Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   327
4 stars   55
3 stars   30
2 stars   21
1 star   41

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(474 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$69.85

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Appears to be working!!!!!!!!!!!!

    By Del on 06/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I was skeptical about whether Tenacity could kill the Nimblewill in my lawn and still leave my Blue Grass and Fescue alone. It's been 2 weeks since the first application and it appears to have definitely wounded the Nimblewill. The second application was applied yesterday, so we'll see if it kills it or not. It's a "pricey" chemical, but is easy to use and hopefully effective. If it works it sure beats Roundup and reseeding.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    131 of 137 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great to remove bentgrass

    By Jp on 09/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I had a large section (about 4,000 sq. ft.) of Kentucky bluegrass/fescue/perennial rye lawn which had long been seriously infested with creeping bentgrass, as well as some bermudagrass or nimblewill (I can't tell the difference between them) and wild violet. I used 2 applications (at the label recommended rate) of Tenacity, 10 days apart, starting the first week of September. I applied as a spot spray with a backpack sprayer. A week after the second application, I did indeed have large patches of white lawn. 10 days after the second application, The bentgrass appears to be completely dead, and the lawn grasses appear to be slowly recoloring. The Tenacity had little to no affect on the wild violets or the bermuda/nimblewill. It did nail a few plaintains, dandelions and some crabgrass. Since it's late in the season, I'll go back to hitting the wild violets and bermuda/nimblewill with Acclaim/Triclopyr, which does work well in a single application. Although the Tenacity is quite expensive, I've never seen anything else work like this on bentgrass. DMOPC.com's price for Tenacity was less than half the price from my local retail supplier. Along with that, a little of this product goes a very long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    26 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Kicks Nimblewill Butt

    By Greg on 10/08/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Even the small container of the selective herbicide goes a long way for spot weed control as you use a miniscule amount of product, via the included syringe, for a pump sprayer. One needs patience as it takes an application, then another a couple of weeks later, for the nimblewill / nimbleweed to turn color. it will also turn neighboring grasses white as well, yet they will grow out according to the instructions. I am about to start re-seeding the thick areas of weed that will now pull out easily as it is dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity on fesue

    By Brad on 04/12/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Large patches of poatravalis in my fescue has been driving me nuts. Applied tenacity at full rate with a surfactant and 7 days later poatravalis is almost completely white and growth rate and seeding has almost stopped. Second half rate application to follow. So far only slight damage to fescue has occurred. Applications were done while temps were in the 70's and avg soil moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Chevo on 09/29/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I purchased and used the Tenacity Herbicide for my 1 acre lawn and followed the directions provided by mixing 1 tsp per gallon of water and adding surfactant. First, the price at DoMyOwnPestControl was the cheapest. My local nursery in Northern Virginia tried selling me the same product for twice the price. Second, I chose this product as recommended by my local nursery because the Ortho Crabgrass Killer spray bottle, which attaches to my water hose had not worked 1 month prior. Third, after using the product, I noticed that the crabgrass and other weeds started to eventually turn white; then died. Within 2 weeks of using the product, I mowed my lawn, dethatched, core-aerated, oversed, and topdressed. Therefore, it is too early for me to determine how long it's effects will last. Overall, I will rate this at 4 out of 5 stars. It is a great product, does the job, is certainly cheaper at this website. The remaining star is what remains to be seen in the future...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By R on 07/08/2014

    Don't let the small container size fool you - a little bit goes a long way. It needs a non-ionic surfactant to be mixed with it, so be sure to order some when you order this product. It works by stopping chlorophyll production in the plant, so as the target starts to die, it turns white and your lawn looks unusual for a while. The fact is - this herbicide works on some tough to eradicate plants. It takes two applications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    2nd application

    By Steve on 08/25/2015

    Upgrade my review to 4 stars as the Tenacity appears to be working and I have applied a 2nd application after 3 weeks. I thought it was outstanding that I was called by Do My Own Pest Control and was offered a partial refund for the product that leaked out and review the other comments in my review. Great Customer Service!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems to be working

    By Eric on 04/14/2017

    I applied Tenacity last week and the weeds are whitening up. Still waiting to see if they die all the way. I did an application on part of my lawn too early in spring when the temps were still getting into the 30's at night and I don't think that application worked. Still another week or two to go to see if the weeds completely die.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems good. Slow acting, but...

    By Daniel on 08/31/2018

    Sprayed this mixed with triclopyr the other week to kill some random weeds along with some ivy. My fescue (tttf) is freaking out from it and the spots sprayed have been light green/white for almost a week now. The weeds themselves have started to die off. Until the grass recovers though, I've got some nasty looking spots in the yard

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Review

    By Marty on 10/07/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Within the first two weeks, I noticed that some grass was turning white, which, according to the instructions, was supposed to happen. The net grass is still brown, and I am hoping after the second treatment, which was done a couple of days ago, will do the trick. I bought the product specifically for bent grass, and I hope that it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass control

    By B. on 09/11/2015

    The product works very well for crabgrass control, preforming best with two applications followed by a light rain. It takes about two weeks to see the full effect but results are very good when other products have failed even with repeated applications. The crabgrass turns white, then dies out to brown. Very pleased with how far the concentrate goes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So Far the Tenacity Seems to be Working

    By Ab on 06/23/2016

    I rated 4 star since I still have to followup with two treatments, but I wanted to share that some of the nimblewill is already turning white....losing its chlorophyll. Once I am 100% done and it works I would go to 5 stars, but don't know that yet. Some expensive, advise USE AS DIRECTED, but if does work, it is worth it! Do use in conjunction with the Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides. You can buy that here too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Slow acting but potent herbicide.

    By Zac on 09/08/2016

    In nothing I read did it mention that this was a very slow acting herbicide; as in weeks versus days or hours. Even at the recommended dosage, a simple spray will kill (crabgrass, and wild strawberries were my targets). I'm questioning its effectiveness at pre-emergent control... As a test I did the following: 1) Spray entire plot with roundup to kill of existing grass, clover, and wild-strawberry 2) On half the plot I used a full sterilization technique (cover with clear plastic for two weeks to kill off any seeds, etc.), 3) After the two weeks I tilling the entire plot. Then once I tilled the ground I sprayed the Tenacity then planted my Kentucky Bluegrass seed: the wild strawberry came up on the unsterilized side. It came up and the leaves turned immediately white, so it is working, but postemergence not pre. Using this on an existing lawn, as others have mentioned, means that you're not only gonna have ugly weeks in your yard, you're gonna have ugly TOTALLY WHITE weeds in your yards for about 2-3 weeks. I would say this is best for a newly planted plot, or if applied to existing lawns, right before leaves drop (or right afterwards if you rake up leaves), and then again in the early spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great BUT....

    By Al on 08/10/2017

    Tanacity works very well however the cost is prohibitive for large properties. I'll buy more when the cost is seriously reduced.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Kevin on 07/27/2018

    strong stuff! A small amount makes a big dent in weeds, but doesn't kill the grass. It takes a few days to see results, but it's definitely worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Amazing product!

    By David on 07/29/2016

    I have tried pulling bent grass out, also treating it with all types of killers and nothing seemed to work until Tenacity. It takes a while to see the results, but it definitely works! I'm just hoping that it kills the root and doesn't return!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So far so good

    By Mark on 05/10/2019

    After first application, which was very easy to measure with the handy syringe, the unwanted grasses and weeds are whitening. Hooray!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Pat on 08/09/2019

    Product worked as advertised. Killed off the crabgrass without bothering the rest of the lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Jerry on 09/28/2019

    I've used this product before and it worked well on keeping my creeping bent grass in check, unfortunately it's back, my fault since I spot spray with a 1 gal pump sprayer and can't see everything. I am spraying in the fall when the bent grass has already done it's damage, I am hoping this will prevent it from coming back in the spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By David on 10/04/2020

    Product does what it claims and has been instrumental in containing our bent grass infestation (live near a golf course) along with a variety of other undesirable seasonal guests. Love that it does not permenantly damage ornamental grasses which are often intermixed with the invaders. Easy to apply and less toxic than the alternatives. Good communication, pricing and delivery from DoMyOwn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By S on 08/22/2019

    After two treatments most of the bent grass is white. 50% of the crab grass is also white. There is no change in my turf grass. I is good that I am able to target the bent grass with out killing my turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By John on 08/23/2019

    Worked as it was supposed to. Instead of creeping bentgrass turning white (lack of chlorophyll) it just turned brown and died - or so I assume. Waiting to overseed affected area in the fall and then we will see what happens next spring. The only shortcoming is the way they provide to measure the amount of Tenacity needed. It is a somewhat thick liquid and quite a bit "sticks" to the dropper. Then you cant get it out of the bottom. Seems there should be a better way to do this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    50/50 Results

    By The on 09/19/2020

    Heard a lot about Tenacity. Figured I gice it a try as I have a lot of crabgrass. It only attacked about 25% of my lawn. It may need a second application. Along the way I studied that a healthy soil attacks or prevents weeds and grows good grass. I opted not for a second application b/c the crabgrass is soon to die any how. Instead of wasting chemical I decided to patch and overseed and focus on healthy soil and good watering practices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    very handy in killing weeds in Northern grass

    By Keith on 08/14/2020

    I had been seeing a lot of you tube videos regarding tenacity and its effectiveness. So I decided to order it and see if it actual would work on my lawn (mostly Kentucky blue grass and Fescue) as a post emergent herbicide. Weeds like crabgrass, plantain, chickweed, spotted spurge and purslane were starting to take my lawn over. I followed the direction and mixed 1/2 teaspoon tenacity per gallon along with adding in 1 1/2 tsp of Hi-Yield Spreader Sticker Non-Ionic Surfactant and finally Turf Mark Blue Spray Indicator Dye (I did 1 once per my tank) to know where I sprayed. These measurements cover 1000 sq feet which is 1 gallon in the sprayer but I then adjusted these measurements for a 4 gallon tank (Chapin Tree/Turf Pro 4 Gallon BackPack Sprayer) . I applied when temps were under 85 degrees and made sure no rain or automated sprinklers would interfere with its effectiveness. I actually kept any water off of the grass for a week to make sure it had ample time to absorb. What I observed was that weeds after 7 days started turning white, that lasted another 5-7 days, then by the 3rd week most weeds had wilted and died. The one weed that tenacity did not effect was spotted spurge but should have paid closer attention to label as that is not a weed it covers. I gave tenacity 4 out of 5 stars since it doesn't kill all weeds -does not kill spotted spurge which means I have to supplement this with another chemical.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good so far

    By Tim on 11/13/2020

    This is my second order. Used the first bottle last year during the summer, and it worked, turning weeds white. Going to use again next spring, hoping for better result

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Delivery

    By Pat on 05/03/2019

    Ordered the Tenecity and was expecting it in a week maybe 5 days It came in 3 days. A pleasant surprise

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Syringe Failure

    By Pete on 04/30/2019

    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with the Tenacity application with surfactant and dye. Easy to mix. I marked off 5' x 100' areas and treated these as I covered my lawn. My system and application were all but perfect. The syringe was a real disappointment. I could not pull product into the syringe. It may have been defective, but it would not work for me. I had to use other measuring devices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    home owner

    By J on 10/08/2018

    used just a little worked good so far still gun shy have new grass don't want to kill it

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Florida St. Augustine grass

    By Charlene on 01/23/2017

    Seems to be more effective than others but we haven't won the battle yet. Make sure you add the spreader so you dont waste time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity for Chickweed

    By Skip on 09/09/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I bought for Chickweed control and fall Chickweed pre-emergence. Will not see results until the Spring. On the plus side it has turned quite a few of the other weeds/grasses in my yard white. I just hope they die and do not come back. I used in a 2 gallon sprayer with non-ionic surfactant and a marking solution. Takes awhile to do the whole yard but well worth it if it controls the weeds and germination seeds better than the big store brands - Scxxts etc... I will re-apply in mid March and try for pre-emergence control of anything I might have missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)