Customer Reviews for Talstar PL Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   203
4 stars   18
3 stars   9
2 stars   4
1 star   15

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(249 customer reviews)
Talstar PL Granular Insecticide
$37.23

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    didn't work

    By Bruce on 04/28/2013

    Verified Purchase

    applied as instructed...still have mole crickets...disappointed with product.. especially for the amount I spent

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Granules

    By Nancy on 05/11/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I applied the granules--hand-broadcast them using rubber gloves. I could not find information regarding a spreader to use and called the Talstar number. The friendly person there could not do more than I could--read the label. I asked locally and was encouraged to use my little Scott's hand spreader. The granules just ran through and (rain coming and it being the right time to treat for chiggers and chinch bugs here) I hand-broadcast the granules. I ran out of them before my yard was covered, so I know I applied them much too thickly. sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Useless

    By Veronica on 05/15/2016

    Verified Purchase

    A applied the product right on top of an ant colony and 4-5 feet radius of it. I didn't water the granules, it was going to rain in 4 hrs or so and it did and a lot too. 2 weeks later...ants are doing just fine, same spot! Ants were not killed nor bothered it seems by the product so I wonder if the product's active ingredient is a joke or something. I do pest control for a living, I know a good product based on results I tried this one and is totally useless.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Review

    By Gary on 08/11/2016

    I reluctantly rate this product as a 1 star. Purchased last month and now have more insect issues than I had before using. Very difficult to apply (it's like sand) so it flows through the lawn spreader like water. The areas that I was able to treat had minimal impact. It appears that this is not the solution that I thought it would be. Spend the extra money and use Merit or Arena. These are systemic applications so when the insects eat the lawn - they die. The problem with non-systemic products is that they will kill if it comes in contact with the insect but if it doesn't - you are right back to square one. Not even as good as some of the products that you can buy in the big box hardware stores!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Useless

    By George on 05/20/2016

    You are better off spraying sand :) After I applied, generously, on a small carpenter ant colony, the product, after it got soaked by rain a few hrs later...ants were not bothered a bit a few days later...or a week later then 2 weeks later...ants still there like nothing happened. Same reports from other customers, so applying this Talstar granules or doing nothing was giving me exactly the same thing: no results. Since ants react rather quickly to ANY kind of insecticide I wonder if product is a scam...and yes, I know how to apply granules, I've being doing it for 10 years, why did I decide to use Talstar this time is beyond me. Don't buy, waste of money and time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    not what I hoped for

    By Dennis on 06/07/2016

    after two applications.no change. Ants everywhere

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    dont waste your money

    By Mark on 09/18/2012

    i could have spit on the fire ants, and caused more damage. this product does not work, i put a cup full on a couple of the ant hills, the rest in a spredder and used one bag for lees the 1/2 acre of property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Cockroaches

    By Richard on 07/17/2017

    I created a perimeter of our patio with this product using the instructions. I'm still getting cockroaches that are on their back but not dead!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Red ants

    By Emile on 09/11/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Applied as directed and the ants were still there the next day. I live in Kosciusko Ms. Ortho use to sell ant killer that I broadcasted in my yard that worked, however they do not sell it anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not good!

    By Marshall on 08/02/2018

    Verified Purchase

    I have been very disappointed with this product. I put it out in my yard and it has been less than 3 months and the ants are still there. I watered it in like the instruction said and it has not killed anything. Will not be buying this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective for ants in NH

    By Abby on 05/24/2017

    I bought this in anticipation of our annual ant invasion and applied as instructed to the perimeter of my home in a 5' band. The ants still came. It was completely ineffective for our problem and I'm disappointed I spent the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    talstar

    By Duane on 08/15/2016

    i still got fleas in my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Use the Liquid

    By Gene on 09/11/2011

    I applied the granules, and I was still seeing chinch bugs the next day...and still seeing them a week later. I then applied the liquid, and have not seen a chinch bug, since. I have not yet written a review of the liquid. That I have not seen any more chinch bugs does not necessarily mean they ain't there. I'll wait a while, and if my grass starts to recover and I see no chinch bugs (or the converse), then I'll write a review of the liquid. I'm cautiously optimistic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    poor spreadabilty

    By Rick on 10/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    while it may be a good product, to soon to tell as i have just applied what i could. i thought the granules would have been coarser than they turned out to be. there for, all the talstar did was jam my new spreader.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    The Talstar PL Granules do have a very fine texture, so we would recommend starting with a lower setting and then increasing gradually, if needed. Talstar XTRA Granules do have a larger, more consistent size, as well as the addition of a second active ingredient: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/talstar-xtra-granules-25-lb-bag-p-1434.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Telstar and millepedes

    By Jim on 06/15/2019

    Totally ineffective against millipedes in No Nevada! I have put over 75pounds on grass 1500sq ft and 1/4 acre of dg. Watered it in no effect! Maybe before it snows. The only thing that kills them is drying summer heat! This is the 3rd year...waste of $!!!...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews)