTIPLE USES

    By H. on 05/24/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Sprayer arrived in timely fashion in good condition. I utilize the sprayer for multiple purposes 30 fruit trees, 80 blueberry plants and weeds. The nine gallon tank is sufficient for each task. Because I tow it over rough ground I did have the tubes in the tire filled with foam to eliminate any chance of flat tires. The battery seems to hold a charge for the 3 hours and has not ran out of power. I use a neutralizer as I switch between herbicides and insecticides. Highly reccomend this sprayer

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Darn good sprayer

    By Old on 05/24/2011

    Not a criticism of the sprayer, but the particular unit I received was obviously a return. The components were loose in the box and the box even had a hole where the front sprayer attachment is. All the parts seemed to be there so I went ahead with it. The wheels were attached but very loose so I adjusted one without an incident. The other however was not so good, the nut had been tightened and stripped but the wheel was still loose. I saw the axle wasn't in the frame correctly but seemed secure so I replaced the nut, added a few flat washers and it was fine. As for the unit, it is wonderful. The large wheels allow it to roll over large roots and obstacles the other rolling sprayers would need to be lifted over. The wand is perfect to reach down to get weeds too close to spray otherwise. It holds a lot which is great - no filling the small units over and over. It has has a low center of gravity allowing it to traverse slopes without tipping. That was a concern given my landscaping. I did my entire property in a half day. It would have taken a couple days with my old pump up sprayer and was not tiring either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    FABULOUS ITEM

    By Karen on 04/23/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this item because I was tired of filling my one gallon watering can from my rain barrels. I didn't want to fuss with putting hoses and pumps in all three rain barrels and this baby does the trick. I can understand why folks complain about the curly hose and that's the only thing I'm not crazy about, but I'm using it anyway. It's lightweight enough even when full to pull/push around. I can almost get my backyard garden done with one filling - almost. Everybody I show this to now wants one.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    usefull piece,por quality control

    By Joe on 09/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    when I tried to charge the battery I found the charger would not fit. i ended up making two charging studs and using my 12v charger..the coiled hose is silly. I imediately added a hose barb and 10 ft of clear hose..that being said,it has been in constant use with good results..it pays its way ..now

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Update on Sprayer Review (9-26-12)

    By Sharon on 10/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I mentioned in previous review that the plastic coupler was leaking, and then cracked, in our attempts to tighten it. Decided to call the company and ask about a replacement part. I was very pleased that a new spray wand attachment was sent to me at no cost. Will be very careful now in tightening and perhaps add a washer so it won't leak.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great for Watering Remote Gardens

    By Carl on 08/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Great for Watering Remote Gardens Looking for a hand-cart sprayer, found 2 brands at other sites. Both get bad reviews. Master Gardener gets mostly good reviews, so ordered it. Having read directions and reviews, know not to overly discharge battery. So recharge after each tank-full. I’m content to put 9 gallons of water a day where needed most. In case of drought can go out more often but still limit battery usage to 9 gallons per charge. Don’t leave sprayer out in rain because there are live electrical connections behind and underneath tank. To adjust spray pattern, twist tip of spraying wand. I don’t have much use for the fine spray; I go for distance. I stand in one spot & spray the whole nine gallons into as large an area as I can reach. Because I’m simply holding the wand in front of me as I stand still, usually no problem with length of hose. But when tank is nearly empty and spray stream is shortening, I sometimes want to reach out to a nearby plant to give it a last drink, and hose fights me and can pull the tank over backwards. Son-in-law used sprayer once and definitely thinks hose is too short. To me, minor issue. While assembling, I read both printed manual that comes with the sprayer and online manual available here. Inconsistent. TEXT is more complete and accurate in printed manual, and ILLUSTRATIONS are more complete and accurate online! Other issues: Sprayer arrived with upper handle and tow bar missing. These were then shipped directly to me by manufacturer, to correct manufacturer’s packing error. Drain cap at base of tank leaks water with slow drip. Never leave sprayer in shed with water in tank. If wand were stored vertically on sprayer, instead of across width (& beyond) of sprayer, would be much easier to maneuver the sprayer into and through shed without damaging wand or its clip holders. Batteries wear out, so thanks, DMOPC, for providing manufacturer’s phone number for ordering new battery. However, wish I could order batteries right here. Don’t like ordering by phone because then can’t print a record of the order. And hope I don’t have to replace the battery every season. Expensive. Overall, I’m pleased with this sprayer. Basically what I wanted, easy to use. (567-word review ruthlessly shortened to 392 words)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Highly Recommended!!

    By Greg on 05/02/2011

    This is great! It sprays like 20 ft, perfect for our hanging pots and also de-icing in the winter. The front nozzle has a perfect swath for my fertilizer. Compact and easy to use. 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    sprayer review

    By Sharon on 09/26/2012

    The 9 gal. sprayer arrived quickly and was packaged well - although it took some time to discover that the hardware and manual were in the tank! The sprayer works well, and pulls nicely. The only problem encountered was that the plastic coupler to the spray nozzle was leaking, and in tightening the coupler, it cracked. I don't know if this is a replaceable item? We taped it and it is working for the time being. Otherwise, I am pleased with the sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DO NOT BUY!! VERY POOR CRAFTSMANSHIP!!!!!!

    By Morgan on 08/15/2015

    I would save your money and not buy this product. I had looked at this sprayer 3-4 years ago but didn't buy it due to price. Now it was cheaper and after reading all the reviews and seeing a lot of positive reviews and satisfied individuals, I decided to buy it. I waited a week for it to arrive and when it did, I was shocked at the craftsmanship. VERY VERY POOR!!! There was a screw sitting at the bottom of the box that was suppose to be holding the battery to the back panel. The screw had stripped out of its plastic threads. The other side of the harness had snapped off the panel as well. The pump was not secured to its rubber clamps and one of the screws that attaches the back panel to the actual tank had come out of the tank causing the tank to crack and creat a hole. So called customer service, they were very very nice and sent me a new one that very day and had me send the old sprayer back free of charge. So I waited yet another week for my NEW sprayer to arrive. Today, 8/14/15, the new sprayer arrived and I was excited because I should have a non-damaged product. I WAS WRONG!!! I opened the box and found the entire back panel hanging off the tank by one screw, the pump AGAIN was just bouncing around not secured to the tank by its rubber camps and AGAIN the same securing nut, mind you in the SAME exact place as the original sprayers, was yet AGAIN completely out of the tank. When I looked in the hole where the nut should be to see if the tank was cracked, IT WAS and there was yet ANOTHER hole in the tank rendering it useless!! I could not believe that I was sent AGAIN another defective, damaged, product. I wish I could post the pictures I took so you could see what I mean. I just could not believe that a new separate sprayer was damaged in the exact same locations!!! So I would not buy this product because they are all damaged!! And as a company selling this sprayer, I would be embarrassed!!! So now I have to wait another 2 days in order to call and get a refund. Wish they were open later in the day and on the weekends.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Oh dear! We are very sorry to hear that you received two sprayers with the same exact issues. We have contacted the manufacturer to inform them of the issue so that they can make the needed adjustments. As we indicated in our contact with you earlier, you will be refunded in full right away. We sincerely apologize you were negatively impacted by this quality control issue with the manufacturer. We appreciate your feedback and your business very much!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works as advertised

    By Terry on 09/19/2013

    I have about 1500 lineal feet to spray - rocks, fence lines, etc. This thing is just great; sprays from a mist to jet about 20 - 25 feet. I only use for weed kill and tow it behind my riding mower. You can also pull by hand for smaller areas. The wand, hose, tank, battery, wheels all work fine as shipped. The only time it was difficult to use was in pulling it over part of my yard that has a large root system exposed. When the battery is running down, it will slow the spray - don't push it or you will discharge it completely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Master Gardner Sprayer

    By Phillip on 06/11/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered my 9 gallon sprayer from domyownpestcontrol and it arrived in 3 days. There was not much to assemble and it was easy but the instructions were very poor and the parts legend almost unreadable without a magnifying glass. Because I had to figure out how to assemble it on my own it took about 1.5 hours. When I filled the tank to check for leaks there was a very large leak from a large crack in the back. Domyownpestcontrol replaced the unit promptly and paid the freight both ways. Since I had done it before the assembly took only 15 minutes. The second unit also had a leak but it was small and reparable with glue. The unit works fine both as a portable wand and a tow behind sprayer. The construction is rugged and it has large diameter wheels which roll easily over rough ground. I like the machine a lot. I just hope it lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    more thoughts

    By Joe on 09/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    for a piece of equipment this expensive i would expect to see stainless nozles ,not cheap plastic. these were changed right away..The remote switch doesnt work..too bad ,that would have been convenient..Also the holder on the front for the wand is in a silly place .it sticks out so far people tend to walk into it

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Worst Buy Ever

    By Nathan on 05/24/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this to get started with a lawn care business. I have never had a product where so many things broke in such a short period of time like this sprayer. The hitch bar is cheep and broke at the connection point within three days of regular use. The back panel that is held on by three bolts fell off within 2 weeks. They simply striped right out of the cheep plastic they were threaded into. I had to superglue the panel back on and screw over sized bolts into the plastic to keep the panel on. Finally after about a month of use the pump simply quit. Do yourself a favor and buy something else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellant

    By Loretta on 03/21/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I have used this sprayer 4 3 wks now & it is doing the job nicely with ease. I can spray for a good 2 hrs on a battery charge and it is so easy to handle on my yard. I have a 2 acre yard and I use it by hand or hook it up 2 the lawn mower. I am a 65 yr old lady & if I can use this anybody can. I would highly recommend this sprayer. I searched 4 months before I purchased this one & this was the best choice. A little more money but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent sprayer

    By John on 11/05/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I had a battery operated back pack that went out and felt this would be easier to use around the ranch. Yes I do get over 2 hours run time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great sprayer

    By Carol on 06/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Easy to assemble, easy to pull. Good spray pattern. Easily recharged. I've been the spray queen on these 7 acres for 20 years, and this is one of the best sprayers I have come across. Very little bending over!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Love it.

    By Colonel on 05/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Suggest you market it at Lowes or Home Depot. Is the type of sprayer that I looked for and could not find locally. Need to improve assembly instructions. I charged the battery as directed for 24 hours and it still did not run. Called factory and was told to connect the two wires below sprayer. That solved my problem. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It is about time!

    By Jacob on 08/12/2011

    I am glad someone finally made a nice compact battery powered sprayer. The frame is very heavy duty, great big wheels, and the nozzle in front is a great option. I have had no problem at all with the battery. This is a must have for anyone with a small to medium size yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    9 Gallon Master Gardener Cart Sprayer - Battery Powered

    By Anonymous on 06/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This sprayer does everything I hoped for. Was easy to assemble and very easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great

    By Dodie on 05/01/2012

    I used for the first time today a new 9 gallon Master cart sprayer. It worked great. I finally found a sprayer that is easy to use and move around. The customer service was excellent also. I did put a new hose on the sprayer which is easier to handle that the curly one that comes with it

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Needs to spray more volume.

    By Jamie on 05/04/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Its an ok sprayer. My only problem is that it only sprays at .5 gpm.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Back saver sprayer!

    By Marcia on 01/18/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Fantastic home Gardner tool. Did replace the sprayer hose first thing with one from the hardware store (longer and more flexible) attached a 1 1/2" diameter piece of PVC vertically to the handle to keep the wand safe. Tank is sturdy. Sprays beautifully, far enough to do all my fruit trees and rolls easily on my pathways. I am thrilled to have it! I am going to use it to fertilize all my flowers and pots too. Battery charger light is questionable but battery works very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Handy!

    By Deb on 06/08/2012

    I wasn't sure if this was the right unit to get but I am very happy with it. The battery lasts forever and it is easy to pull. Haven't used the hitch yet. I also like the fact that the handle slides down for storage (although it can be a pain to slide up and down). I would recommend this item!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    One use and I like

    By Mark on 08/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    1) The wheels my unit came with are more like hard lawn mower wheels while the picture has more of a softer looking bicycle style wheel. 2) The unit does tip over (other reviews herein) when empty which is really annoying but I have flipped the handle to cure the imbalance and it is able to be pulled just fine. 3) The assembly instructions are really poor, no pictures and have to refer to parts map. Scratched my head a few times but figured out most of the complexity is for rigging up the 10 foot boom which I did not buy. Read the fine print to hook up the two black wires underneath or you will sit there wondering why nothing happens! 4) The unit sprays to about the top of an 18 to 20 foot hemlock so I am happy with the advertised throw distance. 5) WAY BETTER to pull 6-9 gallons than hurt your back with 4 gallon backpack sprayer - terrific not to have to pump - battery and pump performed very well. OVERALL - thrilled with purchase, for the price it is worth a try for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 58 reviews)