Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   198
4 stars   24
3 stars   16
2 stars   4
1 star   27

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(269 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$62.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 27 (of 27 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    over priced roundup

    By Ken on 09/05/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I learned the hard way, tried to spray this on crabgrass in a st. Augustine lawn and works like roundup, killed everything it touched. Please bring back asulox somebody...

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This product specifically says to not apply to St. Augustine grass, which is why it killed it.  St. Augustine cannot handle a product like Drive XLR8. 

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    253 of 413 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't bother. Drive is out of gas!

    By Randall on 05/24/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I won't even give this stuff one (1) star. Not even half a star. I take pride in my yard but battle crab grass and other weeds because my neighbors don't take care of their yards, let that stuff grow, and the seeds blow in and germinate. I've tried everything at the local level. Texas Crab Grass just laughs at it. So I read up and everyone said Drive was the deal. So I bought a bottle. Other than turning the blades a velvet red, the plants laughed it off and kept right on coming. We've had a horrible outbreak of clover this year. Drive helped it for about 50 days, then it was back en masse. Want to kill weeds? Don't Drive!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Bill on 10/03/2016

    So far, it doesn't work. I have spot crabgrass in a Bermuda lawn in Southern California, so I mixed a gallon of herbicide and surfactant. I have spot sprayed the crabgrass 3 times (a week apart) and it looks quite healthy. I may try a heavier concentration than the package recommendation, but would also appreciate any suggestions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not work at all

    By Charles on 07/07/2015

    Bought with the recommended SouthernAg surfactant. Mixed according to specifications in the manual stuck to the bottle, along with the recommended amount of surfactant in a 2 gallon pump sprayer. Sprayed lightly several times, sprayed heavily several times. Sprayed before I cut grass by several days, sprayed some after it was cut and stressed. Results: Kills white clover easily, did absolutely nothing to the crabgrass no matter how much was sprayed, or if I increased the amount mixed with water to 3x the recommended, or when I sprayed it. I won't be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Horrible!!!!!!

    By Oscar on 02/15/2015

    Verified Purchase

    This product has not worked at all. I followed directions to the T, but about the only change I seen is a color change to weeds. I would not recommend purchasing this product.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    It may take multiple applications to fully eradicate the weeds you are targeting. Also, if the plants are not actively growing, it may take many weeks for the active ingredient to translocate through the plant. We would be happy to discuss your situation over the phone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not happy

    By Grace on 08/29/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I mixed 3 tbsp of XLR8 with 1 gallon of water and sprayed to crabgrass area. After 14 days of waiting, crabgrass looks healthy and green. Don't buy this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide

    By Dan on 07/18/2017

    I applied at the recommended rate and after 10 days it had no effect on the crabgrass. I contacted DoMyOwn and they said it can take 6-8 weeks to see results. If that is true, I do not think this product is good since I expect to see results in 10-14 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did Not Work

    By Debra on 09/06/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Unless my husband or I missed something here, this did not kill our crab grass. I am totally not happy that we spent $87 bucks on something. We have buffalo grass and bermuda. At least it didn't kill anything (meaning our other grass.) We will have to find an alternative or dig out the grab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drought

    By Rathman on 08/24/2015

    Drive does work but not in drought...mixed 1.5 drive per gallon an .05 non ionic surfactant...i also did run sprinklers night before. They yellowed out then came right back...didnt rain for 2 days had irrigation turned off also turned back on in 3 days. Then did 2nd app...same yellowed came back...an 2nd time ground had perfect moisture two intake chem...unhappy.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear the Drive was unable to perform due to drought! Unfortunately the stress of drought causes the plants not to be able to properly take up liquid which does indeed mean that herbicides cannot perform as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not working for me

    By Rusty on 07/19/2016

    Followed instructions exactly as written - used with Prime Source Duo Stick. Spot treated several areas but only had poor results. Ended up applying 3 treatments. It yellowed my bermuda but only killed about 5% of the crabgrass. Bermuda is still yellow 4 weeks later. Wasted my time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass killer didn't kill

    By Robert on 07/09/2017

    It's been almost three weeks since I applied it in my hay meadow. I followed the application instructions. Crab grass is still alive. Not showing any discoloration to be wiltering. I'm not satisfied at this point.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not For Me

    By Cesar on 07/20/2016

    I have tall fescuse grass nice and green. However the back yard got a crab grass infestation. I bought this because of all the good reviews. I followed the EXACT instructions and NOTHING was killed. That includes my tall fescuse (which is a good thing)! Im going with PRE- Emergent next year!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Gave it 5 chances

    By Bruce on 07/19/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I really wanted this stuff to work and have given it ample opportunity but it has not done the job. I sprayed my yard twice last year and since crabgrass continues to germinate I have sprayed 4 times this year giving a stronger dosage each time to make sure I was getting the proper amount on. My crabgrass is maybe 50% affected by Drive XRR8. It just will not kill it. I can't tell how much it worked on other weeds because I mixed 2-4D in with it so I don't know what the 2-4D killed vs Drive. But I am sorely disappointed with the claims it makes on crabgrass and I truly wanted it to work but it just does not do the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does Not Work.

    By L on 08/26/2015

    After 2 applications in 3 weeks, this product has failed to produce any results. Not only does it not show any signs of beginning to kill it, the crabgrass seems to be flourishing now more than before. Another waste of money in the ever futile attempt to rid my yard of crabgrass. What would I liked to have known before I purchased this product? A money-back guarantee.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you did not receive the expected results from using Drive. Drive is known as one of the best crabgrass herbicides in on the market and is used daily by professional lawn care companies. There can be certain stressors such as high heat, drought and moving that can cause treatment failure. One of our customer service team members will be in touch with you today to help trouble shoot the treatment and assist in any way possible. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    I'm pretty disappointed so far.

    By Herbicide on 09/10/2015

    I haven't seen any results so far. I kinda feel like I wasted $75.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Please note that it can take 2-3 weeks before you see full results. It is also essential that you use Drive XLR8 with a surfactant for the best results. Please let us know if we can help you trouble shoot the application. We can be reached at 866-581-7378

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Danny on 04/21/2019

    Would not recommend or buy this product again. Some of the leaves turned yellow, but the plants did not die. I still have patches of healthy looking crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer?

    By Gregg on 05/07/2013

    Verified Purchase

    One week out.....XLR8 seemed to somewhat retard crabgrass growth, but sure did not kill crabgrass. Worked fairly well on some leafy weeds. I think Trimec-Plus does a much better job at half the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work.

    By Joe on 09/26/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product does not work fon the small leaf ground ivy my grass is infested with and wild straberry. Followed instructions in detail.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass killer

    By A on 09/03/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Rcd this product in Aug. Using a spot sprayer. Used 2 oz a gal nothing happened. Spayed again using 3 oz a gal . Now waiting to see results. Not happy yet.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Paul on 03/15/2019

    I have used Drive XLR8 with a surfactant and have not received the results I expected. Having a hard time killing Crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't buy this product!

    By Lucretia on 04/10/2020

    Should not give it any stars. I called the "pros" at this business, and this was recommended for killing the crabgrass in my zoysia lawn. I read the entire product brochure that came with the product and followed the mixing directions carefully. I sprayed with a hand held pump up sprayer being sure to agitate the sprayer frequently as directed. I waited two weeks. No signs of the crab grass weakening. I repeated the process spraying only the crab grass this time in order spare my lawn from too much stress. It has been 10 days since the second application. The crab grass is still looking hearty. Waste of my time and money! I called the company before the second spraying. I had some questions about other products for other issues and wanted to visit with a "pro" as they describe themselves. The phone person couldn't answer my questions, but promised to find out and call me back. I never heard from her, and it's been two weeks. Some "pro." Right!? I'm going to shop elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nothing happened

    By Sar on 04/17/2020

    Pricey experiment. Crabgrass didn’t change. It’s been around a month. I re-measured my lawn square footage to verify. I put down 1.5 oz per 1000 sq ft. I did just use baby shampoo as the surfactant. I’ll try doubling the application rate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not impressed

    By Sri on 04/10/2020

    Most of the weeds are still alive after first application. I am going to increase concentration and try again. But not impressed with it for now. I followed directions on first application including using surfactant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't work well for all weeds listed

    By Scott on 04/03/2020

    30 years experience with bermuda grass and successful and health lawns. Bought it to control clover that 24d based product would control. The application rate listed didn't do anything to the clover. Upped the rate and it provided marginal control but also turned the bermuda yellow for a period of time and the clover eventually came back. This has ZERO effect on dollarweed. If you have dollar weed and crabgrass would recommend MSMA. Will bite the bullet and buy some more MSMA. Works better on a number of grassy weeds too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Be Careful

    By Thomas on 11/08/2019

    Advertised to kill crab grass. After some research found it will kill crab grass and also your whole lawn if you have Florida grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    WANTED crabgrass killer

    By K. on 09/21/2018

    Have much crabgrass in my yard and am trying not to kill my Bermuda, so I purchased Drive herbicide. First spraying the temperature was in high 90s so I was told the temp should not be above 85. Resprayed when temp was in low 80s. No difference in results. Crabgrass flourishing. However I will say it did not effect my Bermuda grass, just turned color but survived.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 doesnt work

    By Terry on 06/16/2020

    This stuff is expensive junk. It JUST DOESNT WORK.It had no effect at all on my crabgrass. And yes, I used it with the expensive MSO (Dyne-amic). And by the way, if MSO is essential for Drive to work, why doesn't BASF put it right in the bottle, which is apparently what FMC does with Solitaire (which was equally disappointing). Fortunately, I bought a gallon of MSMA at my Ag supply store about 15 years ago, before it was taken off the market. Now that stuff works, even though it can be harsh on grass if you're not careful with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 27 (of 27 reviews)