Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   349
4 stars   59
3 stars   33
2 stars   24
1 star   46

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(511 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 511 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Ken on 09/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I've used Tenacity for a couple of years. It's a good product. Very safe and easy to use. Best of all, it works on Bermuda grass and Nutsedge without damaging the regular grass. It can also be used in conjunction with overseeding or new seeding. For larger areas, I use Trimec since it is less costly per gallon, but for spot spraying and Bermuda, Tenacity is the most effective. Too, the price from domyownpest.com was the best I found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ugly lawn after appying Tenacity to kill crab grass weed

    By Pradeep on 08/23/2019

    Verified Purchase

    my lawn was infested with Crab crass and other weeds. i applied Tenacity as recommended and after a week, the crab grass and few other weeds started turning white( because it is a Group 27 Herbicide) and turned my lawn into patches of white for 5-6 weeks. it looked ugly and all my neighbors asked me why white patches were appearing in my lawn. i would not use this on my lawn again. there are several other herbicides ( Group 3 or 4 herbicide) that kill the weed and dryout without turning the lawn white.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Doesn't Meet My Expectations

    By Bill on 05/14/2019

    I followed the instructions to the word and after two weeks I just applied the second treatment only to be disappointed in the entire process. I'm disappointed in the amount of time it takes to even cause a weed to wilt. Very disappointed and would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Nimble weed control

    By Bem on 10/05/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Put it down at half strength to control nimble weed. It appears to be killing nimble weed but the tall fescue doesn't look so good as well. Everything turning white, Hopefully grass will come back

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass killer

    By Dark on 11/07/2016

    Goes a long way. One teaspoon for each gallon. Applied and the crabgrass began dying out in about 8 to 10 days. None of my St Augustine Floratamwas affected in any way. This product does the job. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone wanting to get rid of crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity killed my lawn.

    By Chris on 09/09/2019

    I tried this product for the first time and never will use it again. I have been doing my own lawn service for decades and have all professional equipment since my yard is over 3 acres. I bought this product to do a post emergence on some crabgrass that made it through the summer in a few spots. Well, a few dead spots of more than just crabgrass occurred. My grass was healthy and bluegrass and tell fescue. This stuff killed it all. I watched it completely turn brown over a 3 week period. I mixed it in my 60 gallon pull behind tank sprayer exactly as instructed with the required amount of sufficant. Thanks Tenacity. Now I have a ton of work to do to get my grass reseeded all while having a disgusting looking lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Indiana

    By Ray on 09/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Wow- it has been a lifetime looking for this solution, where have you been, the quantity is perfect for my 5000 sf

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Be patient, it works and works well!

    By Daren on 06/15/2018

    I have been using Tenacity from domyown for a few years to get rid of nimblewill. As a side benefit, tenacity also knocks out most other undesirable weeds and, more importantly, undesirable grasses while not harming the stuff you want to grow! While it seems expensive at first, this is a professional product and is highly concentrated (4oz per acre), so it actually ends up less expensive than the stuff you get at the big box stores. (that isn't effective on anything but broadleaf weeds) It takes about a week before you see visible bleaching of the target weeds, but within a month, they'll be gone. If any remain, I hit 'em with a less aggressive 2oz/acre mix to finish them off. This year, I tried a tank mix of Tenacity and Acclaim, as I have an infestation of japanese stiltgrass and Acclaim knocks that out. So far, so good. It's nice having your lawn look like a fairway at a TPC golf course.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Disaster

    By Adam on 10/04/2019

    Applied per instructions but grass was damaged and weeds persist. Very frustrating given the price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity on fesue

    By Brad on 04/12/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Large patches of poatravalis in my fescue has been driving me nuts. Applied tenacity at full rate with a surfactant and 7 days later poatravalis is almost completely white and growth rate and seeding has almost stopped. Second half rate application to follow. So far only slight damage to fescue has occurred. Applications were done while temps were in the 70's and avg soil moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Chevo on 09/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased and used the Tenacity Herbicide for my 1 acre lawn and followed the directions provided by mixing 1 tsp per gallon of water and adding surfactant. First, the price at DoMyOwnPestControl was the cheapest. My local nursery in Northern Virginia tried selling me the same product for twice the price. Second, I chose this product as recommended by my local nursery because the Ortho Crabgrass Killer spray bottle, which attaches to my water hose had not worked 1 month prior. Third, after using the product, I noticed that the crabgrass and other weeds started to eventually turn white; then died. Within 2 weeks of using the product, I mowed my lawn, dethatched, core-aerated, oversed, and topdressed. Therefore, it is too early for me to determine how long it's effects will last. Overall, I will rate this at 4 out of 5 stars. It is a great product, does the job, is certainly cheaper at this website. The remaining star is what remains to be seen in the future...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Richard on 07/07/2016

    Sprayed Tenacity on crabgrass and torpedo grass in centipede with very good results. After 4 days unwanted grass started turning white, 10 days later weeds were turning brown. If you have grassy weeds that cant'd be grubbed out of centipede this is the product you need.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenancity Herbicide

    By Tim on 09/28/2016

    Lawn has very heavy weed pressure from years of neglect. Especially the grassy weed, nimblewill...Nothing will touch it until I found Tenacity Herbicide. Purchased same from Do My Own Pest Control. Product came via normal mail within 5-7 days. Mixed product in a hand held 1.5 gallon sprayer with regular liquid detergent used as a surfactant. 1 oz. of detergent and 1 teaspon of Herbicide per gallon of water was used. Product was put on 23 days ago and you can clearly see the nimblewill is nearly dead. I have an area that is almost solid nimblewill and it has killed this area as well. The nozzle on the sprayer sprays very fine, almost like a mist and i believe that helped as well keeping the product on the target. One issue only, if you have a lot of patches like i did, you will have some explaining to onlookers as you definitely have light patches where applied. Green is coming into these areas daily but is still visible at day 23....works as advertised. I used a plastic picnic teaspoon to measure product, not syringe provided as I am used to this method... clean up was easy with water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff!!!

    By Dave on 07/24/2018

    Bent grass and crabgrass took over my two acres of rye and bluegrass this year. In the past, I had tried to dig out and reseed the bentgrass and spot kill the crabgrass which drifts in from a neighbor’s yard. Heard about Tenacity in May. Two applications three weeks apart and all the bad stuff is gone! Rye and bluegrass filled in quickly. Really could not believe how well this worked. Will do spot application this fall and see how things come up in spring. I worked for a landscaper in high school and have always done my own yard work. I have never seen a more effective product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    This Herbicide is a joke !

    By Mark on 06/26/2020

    Save your money,this stuff is worthless!! Put down, not once but twice, still same results. No weeds killed, Most products out there, are BS,you need a license to buy the stuff that really works,so find someone who has access to the real weed killer , or you will just be spinning your wheels in the mud.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally...

    By Anonymous on 06/01/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Finally a product that claims to handle "Bent Grass" that really does. Wound up with an infestation of a creeping bent grass from a landscaper - tried product after product. Tenacity really does work, about a week after application I started to notice white spots in the lawn. The treated areas of bent grass grew whiter yet the regular grasses stayed green. After a short time the bent grass started to wilt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Solid Herbicide

    By Greg on 09/29/2013

    A unique set of features sets this herbicide apart from others. Tenacity is both pre-emergent and post emergent, it works on both grass and broadleaf weeds, and it won't affect grass seed germination. Excellent product when used on a newly seeded turf to prevent weed competition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Just what i needed

    By Gerald on 08/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Tenacity did it's job for my lawn. I put down 2 applications and I am going to spot treat a few spots that I want to make sure my bent grass is gone. The grass is already growing in the areas where the bent grass has died, and my lawn only look bad for about 4 weeks. It now is the best looking on my block and is thick and dark green. I also sprayed it on my neighbor's crabgrass along the edge's were are yards meet, and it killed it in 2 weeks and is gone. Amazing stuff. I have not seen one weed in my yard since putting this tenacity on. Now I have areal big challenge coming up with my brothers yard going to use it on his, that will really tell me how well it kills weeds and other grasses.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This is an incredible herbicide

    By Barry on 08/23/2014

    I applied this a week ago to creeping bent-grass and an occasional clump of crabgrass. As promised, the grasses are turning white. I'm sorely tempted to reapply after a week but will wait one more for the second application. And for those who note how expensive this is, it's a dollar an application for 2 gallons of spray ... compare that with other herbicides.. and it's low toxicity makes it a winner...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ForsheeMS

    By Shane on 04/25/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Tenacity is excellent stuff! While most standard herbicides at the big box stores will take care of the easier to kill weeds Tenacity will get rid of the tougher ones. It really did a number on poa annua and crabgrass in my lawn with no permanent damage to the turf. I did get a little bleaching in my tall fescue but the color came back and all is well. Don't expect overnight results. Tenacity takes nearly 2 weeks to show visible results. Haven't used it as a pre-emergent yet but plan to this fall during my overseed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    YEARS OF SPOTS BAD GRASS

    By Ron on 09/30/2016

    I USED TENACITY JUST OVER 2 WEEKS AGO. IT SEEMS TO BE DOING A GOOD JOB. THE GOOD GRASS IS FILLING IN. I'VE TRIED 3 OR 4 OTHER METHODS OVER THE YEARS. NONE WORKED. SEVERAL OF YARDS AROUND ME HAVE ALSO TRIED TENACITY. ALL SEEM TO BE DOING THE JOB.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not Happy

    By David on 08/09/2019

    I ordered Tenacity and sprayed my yard. 1.5 acres. I used a 15 gallon sprayer and mixed the entire 8 oz bottle in the 15 gallons. Directions say 1 oz to 2 Gallons. I sprayed what I thought was a heavy dose on the yard. My yard turned white within about 10 days. Crab grass was white. Within another 7 days, it was completely green again and almost as thick as it was before I sprayed it. I also used 2 oz of surfantant mixed with tenacity. Very unhappy! $100 wasted!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By R on 07/08/2014

    Don't let the small container size fool you - a little bit goes a long way. It needs a non-ionic surfactant to be mixed with it, so be sure to order some when you order this product. It works by stopping chlorophyll production in the plant, so as the target starts to die, it turns white and your lawn looks unusual for a while. The fact is - this herbicide works on some tough to eradicate plants. It takes two applications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Kathy on 09/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased an 8 oz bottle of Tenacity to control the nimblewill that is beginning to take over my yard. I applied it according to instructions, and it has begun to show results after about i week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Only Herbicide That Works

    By John on 08/05/2015

    After trying numerous products to rid my lawn of creeping bentgrass I discovered Tenacity online and decided to give it a try. Within a few days the very invasive grass turned bright white and eventually started to die. I couldn't be happier. It's a little pricey, but a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    2nd application

    By Steve on 08/25/2015

    Upgrade my review to 4 stars as the Tenacity appears to be working and I have applied a 2nd application after 3 weeks. I thought it was outstanding that I was called by Do My Own Pest Control and was offered a partial refund for the product that leaked out and review the other comments in my review. Great Customer Service!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity WORKS!

    By Tom on 09/09/2015

    I have an infestation of Nimblewill in my bluegrass besides various other species of grassy weeds and other typical annoying weeds (plantian, clover, wild violet, purslane). The local very popular garden expert suggested Tenacity. ONE little teaspoon of Tenacity plus 3 teaspoons of surfacant in 2 gallons of water in a pump sprayer, in one week ALL my test patches on the existing weeds and grasses show they are definitely dying, but NOT the blue grass! I may not need to do the second application, but even so if I have to, it's well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Must have For residential Centepede

    By Shkhrp on 02/07/2016

    Works like a charm. If applied according to the label, it goes a long way. The syringe measure that comes with the bottle is bulky and wasteful (good for company who makes and sells the herbicide, bad for the paying consumer). Invest in a cheap single pan balance (mine cost $15 from Amazon. 0.01 gm accuracy) and weigh the herbicide. It is easy and assures exact amount/s. Colorant is also a must. Highly recommended. Will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Can not kill my nimblewill

    By Jeanne on 08/25/2019

    I am on my second bottle of tenacity. I still have nimblewill which is spreading more each year. We have sprayed it every two weeks since spring. Is there any solution to this problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Killed grass, not nimblewill

    By Allison on 09/13/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Applied according to instructions (1 tsp Tenacity + 1 tsp surfactant + 1 gallon water) during late summer season when nimblewill starts to grow. Within 1 week nimblewill turned white.... but then after another week all grass (tall fescue) turned yellow....then brown. Nimblewill came back with a vengeance after another week, grass is dead. Applied a second time (attempting to at least kill nimblewill... 3 weeks later, my lawn looks worse than ever. Sea of dead grass and islands of thriving nimblewill. I would have been better just spraying RoundUp, at least that would kill the nimblewill and I could reseed (as I'll have to do now anyway). Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 12 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 511 reviews)