Customer Reviews for Grass Out Max (Clethodim Herbicide)

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(90 customer reviews)
Displaying 31 to 60 (of 90 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Exactly what I was looking for

    By J on 09/08/2020

    The product worked great. I used it on my food plots which had a lot of foxtail, among other unwanted grasses. After 1 week, I could see that some grasses were starting to die off, but not all, so I sprayed a second time. I probably could have been more patient, but I wanted to make sure I hit everything. 2 weeks after the first application, I really noticed the results. I bought this with the surfactant, as suggested, and I was really pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for orchards and berry plantings

    By Jane on 04/19/2019

    Grass Out Max is just the tool we were looking for! In a new orchard planting that was previously hay field we had tons of grass intrusion even after getting a strong initial kill before planting. Started using Grass Out Max around trees and at the base of perennial berry bushes and now only have to spot treat. We love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    WORKS GREAT

    By Daren on 06/20/2020

    I followed directions exactly, I had grass in ornamental plants. In 2 weeks grass died, perfect, thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    worked for me

    By Patrick on 10/09/2020

    Used to eradicate some stubborn grasses from my brassica/clover plot. Took about 10 days to show full effect, but the grass is gone and my crop looks to be fine. Will use this again if needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    it works!!

    By Roy on 09/15/2021

    tried this product on my fairly new strawberry bed. Used sparingly just in case. After several days I began to think id skimped a bit much on the mix. a few days later I begin to see the big grass yellow....and several days after pretty much all yellow........as in goodbye grass and hadn't bothered the berry plants at all......Time to hit it again full strength!!! If there's a downside I'd say the mix ratio should be more obvious for the home gardeners...it's very clear for those who are spraying on a large scale Also more appropriate size for the gardener...... I've enough now to last me for a loooooong time......hope there's no expiration date :(

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Grass out max

    By Travis on 05/31/2020

    Was told this product would not kill my Knock Out Roses, now I have to replace 4 because they are dead but grass is still green. I will be returning this product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty much does as it should. Fast service.

    By Pam on 09/24/2021

    I gave it a 4 star as it is slow but my grass is way over the recommended height. That said, I didn't want to use roundup around my ornamentals to clean out the beds from grass as it will kill everything. I purchased to get rid of grasses and not kill my large clover patches. I seem to be growing quite a crop of crabgrass — could harvest and sell it. ????. Need to start early next year. If you aren't using around ornamentals — use it with MSO as directed. I used a non ionic surfactant as recommended by manufacturer for use around ornamentals and beds of plants, etc. and without killing my clover used as ground cover in vegetable garden. . The disease the manufacturer - actually got to talk to the owner - was the Grass Out at 1/2 Oz per gallon amd the surfactant per its label. Please be careful that the perennials, annuals, etc you are spraying around are not part of the grass family. It will kill anything grass. It does not kill broadleaf weeds which is why it doesn't kill ornamentals etc. I have every grass weed known to man in my lirope (Lily family), spiderwort, Iris, and strawberry beds. I will go back and avoid spraying ornamentals with active ingredient 24-DB which doesn't kill clover, alfalfa, etc. but does kill other broadleaf weeds but not grasses. Make sure you carefully read the labels for both products and if you don't want to kill clover or legumes — make sure you use 24DB not 24D which kills all broadleaf weeds and legumes. Read the labels before using either product — Grass Out Max has different doses for different uses and veggies, etc. - also different lengths of time to wait before harvesting after spraying. Note legumes need to be well established before spraying. Grass Max is a post emergent. It's best to use something early in the season as a pre emergent to keep grassy weeds from germinating and getting established if you can. Agrisel (manufacturer) customer service was very helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't touch my problem

    By Brian on 06/16/2016

    My soybeans are being overtaken by grass. I tried spraying twice and this stuff hasn't worked at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work for me.

    By Robert on 08/24/2016

    Save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Grass out max

    By John on 08/30/2017

    Do waste your money. I put to much down and still did not work

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good product combined with Non-Ionized surfactant

    By Dan on 06/15/2018

    I had received misinformation which was corrected with a second call to DoMyOwn. This product needs a surfactant combined with it. It works and hasn't damaged my jasmine. However, a second application may be necessary after a couple of weeks. Check with DoMyOwn regarding amounts to mix with water. A little goes a long way for homeowner gardeners.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Grass control in ground cover

    By Dave on 10/23/2020

    Spring i planted English ivy 1ft grid pattern . Middle of summer grass taken over. After 3 application of cethodim by directions grass gone. Hoping ivy takes over by next spring but if grass comes back will apply again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Need better mixed rates

    By Tim on 08/28/2020

    Had to guess on oz to water rates to thin first application had to increase oz to gal mixture

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works as advertised

    By Thomas on 10/27/2020

    Wanted something that would kill grass that was planted in flower beds unintentionally by overflow from overseeding my lawn. This product is easy to apply and killed the grass without harming other plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Clethodim

    By Joseph on 09/15/2020

    I am only giving 2 stars not because the chemical didn't work but because the 1 gallon jug it came in was just a little over half full. No spillage was found in the box it came it. Felt like I was ripped off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    kills grass

    By Roger on 07/30/2021

    It works just fine on grass in flower beds without harming the flowers when used according to directions!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Disappointed

    By Burlon on 09/11/2020

    Only killed Johnson grass. Other grasses are still green and strong after 2 weeks. Applied 16 oz. per acre.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent

    By Laura on 10/18/2023

    Worked extremely well but please be patient it could be 2 weeks before you see that it's working

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    “Grass Out Max” Works!

    By Alfredthesemi-great on 09/10/2021

    This is a herbicide that is specific to grass species. Does not harm most other types of plants. BUT read the very detailed instructions carefully!! Some (a few) ornamental plants could damaged by this Grass Out Max, and there is a comprehensive list in the instructions. I used this in flower beds/landscaping where invasive grasses like Bermuda were growing in and around desired ornamental plants. I have seen a pretty good kill of the grasses. However, my area was starting to get pretty dry when I sprayed. The instructions will tell you Grass Out Max is effective on actively growing grass, but not as effective on drought-stressed grass. I have a few areas I will have to respray after the grass gets some water. Two things to know: this Grass Out Max has to have time to travel through the grass blades (leaves) down into the roots. You won't see the grass dying for several days. Be patient, it's working. Second, shield adjacent lawn grass areas from the spray ( I sprayed with a 2 gallon tank garden sprayer), use a tarp or something similar. Remove right after you spray, and be careful not to allow the part of the tarp that has wet spray on it to drag over the grass. Overall very satisfied with results I got.

    Expert Response  Expert response:

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Clethodim on Clover

    By Terry on 09/17/2021

    Sprayed clethodim on my arrowleaf clover to kill thick bermuda and it did the job. As others have reported it takes 2-3 weeks. Bermuda was very thick and now it's beaten down and the clover should make a great plot on into fall.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Grass out

    By Susan on 10/01/2021

    Followed directions and the grass laughed at it. Doubled the amount and it did kill some but not a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This work in Florida

    By Mathias on 10/08/2021

    I t trued everything to kill my weeds and I found out this protucts work the best I have over 25 years in horticulture flies with a degree

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    herbicide action

    By Daniel on 03/25/2022

    applied 12 ounces per acre to activitly growing fescue grass. I used 2 quarts of crop oil in 100 gallons of water. material had little if any effect on grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works for clover food plots

    By Paul on 04/30/2022

    Effective and reasonable price for grass control in clover food plots. Same active ingredient as Arrest Max.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    "Grass Out"

    By David on 06/24/2022

    This has been an excellent product to kill grass that invades the Junipers and other plantings where grass does not belong. It is a little slow acting, but very effective at killing the grass, without harming the plant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works well - container not built for shipping

    By Tim on 03/13/2023

    The product worked as advertised. Mine leaked about 4 ounces during shipping which soaked the cardboard box; I doubt the delivery guy was happy. Please consider putting this item in a zip-lock type bag prior to boxing to avoid product loss.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    For use in new pollinator forbs planting

    By Krisi on 05/19/2023

    I was have issues with brome, bermuda, and johnson grass popping up in a new pollinator planting and could not use glyphosate due to damage the seedling forbs would suffer. Someone experienced in land management told me about this product and so far it has not harmed the forbs. I mixed on the lower side but it seems to be doing the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    My thoughts.

    By Jim on 06/03/2023

    So far so good. Now let's see what happens over time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Incredibly Highly Recommend

    By D.murphy on 06/23/2023

    I could not keep up with grasses growing in my vegetable garden, especially difficult around my onions and garlic. I used Grass Out Max with 1 oz per gallon of water in a pump up sprayer with some surfactant and total kill of ALL grasses with no harm to vegetables. I'm a true believer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Watch out

    By David on 06/30/2023

    Be careful it works maybe to well. Use when you are going to get rain use just as its tells you Works Great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 90 reviews)