Customer Reviews for DF 5000 Drain Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   84
4 stars   25
3 stars   6
2 stars   6
1 star   16

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(137 customer reviews)
DF 5000 Drain Gel
$26.31

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Surprise, surprise: eco-friendly stuff won't rid you of drai

    By Steven on 01/03/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We returned from a week's trip to find a shower drain infested w/drain flies for the 1st time. Common-sense remedies (boric acid powder, "Liquid Pipe Snake") didn't work (after several weeks), so I found myself here. Reading the majority of good reviews, I thought I couldn't go wrong. I followed the treatments exactly - but after 5 treatments, the shame of drain flies was back. I had enough left for a couple more days, so I figured that would do it. Nope, they were back in full force - "eco-friendly" cleaning means NOTHING to gnasty gnats! At my final straw, I decided to try an insect spray; trouble was that spraying DOWN into a drain doesn't work, when the can needs to be upright to spray! So, I made a cup out of foil, went outside (to avoid the aerosol smell) & sprayed some "OFF! with DEET" in the cup (2 tbsp or so) & poured it around the perimeter of the drain. Next day - NO FLIES!! I did one more treatment as insurance, but an oz. of DEET was worth 2 lbs. of the DF5000 "cure". The moral? If you want a VERY expensive eco-friendly-drain-fly-house-cleaner, buy DF5000. If you want RID of the DFs, get some cheap "Liquid Plumber Gel" & a can of "OFF!". Clean the drain well, rinse w/hot water, & pour in the "OFF!" to sit overnight. I'm all for eco-friendly, but I'm not coddling drain flies. DR5000 is a TOTAL waste of money, if you REALLY want rid of these horrid pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    61 of 67 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't help a bit

    By Ken on 05/02/2010

    Verified Purchase

    It almost seemed like we had a small baby boom of flys after we used the product in our one sink kitchen. I threw twenty bucks down the drain at a time when I couldn't afford it :( sad panda

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This customer probably did not have drain flies.  This product rarely does not work, if they are coming from the drain.  Other flies can be in a house that are the same size as drain flies.  They could be fruit flies or they could be fungus gnats, which breed from potted plants.  We always recommend performing a test using glue boards over all of the drains in the room before treating.  If you get flies caught on the glue board you leave over the drain at night, then you KNOW it is drain flies and you know what drain to treat.  If you still have flies in the house but you are not catching any on the glue boards, then it is fruit flies or fungus gnats.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    29 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Worked good for 3 days

    By Joe on 05/06/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Used product as directed. Drain flies were gone after the 2nd day. Drain flies came back 3 days later.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drain Fly 5000

    By Steven on 03/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I bought two quarts foe my drain flies in the rental I just moved in to and the only thing i see best is it cleaned the toilet well but still have drain flies so it my mind its a good cleaner but not for drain flies,no way......

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 DRAIN FLY GEL

    By Iris on 05/13/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed. Bought two bottles and used as instructions stated, for 5 days. Tub drain & two bathroom sinks and problem still isn't resolved.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    More $$ down the drain

    By Lc on 04/14/2012

    Thought I had drain flies, but maybe not. Had to call Pest Control who thought flies were coming from dried flowers. Going to have ozone treatment. Not really the fault of the product, just not the right choice for this job

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didnt work at all used two full bottles

    By Dan on 11/14/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Didnt work at all used two full bottles, Didnt work at all used two full bottles

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drain Fly

    By Kurtis on 11/23/2015

    Purchased this product to eliminate some drain fly issues in a bathroom, product seemed to help during the treatment days but did not eliminate the problem permanently. The drain flies were back within two days.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Don't be discouraged! Due to the breeding habits of drain flies it can take a few rounds of treatments to get rid of them for good. Please take a few moments to read our drain fly guide to learn how to implement a successful control program: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-drain-flies-a-517.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000

    By Richard on 02/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Fair I used the entire bottle still have a drain fly problem. I had a plummer snake out the drain first i am seeking a new product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 Drain Fly Gel Doesn't Really Work

    By Christine on 02/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    No Stars for this product. Ugh! I used the product 2 days longer than the recommended FIVE days and i had even more of these little pests than before! I would NOT recommend this product. It's a bigger issue than just dumping this stuff (along with my money) down the drain. I'm at a loss at how to get rid of these bugs. HELP!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    See my previous review

    By Denise on 06/01/2016

    I reviewed DF5000 on my drains to rid my home of drain flies. I used almost 3 expensive bottles which did absolutely nothing to resolve the problem. I would not buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    did not seem to help...

    By Kaitlin on 01/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This did not seem to work for us... We still have little worms everywhere... :(

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 Drain Fly Gel - Pouring your money down the drain

    By Grace on 11/27/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I thought this worked a little in the beginning. I was wrong. Don't waste your money!!! Pour bleach down the drain every day for at least 2 weeks. It is more effective and a whole lot cheaper!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Still have drain flies!

    By Mary on 11/27/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Used the product as directed, but unfortunately it did not eliminate the flies from my bathtub drain. I'm not sure if another bottle would be effective as the five applications didn't even appear to slow down their life cycle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    FLAT OUT DOESN'T WORK

    By Eric on 08/01/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I don't know if these reviews of this product are real but this stuff CLEARLY DOESN'T WORK. I'm Still killing 40 plus flies a day in this one room. and bathroom. I have only 1 drain downstairs in my house (sink). I use this stuff, cover the drain they are STILL getting in. The bathroom and room next to it are STILL MASSIVELY infested. I took the trap off the sink and scrubbed all the slime out, poured the Gel in directly in the drain line everyday for the 7 days and there has been no drop in the drain fly numbers at all. I feel REAL bad for the people who will be purchasing my house inside the next few months. The June, July and August months are like nothing you've EVER seen with these drain flies. THIS PRODUCT DIDN'T WORK AT ALL, KILLING MY POCKETS IN A RECESSION. THANKS GUYS!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't work

    By Mark on 07/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We used this product for 10 days and the larvae kept coming. Don't waste the money. Bleach works better but still doesn't eliminate the drain flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)