Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   187
4 stars   23
3 stars   16
2 stars   4
1 star   23

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(253 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It Works Great, But Be Careful with Dosage!

    By Logan on 07/09/2017

    I got this quinclorac-based herbicide after spot testing a different quinclorac-based brand that didn't do much. I applied it to my whole lawn and it sure did knock out the crabgrass on my new Zoysia lawn. Two months now and it hasn't come back. Now to the application rate. Don't exceed the dosage! I put the recommended amount into my 5 gallon pump sprayer to broadcast my lawn entirely. I thought it wouldn't be all THAT bad and in the following 2 weeks the crabgrass died off as expected. All good, right? No way. There a large spots on my lawn where the Zoysia has been either completely killed or totally bleached and dry. I have these brown to gray spots on my Zoysia that don't appear immediately so it leaves you to the false assumption that over application won't harm a healthy lawn. It's really a delayed effect on your lawn if you over spray. I'm hoping that the spot will rebound where it has bleached and/or the Zoysia grow back in over the next year. Else I'll have to re-sod in places. Overall, product works great. Just don't over do it or you'll damage your lawn like it did.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    homeowner

    By Marty on 07/22/2011

    Verified Purchase

    XLR8 is a great product at a reasonable price,even for a home owner,it really does work the first time. In the long run you will save money over using other weed killers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    works fine on islands with no grass

    By John on 01/12/2019

    I need crabgrass killer that is safe for southern lawns i.e. centipede and st augustine grasses. Can you recommend a product? Thanks

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your review/ question. While St. Augustine and Centipede grasses are susceptible to most herbicides there are a few that can be used but they can be a little expensive. I found 3 that are labeled for both grasses so depending on how much you are trying to treat you can look at rates and prices that will be easier and better for you. The 3 I found for you are: Blindside with a rate of 0.15 - 0.23 ounces per 1000 feet square, Solitare with a rate of 0.367 - 0.735 ounces per 1000 square feet, and Tenacity with a rate of 5-8 fl. oz per Acre. If you have any other questions please let us know! Have a blessed day!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fragrances

    By Donald on 08/29/2017

    I live in PA and this chemical will kill crabgrass but no broad leaves. I spent a extra 250.00 just to kill them. So if you have crabgrass and broad leaves you should use something else along with crabgrass killer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Very effective, but not 100%

    By Jim on 09/22/2017

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer did a pretty good job at killing my crabgrass, but some it did not kill. I will probably have to repeat treatment again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Torpedo!

    By Targeting on 07/18/2017

    Drive XLR8 has been effective in combating Torpedo grass and St. Augustine intrusion into my Zoysia lawn. It is the only thing, short of Round-Up, that I have found so far that has been effective against Torpedo without killing everything else. Torpedo grass is HIGHLY resistant to seemingly everything. But for me spot treating with Drive XLR8 hurts it with yellowing and dead stalks within a week and without too much damage to the Zoyzia. There is yellowing to the Zoysia and even death if too much is applied, but the Zoysia usually recovers within a couple of weeks. It's necessary to retreat every two weeks, two or three consecutive treatments, or the Torpedo will recover. But, after the second or third treatment visible Torpedo will be dead. It is probable that you will need to treat again next season as Torpedo has deep underground tubers that will likely send up more shoots until completely killed. Drive XLR8 KILLS ST. AUGUSTINE quickly and thoroughly! This is good if you have Zoysia turf with St. Augustine neighbors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Jamie on 09/16/2016

    My yard was being taken over by crabgrass and i seemed to be waisting my money on the normal over the counter chemicals. My initial impression was that the price was high... however I soon realized this is highly concentrated and the cost per acre ended up being the same. I was pleasantly surprised with the results as my crabgrass problem has turned into a brown spot problem (dead crabgrass). Follow the instructions and your good to go.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good grab grass killer in the right concentration

    By Mark on 08/27/2015

    I bought some of this to try as I have an area of my yard that is tough on regular grass to survive as the soil is poor quality, so over time crab grass has filled in and taken over. I tested this in a spot sprayer first to make sure it worked as indicated. My results are as follows, yours may vary. I first mixed and sprayed exactly as directed and found it burned the crab grass but over 3 weeks did not knock it out. I increased the concentration of the mix by about 15% and tried again. Magic, it wiped out my test patterns in days so I applied to the entire yard. It completely eradicated the crab grass and left the rest of my yard and grass untouched and green. Now I believe this stuff was advertised to kill some other broad leave plants but do to me already spraying my yard in the spring the only other weed still lingering in some areas was clover, I find this weed one of the hardest to knock out. Anyhow this spray did nothing to clover, did not even phase it. But if you are looking for something to kill grab grass and you experiment a bit and find the right concentration to water ratio for your yard it will definitely knock out crab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    drive XLR*

    By Mack on 07/28/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Worked great on my crabgrass. The crabgrass showed signs of dying in three days. I did not get good coverage of the yard when I applied the XLR8 so I needed to re apply it. I think it's great for crabgrass. Did not damage the lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Crabgrass Killer

    By Gerald on 08/13/2015

    Several days after applying Drive to my unwanted crabgrass it started to turn brown but later some of each plant was still alive. It takes several applications to kill mature crabgrass completely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great for crabgrass

    By Sierra on 09/03/2019

    Little evidence it had much effect on clover and other weeds it claims to control. No effect on Japanese stiltgrass either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Works

    By Gene on 07/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This did a job on my crabgrass. Its been 1 1/2 since spraying and one mowing later it appears to have gotten most of the crabgrass. I may have to follow up in a few areas that had an extra heavy concentration. It did not do anything to the yellow sweet clover I had and only wrinkle the buck horn a little but did not kill as best as I can tell. Then again, maybe it wasn't supposed to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    drive xlr8

    By Kevin on 10/07/2018

    The XLR8 works great on crabgrass ! 2 or 3 days turned brown (dead)!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Mark on 08/18/2015

    Applied by the book, with ATV good crabgrass kill. no ill effect on turf grass.Sprayed 3 acres with 60 gallons of mix, I very pleased. I cannot give 5 stars until I plant new grass seed and view new germination.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff - works

    By Hank on 07/31/2016

    its July in Washington DC. Really hot and humid. Crabgrass and torpedo grass have taken over my yard. Mostly torpedo. the Drive killed the crab grass within 1 day. No questions asked. but the torpedo grass... not yet. the directions say another treatment is required in 14 days. so we'll have to wait and see

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Joel on 05/12/2017

    It works as it should. I only use it for one application then wait for the grass to take control. It holds down the growth of the weedy grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass gone

    By Rick on 10/02/2016

    The Drive XLR8 worked worked very well on my thick crabgrass. Will probably give another application next year earlier in the season. It didn't kill what I call crowsfoot or wiregrass depending on who you talk to so I will have to contact them to see if they have a product to take care of that.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works well

    By Brad on 09/17/2016

    First time using this. My bermuda lawn was being taken over by crabgrass. Sprayed Drive on it and you could tell it was working the next day. Did have to spray my front yard twice though. That may be because of the severity of the crabgrass though. Overall, I'm very satisfied with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Not Bad

    By John on 09/06/2015

    Verified Purchase

    My fine fescue lawn was completely infested with crabgrass and chickweed. I wanted something that would knockout the crabgrass and weeds in one application. Based on other's reviews, I purchased (2) two 1/2 gallon containers of Drive XLR8 and sprayed my lawn using a 15 gallon tow behind sprayer. The chickweed was and crabgrass was completely dead within 2 weeks. However, I still have an infestation of smooth leaf crabgrass that the Drive XLR8 did not had no effect on. Also, the crabgrass that had previously died came started to come back to life within a month after spraying. I ended up purchasing a few quarts of Bayer Weed Killer with Crabgrass control to spray the smooth leaf crabgrass. That took care of the smooth leaf crabgrass as well as the crabgrass that had began to show life once again. Though the Drive XLR8 works well, (with the exception of not killing the smooth leaf crabgrass) it is quite expensive compared to Ortho, Bayer or Spectracide. Next time I'll just go with the cheaper stuff that seemed to do the same job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Worth the price!!!

    By Joe on 08/29/2016

    After trying several selective herbicides to only have the crabgrass turn slightly brown and bounce back, I decided to spend the money for drive xlr8 and the suggested methylated seed oil. After 1 application on a sunny day, I noticed most of the smaller crabgrass was browning within 24 hours. After 3-5 days, most was dead. Some of the larger areas took a second application but at least I have my yard back. 4/5 because of price, but it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff!!

    By Bill on 08/29/2016

    We sprayed this on our crabgrass and within a week it was brown and dead!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Drive with/without surfactant

    By Rick on 08/24/2016

    I have a huge back yard with a lot of crabgrass. I purchased Drive last year, and it didn't kill very much of the weed. I'm sure it was because I didn't use a surfactant. This year I mixed a surfactant with the Drive and what a difference! You will get much better results from Drive with a surfactant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    First time trying

    By Andrew on 09/10/2019

    I got tired of seeing crabgrass multiply over my newly replaced marathon sod so I decided to try something new. I did not see any improvement using off the shelf spray herbicide so I did some reading and came across Drive XLR. Not knowing the success rate and going off the reviews from this website, I decided to give it a try Labor Day. I followed the instructions down to a T (measure the lawn coverage, test out the amount of water spray and mixed with the XLR). Did not water or mow the lawn next two days per instruction. Day 3 I started to notice the disorientation in color where the crabgrass laid within my lawn. My guess is the herbicide is working as it should. I will wait within a week before spraying Sedgehammer to rid of the nutsedge growing. XLR has proven to work on my lawn without damaging other nursery plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)