Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   187
4 stars   23
3 stars   16
2 stars   4
1 star   22

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(252 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass et al and Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass

    By Greg on 08/09/2016

    I wanted to kill the new crabgrass that has emerged in Mid-summer, even with a properly timed pre emergent treatment of Surflan at 1 gallon an acre rate sprayed between April 2 -3. At the correct time for pre emergent application and rate, I still received crabgrass sprouting in late June. I purchase Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass, Dismiss, and Gordon's Trimec 992, plus, the recommended surface adhering adjuvant -mentholated seed oil. With 10 acres of grass, I have to find a cheaper way to create my own Gordon's Q4; it only costs a $100 an gallon/acre vs $123 gallon/acre Q4 premixed. It seems that when following all the spraying prerequisites; applying 2 days after mowing, watering before and a day after treatment, with temperatures in the low 80s, and mowing a week later. Yet, I only received 60 -70 % kill of crabgrass after 10 days. This Q4 cocktail did kill all the other broad leaf and nutsedge weeds, but truly $adden by results. I don't know if Drive only kills crabgrass at the very beginning of growth phase up to 4 tiller stage? Once the new crabgrass has been mowed, who really knows it's growth stage? However, I did notice that areas that where the lawn tractor tire pressed down the grass, there was almost +95 % kill rate in those strips. This suggests that dragging a chained plastic pipe behind the 14 ' boom sprayer may cause the same phenomenon I experienced. However, what a mess to tow and not get caught up on something when spraying 10 acres. Hypothesis, the mechanical stress damage to the plant's cuticle might allow a lethal dose of Drive's ingredient, Quinclorac, into the crabgrass. Note: this same tire track treatment did not hurt any cool weather or Kentucky Bluegrass at all; all the cultivated grass stayed very robust and green. Bottom Line: More work needs to be done by the manufacturer, BASF, to enhance their products success rate with Crabgrass et al.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass

    By Barbara on 07/26/2017

    Young plants it did great on the older plants nothing

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Appears to be working

    By Francis on 05/17/2017

    I have applied this to the torpedo grass that has invaded my yard and the torpedo grass is turning yellow. Does NOT appear to be damaging the original Bermuda grass. Too early to know if it will be a total kill on the torpedo grass but am hopeful. Check back in a month.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed Wars

    By Jd on 06/24/2018

    Just finished my second treatment. I had thick crabgrass completely take over my side yard (on 2 acres). The first treatment got about 30% of it. The second treatment looks to be working better after adding the surfactant and going slower with 30gal tow spray rig. My biggest problem is not being able to buy this stuff in bulk. I need 2.5 gal jugs, not this little apple juice box. At 1.5 oz per gallon, I make 45 gallons. Empty!!! Gotta buy more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Use with caution...

    By Brian on 08/21/2015

    I very carefully applied Drive XLR8 mixed with DyneAmic surfactant directly onto late-emergent crabgrass. It killed all of the crabcrass but it also turned my tiff bermuda yellow-green in the treated areas. There were yellow-green spots all over my lawn. After first mowing, things are starting to look a little better. So, the product works but you must be careful when spot-treating. Next time, I will increase the dilution.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Mixed feelings

    By Eddie on 06/01/2018

    I used the product as stated by the directions on label and had little effectiveness on the weeds in my Bermuda yard. It does help to kill some of the weeds on the label which it states it can control but I did not have that high of positive results. I did a second application about 4 week after to try and strengthen the efficiency of the product with only minor improvements. I will continue to use the product seeing how I have already opened and started using it but I am hopeful that there maybe a chance for a positive outcome in the near future. Somethings just get better with time. Fingers crossed????????

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Works but not as described

    By Tom on 08/21/2017

    I bought this due to all the reviews stating it killed their crab grass; however after 3 weeks, it did not work for me. It did kill all the other weeds and not my Bermuda grass. Instructions were carefully followed and used MSO also. I even followed up with a concentrated spot spray on the crab grass with no results. I will say i noticed the young crab grass yellowing but the mature crab grass is too resilient which is taking over my lawn. If anybody has other suggestions, please inform me!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Temp fix

    By Rome on 08/24/2018

    Killed it leaf wise but roots sprouted new leaves and it came back

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    not sure

    By Robert on 07/20/2018

    worked great last year not so good this year. spraed second time today, hope it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Gjroman on 10/08/2014

    The fall application appears to have killed the crabgrass which was my intent. Spring will indicate if it was a job well done. Why can't the spec simply say how many oz. of product to use per gallon of H2O for various applications?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    When applying herbicides, it is most important to apply to correct amount of product per area for the best results. Because your water is only a carrier, how much water is needed to accurately distribute the herbicide will vary greatly depending on the type of equipment, density of vegetation, and moisture content in the soil. We recommend calibrating your equipment with water first to determine what mixture works best for your application and with your equipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Has yet to work for me. I had a BAD crabgrass outbreak.

    By Stanley on 07/13/2017

    In a matter of a week my entire back yard was taken over. I ordered XLR8 thinking it would cure my problem. I only have a gallon sprayer but that just happen to be about the amount I spray while walking 1000 square feet (or so I thought). I mixed the 1.45 ounces as directed with the seed oil and walked my yard spraying 6 days ago. The crabgrass has tuned a ever so slight yellow, but is still mostly green. I used an areal sf calculator app to break down my lawn into 1000 foot section rectangles and it turns out I needed to mix my gallon tank at least 6 times. I only mixed it 3 times originally. So tomorrow I will give it another try and amend my rating.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Arlie on 05/30/2017

    It worked ok the first try, but not good enough. But, it really worked great to kill crab grass and other weeds when mixed with 2,4,D. If I would have known this I would not have wasted half a gallon and mixed with 2,4,D

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Effective but spotty

    By Johnson on 08/19/2015

    Recently used Drive xlr8 with dyneamic surfactant on later stage crabgrass 5-6+ tillers. with a hand sprayer at the recommended rate of 1 1/2 oz per gallon. Tried to be sure product was well mixed and applied evenly but found very erractic results. Some plants taken out completely others unphased by the product.Have used the granular drive in the past with good consistent results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass killer maybe.

    By Joel on 04/19/2017

    It's hard to tell what the solution is or not doing. I have used this formula before. Crabgrass is hard to get rid of so I use caution. One application did not solve the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    No support from BASF

    By Jrm on 09/07/2018

    Stuff killed crabgrass sure but directions were confusing. 1.45 oz per 1000 sf. Amount of water not important. Tried to call BASF for help but they do not want to talk to public. So without setting up a major testing event I just winged it. It worked. Directions also said. Too much and you kill your lawn. To little and does not work. I used a mighty Mac 22gal spray system with modifications. I added a spray boom and a wireless remote control electric selonoid valve.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Mixed results

    By Tom on 09/13/2019

    I had mixed results, initial browning in two days but the crabgrass is regaining its color. I followed mixing directions and used with oil as directed. Not sure where I went wrong. This may be my fault not the product but figure it could happen to others a well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 16 (of 16 reviews)