Customer Reviews for Talstar P Professional Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   1775
4 stars   207
3 stars   59
2 stars   28
1 star   40

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(2109 customer reviews)
Talstar P Professional Insecticide
$25.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 40 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DOES NOT WORK ON SPINGTAILS

    By Jake on 06/13/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Terribly disappointed with this product. From all the raving reviews about how this is the one product that kills most all bugs including springtails, I was confident I had made the right purchase. Well literally 20 minutes after spraying the exterior of my home with the finished solution, the springtails not only came back, they walked right through the solution! 3 hours after spray, it appears that my problem has got even worse! Tons of them all over the house.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Because Talstar P is a residual product, it may take 30 minutes or more to kill individual insects because of the mode of action. Springtails are an extremely prolific pest that can be quite difficult to treat. To fully eradicate them, you will need to identify and eliminate the moisture source that is causing an ideal situation where they can breed. You can read more information on our Springtails page (scroll to the bottom for the article): http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/springtails-c-160.html We are also happy to discuss your situation over the phone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    32 of 36 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did Nothing

    By Gary on 07/07/2011

    I just got my 1 gallon container today, I mixed up a batch and went out on my deck (which is loaded with Springtails) at dusk. I sprayed one wall, they all disappeared (for about 5 minutes) returned to see slightly less Springtails then before, however 3/4ths were back and literally walking right over the wet wall like it wasn't even sprayed at all. These bugs have absolutely no aversion to this stuff. I even tested in inside on my patio where I found 3 or 4. Sprayed them directly just to see what happens. They popped once, then just walked away like nothing even happened. I'm Starting to question is this was worth the $. Hopefully the granules yield better results once they soak in...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 48 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar One

    By V&j on 07/01/2012

    Verified Purchase

    My son and I have not been impressed at all with Talstar One. The only thing it seems to do is make the nasty roaches angry, Doesn't seem to kill them at all. It may work well for fleas, we didn't have that problem but the people before us moved out and left a nice congregation of roaches. We ordered this product to kill the roaches but it doesn't seem to be killing them. They will fall down as if in flight at us if they get a chance however.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Dan on 05/15/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Not sure if this stuff is working. I have been spraying and applied granules, yet I still see chinch bugs. I am using two ounces for every two gallons of water and applying it over a 1000 sqft surface. Should I be using more?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    No match for florida ants

    By Enero on 11/16/2015

    Thought this product would help solve my problem with black ants inside the home. We sprayed everywhere both inside and out and waited several weeks and found no improvement

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    While Talstar is a great product it is not always able to eliminate an ant colony unless you directly spraying the mound or nest. This is because ants only send out a very small portion of the colony to forage at a time. The majority of the ants stay inside the nest or mound raising a new generation of ants. So while the foraging ants may be killed, new ants are already being reproduced to replace them. When the nest or mound cannot be treated directly it is important to use a product that will be carried back to the colony such as an ant bait or spray like Phantom or Termidor (can be used outdoors only). PLease take a few moments to read our Ant Treatment Guide to learn how to implement a successful control program

    http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-ants-a-462.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Poor results lawn reinfested within 2 weeks

    By Walter on 10/07/2011

    Previously used Bifen I/T from other supplier. Was effective for about 3-4 months. Same composition as Talstar P, yet Talstar was only good for a few weeks. Very disappointed with this product. Will never buy it again. Rating, not even a 1 Star

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not kill bugs - NO return of opened product

    By Name on 01/24/2017

    SERIOUSLY? I am giving this product ZERO stars because it simply does not kill bugs. ALSO - DOMYOWNPESTCONTROL.COM will not allow you to return an opened bottle no matter how worthless the product is, so, do not buy it if you want to get your money back when you realize that this product doesn't work.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you were unhappy with the results from using Talstar P. Talstar P is a very popular product with a variety of uses, however, for some pests such as roaches or bed bugs, we will recommend to use other products in conjunction with a liquid concentrate. We have great pest guides that outline how to Identify, Inspect, Treat, and Prevent infestations for the most common structural pests. These guides also have links to our Pest Control Kits for each pests, as well as top rated products for those situations. We are also happy to assist you by telephone, email, or live chat with any questions or concerns about products or treatment. http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/pest-guides.php Regarding returns, we do gladly accept returns on most products within 90 days for items that are unopened and in original, resalable condition. We are always here to offer advice before any purchases or during your treatment to help you get the most out of your purchases. If you are having trouble getting the results you expect, then we want to troubleshoot with you to determine a good solution for your needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Bought for Fleas and Bugs

    By Michael on 03/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Did NOT work for me! SE Tennessee. I bought the 16oz and have already used over half the bottle. Seems like the Fleas and Roaches have gotten even worse. Maybe I did it wrong. I used, as per the directions. 1oz to 1 gallon of water. Just did not work for me!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not worth it!

    By Bonnie on 09/10/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Talstar did not do what it was suppose to do. Works well on spiders thou. Do not recommend for roaches. Did not even put a dent in the problem. Ordered something else instead. By a recommendation from a true expert.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not happy

    By Teona on 03/17/2018

    Not killing the roaches very disappointed in this product

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you are not seeing the results you expected from Talstar P. We do recommend using a roach bait gel and an Insect Growth Regulator (IGR), too, in additional to good sanitation and exclusion for the most complete roach control. We see that you already purchased Advion Roach Bait Gel, and that product will transfer to roaches hiding in places where sprays cannot get. We have more great tips in our Roach Treatment Guide here: https://www.domyown.com/how-to-get-rid-of-roaches-a-458.html Talstar will kill roaches that you spray directly or that come into contact with treated area, but if the population is already established, most of those roaches are hiding and reproducing quickly in wall voids and other areas where the spray just won't reach them on its own. We are also happy to assist you with your situation by phone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not worth my money

    By Danny on 03/21/2012

    I purchased this product about 2 weeks ago hoping it would solved my roach infestation. Unfortunately, it turned out to be ineffective and even counterproductive. I will never purchase it again nor will I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Fleas

    By Bertha on 09/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    We have sprayed inside and outside with this after also using Ultracide; we still have the flea problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    not really

    By Joe on 06/17/2016

    Got this to fight off mosquitoes in Florida. I would say i didn't notice any diffidence. I don't live next to water so you can't say i lost the battle before it started. For what i care most reviews are fake as this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't work on Aphids

    By Mike on 04/30/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Was recommended this product for aphids, it doesn't even kill them they just reproducing. I marked one leaf so I could check it, did not even killed them. About on my last wit with them!  They are killing my crape myrtles and anything underneath them. About to dig them up been fighting these things for three years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Roaches laugh at this stuff

    By Doug on 08/18/2015

    I have mixed this product up at 3x specified ratio and sprayed it on a roaches head, put it in a jar and finally had to smash it 5 days later. I don't know if the product I received was just a bad batch but I will switch it up with something else.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the results you expected. After reviewing your order history it seems very likely you are dealing with a pyrethroid resistant roach population because you have been using the same class of active ingredient for years. Please take a moment to read our Roach Control Guide to learn how to effectively implement a roach control program: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/roach-identification-guide-a-456.html Please call our customer care team if you would like expert advice about your specific situation: 866-581-7378

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    worthless

    By Rafael on 08/13/2015

    I own a few rental properties . these vacated and was left with a lot of roaches. I applied Talstar. it kills some roaches when sprayed. come back a week later still have lots of roaches. did this a few times still have lots of roaches. product has no residual killing power. I want my money back!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We do not recommend that you use Talstar alone for roach control, especially for a bad infestation. Please take a few moments to read our roach control guide to learn how to effectively control even severe roach infestations: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/cockroach-inspection-guide-a-457.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar sucks

    By Don on 08/01/2017

    I have applied this chemical to three different locations. One had a spider problem, the other had a roach problem, and the last had a flea problem. I have not seen one sign of a dead bug and I have applied at twice the strength after not seeing results applying as suggested. I wasted 30 bucks I suggest you don't do the same. You would expect to see a dead bug here or there after an application but I have not. Not impressed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Why

    By Barry on 09/16/2014

    I have sprayed the house three times, we still have the same issues!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P for ground hornets

    By Anonymous on 07/31/2013

    Verified Purchase

    It did nothing for my ground hornet issue. Seems to be working good on the other insects though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    talstar one

    By Patsy on 04/07/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I don't think it did any good at all. It didn't help the problem that we could tell and we used the sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Carpet beetles

    By Michael on 03/02/2017

    Didnt kill them at all. They just kept crawling around and there werent any fewer of them.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your feedback! Carpet beetles can be a tricky pest to eliminate because they hide well and can multiply very quickly. Be sure to vacuum thoroughly and regularly (several times a week is best) in any areas where you see carpet beetle activity. The larval stage of this insect feed on organic materials such as pet dander and animal fibers like wool, so cleaning to eliminate these food sources is crucial to eradicating this pest. We would also recommend using an Insect Growth Regulator such as Gentrol IGR along with Talstar to help interrupt the breeding cycle of this pest. You can view additional tips here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/carpet-beetles-c-141.html (Scroll to the bottom for the article.) Please feel free to call us with any questions at 866-581-7378. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Product didn't work

    By Mb on 10/11/2011

    We have chinch bugs and this product did not work, our grass is still being eaten up and now we have to go spend even more money to have a professional service come out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    cockroach problem

    By Jayro on 07/24/2017

    cockroach problem Talstar p. Didn't work at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P

    By Todd on 06/27/2012

    This product was sent back as I found out after receiving it, it was not ok to use on my pasture with grazing cattle.I had bought it for mesquito control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Be careful what you buy

    By Jorge on 05/26/2017

    The label says that it ends with a series of insects inside which include ants and cockroaches, but they will be of Mars because those of here of the earth only the perfumery, therefore I do not recommend this perfume to them because it is of no use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    waste of money

    By Ryan on 09/24/2012

    I've been useing this stuff for about a year and i belive it has called more roaches into my house. Me and my wife don't see many dead roaches after useing it. I stared out with a small roach problam now I'm about 90% over run with them. I will not get it again..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P

    By Daniel on 09/02/2017

    I bought this because it is supposed to kill spiders. I live on lake Erie and we have tons of spiders that weave webs all over the houses and cars. I followed the directions, sprayed my house and inside my garage down. Never killed one spider nor did it repel them. Seems I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not effective for sod webworm

    By Floyd on 07/07/2017

    Did not even put a dent in my sod web population

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Spider mite

    By David on 10/31/2018

    I purchased two containers of TallstarP to combat the destructive spider mites that were eating my arborvitaes . I had high hopes before the purchase that this is it and I'm gonna get rid of the enemies of my evergreen trees, but unfortunately the product didn't live up to it's claim of effectiveness to destroy the bugs. Regrettably after spraying my trees , I checked the trees and to my great disappointment I saw the bugs are active in their destructive activities and are alive and well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    bad experience

    By Varun on 06/10/2019

    I sprayed the suggested concentration around my housebackyard and frontyard....its been 1 week and I am still seeing all sort of bugsspidersmosquitos... unsatisfied with the purchase

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 40 reviews)