Customer Reviews for DF 5000 Drain Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   84
4 stars   25
3 stars   6
2 stars   6
1 star   16

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(137 customer reviews)
DF 5000 Drain Gel
$26.31

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good Stuff

    By Alexia on 06/16/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Follow the directions, and it works. My drain fly/moth problem was horrific, though - literally thousands of them in my bathroom at a time. I opted to use the whole bottle night after night instead of leaving some for the once a month thing. I have *very few* bugs left, so I may buy some more, but overall this takes care of the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy Peasy

    By Ac on 01/08/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Had drain flies reproducing inside tub overflow. Bought and poured 4-oz down overflow. Haven't seen a drain fly since and it's now been 3-weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Worked like a charm

    By Liz on 08/23/2010

    This product worked like a charm. The trick is finding the right drain or source of the flies. We were about to spend thousands of dollars to rip out plumbing and try to find the source of these pests. We started to see results in 2 days. What a relief!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Files

    By N22chandler on 07/06/2015

    Recently I purchased this item b/c I found out what I thought was a fruit flies problem for yrs and I saw results in 1 week. I've tried multiple traps @ once and after realizing what it was I used bio derm and it didn't work and then I tried df5000 and saw results in days. One bottle worth is a full week of treating daily, so I recently bought two more bottles for the up keep. Since I still had a few flies and they have returned not as bad but more than a few after a week of not using I need to continue use I guess I really kill the area they live and breed in. I hope it doesn't break my pockets.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are glad that you have had success with your treatment. If you would like an alternative product that comes in a larger size, InVade Bio Drain is very similar to DF5000, and it is available in a gallon size: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/invade-bio-drain-p-352.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 Drain Fly Gel

    By Felicia on 05/26/2012

    We were unsure, where the drain flies were coming from. First, I watched the video on how to use this product. I followed the instructions by purchasing and placing the glue traps on all 17 drains throughout our home. The first night, showed no captures. We called "DoMyOwnPestControl" and were told they could be coming from anywhere damp - didn't take much. We searched again without luck, so we decided to treat all 17 drains anyway which we did for 5 consecutive nights as recommended. After the 3rd night there was definitely marked improvement. After the 5th night we still saw a few, but again, definite improvement. We will maintain once a month as recommended and just hope they will be completely gone at some point. Of course, identifying the exact source is the best and certainly the most economical since using 4 ounces per drain is a lot of gel. But what we did helped and that was what we needed. Product definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Very Affective N Great Price

    By Luis on 08/02/2012

    We use to use the Ecolab Drain Gel 12 Qt/cs Ecolab 51771. I decided to try DF5000 mostly because the price, $80 less than Ecolab’s per case. It works as good as or better than Ecolab product. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Flys are pretty much gone

    By Anonymous on 07/01/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I am much happier now that I have used the gel for 3 days in a row. I have seen the difference in my home and bathrooms. I have 1 here and there during the week, but for the most part they are gone. I would recommend this to anyone. Those drain flies were driving me crazy and very embarrassing when I have fiends and or family over.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain or Moth Flies

    By Nancy on 02/27/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I had a bad case of drain flies in my kitchen from my drain backing up. I used this and it took care of the drain and the flies. I would recommend to any one with this situation to make sure there are no plants around the area of the drains because they also like to munch on them. I had to throw out two plants to rid my house of the remaining flies. I had two hibiscus plants I brought inside and when I treated the drain, they hid inside the pot of the plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Happy so far....

    By Axel on 06/01/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Been using this product for 3 years. They come back and are relentless every June but this time I'm hitting it pre-emptively and so far so good. Very embarrassing to be sweeping window sills full of thousands weekly and hopefully will not swat on my new 55" LED TV. I start 4 oz every other day as soon as we get 3 days in a row over 80F. I stop during cold snaps. I bought 2 quarts and used them up and am buying 2 more quarts and use 1 more quart and go from there. I figure 3 quarts per year should keep me DF free. Its always the kitchen so treat there.  If you find in other drains, OK, but home base is at the kitchen sink so use 90% gel there. Helps to eliminate food/coffee grains from from going to disposal in the first place.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DF5000

    By Dionne on 03/01/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I think it worked, I was in the process of using so much stuff to get rid of those pesky little critters so I cant say positively what worked. I do like it and will be using it in future, and at that time I will gladly let you know.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Really Great

    By Jessica on 05/06/2012

    Verified Purchase

    It worked very well and the flies were gone within days. It's been about a month and I haven't seen any yet so this was a great investment. Wish I would have found it sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 DF Gel is worth it. Works Great!

    By Mark on 04/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After using this for five days, the drain flies are all but gone. I would highly recommend this product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DF5000

    By Colleen on 07/05/2016

    I have drain flies, double dose held them off for 2 days, have to treat often, cuts down on them but they always come back, I'm not the only person in this region that has these pesky flies, HELP!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Verdict is still out.

    By Patti on 07/16/2011

    When I use the product - I don't have Sewer Flies. But they have been coming back once I stop. UGH. Guess I will keep trying. But ordering from Do My Own Pest Control was simple and efficient!! Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Gel DF5000

    By Sr on 07/19/2011

    I will be ordering this product again. Very effective in controlling pesty flying drain flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    DF 5000 Drain Fly Gel Works

    By Tina on 10/11/2011

    Seems to work good. Didn't have a big problem, but haven't noticed any since using it for the week. Will be using once a month as instructed until I use all the remaining contents of the bottle. Kinda smells, but not bad. It's tolerable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Did the job

    By Ally on 11/24/2011

    Verified Purchase

    The product did what it said it would. We are continuing to use it after the fact to help keep the drains clear.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    works on drain flies

    By Anna on 04/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Took care of the bathroom drain with the drain flies. Water flows freely and no more intruders. Didn't work on the bathtub but I didn't snake it first. I guess I'll have to buy something else for the tub. It's just clogged- no drain flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Fly problem

    By Matt on 10/23/2012

    After a total renovation of my lake house I had a nasty drain fly infestation. DF 5000 did the trick in getting rid of them. I did not believe it was in my plumbing because it was all brand new. I put DF 5000 in the drains and noticed an effect imediately. Took awhile to get them all, but it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain flies under control

    By Juan on 08/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered the Drain Fly Gel through Amazon. Shipping was super quick, 2days. I applied the gel in two drains as per the instructions. Within a couple of days after the first application, the flies were significantly reduced. At the end of the treatment the flies had dissappeared. I have tried other methods to control this situation-hardware store products, baking soda method-but this one gave me results. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Shipped fast!

    By Mj on 12/08/2011

    This company has always shipped my order on the day after I order, and I receive it two days after that. AWESOME service! Thanks, DoMyOwnPestControl.com! In the past, about five days of treatment with the DF5000 did the job, but not this year. This season, I had a MUCH harder time getting rid of the gnats because they seemed somewhat unimpressed by or immune to the DF5000 this time, so I had to use alternate measures after going through two bottles of DF5000.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Customer Service

    By Todd on 07/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    The first batch of DF 5000 did not solve my drain fly problem. After a consultation with the good folks at domyownpestcontrol.com, I had another batch on the way and - problem solved - as advertised. THANKS!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Flys

    By Rox on 03/29/2012

    After reading about DF5000 I figured i would try it! I receieved my order in just a few days and started trying it right away. It has worked great! I still have a few of them around but it is so nice to have the majority of the flies gone. The remaining ones are slowly going away as well. I am hoping that in the next week my house will be completely rid of the pests, I think this is a great product at a great price! Well worth trying!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drain Fly Dilemma

    By Joan on 04/22/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After trying bleach, ammonia, vinegar, drain unclogger, and, desperate now, kerosene........finally found this product online. Waited by the mailbox every day until it arrived. And, yes, it worked much better than anything else. My only suggestion would be to buy 2 bottles, as one came close to totally eliminating the problem, but if I were to have this problem again, I would buy 2 bottles just to be sure that every last drain fly was gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Sue on 10/08/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this item because I was seeing, on a daily basis, tiny bugs in my bathtub which I assumed were coming up from the drain. They were diagnosed by an exterminator as baby waterbugs (not flies)'but I thought I'd give it a try anyway. I followed the directions and continued to see the bugs after four applications, but it's been several days now without a sighting, so I am hopeful this product was successful. Time will tell, but I plan to continue monthly appplications per the directions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)