Customer Reviews for Hi - Yield 2, 4 - D Selective Weed Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   34
4 stars   8
3 stars   9
2 stars   1
1 star   5

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(57 customer reviews)
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 57 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer

    By Sara on 07/18/2011

    The buyer of the gallon size should be aware that the percentage of 2, 4-D is much less than in the quart size.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    133 of 162 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Review by Sara may not be correct!

    By Anonymous on 08/26/2013

    I read the review by Sara, who stated that the % of active ingredient was different in the quart and gallon sizes. I was curious, so I emailed Do My Own and asked them. According to Do My Own, there is NO difference in % active ingredient in the quart and gallon sizes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    127 of 131 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    SELECTIVE WEED KILLER..

    By Frederick on 04/25/2016

    As a retired horticulturist its best to use this product with the temperature at least 70 degrees.. and always follow the label,, I have been using 2,4 -D for over 40 years and it works,,

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    65 of 66 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer

    By Michael on 04/10/2012

    Verified Purchase

    It worked really well & I let the horses back to grazing after 48 hours with no issues at all!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    51 of 54 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works without killing my grass

    By Beth on 04/22/2012

    I ordered 2,4-D and had my order is like two days. However when I opened it, it was a bug control product. I called customer service and mailed me another gallon in the next two days. I received a return postage for the incorrect product - so just wanted to say the customer service was outstanding. The product works good, it doesn't harm the grass. I have applied twice to the area. The weather has been cooler than normal and I am wondering if it was warmer, if the results would have been faster.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    41 of 43 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Bones

    By Bill on 09/05/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Solved my problem and your service was the best. Thanks for your prompt shipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    hi-yield 2, 4-d

    By Eve on 09/26/2012

    This product is amazing! It kills all weeds without killing grass. One should read the direction for proper use for safety. If you are looking for a product to control, or eliminate weeds in your grass, this is your product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killing Wild Strawberry

    By George on 05/13/2012

    I used the 2, 4-D in a pump sprayer to allow me to be more precise in getting the poison onto the weeds. A hose sprayer would have been less selective. It worked as advertised. I used 1 tablespoon per cup of water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pesky Weeds

    By Steve on 05/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product seems to get rid of most of the basic weed groups. There are a few weeds in my yard that require a specialized product. Nut grass, etc., but this product works well. Also, DoMyOwnPestControl has great prices and fantastic shipping. Will be purchasing from them again as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hi Yield 2 is very effective

    By William on 05/16/2014

    Hi Yield 2 is very effective against all the weeds here in our yard in Virginia. However, if you also have crabgrass, you can use Drive XLR8 to kill them. I ended up using 1 gallon per 1/3 acre based on dispensing from an Ortho dial sprayer…I needed 2 gallons to do 2/3 of my yard which is approximately 1 acre. That said, it works and will purchase more for next season

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works!

    By Linda on 06/19/2014

    Verified Purchase

    We recently moved into a home we remodeled. The yard was neglected and overrun with weeds and overgrowth. We were able to get the yard in order - all except the horsetails!! After pulling and pulling and pulling again, nothing would touch these weeds - even Round Up. Then I found this product thru a web search. It works!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally

    By Cindy on 06/19/2014

    After years of trying to get rid of creeping charley from our 1/2 acre lawn my brother suggested your company's products. This product rocks and the weeds are gone from the areas we sprayed and we are very pleased with this product. I have recommended it to several people. Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    should be called very selective weed killer

    By Mark on 03/25/2012

    kills certain broad leafs dead,leaves others I've had good luck with other Hi-yield products,but this one disappoints

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed Killer

    By Dan on 11/16/2013

    Great product, fast shipment. The weed killer worked, however, it took many more applications than suggested.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killing Lake Weed

    By Ken on 09/14/2014

    Most effective and least expensive method of killing millfoil and lilly pads that I have found. Earlier this year I bought a 50lb box of 2-4-D pellets from another merchant ($330) and used the entire box on one area. (It didn't do the job). THIS gallon of 2-4-D concentrate praised here did the work and I still have 2/3 gallon left. The product is good, the merchant DMOPC is great. Already purchased and received my subsequent order for Wasp killing spray.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    2,4 D

    By Dale on 04/30/2014

    Did an awesome job on are lawn! Ha! After treating, we see just how much grass we did not have growing!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    worked well

    By Sheryl on 11/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Definitely killed the weeds. Easy to mix and apply. I ordered the smaller size and I have a lot of weeds so I will need to get more. Delivery was quick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Recent Purchase

    By Jerry on 02/11/2013

    received my purchase in a very short time. My order was very promptly handled and caused no problems for me. That is what I look for, fair price, quality product and prompt service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hi- yield 2,4-D

    By Dave on 09/22/2013

    The product does it's job very well. The price was about 45% cheaper than buying locally. And the product arrived promptly and in good condition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Got rid of it

    By Art on 10/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Purchased 2,4-D to kill " COW " grass or also known as DALLAS grass. . In the past I just would dig those clumps up. However this year the Cow Grass overwhelmed me and decided the 2, 4-D approach. After several application the Weed Killer has done the trick. Even tough it did affect some of the surrounding Zoya grass it is the right way for me to control this WEED. The Zoya grass has since also started to grow back. Good reddens COW or DALLas grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Kurt on 03/24/2013

    Hi yield is one of the best I see it in nurseries and my experience with those products has always been good

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Killer

    By John on 03/16/2018

    Killed the wild onions that roundup wouldn't. Also killed many of the other weeds but didn't hurt the fescue.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Great Ordering and Shipment, But "kill" Info Lacking

    By Larry on 09/16/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Ordering and shipping through this company is the best I have ever experienced. However, the information that came with the product I ordered (Hi-Yield 2, 4-D weed killer) included absolutely no indication when "kill" results should be seen. Following the directions with great care, I hit the weeds (Rush Skeleton Weed) five days ago. So far there is no indication of results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer

    By Mary on 06/14/2017

    Works great! Starts turning yellow in one day. I used hand sprayer which is time consuming but it did the job. Many mature weeds are dying. I have a 5500 sf yard. I will have to go back and spot treat but very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    WANTED A HIGHER CONTENT OF 2, 4-D

    By Cornpatchguy on 05/29/2017

    Didn't live up to my expectations of killing hard to kill lawn weeds. Gonna take another or maybe even two more sprays to finish the job. I believe the Speedzone worked better, went with this brand because it was a larger container.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Am not impressed with this product

    By Dennis on 08/20/2015

    2-4 D was recommended to me by someone in the landscaping business to get rid of the multitude of weeds that infest my lawn. I applied it last week with very little success. Although it did kill some of the weeds, it was no where near as effective as I thought it would be

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Every Homeowner Needs This Herbicide

    By Justin on 06/20/2017

    Verified Purchase

    This is like the bread and butter of herbicides. Just like every homeowner needs RoundUP, this is the second most important product any homeowner (with a lawn) should not be without. Realistically speaking, this stuff is anywhere from alright to absolutely amazing depending upon the weed and the weather. ALWAYS follow the label. This year when it got hot (to the upper limits of the label) it merely worked faster frying the weeds faster than even RoundUp would have. The net result was that it just fried the weeds sprayed even faster. The best thing is that it does NOT harm centipede grass at proper mix rates. I tried it on a test plot of St. Augustine and would NOT recommend this on that though. ALWAYS try any new product in an inconspicuous area. I was going to give it a five except a shrub at least 8' away from any areas sprayed shows herbicide damage of auxin herbicide injury (leaves curling). That said it is recovering nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    2, 4-D

    By S. on 06/30/2017

    I have used this product before and had good luck but this time I have seemed to get no results in killing the Creeping Charlie on my lawn. I used it as it is supposed to be with my hand held sprayer and the weed is still growing. Possibly have to try something else.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your review. We apologize you are not getting the expected results. We would like to take the time to help troubleshoot with you. However, we will need a little more information from you. When did you apply the 2, 4-D and what type of turf do you have?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed killer

    By Hua on 10/08/2017

    It doesnt work on my first try with 2 Oz to a gallon. On my second try with 10 Oz to a gallon it kill some but not all. There are brown patch with grass and crab grass kill but some other brown patch only kill the bermuda grass not the crab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer

    By R.. on 04/10/2020

    I use a Ortho hose end sprayer to apply a majority of herbicides and insecticides, It wouldn't hurt to put the ounces per gallon on the label.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 57 reviews)