Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(396 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
On Sale!
$59.98
Was: $78.95

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 2 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not Impressed

    By Matt on 07/11/2011

    Verified Purchase

    For the cost and effectiveness, I would not buy this product again. Using the recommended doage, the herbicide only stunted the growth of some weeds, and even killed some of the grass. Most of the weeds remained unchanged. I am going to try going beyond the dosage to see if this works, but as of right now, it is not worth the hefty price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    49 of 77 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as Expected

    By Brad on 09/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I thought I had finally found the ative crabgrass killer. In some ways I did. It does kill crabgrass that is cut really low prior to the application. On other areeas, where I mow on a 3.5 to 4 setting, it does nothing at all. I used the surfactant as well, and it is just not what I was hoping for when I ordered.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Killed Surrounding Bermuda grass

    By Tal on 07/27/2023

    Followed directions and after two applications the crabgrass started yellowing. Only problem was that surrounding Bermuda grass also died.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not impressed so far

    By Jason on 08/30/2015

    I sprayed drive xlr8 over my lawn a few weeks ago per the mixing instructions and haven't noticed good results. The front lawn I even went over twice during the same application. I've only noticed about 10% of the crab grass turn brown. I plan to re-apply since I have an abundance of this stuff. Poor results may be because the crabgrass is so mature (it was applied in August). I had anticipated better results after reading the reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Kirk on 08/02/2019

    I used the entire container in 30 gallons of water with the correct amount of surfacant and I only got marginal results. Probably 50% kill rate Disappointing t say the least ,now what's left is going to seed so I guess I will try something different next year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Hasnt worked for me

    By Jordan on 09/22/2020

    It will kill stuff, it hasn't killed any of the stuff I wanted. So I bought this last year used it, made sure to use the exact mixture ratio. It seemed to burn the tips of the leaves of my crabgrass, but that was it. So this year I thought I would give it a another shot, I was getting a nice crop of cloves and crabgrass. I mixed it a little bit higher of a dosage this time. It killed all my grass, but didn't kill the weeds Lololol. I am not mad it killed my grass as I didnt follow the instructions, but it has still yet to kill any weeds. And this was quite expensive, I hope everyone has better luck than me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass smarter than me

    By Jason on 08/17/2020

    I have used Drive XLR8 along with Duo Stick 3 times over the past 45 days. I have had zero luck. A few sprigs here and there turned purple for a few days but nothing ever turned white and died. First batch was 1.5oz per gallon, nothing happened, second batch was 2.5 oz per gallon and again nothing. Last batch about a week ago was 4oz per gallon and nothing. I have added the correct amount of duo stick for each spraying but zilch. It has been an extremely wet summer for TN so the product has had plenty of moisture to get absorbed into the roots. Guess I have some serious superman crabgrass or I just do not know what I am doing. Time to try a different product because the crabgrass in my yard is taking over the entire yard very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not Happy

    By Derek on 08/28/2020

    After viewing several videos suggesting that using xlr8 as a remedy for crabgrass. The first problem I have is the directions do Not give you the true mixing amounts to kill the crabgrass. So it becomes trial and error in order to find the right mixture that will yield the results desired I unfortunately haven't found that mixture So I'm continuing to adjust

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By Ryan on 09/18/2021

    I had high hopes for this stuff, just as I have had with previous expensive herbicides I've tried. First the good. My crabgrass is turning brown and I assume it will eventually die, although it's too early to say for certain. Another application may be necessary. The bad is that it has had zero effect on any other weeds in my yard. Both wild violet and ground ivy are thriving after treatment, which is unfortunate. I have spent hundreds of dollars on herbicides and followed the directions precisely. I have consistently been let down by these more expensive products that don't live up to their expectations. In my personal opinion, a cheap bottle if 2 4 D is the most cost effective solution for weed control that I have found thus far, but I will continue my quest. I do think I am done with the upper end products. They seem to be better at killing my wallet more than weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    It didn't work.

    By C on 04/22/2023

    I read the description and applied it accordingly. It really didn't work at all. The crabgrass is growing.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    When using Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer for crabgrass, it’s best to apply at either the very young stage or the most mature stage of the crabgrass. When treating between the 2-4 tiller stage, repeat application may be required and may not get complete control. You should make your applications while temperatures are between 65 and 85 degrees for best results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)