Customer Reviews for Alpine Yellow Jacket Bait Station Kit with Onslaught

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   13
4 stars   8
3 stars   4
2 stars   5
1 star   8

Average Customer Rating

3.3 of 5 stars
(38 customer reviews)
Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Really worked for me

    By Dave on 09/18/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I tried the water-filled bag traps from my local garden store (the bags with an attractant where the yellow jackets crawl in but can't find their way out), and although the traps seemed to accumulate a lot of yellow jackets, my problem persisted. I found this product had been mentioned by a professor from UC Davis and decided to give it a try. I tested several kinds of bait and found they liked fish/shrimp cat food. I mixed a half-recipe, only 6 oz to start out and replaced it after 2 days. After 4 days the yellow jackets were gone. The bait stations are a little messy (and smelly!) to clean out afterwards, but I can't argue with the effectiveness. My wife and I can sit in the backyard again. As was mentioned in the FAQ, it can be a challenge to thoroughly mix so little poison with the bait. Using cat food helped because it was smooth and not lumpy. I also used a little extra water: I added the poison to a teaspoon of water, stirred, then carefully sprinkled the poison all over the bait, then thoroughly mixed for several minutes. So little poison is used, the supply should last for years. I give the product 5 stars for effectiveness but 3 stars for the care needed in mixing the bait, and the messy cleanup. 4 stars overall. I definitely recommend this product and will absolutely use it again next year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    38 of 39 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Use attractant too

    By Neal on 06/09/2012

    To get yellow jackets to swarm to the bait station, simply use some of the Rescue brand yellow jacket attractant (you can put some on a cotton ball, for example). This is the attractant used in yellow jacket traps. The attractant is very effective at luring yellow jackets. The bait and insecticide to the rest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    get bait stations

    By Jc on 09/23/2016

    The Onslaught works well, but at a much higher concentration than suggested. I use 3/4 tsp with 3-4 oz of chicken. Also I added a few tablespoons of water or apple juice to make it easier to mix. The apple juice works to attract yellowjackets. I've also used the attractant in WHY yellowjacket traps. Good results are seen in a few days with higher concentration of Onslaught. The bait stations are completely useless. The string is only 3 inches long- couldn't even tie it to my little finger. Also the cap is too hard to remove and the yellowjackets need a hole in the top so they can easily get out. They need to be able to escape quickly to take the poison back to the nest. Otherwise, they just fly around inside until they die which isn't really effective. They want to exit from the top of the station not the side.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works slowly but I think it works

    By Carolynn on 11/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    We had two yellow jacket nests this year. One was at the base of a tree in the side yard and the other was located next to the house under the drain that comes from the gutters and was inaccessible. We needed to get rid of the nests without risking damage to the tree roots or harm to ourselves. I first tried cat food in the bait stations but I think it was too late in the season. The yellow jackets weren't interested. So I tried a method I'd read about in these reviews, cutting a sponge to fit in the container and using sugar water with a bit of the insecticide added. I watched for weeks. I saw the yellow jackets on the sponges feeding but they were also going to the nests. Then suddenly the nests were vacate. I thought it might have been that the yellow jackets had vacated the nests because it was so late in the year, but a friend still had a very active nest in her yard, so I'm giving this kit credit for having finally worked. I'll certainly try it again next year if I discover other nests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Nasty Bugs

    By Anonymous on 08/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    It is tough to tell how well they work. I find that more come to eat if I place it near a trap. We first tried tuna in it a we did not see any yellow jackets go in. Then we switched to raw chicken and this seems to work much better. There seems to be a decrease in numbers. They we so bad before, we could not even sit on our porch - now we can.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Terry on 09/28/2016

    Received the product in mid September put lots of samples out. Butterworth syrup worked the best. After 5 days the yellow jackets are almost gone. Had to put it on a paper plates. Bait stations didn't work well

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Yellow Jackets be gone, I hope!

    By Larry on 09/24/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the Bait Station Kit and was impressed with its ease of use. The Yellow Jackets were immediately taking the Onslaught mixed bait back to their nests. I mixed the poision with some finely chopped crab. Still waiting for the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Better delivery method

    By Mark on 08/22/2012

    Only 4 stars for now until I see a drop in the yellow jacket population. I am actively using this kit however, the jackets were more attracted to my hummingbird feeders with homemade nectar than they were to the cat food. Besides I practically gagged when I changed the cat food every 3 days. I now use onslaught with the homemade hummingbird nectar. You can get the details of this recipe by Googling homemade hummingbird food (4 water to 1 sugar boiled together). Then follow these directions: 1. add about an 1/8 tsp of onslaught into 16 oz of homemade nectar in a glass bottle labeled “bee poison.” 2. cut a clean household sponge into strips and insert the strips into the bait stations 3. position the cut sponge close to the holes in the bait station. I found the bees can get in but cannot get out and soon die without leaving with poisoned nectar. 4. Soak the sponge until there is about 1/8" to 1/4" of liquid in the bottom. This keeps the sponge moist and full for ~ 2 days. 5. Hang the station away from your hummingbird feeders. 6. Pour more poisoned nectar over the hanging bait station. This attracts them even more. 7. Watch and enjoy as the suck on the sponge and leave for their nest. 8. I’ve only done this for 3 days now and have not seen a drop in the population yet. But, they are more active now at the stations than they were with cat food.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)