Customer Reviews for Talpirid Mole TRAP

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

3.9 of 5 stars
(117 customer reviews)
Talpirid Mole TRAP
$36.56

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    IMPOSSIBLE MISSION

    By Ron on 07/16/2017

    In following the enclosed xerox instruction sheet to the letter we find it impossible to penetrate the soil across the tunnel for both of the traps tines to enter the tunnel without collapsing the tunnel . Older style traps work with much greater ease ! Thank God we live on acreage in a rural setting in a gun friendly state . Our most EFFECTIVE METHOD is to observe the rotten rodents current soil disruptive activity and then AIM AT THE TUNNEL, POP OFF A FEW ROUNDS OF 22 cal SLUGS; transforming the rodent into the best thing it EVER COULD BECOME ..... "TREE FOOD" !

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not so easy to use.

    By Rick on 09/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I have a thick fescue lawn in Georgia red clay. The 5 inch wide by 5 inch deep slits you have to dig MUST have a wide enough diameter for the jaws to move easily. No easy task in compacted wet clay. Don't try pushing the yellow spring arm down if they are not, or you will get nowhere and sprain your knee. Keeping as small mole tunnel in one piece which may lay slightly under the grass surface is not easy either. Positioning the trigger exactly over the existing mole hole after spending considerable time to dig the jaw slits is a real challenge. I would suggest just getting the poison worms and forget the trap. I used the worms instead and while walking over a tunnel two days later - a barely alive mole popped out of the ground where I stepped on a shallow tunnel. Buy the worms and apply as directed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    junk

    By Tommy on 01/17/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This trap doesn't work. I wasted 30.00 bucks! Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Terrible ~ Do yourself a favor and don’t buy these

    By Kevin on 09/13/2020

    The biggest problem with these traps is the inability to easily set them. Yes, using a shovel or similar device to cut groves in the grass across the tunnels is a great plan, but the problem is the yellow “trigger” in the center of the trap. This is so sensitive to the depth of the trigger as compared to the height of the lawn and the depth at which you need to have the tarp “jaws” open up to. My meaning is that when you try to step on the trap to set it, the yellow trigger seems to never be allowed enough ground clearance that it can rest below the floor of the trap and ultimately set using the catch to grab the articulating arm of the trigger. I have purchased two of these and attempted setting in grass and mulch beds. They have never been tripped by any moles.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By G on 04/24/2012

    Put two traps over mole tunnel and left for 10 days. No luck yet. Plan to keep trying because nothing else seems to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Jack

    By Verlyn on 09/19/2014

    I have had very little luck with this trap it trips when a mole activates it but the trap jaws are to wide apart to catch it. only caught one, many activates.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    no wonder you cant send back opened packages

    By Lori on 10/18/2016

    I used a roller on my yard in a couple places every night so I could see the new activity. This trap is so hard to set. I have rich wet soil, and by the time I used a spade on each side of the trap so the jaws can move and then it wouldn't set (or lock down), i would have to pull it up and a huge chunk of my yard would come up with it. I am doing more damage to my yard than the moles are doing. I did get it set twice, once it was tripped and there was no mole, and the other time it just sat there and did not catch anything. No worries though because I went to Tractor supply and bought one of the spring loaded traps (which is very easy to use) and I caught one of the moles today. I think there is a reason you cant return opened products, because they know that a customer does not realize that it doesn't work until they use it. The spring loaded one is cheaper also.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Our customer service team is reaching out to you right away to address this issue. Please note the returns policy is for actual returns, not defective equipment or problem products. We will always our best to make sure you walk away from every transaction satisfied. We look forward to helping you soon!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Mole Trap

    By Kent on 11/12/2021

    I’ve been using it for three weeks with no results. They are very difficult to set and have not been effective at so far. I’m very disappointed and wish I would not have wasted my money on two of these.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Seems Easy o Use

    By Russell on 08/16/2020

    No problem, just step on the trap, set the lock and it's ready to go. Yeah sure, IF it was designed properly. What happened to engineers? It is almost impossible to set trap without it moving as you step. This is because there are no setting pins (essentially spikes at each corner) to secure in place BEFORE stepping on trap. As you step it moves, most times almost 2-3 inches unless you have VERY loamy soil. In any decent soil it has to be dug in place for proper placement. Poorly designed and executed, it COULD have been a good trap. Back to the standard spike trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not worth the money

    By Deb on 07/03/2020

    No instructions came with trap. We went to YouTube and follow the directions and It is a lot of work to try to set the trap. Then the trap got stuck and we can’t get the jaws to open again. Not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Awful product DO NOT BUY!

    By Bruce on 10/05/2018

    Hard to set even in moist soil and following the instructions to a T. First one set after nearly having to destroy the tunnel area to get it to catch. Second one would not set at all. Again followed the instructions to the letter. Plastic that is supposed to go in the ground broke: cheap and flimsy. Tried repeatedly to set but would not catch. First trap sprang on its own accord after about 10 minutes in the ground which is rock free, sandy loam. Heavy duty spring and cheap plastic everywhere else. How can this be called a professional grade product???

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talpirid Mole Trap - Ridiculous

    By Paul on 07/06/2018

    This thing is ridiculously oversized and overbuilt for the size of moles. I don't consider myself weak and I am not afraid to say I could not load the trap because of the the excessive spring tension. It is also cumbersome and difficult to place on the ground as directed. I would not buy again to use for its' stated purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not worth it

    By Brad on 05/25/2018

    This trap was clumsy and hard to use, never caught a single mole, although I followed the instructions carefully. It was expensive and at this point a useless item. Total waste of my money. I had to switch to a smaller "wire style" trap and caught several moles in a short period of time. Live and learn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    untrap mole trap

    By Darryl on 02/23/2017

    I think the moles are laughing at this contraption. Haven't caught one yet. Still trying and I have decided to make my own. I rated one star because I had to.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that you are having trouble with the Talpirid Mole Trap. Please feel free to give us a call so that we can troubleshoot with you. You can reach our team at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not as easy as described

    By Leonard on 02/13/2017

    I have reset the traps three times using the 7 day waiting periods and I have no catches. Any suggestions?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you are having trouble getting catches. You do want to be sure to test runs before setting your trap. You can use a dowel to make a hole or use your foot to gently depress a runway about 1 inch down, being careful not to completely collapse a runway. Check the damage 1-2 days later, and if it has been repaired, then the runway is active. If the damage is not repaired, then the runway is not active, and you should test somewhere else. You can view more information and other tips in our Mole Treatment Guide here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-moles-a-600.html We can also assist you by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Been Using it two months , nothing yet

    By James on 02/12/2017

    Trap is hard to set. Have moved it all around with different runs and haven't caught anything in two months!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments. We agree that the Talpirid trap can take a lot of strength to set. If you are not using a shovel to make divots before placing the trap over your runways, then this can make setting the trap easier. You also want to be sure to test runs before setting your trap. You can use a dowel to make a hole or use your foot to gently depress a runway about 1 inch down, being careful not to completely collapse a runway. Check the damage 1-2 days later, and if it has been repaired, then the runway is active. If the damage is not repaired, then the runway is not active, and you should test somewhere else. You can view more information and other tips in our Mole Treatment Guide here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-moles-a-600.html We can also assist you by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST. Please let us know if we can further assist you!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    The battle I lost...

    By Peter on 09/14/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered two of them and received couple weeks ago. After battle with the moles for 2 weeks, I declare I have lost the war. Basically, the trap is hard to set and it won't even trap the mole. I tried each 4-5 times and mole is just keep poping up next to the trap without triggle it. Now the trap is in my garbage can... I thought BELL LAB would do some awesome job, but this one is big failure.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not working yet

    By Genevieve on 07/22/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I have had this for a month with no success. I know we have activity, but nothing yet. I will watch the how to video again. I also watched some You Tube videos. I will try again to see if I can upgrade my rating.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not happy

    By Patricia on 07/22/2016

    I bought two traps and couldn't even set them it was so hard. Called my brother and he had trouble too. Wasted money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    ineffective, to say the least

    By David on 07/29/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I received the Talpirid Mole Trap and was immediately impressed by its size. It is big. Well, maybe the moles are really big, too. Anyway, following the directions, I located a likely well used tunnel and tried to set the trap. It is really hard to set it as described. And after being set, I'm not sure there is anything left of the tunnel. I takes a special shovel or spade to make the slots for the trap to work properly. Well, I set it and nothing happened. I moved it and went through all the work of setting it again, to no avail. The moles just laugh at you. Keep your money and get a cat or snake. You'll have better success.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Just Can't Get Rid of the Moles

    By Bruce on 07/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Haven't caught a thing! Lots of trails and moved it several times with no results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not happy!

    By Larry on 06/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I've got a bad mole problem and saw this add for the Talpirid Mole trap. I watched the video a number of times and read the instructions repeatedly. I guess I got over confident in the traps ( ordered 4 of them) and have repeatedly found active runs but have never caught a single mole. In our heavy clay dirt it is very hard to get the trap set so it can go off. I have since then ordered some bait but haven't used it yet!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talpirid Mole tap

    By Donald on 11/30/2011

    Verified Purchase

    We have sandy soil but the trap is hard to set. Have to use my hand to set it and it snaps back and hurts your hand. Does not set using your foot. Not worth the price. Best to go with the mole traps that go into the tunnels. Hated to give it one star.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talpirid Mole Trap

    By Mike on 09/16/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I've had my trap for over a month. It's not easy to operate and after several ankle-twisting attempts to trap moles in my yard, the little varmints are still having their way with my yard. The trap has not 'trapped' anything, let alone any moles. Therefore, I have determined that it does not work and it now has become a 'conversation piece' along with the two bat houses (@ $375) my wife talked me into purchasing years ago. The worms seem to work, but the trap seems to be useless.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)