Customer Reviews for Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   168
4 stars   19
3 stars   3
2 stars   10
1 star   14

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(214 customer reviews)
Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel
$22.75

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

    By Bob on 05/28/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the Maxforce on May 18, 2010. Put the gel in many different places where the carpenter ants were traveling and watched them everyday for five days (5-10 ants at a time). The ants would not touch the gel. They would go near it and go right around. Not happy at all with product. Had to give it one star, would not allow 0.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Ants are very picky eaters.  If the ants walk by the gel in this situation, it means that they were not in the mood this week for a sweet sugar bait, they were in the mood for more of a protein bait.  This is why we made our Carpenter Ant Kit #1, which comes with this Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait as well as the Advance Carpenter Granular bait.  The Advance bait is a protein based bait.  It is always better to give the ants an option, so if they are not in the mood for the sugar, you have the granule available which is a protein.  Also, even though the ants went by it this week, they may be looking for sugar next week.  Sometimes with ants you have to give it time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    46 of 50 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Waste of money

    By Mark on 10/10/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Had huge carpenter ant problem, still have huge carpenter ant problem. Tried max force ant bait, ants ate it up but didn't seem to kill them. Should have just used the 20 dollars I wasted on this product and just called an exterminator, wich I did. Leave it to the pros.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

    By John on 05/26/2011

    Verified Purchase

    It does not appear that the Carpenter Ants I have in my home are attracted to the MaxForce bait. I've not seen them feeding on the bait, which I put in six different locations near where I see the ants. The bait has not reduced the number of ants we see in our home.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No luck

    By Stalemate on 06/22/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Carpenter ants behind drywall. Drilled pilot holes at room corners (top and bottom) and applied two tubes of MaxForce gel bait.  Also drilled additional holes near wood shavings where the drywall and molding had some separation. After two weeks no decrease in activity. Fortunately, I did find the nest in the yard as well as the path into the house. The nest and path were treated with Deltamethrin and Lambda Cyhalothrin. So far so good, no sign of ants outside or inside of house. It pays to use a flashlight at night when the ants are active and look around the outside walls to find the path into the house. As a matter of interest, I also applied some of the gel near a fire ant mound. The fire ants would not go near it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

    By Chris on 03/20/2011

    Used as directed but so far haven't seen any dead ants or reduction in the ant activity in the house. They don't seem interested in this bait at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ant bait gel

    By Wendy on 10/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    So far I haven't seen any evidence that they have eaten the product. No dead ants!!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If the ants are not foraging for sweets or carbohydrates, then they will not be attracted to the gel bait immediately. We recommend offering a protein bait, as well, such as the Advance Granular Carpenter Ant Bait, so that you are offering both food sources for which the ants may be foraging: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/advance-carpenter-ant-bait-p-173.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No good

    By Bill on 07/23/2014

    Tried two - not one single carpenter ant took the bait. What a waste. Would not have given even 1 star, but they don't let you choose NO stars

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    MER

    By Merlin on 07/11/2014

    Verified Purchase

    It was absolutely worthless and a complete waste of money. The instructions said to place a small amount of the gel where the flying ants would carry it back to their nest but it just hardened and did not work. If they got to it quick enough they just stuck to the gel. The worst part is I purchased two of them and they both acted the same way. $40.00 gone for a bad product and I still have the flying ants. Bad Product - Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ignored by Ants

    By Disapointed on 04/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this product because the honey/boric acid mix I was using was hard to mix to the correct proportions. I.e, if too weak it didn't kill them, if too strong it killed them before they could get it back to the nest. I used Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel in conjuction with Advance Carpenter Ant Bait as recommended. Baits have been out for two weeks. Ants have totally ignored both baits. I just went back to the honey/boric acid and have mixed varying concentrations hoping that some will get back to the nest. The ants attacked the honey mix within two hours. If it doesn't work, at least it is much cheaper than the $100 I spent on these baits.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not Work on Florida Carpenter Ant.

    By Mike on 07/29/2016

    I have the Florida carpenter ants (Camponotus) and they ignored the bail alltogether. Maybe it is the wrong season but those little peckers live in my house and there is nothing I can do except start tearing walls down

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If you are unsuccessful with baiting methods, we recommend you try using a non-repellent spray such as Phantom indoors or Termidor in wall voids and on the exterior. Both of these products work somewhat like bait in that they are transferred back to the colony, but the ant merely have to cross over a treated area vs having to be interested in a food source. We hope this information has been helpful!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Any Bait Gel

    By Jack on 10/17/2016

    Tube had no way to despense contents when pushing on back material leaked out very messy did not work

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you had an issue dispensing the product. Was the black cap unscrewed from the front of the syringe? (This is often overlooked with this product) Were you using the white plunger to push the product out of the tube? Please let us know so we can help you troubleshoot the application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did nothing

    By Royf on 06/16/2017

    There was a steady trail of carpenter ants between a tree and my house. I put this down for several times over two weeks and it never phased them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Maxforce

    By Dante on 07/25/2017

    Product did not help with my carpenter ant problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Total waste for me

    By Janeiro on 07/12/2019

    This did not work for me period!!!! I would give it zero stars if I could. If it works for you well I'm happy for you because all it's done is sit there where I applied it untouched by the ants

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)