Customer Reviews for Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   168
4 stars   19
3 stars   3
2 stars   10
1 star   14

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(214 customer reviews)
Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel
$22.75

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It definitely works

    By Scott on 07/01/2009

    I fooled around with sprays outside and the granules. I had carpenter ants on my deck outside and they were coming inside and built a nest in a wall. All the other poisons just slow them down, but they always come back. I put a few drops of Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel outside and within minutes they were all eating it. Now I just have to wait and see if it kills them. So far, so good. If you have carpenter ants, don't even waste your money on anything else. Nothing else is going to do the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product, but be mindful

    By Richard on 09/01/2010

    Great product, but be mindful of the containers end plunger. Be careful when inserting the plunger or turning the tube upside down accessing the end of the plug - the inner plunger plug inside the tube fell out backwards from that end of the tube, and in one plop dropped the entire contents of the tubes' Gel all over me and everything near. Otherwise great product in itself, and great Customer Service. Product 5 Stars Container Tube 4 Stars - there should be better instructions and prevention from that being able to happen.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems to work but the container is not well designed

    By Jen on 09/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    The ants disappear every time I use this. However, since I had used this before, I found that the "syringe" container is very tricky to use. I read some of other reviews and see the same problems. The content sometimes seems to be stuck and then bursted out all over the place. Also, liquid runs out from the back side when you point the "needle" side up ward and gets on hand, clothes, or floor. The last pack I used got all stuck suddenly and when I tried to press the pump harder, the content oosed out up the pump instead of the "needle" end and gave me a mess. When I received the product this time, I pressed all the gel out to a container I prepared myself and don't bother to hang on to the "syringe" or the "needle" at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Carpenter Ant Bait, MaxForce Gel

    By Pete on 08/25/2010

    Howdy, Got the bait in good order and on time. The carpenter ant colony is DEAD! However, carpenter Ants are fussy eaters. They totally ignored the bait. I check during night time hours when they are most active. I tried a change in presentation and types of bait stations. Still no takers at the bait stations. I noticed my carpenter ants can't ignore other insects as food. I caught a few crickets. Diced them and placed crickets pieces on top of the gel bait in each bait station. Bingo, they could not get enough of those cricket pieces and ate the gel bait as well. Within two days all carpenter ant activity ceased, and I haven't seen a live carpenter ant in two weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Die Ants! You die! Buah ha ha ha ha!

    By Mike on 08/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    First I let the ants find the chewed up beef bones my dogs love. Then.....I watched the ant trail form and I followed to different locations and applied the bait gel. Next day there was not an ant to be found anywhere. Very happy with the gel. Used it in my house in a couple of spots and the ants disappeared the next day. I have not had a chance to use the Suspend SC yet, but me and my spray tank are looking forward to carpet bombing the crap out of the ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ant gel - upstate NY

    By 11 on 07/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    great service. fast shipping. its a great product. I live on the edge of the woods and there are always ants coming to my wood cedar house to look for a new home. I always keep a tube or two in the fridge to battle the carpenter ants. Once I find their main trail, I lay a couple drops out...and continue until the dont come back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy to use

    By Geff on 08/21/2011

    Easy to use with fast results. A small amount kills 100's of ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product, Poor directions, Questionable design.

    By K. on 11/21/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I shook and refrigerated the gel for 24 hours before using the first time. The second time I used it I turned the point up, and liquid spilled out the back, all over my hand. After that I kept the tube horizontal at all times and kept it in the refrig. The gel blobs do dry out quickly, but it really does kill carpenter ants. It's been two weeks today, and the ants keep coming, but much fewer than before. I've used one tube and plan to order another. I'd have given five stars, but I thought the tube design and directions should have been more explicit.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait Gel

    By Carol on 10/12/2011

    Actually worked very well. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is I want to withhold judgement until I see the ants are gone for good. The gel worked great. I traced the ants back along the kitchen walls and could see them coming in on top of the door to the patio. I put the gel on top of the door and it totally stopped the ants. It worked much better than granule baits which could have fallen off the top of the door onto the floor for curious grandchildren to pick up. I found some dead ants on the floor inside by the door for a few days but no live ants at all in the kitchen. I had to reapply it after about 2 weeks but again it stopped the ants immediately. Still waiting on long term results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems to have worked

    By David on 05/20/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I used this in conjunction with granular bait for a major ant infestation in my walls and ceiling. It seems to have worked. It took several days but the ants seem to be gone from the interior of the house and there are few left on the exterior. The only criticism I have is the small size of the tube and the expensive price, but I guess it's still cheaper than hiring an exterminator.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    maxforce carpenter ant bait

    By Charlotte on 08/30/2016

    gel worked much better then the dry bait.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    It works!!!

    By Ravi on 04/29/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I started seeing carpenter ants in upstairs bathroom and did a few applications. In 2 days they are gone. I am not sure if the entire colony has been wiped out. But nothing for the last 3 days!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ants Active in Winter Months - Upstate New York

    By C on 03/23/2016

    We occasionally saw a carpenter ant or two upstairs in the summer months. However, during December, January and February, we would also see them which meant they had a nest inside of the house. I realized that there was some moisture in my outside upstairs bathroom wall and tracked the nest to that location. About 30 years ago, I had cut a removable section of sheet rock in the lower wall area of the bathroom linen closet to access the bathtub trap. By removing that section (15"x 12") of sheetrock, I could see exactly where they were coming out from behind the outside wall insulation. I was looking at the outside bottom of the tub which resembled the hull of a ship. My problem was compounded by the fact that there were wet spots in that location which I eventually figured out were caused by caulking along the bathtub that allowed water through during a shower. It took me more than 3 weeks and I bought 2 tubes of the Gel to feel satisfied that I had pretty much wiped out the nest. To date I have used about 1 and 1/4 tubes of the 2 purchased. I am bracing myself for the warmer weather to see what transpires. I initially applied the gel on strips of heavy paper down the full length of the tub. Eventually I applied the gel on the framing wood right where they were coming out from behind the insulation. My application points were not accessible by any household members or pets, which was good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ant Gel

    By Anonymous on 08/22/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The ant gel was very effective for carpenter ants. The product comes with a fine tip for use in tight spots and crevices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    maxforce carpenter ant bait gel

    By C on 09/25/2012

    Verified Purchase

    The product seems to be working, as i do not see any further ant activity at this time....the plastic plunger makes easy to use, too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Pretty awesome!!

    By Crystal on 06/08/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I put this out when I was seeing them most frequently. I haven't seen another carpenter ant since!  LOVE IT!  Of course it's only been about a month or so and I'm only giving it 4 stars because it's only been a month and I just have a feeling if I give it 5, I'm going to go home and find an ant :) Otherwise this stuff rocks. I was weary of it to begin with but I only put out three or 4 spots of it and some on my deck at night and they haven't been in the house since.  I put out a pretty good size dot and while the dot didn't completely disappear, the ants did!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Easy and more effective than I could have imagined

    By Rich on 09/12/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I did my research on the little piles of sawdust found at the base of building and ordered two tubes of the Maxforce Carpenter Ant Bait after most articles on the internet said NOT to use ant killer. The order arrived quickly and as promised. Applied one tube of gel (shake well and refrigerate 24 hrs per instructions) along cracks, crevices, and ant trails I saw at night. Significant reduction in ants after 48 hours. Applied a second tube and saw no evidence of ants two more days later. It has now been about two weeks and the problem is clear. Could I have done it with only one tube? Probably, but I wanted to be sure and the quantity (2) pricing from domyownpestcontrol.com helped me make the decision. Thanks guys!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Worked the very first time!

    By Stacy on 05/03/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We had persistent ants coming in through our dishwasher every day. They make me crazy every spring and summer. I placed a few drops of this gel on top of and around the dishwasher and I have not seen one single ant since. That was over five days ago. I only rated the gel 4 stars because this is my first time trying the product but I have high hopes that it will continue working. I purchased two tubes for $35.00. So far it is worth every penny. Shipping was very fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    maxforce carpenter ant bait gel

    By Al on 10/11/2016

    For 8 months i sprayed individual ants with water + sugar + boric acid + a few drops of home defense. knowing they would carry it back to the nest... I collected a few test subjects, and they died in 1 to 2 days. That killed about 400, but not the queen which kept producing. It took about a month of using Maxforce gel to be able to not see any new ants, and not see my little drops disappear, so I think it works, but not in just a few days. Would I buy it again? yes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)