Customer Reviews for Advance Carpenter Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   117
4 stars   19
3 stars   4
2 stars   6
1 star   14

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(160 customer reviews)
Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
$26.00

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Advance Carpenter Ant Bait

    By Susan on 08/20/2010

    Verified Purchase

    This product was recommended by our local pest control service and we have been pleased to find a source to purchase and to be able to apply this ourselves. If you have an ant problem this is an excellent product. I would also like to mention that we are using it for what are called Little Blacks so it is not just for Carpenter ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Awaiting the exodus

    By Jonathan on 07/10/2009

    Verified Purchase

    I just used Advance Carpenter Ant Bait yesterday. I put it in all the corners and crevices I've seen these ants walking around, which is just about everywhere. I even located a shrub outside that apparently the ants have been using to get into the attic where I assume they're nesting, and poured about a half a cup at the base. They immediately went after the bait, forming a train (if you will) taking it back to their colony. By midnight, however, there was SO MUCH ant activity that I had to break out the Raid spray. As it turns out, their colony is in the ceiling above the master bedroom. I woke up this morning to a few crawling on me, and about 100 or so ants on the floor, half of which were dead, maybe from the raid, maybe not. I can't be sure. I hope this is the beginning of the end. If not, I may need to seek heavier weaponry. Maybe adopt an Anteater? Can you even do that? ...time to search for exotic pets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product

    By Anonymous on 08/08/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Took a while for the carpenter ants to show some interest in this bait. Smaller ants would take away the product before the carpenter ants got their share. Definitely did the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    They definitely liked it

    By Paul on 05/31/2011

    So far I am giving the product 4 stars. I have distributed it around the perimeter of my home. When I placed some around a known nest entrance (under a floor to ceiling window sill) on a side deck they began to pick it up and go into their nest almost immediately. They continued grabbing more and bringing it back inside. The next day most of the bait was gone, some may have been blown away by wind, but I definitely witnessed a good deal of it being taken by the ants. Later the next night I dusted the hole with Drione and several came out and died. I am hoping that the bait takes it's toll on the ants inside the wood assuming they feasted on it. I have also used MaxForce Carpenter Ant Gel Bait and Gourmet Liquid Ant Bait (with KM Ant Pro Bait stations). I have not witnessed the ants eating the MaxForce (tried this first), though there have been many ants in my large sun room dead or dying. I have seen ants (some carpenter as well as other ants) feeding on the Gourmet liquid in the KM Ant Pro Bait stations. Hoping this combo along with the Drione Dust and some other foundation spray (Spectracide Carpenter Ant spray) will knock them out. Next stop is the crawlspace attic to see if they are nesting there, then bait them further and possibly dust the attic as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Sometimes they like it, sometimes they don't

    By Alan on 06/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    At times, the carpenter ants really go for the bait. At other times, they walk right over it in search of something else. I also have liquid ant bait in stations around the area. They seem to change which they prefer from time to time. But I am also competing with many other natural food sources, such as aphid residue in the tree canopy, etc. Other species of ants, small slow moving brown ones, can't seem to get enough it and drag it back down into their ant holes endlessly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ant Bait.

    By Yuri on 09/01/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I,ve had so much trouble with carpenter ants. they were all over and was uncontrol. I used this Ant Bait, and they love it. it was covered by ants and took to home one by one. everything. they never come back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Wood ant

    By Marty on 06/17/2011

    Verified Purchase

    So far so good.  It blows away in high wind. Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works well for ant control

    By Kyle on 07/16/2018

    I've been using Advance Carpenter Ant Bait for 5 years as a professional. It works great as part of an overall ant treatment, but not as well as a standalone treatment. I use it along with Termidor SC or Taurus SC. Those non-repellant termiticides work great for carpenter or acrobat ants. But the ants will take the bait back to the colony and that helps in eventual eradication. I always tell my customers to check tree limbs touching the roof first, as that is the easiest remedy to keep ants away from your house. This bait should be sprinkled generously around the perimeter where ants are seen trailing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seemed to work fairly well

    By Fred on 05/19/2016

    I had 3 nests of carpenter ants near my house. In both cases the ants almost immediately started carrying the bait to the nests. It appears in 2 cases the nests were no longer active in 2 days. After 3 days the 3rd, largest nest still had activity. I used termidor and boric acid and the nest was inactive by the end of the day. Advance may have worked with more time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Follow up texas - carpenter ants

    By Tiff on 08/27/2017

    Okay! So the only reason I gave it four stars is because I hadn't to use a combo of things to get the activity down, however; after three days I have killed three queens from the nest in my house. Omg!!! So gross. I kept the bate available for a week. I sweep up the bate off my carpet and found two more queens dead. I found out they were crawling through my window. So I put down some bug be gone granules in the yard and around my foundations. Omg when I did that, it really slowed down. I think I have some young ones hatching because the ones I saw dead are really small and light colored. I will be using the gel next week around windows and the tree outside. Use a combination of bates, gel, advance bait, and outside barrier, you will win! I'm glad they are leaving and I hope they stay away. Keep looking out for them around your house! It only takes one to get in and drill a nest! Heck no!! I pray never again

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great Bait for Ants I Hate

    By Jennifer on 05/05/2018

    This protein-based granular product is good for fighting ants in a mood for protein. I use it with the MaxForce Gel to catch both kinds of ant cravings. The Advance Carpenter Ant Bait has a bit of a fishy odor, but it's not terrible and the two cats seem to want to explore it, but I keep it out of their reach.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dallas TX follow red and black carp ants

    By Tiff on 09/04/2017

    Follow up. Going on three weeks, I have killed 6 queens in my home. The activity has slowed down, but I have seen some moving around in my living room but still some activity. I noticed some crawling (workers) around my foundation. I have ordered more granular bait and this time the carpenter ant gel. Hopefully this combination will kill them once and for all. I noticed a queen with no wings was on the move, I killed her dead so idk if I got all of them. Debating on getting my tree removed from my home.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Difficult to use in plastic trays, but seems effective.

    By Sanford on 09/01/2017

    Very easy to apply around the perimeter of the house (in the rocks and crevices), but very hard to place on the plastic bait trays due to rather severe static electric repulsion: the bait literally flys away when trying to load and - especially - when trying to attach the lids. Some help for this problem would be appreciated. But, so far, using in combination with the gel bait, this product seems to be quite effective. The carpenter ant colony has been almost entirely eliminated after just two weeks. I will keep the traps loaded pretty much indefinitely to make sure the colony remains destroyed, as these menaces are active throughout our neighborhood.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Oderous house ants

    By Richard on 07/17/2017

    Works great place near trailing ants

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works

    By Souhaila on 06/26/2017

    Since using the ant bait I have noticed a great reduction in the number of carpenter ants around the house. I am very pleased with the product and believe it works very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Flying Ants infestation

    By Kris on 05/16/2017

    Flying carpenter ants keep appearing in our house when the weather is warm. I searched extensively for their entrance points and found nothing obvious. So, I put the bait out on an upper window sill. At first, nothing happened. Now, two weeks later, the ants have disappeared. I hope they're gone for good. Only time will tell.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So far, so good

    By Debbie on 07/08/2016

    A lot of carpenter ants around our exterior garage door. Looked at night to be sure and locate the nest. Sprinkled the bait around the nest in about 6 foot perimeter as well as any trails. each night we went out and looked and saw less and less ants and a lot of dead ants. Followed up with another application after rain and a week or so. Last check have not seen any ants. Hopefully this continues as it seems to be working!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Wow

    By Bill on 05/02/2016

    I bought the plastic trays to put this bait in and placed it in several strategic locations in my kitchen. I got absolutely no response. However after I added the carpenter ant bait gel, the trays were full of ants and empty of bait within a couple of hours. I had no idea there were that many ants in my house. I refilled the trays and watched as about half of the bait disappeared over the next two days. A little over a week out and I am finding an occasional emaciated ant but most are GONE. I would have given 5 stars except for static electricity between the plastic tray and granules caused a huge mess.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter ants

    By Jocelynn on 04/12/2019

    Up to now, with just one time using it, it seems to be working! We have not seen them again! You'll get the 5 stars if they definitely dont come out again! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)