Customer Reviews for Talstar P Professional Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   1775
4 stars   207
3 stars   59
2 stars   28
1 star   40

Average Customer Rating

4.7 of 5 stars
(2109 customer reviews)
Talstar P Professional Insecticide
$25.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 2 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Did I do something wrong?

    By Rob on 05/06/2010

    I gave 2 stars because I've used Bifenthrin before in other products, like Ortho, with terrific results! I thought Talstar would be THAT much better but after applying the max dosage to my lawn it made NO difference! Still tons of lawn critters, spiders, mole crickets, scorpions, fire ants, gnats, mosquitoes. So I sprayed just around our back patio area with "Bayer advanced" and in two hours there was a small army of dead bugs listed above on the patio. Now, like I say I've used Bifenthrin before in lower doses with great results.  So is it possible I got a bum batch or something??? I dunno...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    39 of 68 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Springtail Problem

    By Sherry on 06/06/2011

    After reading reviews and talking to support staff I bought Talstar P 3/4 gal. to treat my house and perimeter of a very bad springtail problem. I sprayed 3-4 feet up (to bottom of windows), around windows, and then 3-4 feet out on my grass around the whole house. While it's decreased the springtail population somewhat it's not nearly what I was made to think, I still have thousands. I'm also using Bifen granules around the perimeter. Support is now telling me the springtails must be down under my foundation. I understand they can breed there but when they come up and out along my siding why isn't this stuff killing them then since it's suppose to last and be active for 3 months. There is no explanation for that. If you have a springtail problem I would hire a professional company and get a written guarantee they'll get rid of them and keep them away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    caution

    By Rodgerbain on 09/04/2011

    be cautious when using talstar to be sure you are not allergic to it, I sprayed my yard only to find out I have a allergy recation to it. terrible sinuous infection ever time i cut the grass plus I still have ants

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not Effective as thought

    By Dung on 09/11/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After three days consecutively spray, the roaches still run around like nothing ever happened. Not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P (Talstar One)

    By David on 09/25/2011

    Verified Purchase

    I have bought and used this product for many years and recommended it to friends and family. I was purchasing it from a business about 40 miles from me and it worked great. I purchased a bottle from domyownpestcontrol.com and it has had no effect. I don't know if I got a bad bottle or if it isn't mixed the same anymore. I do know that I'll not get anymore from this website. I'll drive the 40 miles to get the real stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work for Roaches for pre treatment for prevention.

    By Bobby on 05/07/2016

    Will try another product. If anyone knows a product? Please inform or forward info of product. So far I used Talstar and Temprid. Both failed to do the job. Kills on contact, but that's it. Bob

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Please read our Roach guide so you can make an informed decision about your roach control program. Usually just picking one product will not be adequate. You will need to pick a product and use an all around program to eliminate and prevent roaches: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-roaches-a-458.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P

    By Lenny on 08/21/2015

    I have used this product 3 times now to rid fleas after pulling all carpets and pads. Unfortunately I am still seeing fleas! Upon each treatment fleas appear to be gone for a day or two and then they are back!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Reinfestation can occur because flea eggs are protected from the insecticide application. Using an insect growth regulator will help break the cycle of reinfestation. It is crucial to vacuum prior to the application and daily after the application has been made. Please take a few moments to read over our Flea Control Guide to learn how to successfully control fleas: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-fleas-a-483.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Same product as the professionals?

    By Walter on 08/04/2012

    Problems are ants, mosquitos, flies, and millipedes. It sprays on clear, does not smell. It will not kill ants after 2 weeks or even a week, do not see any dead ants (where do they go?) only live ones, had to set up the good old fashion traps. The ants were crawling all over the concrete and the vinyl siding. On an 1800 Square foot home, sprayed on the outside 8 oz. Talstar P (8 gal. mix). The pest control company had the same stuff with better result… is there a difference in the product?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Still have midges

    By Phil on 03/19/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Where we live in Central Florida we have a very serious midge problem. The professional exterminator, Clarke, has sprayed with some success, but still the midges are not under control. I went online to search for a chemical that would not only kill the midges, but have a long lasting residual effect. Unfortunately, Talstar didn't have any long range effect - maybe 2 or 3 days at the most. Not worth the $32 per pint price for the control of midges.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Judy on 01/18/2011

    Verified Purchase

    We still have "crazy ants", microscopic ones that have been sprayed inside and outside and all over the house. They show up on counters and cannot keep any type of food product that one usually keeps on a kitchen counter top. They'll even show up all over shampoo bottles in the shower in the morning and if you leave a dirty dish in the sink, they're on it! What to do?!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Kills Crickets? Not yet!

    By Gerry on 04/15/2016

    Pest control people tell me crickets are hard to kill. I have this one cricket living in my house. I've sprayed inside and out 3 times this month. No luck so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Kills Bugs. Scorpions? Not So Much

    By Troy on 10/03/2015

    I live in Phoenix where scorpions are a part of the landscape. Though my house is sealed, I spray outside to keep bugs and scorpions away. During the course of a month and a half, I have used 6 gallons of bug spray made with the Talstar P concentrate, spraying 2 gallons every other week. I am outside every night with a black-light and have not come across one dead scorpion (though I am killing plenty of alive ones nightly). This stuff doesn't seem to phase them at all. After my pup was stung last night, I decided it was time to leave a review. I bought this stuff based on other positive reviews concerning scorpions and so I am very surprised by the lack of effectiveness. If you are simply spraying for bugs, this should work for you if sprayed monthly. If you have scorpions, look elsewhere. 1.5 stars, considering I can buy regular bug spray concentrate at the box stores for a lot less.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    spring tails

    By Brian on 07/23/2012

    i was recommended this product and it killed everyting but springtails i did 2 applications in 3 days and still no satisfying results

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    white footed annts

    By Anonymous on 08/26/2013

    Used it for white footed ants..did not work had to call a professional. It may be good for outside around the house perimeter and on the grass or bushes.The site indicates it is good for these ants but the professional says they do not use it for that but they use it for other ants. I wish the label was more specific.But it is a good product inspite of not working for me

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not all it's cracked up to be

    By Michael on 04/09/2013

    I have now sprayed my house top to bottom twice. I had oriental roaches, ants, wasps, pillbugs, and beetles when I moved in. After following the instructions the first time I noticed that the pillbugs and wasps were gone, but still had issues with the others. 2 weeks later I sprayed again, and I was still seeing the roaches, ants and beetles. I finally went and bought a raid fogger and already noticed a significant difference.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Used it.

    By John on 10/03/2016

    I followed the directions on the bottle. I had large ants, and they went away. The small ants however seemed to double in number.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    It works, sort of

    By Gary on 08/08/2018

    I've been using this over the past year. Spraying 4 feet up the exterior walls, around windows/doors, 3 feet away from the foundation and garden beds as well as perimeter treatments. It seemed to work but not quick enough to stop the bugs from entering the house. I found some dead insects but I still had to manually kill earwigs/spiders every day. I just tried Tempo SC Ultra and Demand G Granules which worked 100% better.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Talstar P Professional

    By Siddique on 07/03/2019

    The order was promptly delivered, however the product itself did not work well for Dust Mites.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Doesn’t work on millipede

    By Jeff on 07/05/2019

    Works on some spiders etc but doesn’t even slow the millipedes down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Formula has changed

    By Kit on 10/21/2017

    Ive used this product few years ago and its definitely not as strong and effective as it was. Contacted company and they said its the same but still have a ton of boxelders did not work like it did previously and it doesn't even smell strong like it did before

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    It seem does not work as usual

    By Nghia on 07/30/2017

    I have ordered Talstar P for several times, it worked perfect and I haven't seen any mosquitoes in my backyard. However, this Talstar P does not work, I have tried to increased quantity, and applied three times in four weeks but mosquitoes still alive and fly around the house. My kids were stung by them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work

    By Pepper on 09/11/2016

    After following the directions to the letter and even calling CS to verify the amounts to add to the water.... the product didn't work. I sprayed on three different dates even. NOTHING CHANGED! Not happy with this product as the Flea lives on! Perhaps my bottle was a recall and I didn't get the notification. Lesson learned.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as good as Cyper TC

    By Samuel on 08/31/2016

    Bought this product with confidence after reading all the reviews about it. However, it does not work half as good as what we usually use, Cyper TC. Spiders have increased dramatically ever since using this product, going back to Cyper TC.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Undecided

    By Kathy on 07/18/2016

    My husband mixed half the bottle per the instructions. Sprayed the perimeter of the house, sprayed our bathroom, attic and roof! Cannot get rid of these damn springtails!!!! Was so hopeful when we bought the, but so far it's not doing anything. :( I've had pest control companies here and paid extra for their power spray....they just keep coming!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    talstar p

    By David on 07/27/2014

    Verified Purchase

    we ordered this product primarily to rid our yard and back porch of mosquitoes, and also to deal with spiders. We have only applied once and will do so again in hopes that we will have better results. so far, after just one application, we are not impressed. if a second application shows improvement, i will advise.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Roaches at a Rental Property

    By Victor on 09/18/2012

    Did not work so well. I had to resort to Orthene!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    disappointed in miami beach

    By Bernadette on 09/07/2011

    Yes, I am disappointed, after reading all the good reviews for this item, I thought that I found the perfect insecticide to get rid of the mosquitoes around my house . so I sprayed very carefully all my yard (9000 sf) with 14 gal of mixture ( 2oz per gallon) and hoped that it will last at least a month ( reading the reviews it should have last 3 months). we had less mosquitoes for 1 week and afterward the infestation was back to normal, impossible to be outside anytime of the day, it is true that it is the rainy season, maybe it is why ?? we will see in the dry season if it works !

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not the best for fleas

    By Amanda on 07/12/2019

    I bought this for fleas mainly since I have an issue with them. Having five dogs I wanted to treat my yard. I have applied two applications heavily and it hasn’t done one things. Actually they seem worse. It’s good for roaches and spidered but for fleas I wouldn’t recommend it. I even mixed it with Bifin I got at the same time. :( $100 wasted ach

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)