Customer Reviews for Optigard Ant Gel Bait

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(84 customer reviews)
Optigard Ant Gel Bait
$30.98

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 75 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Scary, but works GREAT!!!

    By Kris on 03/17/2010

    I had an huge ant invasion in my basement, then a trail to my master bath. I put the Optigard on a flat paper plate, within an hour the amount of ants tripled!  By the next morning they were ALL GONE!!! The stuff was amazing, but it was really hard to watch more come without spraying them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    55 of 56 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    I've tried everything

    By Rob on 04/24/2009

    I've tried everything and Optigard Ant Bait Gel has definitely worked the best. Ants are not repelled by the smell or taste like other liquid baits. My ant infestation was out of control but I believe I will eventually wipe out the colonies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works

    By Jesus on 02/14/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff wiped out the *entire* ant problem in the house. We had multiple types of black ants. Small ones, big ones, crazy microscopic one. All the ants in the kitchen, office, bedrooms and dining area are completely, 100% gone. Amazing stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    34 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Optigard Ant Bait Gel

    By Ed on 04/15/2010

    Verified Purchase

    This is a life-saver when it comes to getting rid of ants which seem to pop up from time to time regardless of what is done. It make take a few days for all the ants to be gone, but it does the job in an easy and efficient way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works like a charm

    By Kd on 05/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Our bug guy at work was nice enough to tell me what they use for the ghost ants. I bought it and shared the info with 2 co-workers who bought it also. Works like a charm. Very satisfied. Placed it like our bug guy stated, (wait til you find a trail and where it leads to) and they were gone the next day. Yeah!!!!!!! Thanks to DMOPC for selling this item and making it available to homeowners.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Optigard ant bait

    By Steve on 11/04/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I literally found ants climbing on top of each other to get to this stuff! They were Argentines in one case, fire ants in another, and another species I'm not familiar with. Some harvester ants were eating it, too, though I know it's not recommended for that. Next day: no ants! Thank you! This is the best stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Funny Story!

    By Anonymous on 08/16/2013

    The General Manager of our Company went around the office and sprayed Ortho Pest Control spray twice. There were still ants in the kitchen. I applied some of the gel - ants gone by the next day! Here's the funny part -- he sprayed yet another time. Many other bugs were lying dead or floundering on the office floor. There was one giant beetle on his back. He legs were moving up in the air; but so was his whole body. As I looked closer, a cluster of ants were carrying him away!!! So the spray kills the huge bugs, but not the teeny tiny ants!! Optigard to the rescue! No ants at all the next day! You gotta believe after that!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Seems to be pretty amazing

    By Buck on 01/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Our office pest control worker has used this on 3 occasions so far and the results have been amazing. One evening while packing up to leave for the day we found that everything in the office was crawling with the smallest ants I've ever seen - almost invisible. The guy figured out where they were coming in, put several beads of Optiguard at the entry point and BOOM! They were covered with ants in moments. Next day, no ants anywhere. 2nd time, we found a few ants walking a trail from one side of the warehouse to the other. Just a few here and there but on a very definable trail. He traced it to a spot under a sink, put a few beads down and again, out of nowhere, thousands of ants attacking the gel in moments. Next day. No ants. In both of these cases he identified the ants as Ghost Ants. The third time was outside. I found a trail going into a crack in the stucco of a column that leads to our building's soffit. I had placed an Ant Pro station with Gourmet Liquid Ant Bait in the middle of the trail and the ants started going in right away. But three days later and there didn't seem to be any reduction in activity. Pest guy put some Optiguard at the entrance to the column and again the ants went crazy for it. Next day, no ants coming out of the column. So while I haven't bought any myself, I've seen it work wonders 3 separate times.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked As Advertised

    By S on 09/30/2014

    Having tried the usual off-the-shelf solutions fm the local Home Depot (spray & baits), I went online, found this, read the details and reviews, and ordered it (the order did arrive promptly). I must say, it worked even faster than expected; about 36 hrs from application to zero ant activity). (I'm informed argentine ants are the issue here in San Diego - this product seems to take care of them nicely.) I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great to Kill Ghost Ants

    By Jesus on 01/19/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this stuff back in 2011. It's 2014 and I just found a package in my garage and used it yesterday on some pesky Ghost Ants (that the support staff helped me identify). Within one day, they're going nuts eating the Optiguard and the population shows significant (95%) reduction the next day. The Gourmet gel wasn't working on them but Optiguard did.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Optigard ant bait gel

    By L on 09/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We had tried several other products bought at our local improvement store to try to rid our favorite Maple Tree of carpenter ants to no avail. In doing a web search I came across this ant gel and decided to give it a chance. After three days of using this bait the carpenter ants are gone.. The gel is very easy to use and you can place exactly where you need to..This product draws ants right to it for a feeding frenzy then they carry back to the nest which was in the depth of our tree and could not be reached with the sprays we tried to coat the bark with. I am extremely happy and highly recommend...Thank You Optigard....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Miracle Worker

    By Dianne on 07/25/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This ant bait gel works miracles! I saw a recommendation for it in my local paper and decided to try it. We had constant problems with ants until I tried Optigard Ant Bait Gel. It works almost immediately, both indoors and out. This is my second order. It is the best product out there.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product!

    By Barb on 12/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Put this product down ONCE in my kitchen area for a terrible ghost ant problem. They came from places I didn't even know existed in my home to get a tasty treat! Haven't seen one ghost ant since!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    If you can't step on 'em...

    By Anonymous on 07/20/2013

    Verified Purchase

    We didn't really realize we could buy this stuff, but now that we do, we'll get those darn ants! Works great and it's easy to use, not to mention less expensive than having the exterminator out all of the time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product, very efficient

    By Ted on 09/17/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I found this product is the best in the market, very effective and you will see it works in seconds. I have tried a lot of other brands from Homedepot and none of them works well. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Quickly!

    By Ab on 07/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We had hundreds of microscopic reddish ants in our kitchen cupboards and had tried for several weeks to eliminate them with Borax mixed with powdered sugar. The father of a friend of mine owns his own pest control business and recommended this website and the Optiguard ant bait gel. We put a dime-sized amount near where we thought they were entering our cabinet under the sink, and within 36 hours we had no more activity and haven't seen an ant since!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    THE BEST EVER ANT BAIT

    By Julie on 09/07/2015

    We have always had issues with ants...all kinds of ants. This bait gel is SO simple and got rid of the ants within 24 hours in our case. We have purchased and given to our kids who have had ant issues and they report it has resolved their problem as well. It is fabulous!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Optigard Ant Bait Gel Works

    By T. on 03/15/2011

    Verified Purchase

    We had a professional pest control in about 9 months ago for an ant problem you would not believe. He sprayed inside and blew some stuff under the house. He also left us some Optigard Ant Bait Gel. We had no more ant problems until recently. I ordered the bait, it took about 8 days, now the new invaders are gone. Just put it where animals and kids can't get to it. This stuff really works. I had tried everything.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Leah on 08/20/2016

    I had millions of ants. Maybe billions. They were crawling all over my house, inside my house, and in every tree. I was even getting them in on the sofa and in bed. I tried lots of products from the big box stores with no success. It seemed I was just feeding them and not killing them. I tried borax, diatomaceous earth, sprays and baits. I even made baits myself. The ants just got worse. This product has decreased my ant population overnight. I used a full tube the first week. Now I have one quarter of the ants I used to have. All of them are gone from inside the house. I retreat outside every day and have really put a dent in their colonies. The only ones left are in the trees, and that is because we live next to a preserve. I know I will have a constant battle, but at least I found something that works and I can find peace in my own house again. Thank goodness for Optigard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product and service

    By John on 03/17/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The order arrived in a timely manner and in great condition. Very reasonably priced

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Miracle ant bait

    By Lorraine on 11/19/2010

    I had pavement ants every winter 30 out of 40 years. I used this gel at the end of the winter last year. Normally I will see them by 10-31 so far I have not. If this keeps up this will be the greatest invention since penicillin. My house is built on a slab and I have literally walked in my house with my head down looking for them. I even replaced dark linoleum with white so I could see them more easily. I had tried everything and I must say I am 20 days so far ant free.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ant bait does the trick

    By Laurie on 09/03/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Optigard ant bait does a great job of getting rid of those pesky little black ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Super Colony Control

    By Jim on 07/31/2016

    I live in Southern California where we have massive super colonies of Argentine ants. You can't expect to kill them and be done. The super colonies extend all over the area so you can get rid of nests in your yard, but not your neighbors or beyond and those colonies will eventually come back - particularly if there are existing empty (ie killed) nests that are easy to establish. But you can definitely control the area around your home. If you haven't read a lot about Argentine (or pretty much any) ants, the first thing you need to realize is they have different diets. Workers need carbs. Queens and larvae need protein and fat. I've read that Argentine queens will also eat carbs, so that's a plus. The first thing you need to do when you see an ant trail is to follow it and try to get as close to the source of the nest as possible. Sometimes they'll go under a fence or out of an area you can treat, but at least get as close as you can to the nest. I like to put down some Advance 375 (protein base) and Maxforce (fat, protein, carb and sugar based - but large so my ants don't take much of it home) and let them take that for at least an hour. These are really targeted at queens and larvae so I like the workers to get as much home before I start on them. The Maxforce also kills roaches and a few other insects so it's a good plus. Again, get this stuff as close as you can to the nests. I put a good dose near the nests and then lesser amounts along the trail in case I missed any nests in my scouting. After an hour or so, put down long thin lines of Optigard. Long and thin allows way more ants to get to the bait. Don't put down big globs or you're just wasting the stuff in the middle. Again, a fair amount (3 or 4 inch lines a couple mm wide) near the nests and then then lesser amounts back along their trails. I have plastic plant boarders around the house and it works as a perfect place to put the gel. My ants don't really come out when it's sunny, so I apply early when shade still covers the areas they live. Also, the sprinklers will wash it all away so either turn them off for a day or apply on a day/night when you don't water for 24 hours. Regarding Optigard vs Advion - they are both really effective, but I find the ants like Optigard a little better (based on my own side by side tests) and it seems to have a better kill rate - I don't have to reapply as often. If you have super colonies, they will come back so just keep treating the exterior of your property as you see them and your house should stay ant free. Hope this helps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Ant Bait

    By Walt on 09/17/2015

    We had been putting up with ants all over the counters and in the pantry for years until we ere introduced to Optigard. Now we are ant free--great product and easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product

    By Aubrey on 10/07/2014

    Excellent product! Solves a recurring problem at our house like nothing else. Love the free shipping as well!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast and effective

    By Eric on 04/12/2017

    Purchased the gel and granules due to carpenter ants on a porch. The ants were going up and down a post and I didn't want to start removing soffit to find the nest. I put some gel and granules on the handrail and the ants immediately began taking the bait. Two weeks later and there is no sign of the ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Aimee on 02/01/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product works great. I like to use it indoors where I can't spray. It takes about 24-48 hours and all the ants are completely gone. I only had a problem when I first got the package. It had sat outside in my mailbox for a while in near freezing temperatures. The gel had seemed to separate from the liquid, making a messy application. I let it sit indoors for a couple days and then shook the applicator vigorously before I tried again and it worked fine. I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good!!!

    By Trudy on 01/24/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Well - it's been a week now, and no ants!! Hopefully it stays that way! This ant bait worked right away! I put some in front of an ant, and it immediately went for it. In a half hour there were at least 6 ants going for it. In about a week and a half, I sucked up about 200 dead ants. I continued to see ants dying for the next 2 weeks after that. So it took about 3 1/2 weeks to kill them. This was in the middle of winter, so I am waiting to see if they come back in the spring. As for now, I'm very happy with the results!! Thanks much for a great product !!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Optigard Ant Bait Gel

    By Tracy on 07/16/2010

    Verified Purchase

    This is the best stuff on the market. And you can not find it in any store. I live in a wooded area and ants are a major problem for me. Whenever I find a new line of ants, I place about a one inch line beside their path in two or three places. Within minutes, the ants are swarming over the bait, eating it, and taking it back to the queen. And about four hours later, there are no trace of ants. Everyone I talk to, I recommend this gel. It doesn't take much gel to take care of the problem, and is priced right.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Customer for Life

    By Carl on 08/10/2012

    Wow! Your products have saved me from many complaints from my tenants! From roach infestations to sugar ant armies, your products have wiped them out. Not only has it worked like advertised you saved me tons of money too! Thank you very much. Signed, Customer for Life

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 75 reviews)