Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   349
4 stars   59
3 stars   33
2 stars   24
1 star   46

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(511 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 511 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked as Expected

    By Mike on 10/20/2014

    Verified Purchase

    This is a product I have been looking for to control my poa annua and creeping bentgrass. After I treated it took awhile, but sure enough my weeds stared turning a whitish color. It took a couple weeks to start seeing results so you have to be patient. I have just applied a second treatment and can't wait for next spring to see final results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    My first experience with Tenacity.

    By Roger on 04/18/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I had plenty of rain in the week after Tenacity application. Within 5 to 7 days the weeds, including crabgrass, buffalo grass, clover and other broad leaf plants began to turn yellow and then white, and die. Where the application was heavier the color change was more dramatic. I seeded with fresh good quality seed, a blend of the new varieties of K-31 and other cool season home turf grasses. As of 16 days I have very little new grass appearing in my yard. It has been a wet spring in Chattanooga,therefore water is not the problem. I am beginning to wonder if the claim that you can apply Tenacity and seed all in the same day of two is really true. I hope so; the seed costs me almost $1,000. If the grass seed does pop up I will be sure to add that to this note. As a herbicide, it seems to be doing well. I am going to wait to apply the second application of Tenacity until I see what the grass seed really does do.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems to be working

    By Eric on 04/14/2017

    I applied Tenacity last week and the weeds are whitening up. Still waiting to see if they die all the way. I did an application on part of my lawn too early in spring when the temps were still getting into the 30's at night and I don't think that application worked. Still another week or two to go to see if the weeds completely die.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Lawn Weed Control

    By David on 09/16/2018

    This product does the job! Kills crab grass slowly but does not hurt your St. Aug lawn. Product kills several other lawn weeds as well. Highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good for Crabgrass not really much else

    By Fltech on 02/11/2019

    I used it on my St. Augustine grass in S. Florida. About the only thing that turned white was the crabgrass, so it is very helpful for that. Spray your entire yard and the crabgrass will become very visible as white in a week or two. It's hard to see all the crabgrass otherwise. So I would recommend it for crabgrass, but not other nasty S. Florida weeds such as sedges or chickweed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not what I expect it

    By Carlos on 07/05/2019

    I thought this product would work, I am not sure if it is the area where I live but it didn’t work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Weeds

    By Thomas on 08/03/2019

    Treated my crabgrass and clover 3 times. It turns white for about 2 weeks then starts growing again. Doesn't seem to be working as I thought it would

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Is My Lawn Jesus

    By Greg on 04/17/2020

    I've been somewhat of a lawn maniac for a couple of decades. So I've used what I felt were the best products available to me and my knowledge. I've never been a user of weed and feed products and for the past 10 years or so have been more of a pump spray user focused on spot spraying trouble spots because it was apparent to me that the products I was using stunted the grass in the lawn as a side effect of killing the weeds and yet the weeds always returned. Tenacity in a very short period of time has completely changed that dynamic. With a new home build and yard a couple of years ago, I've used this opportunity to achieve a lawn consisting of a 100% tall fescue blend and knocking down the weeds on land that for over 100 years was a dairy farm had become a real challenge. Nothing I did seemed to provide the results I wanted. 1 month after 2 full yard applications of Tenacity and a surfactant at the label recommended rates of mixture I have a lawn with not a single weed, the lawn is coming in thick and rich this Spring and to such an extent that it is purely stunning. While working in the yard have had a surprisingly high number of neighbors stop and comment on how amazing the lawn is and am happy to share the handful of things I apply to my lawn and Tenacity is at the top of that list. I'll continue to do a couple of applications of Tenacity each year 3-weeks apart for the rest of my life in order to gain the preemergent barrier. As far as I'm concerned, and the result show it... Tenacity is absolutely my lawn Jesus. It's also my lawn wallet Jesus.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Stay away

    By Joseph on 04/27/2020

    Bought with high expectations , searched all the you tube videos to see what to use, bought the surfactant the dye and the weed are laughing at me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Perfect Combination

    By Dennis on 05/29/2020

    I used Tenacity, Serfactin and blue dye as directed. I applied it to crabgrass in a Bermuda lawn. In 3 days, I could see the crabgrass turning white. Success!! In a week , I will apply to new crabgrass. This was a perfect combination to kill a lot of crabgrass. I used a one gallon hand pump sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Killed my Kentucky Blue Grass

    By Sunil on 07/28/2020

    Bought to kill Wild Violet but it killed my grass. Weeds are still growing . Now i see more weeds in dead grass area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide effective

    By Anonymous on 09/03/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Used the Tenacity with the lawn tractor and pull behind 15 gallon sprayer to treat our approx. 1/4 acre front yard. It destroyed the nimbleweed in two weeks, leaves turned white so the lawn looks a little funny right now. We did a second application as instructed and will be sowing new grass in the near future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Terrific Product

    By Dave on 07/23/2016

    My Centipede lawn in North Carolina had a lot of die-off over the cold and wet winter. Crabgrass filled in the bare spots. One treatment with Tenacity (and Dawn detergent as a surficant) and the crabgrass turned white - as advertised. I'll hit it again, which I'm sure will kill the crabgrass and allow my Centipede to overgrow the bare spots over the remaining summer weeks. Tenacity is expensive, but really works! A little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works even where I thought it wouldn't

    By Randy on 09/03/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I have been using this most of the summer. It works very well on crabgrass and not so well on common purslane. It works pretty well on creeping Charlie. The best thing I like about this is that I have a lawn with bluegrass and with tall fescue mixed in. I asked an expert how to get rid of the tall fescue and he said roundup was the only thing. I tried this by accident trying to kill other weeds and noticed it affected the tall fescue with it getting white. I know it is supposed to be safe for tall fescue but if you repeat an application once a week for 3 weeks it will usually kill the tall fescue and leave the bluegrass looking fine. The next door neighbor even asked me to get rid of his patches of tall fescue and it is doing it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dying weeds a beautiful sight.

    By Angelo on 04/19/2017

    Laid down product on 1000 sqft on a Saturday, 7-10 days later I have existing weeds turning yellow and white. Weeds that are just breaking the surface are almost immediately turning yellow and white as well. Currently I have a bunch of white dying pre and post weeds on my lawn. Product works great so far, just need to have patience and it will surprise you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nimbleweed killer

    By Neal on 08/26/2017

    I bought this to kill nimbleweed and it appears to have done it's job. It's not cheap, but a little goes a long way, 1/2 teaspoon to a gallon of water. I also bought the surfactant and Mark It Blue to mix with it. Currently a satisfied customer. Shipping was quick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Seems good. Slow acting, but...

    By Daniel on 08/31/2018

    Sprayed this mixed with triclopyr the other week to kill some random weeds along with some ivy. My fescue (tttf) is freaking out from it and the spots sprayed have been light green/white for almost a week now. The weeds themselves have started to die off. Until the grass recovers though, I've got some nasty looking spots in the yard

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Slow working but impressive

    By Scott on 05/03/2019

    It took 5 days to see any effect despite perfect application conditions. Took nearly two weeks to see the full impact of weed killing. One nice aspect this of this over other sprays I've used is how it targets weed grasses. The instructions are correct, a second application is needed 2-3 weeks after the first for complete elimination.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Beware of bleaching

    By Mark on 09/12/2019

    I purchased this stuff in effort to kill off random patches of bentgrass. The product does warn that if you over apply then it may cause temporary bleaching to your good turf. I am here to warn you that while it did a good job of killing off the unwanted Bent grass, I am now going on week four of a nearly all-white lawn. My TTTF was dark green and healthy all season. And after applying two applications EXACTLY according to the label, the whole lawn looks smoked. I’ve since hit it with starter fertilizer and organic, plus liquid Humic to try to force some growth and regain my green grass. It’s slowly coming back in sections but I am sincerely concerned for what’s to come this fall and even next year. In short: don’t believe the hype. This stuff is very expensive and does legitimate damage to your established turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't live up to its reviews

    By Mike on 09/28/2019

    I read lots of good reviews and gave Tenacity a try. I followed the recommendations to the letter, surfactent, dye etc. I hadn't mowed for two weeks before application and didn't mow for a week after. I waited for the weeds to get white and die as the reviews promised, but it never really happened. There was some lightening of some weeds (not all) but they didn't die. It's been about a month since my application and it just isn't going to happen. I was trying to kill crabgrass but the crabgrass was more tenacious than the Tenacity. I'm about a $100 bucks lighter and the crabgrass is laughing at the Tenacity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Save Your Money!

    By Mitch on 06/01/2020

    The worst performance of any insecticide I've ever used. I followed instructions carefully and sprayed approximately 1000 sq feet for one gallon mix. did not see any sign of weeds dying. Mixed another gallon being careful to measure exact proportions as required, again no results. did a third application and applied it to 1000 sq. feet. It's been three weeks later and no weeds dead!! I have been ripped off. I paid nearly $100.00 for the tenacity, surfactant, and dye and no results. Save your money!! Don't buy this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Bob on 06/07/2020

    I was under the impression that lawn would only turn white if to much was applied. Unsitely white spots all over the yard. Was applied per directions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity works very well!

    By Abelardo on 07/17/2020

    I am a first time user of this product and I must say that it works very well. I sprayed on Saturday (7/11/2020) and I can visually see results after 6 days (Friday 7/17/2020). The weeds are starting to turn white. My lawn, however seems healthy, I am not seeing any discoloration as described by others. I recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Nestor on 08/23/2020

    I have used Tenacity on two separate locations without any success. I am extremely disappointed with my purchase. I read and follow the instructions, but I still have not see any results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbacide

    By Gloria on 06/08/2014

    I have used this for several seasons now. It kills the Bent Grass that comes in from the gold course I back up to. One teaspoon per gallon does it, so it lasts a long time. Doesn't harm the other grasses. Do My Own Pest Control is easy to work with. Fast delivery.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Review

    By Marty on 10/07/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Within the first two weeks, I noticed that some grass was turning white, which, according to the instructions, was supposed to happen. The net grass is still brown, and I am hoping after the second treatment, which was done a couple of days ago, will do the trick. I bought the product specifically for bent grass, and I hope that it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass control

    By B. on 09/11/2015

    The product works very well for crabgrass control, preforming best with two applications followed by a light rain. It takes about two weeks to see the full effect but results are very good when other products have failed even with repeated applications. The crabgrass turns white, then dies out to brown. Very pleased with how far the concentrate goes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works as advertised

    By David on 09/16/2015

    I am so impressed with the product so far that I felt compelled to submit a review. I was skeptical about the low dose rate of this herbicide, but it's viscous content went very far. I used it in my tow-behind sprayer (15gal) with nozzle manifold to treat about 15,000 sqft. It has been about 14 days and my crabgrass-infested yard is very white with some of the crabgrass starting to die off. This has really illuminated the weeds in my yard because they all turn white. Second application to be made in about a week, which will hopefully kill off the crabgrass for good

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    So Far the Tenacity Seems to be Working

    By Ab on 06/23/2016

    I rated 4 star since I still have to followup with two treatments, but I wanted to share that some of the nimblewill is already turning white....losing its chlorophyll. Once I am 100% done and it works I would go to 5 stars, but don't know that yet. Some expensive, advise USE AS DIRECTED, but if does work, it is worth it! Do use in conjunction with the Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides. You can buy that here too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Slow acting but potent herbicide.

    By Zac on 09/08/2016

    In nothing I read did it mention that this was a very slow acting herbicide; as in weeks versus days or hours. Even at the recommended dosage, a simple spray will kill (crabgrass, and wild strawberries were my targets). I'm questioning its effectiveness at pre-emergent control... As a test I did the following: 1) Spray entire plot with roundup to kill of existing grass, clover, and wild-strawberry 2) On half the plot I used a full sterilization technique (cover with clear plastic for two weeks to kill off any seeds, etc.), 3) After the two weeks I tilling the entire plot. Then once I tilled the ground I sprayed the Tenacity then planted my Kentucky Bluegrass seed: the wild strawberry came up on the unsterilized side. It came up and the leaves turned immediately white, so it is working, but postemergence not pre. Using this on an existing lawn, as others have mentioned, means that you're not only gonna have ugly weeks in your yard, you're gonna have ugly TOTALLY WHITE weeds in your yards for about 2-3 weeks. I would say this is best for a newly planted plot, or if applied to existing lawns, right before leaves drop (or right afterwards if you rake up leaves), and then again in the early spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 511 reviews)