Customer Reviews for The Anderson's 0.48 Barricade Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(47 customer reviews)
The Anderson\'s 0.48 Barricade Herbicide
On Sale!
$79.98
Was: $88.87

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 47 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pittsburgh pa

    By Daviddoeshisowngrassnow on 03/16/2020

    Let me start this by saying I hired a lawn company to take care of my yard last year. I bought a 6 application package that was slightly over 425 bucks. Anyway they leave a detailed note on what they do each time. They first application they did last year was pre-emergent followed by 5 applications of basically just fertilizer. So by August my yard was full of weeds and I felt like I got ripped off and could do a better job myself. I researched everything and decided to go with this barricade as my first application of the year. I ordered this and just applied it yesterday as we seem to be having a early spring. I have a earthway spreader and used 12 as my setting. I will update this in a few months to give you a good idea how well this worked and my total spent. I'm at 78 bucks right now

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 59 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SO FAR, SO GOOD!

    By Jon on 02/29/2020

    I've been so impressed with DO MY OWN I decided to join the subscription service. The first package that arrived consisted of Barricade pre-emergent. I know Barricade has a superior reputation and is used by many professional landscapers throughout my area. The package came complete with directions for use, rubber gloves, and more. So - so far so good!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    35 of 40 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works

    By Chris on 08/08/2020

    I bought a 50lb bag of this to use on cool season, mixed species turf. My lawn is mostly tall fescue, with perennial ryegrass and Kentucky bluegrass. I applied this at the bag recommended rate in April and have had absolute NO crabgrass in my front yard. I reapplied in mid-June and still have no crabgrass or other broadleaf weeds. I have a pinch of clover here and some nutsedge there, but I spot treat those with mesotrione. Suffice to say the turf is 98% weed free without any crabgrass at all. Combined with an aggressive disease treatment and a hybrid fertilization plan (biosolid fertilizer, humic acid, micro nutrient and liquid spray), we have the best lawn on the entire block.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    35 of 37 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Not as good as promate granular barricade.

    By Jarod on 03/15/2020

    I wouldn't recommend this product compared to the promate granular barricade. I put down 4.0 lbs per 1000sqft on my zoysia lawn in late winter this year and I've had more weeds than ever. This will be my last time using this brand. I don't know what the hype is over “The Anderson's” products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fall Application

    By John on 11/22/2019

    First time use. Applied late October for winter weed control in Central FL. Effectiveness will be determined in time. Product went down as planned with my spreader using 1/2 rate twice over. Although I am satisfied with this granular product, I will switch to a spray pre-emergent in the spring, which is less expensive per application. I would recommend this granular product for those who don't use a sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Awesome product

    By Lloyd on 10/17/2021

    Verified Purchase

    Started using this product last fall since I was sick & tired on annual Poa Bluegrass. To my surprise I had none this year....I am placing an order for another 50 lbs. bag.....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product at an excellent price

    By William on 04/22/2022

    I follow Randy Lemon's program for our Bermuda grass here in Georgetown, TX and he recommends the Andersons 0.48% Barricade as Preventive weed control. I use it three times per year as recommended and it does a very good job. I love the Do my Own store as they offer many more products that our local Lowes or Home Depot and their pricing is great. Fast service and when you call in you can talk to an associate about your problems. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    First Application

    By Rebecca on 03/19/2021

    The process was pretty simple. The bags arrived in the mail and I spread it with a push spreader. I use a scott's pro spreader with edge guard and there is absolutely no guidance as to the setting to use. This is pretty frustrating because it is a very common spreader sold at Home Depot. The instructions on the bag state to use the guide on the spreader, but for Scott's spreaders they only list their products which would be an easy comparison if you knew the relative granule size, which I do not. I had a partial bag of scott's turf builder and so used that setting. Well it was wrong and had I continued to use it the bags sent would have only covered about half of my yard. So it was trial and error until I found what I think is an appropriate setting. The 1 star is because the weeds didn't die, they are thriving and I'm having to walk around and pull them up so it was a waste of money. But I'm going to continue to use the turf subscription and give it a chance. I started a month behind and that could be the reason the herbicide wasn't effective. So far, very disappointed with this producr

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Hard to tell

    By Ken on 03/06/2020

    The pre=emergent that I used last fall did not do the job so it is hard to tell if the Barricade is working. I don't think that anything new is coming out but I am going to have to use a post emergent on poa anna and henbit that are all over the place.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Andersons 0.48 Barricade Herbicide - 18 Ib

    By Donnie on 05/08/2020

    This product works well with the two applications . My only issue was trying to use a drop spreader. I could not get it to drop at the calibration level. I called about it, and was told the manufacturer recommends using broadcast type spreader and not a drop spreader. It came out too fast and then too slow, so I had to run over it more than I like! I am going to purchase a broadcast spreader and use the drop spreader for seed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use.

    By Don on 03/27/2020

    Barricade is a fine product and works as advertised. The DGpro formulation is an easy product to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Andersons Barriercade

    By James on 10/01/2021

    Great product and a good price. I use this on our Bermuda lawn here in Tennessee in the spring and fall and it takes care of 95% of the weeds

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    first lawn treatment application

    By Pete on 03/19/2021

    Did according to the instruction we seeing weed are popping this morning. we got rain past 2 day in the area, so far has not live up to what suppose to take care of all those type of weed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product

    By Rk on 04/02/2021

    Excellent product easy to spread. Make sure you are using the correct settings on your spreader and read the instructions carefully. I have very few weeds in the areas of my lawn I treated with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Anderson Barricade Herbicide

    By Debbie on 04/13/2022

    This is a fabulous pre-emergent herbicide. Do not be impatient looking for results. It comes!!! I even put in on my daughters yard which was 10x worse than mine, within 3 weeks, weeds are dying off and we see the grass thriving again. It had been literally chocked out by weeds. It is best if used early in season!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So Far No Weeds

    By Marc on 03/18/2023

    Applied this as temps started to warm up and I saw some weed growth which was slightly too late but since applying I haven't seen any new weeds in my fescue.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Japanese Stilt Grass solution

    By June on 03/26/2021

    I get this specifically to combat Japanese Stilt Grass (a bamboo) in my lawn on the recommendation of the Maryland Agriculture Extension Service. I don't use any other chemicals on my lawn, we pull weeds. I apply it a bit later than other pre-emergent herbicides, late-March in central Maryland. It really helps with this non-native scourge. Thank you, DoMyOwn, for making it available, since I could not find it in local stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Pre-emergent

    By Wil on 09/03/2022

    I was using a lawn care service for years. I continue to have tons of crab grass. I canceled the service bought this product and it has done a better job than my years of lawn care service. Instead of paying almost $700 a year I am now paying about $150 and doing it myself.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A little too soon.

    By Perry on 12/11/2021

    I just put the herbicide down 2 days ago so it's a little too soon to determine the results, however, I've had very good luck with all of the products that I purchased from you and the service has always been great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Patrick on 04/01/2022

    It is still early in the application, but so far so good with the application of the Barricade. I followed the directions and it was easy to apply with a broadcast spreader. I'll provide an update in the summer as hopefully this product works with preventing crabgrass in my fescue yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast delivery

    By Lamont on 01/01/2022

    I purchased this product early, it arrived in plenty of time, reserving it for after the fall.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Quick delivery and effective

    By Any on 04/29/2022

    Fair price, Quick free shipping, received within 3 days to Chicago south sub. Used setting at 5 for Scotts DLX rotary spreader and the 50lb bag was just ok for my 8000 sq ft yard. Been using for 3 seasons now and seems ok for both winter and spring weeds when applied in end Oct and early April. Combine same times with aplication of Flagship fertiilizer at setting of 5.25 on DLX rotary spreader. Will continue to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By R on 06/16/2023

    This is my third year using Anderson products. My lawn is weedless.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Pre-Herbicide for Poa+

    By Carl on 04/10/2020

    Because this is granular it is an easy way to apply prodiamine to the lawn. I will now use it in the landscape.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fast shipping!

    By David on 10/28/2022

    Shipping was fast the 1st and 2nd time! Carrier damaged the shipment before I received it. A call (to a real person) got another shipped and received in 2 days! As far as the product, next Spring will tell as it is a preemergent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Andersons product

    By Joe on 04/15/2023

    This Is the 1st time I've used Anderson's barricade.I put it down and got an inch of rain 2 days later. Have not seen any crab grass or other weeds that I normally have in the spring . I am very happy with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Effective Product

    By Steve on 05/05/2023

    I have ordered Barricade Herbicide twice as I prefer a granular herbicide as opposed to a liquid and I have found it to be effective and a decent value. Price was a big factor in my decision to purchase but I have found it to be as effective as some of the more pricy granular pre-emergent herbicides. It short, I found it to be a good value.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome

    By James on 04/02/2022

    This herbicide protected my lawn against weeds. I decided to join the DoMyOwn program!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Barricade

    By Anthony on 11/03/2023

    Easy application instruction , accurate coverage appl;ied this fall 2023 and awaiting results will reapply 2/24

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Anderson's Herbicide

    By Walter on 11/17/2023

    Have not applied the product yet but it will be perfect the area I plan to treat. Treats most of the weeds that I normally have on an annual basis.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 47 reviews)