Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   327
4 stars   55
3 stars   30
2 stars   21
1 star   41

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(474 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$69.85

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 327 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Frank on 05/07/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I had a lot of weed grasses in my yard and they were invasive and spreading over the whole yard. Tenacity targets weed grasses and kills them while leaving the rest of the yard in tact and that is exactly what it did. All of my weeds are dying. One thing you must note is that this herbicide needs to be watered after it dries on the plant so that the plant takes it in. It will not work if you just spray it on and don't get rain or water it for a couple of weeks. It's pricy but I know of no other chemical that will kill weed grasses and leave what you want, alone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    452 of 472 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Miracle Herbicide!

    By Margaret on 08/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I had a lawn that was completely taken over by bentgrass. I used round up on the lawn and put in an entire new lawn. All was well for a year or two. Then the the bentgrass came back in a few isolated areas. I would have to round them up at the end of the season and reseed. This went on for a number of years. When I learned about Tenacity I was thrilled and gave it a try. It works wonderfully! Yes it is pricy, however it beats having to round up the bentgrass, clear it out, put down more top soil and reseed. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    281 of 292 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product! Does exactly what it advertises!

    By Debi on 09/07/2012

    My mom completely re-sodded front and back lawns and within 3 years it had been invaded by bentgrass. My new lawn was hydro-seeded 5 years ago in a new subdivision that used to be a golf course. Our methodology was to use Roundup in the fall (when the bent grass really seems to take off in growth) and then reseed the large killed off areas, hoping that the Roundup did a thorough job in killing the bentgrass. This becomes very tedious every year, not to mention the expense. We waited a few years for Tenacity to be available to the public and have both been having great results with the product. The good thing is that the remaining blades of good turf remain green in the kill zone. That gives me hope that I may not have to reseed, just wait for the good turf grass to fill in by itself. Our lawns are a combination kentucky blue and fescue blends. My only complaint is that the product is so concentrated and thick. The high concentration makes it even more critical to measure accurately! Not too crazy about the enclosed syringe measuring device. I feel it is too difficult to use and the potential to spill is high. I would love if there could be a more diluted Tenacity product to purchase for the average homeowner. That would make the product easier to measure, plus ensure a bit of wiggle room on the measurements?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    226 of 249 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death of Nimblewill grass

    By David on 10/02/2015

    It took a while, but the grass and other weeds are all white/dying. I used three teaspoons of "Dawn Ultra" & one teaspoon of Tenacity to two gallons of water, per a study by Ohio State University.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    199 of 206 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No more Crabgrass!!

    By Rob on 08/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product really works. It does take time, so be patient. I still have to apply the second application to finish off the Crabgrass!!! It won't take much, the plants are almost dead now after 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    192 of 198 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Obvious it's working...

    By William on 08/15/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Lawn was overrun with a variety of weeds (bermudagrass, Nutsedge, clover). Applied at the higher rate (8 oz. per acre but converted down for residential lawn size) as directed, putting a little extra directly on problems spots. Day Four: Noticed large weed patches turning a bright green Day Seven: Weeds turning white and some turning brown, curling and clearly dying. Good fescue grass appears unaffected and fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    97 of 104 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally, a way to kill Creeping Bentgrass

    By Anonymous on 09/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    A year ago I killed my front yard (90'x80') with round up, tilled in compost and added about 8 yards of topsoil because it was infested with light green areas of poor quality grass which I know realize was creeping bentgrass. Starting late July this year I noticed areas of the lighter green grass popping up again so after some internet research I found out about Tenacity. This product is amazing! I mixed it up a week ago and applied with a 1 gallon tank sprayer (I recommend mixing 4 to 5 gallons at a time because Tenacity is thick and hard to measure small amounts) and sprayed entire front lawn, a couple of days ago I noticed the new growth on the bentgrass is white and yesterday even more of the bentgrass is losing it's color and turning white, the best part is the good lawn grass is still looking great, my lawn is a 33/33/33 mix of blue, ryegrass and fine fescue mix for NE. Don't be put off by price, this stuff works and goes a long way!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    78 of 82 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Slow but sure...

    By Dan on 08/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Don't expect results immediately. I used Tenacity with a surfactant. I wasn't sure at first if the herbicide worked. After about a week, the Nimblewill started to turn white. None of the surrounding grass seems to have been harmed. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    76 of 79 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Paul on 07/15/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Applied Tenacity to eradicate nimblewill about 10 days ago. The weed is turning white and dying as represented. I am very encouraged, as the weed was overtaking an otherwise decent lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    58 of 66 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    no more crepping bentgrass

    By Anonymous on 07/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Finally a working solution to crepping bentgrass. I was fighting bentgrass for the last 4 years and it always came back even after killing everything with roundup and redoing the whole lawn. This really works and after 1 week you can see first results. Make sure you use a surfactant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    29 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing results

    By Anonymous on 07/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been searching for a product to control both broadleaf and weedy grasses in my centipede yard in eastern NC. The initial price of the product was difficult to overcome, but I am glad that I tried the product. Spot treatment for post emergent control requires only 2.5 cc /gal of Tenacity and I added a surfactant. Within 3 days I could see white tips on the treated areas without any damage to the centipede. At 10 days the areas are browning, again without any damage to the centipede. Treated areas included; Florida betony, mimosa weed, bahia, crabgrass and a number of others. Looking forward to using this product on the Florida betony during the fall and spring blush.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    28 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally - a product that will kill stubborn weeds quickly!!

    By Bernie on 07/11/2017

    I've been trying to deal with Nimblewill that's been spreading steadily in almost an acre of lawn. Tried several products in the past several years, even tried a nationally-known commercial lawn care company. No luck. DoMyOwn led me to a good insecticide when I had an ant problem, so I decided to shop the website. That foray led to Tenacity coupled with a surfactant. I sprayed it with a tow-behind tank sprayer five days ago - the literature tells me that results should take up to three weeks, but the sporadic crabgrass has already turned completely white and the pesky nimblewill is well on its way, having gone to a very light yellow. The Tenacity interferes with chlorophyll production and eventually kills the plant. Best of all, Tenacity is extremely selective. My next-door neighbor who just finished building a new home, planted a new lawn two weeks ago, and the new grass has not yet been cut, although the crabgrass in his yard is growing wildly. I sprayed about a foot over the property line, and the results are striking. His tender new grass plants are still healthy and happy and deep green, but the crabgrass there is completely white. Tenacity isn't cheap, but if you're unfortunate enough to be fighting nimblewill or something equally pesky, this is the product to use! And if you're having difficulty identifying which pesky weed you're dealing with, check out the Plant and Pest Diagnostic Lab at Purdue University. You can send them a picture or a sample, and they'll positively identify it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    28 of 28 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Nick on 08/20/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After trying everything to try and get rid of nimberwill in the yard, I was just about to use another application of roundup when I discovered Tenacity. So far it seems to be working and is very effective on crabgrass as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    27 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Peter on 08/24/2015

    2 applications at 2 weeks apart - CRABGRASS DEAD! I used half bottle for my front lawn - about 100 x 100 feet (along with Turbo surfactant) in a hose sprayer. This stuff is darn good - grass (mix of blue, fescue and rye) all good - just the crabgrass and other weeds. Worked better than Trimec - which did not seem to do much at all. The crabgrass first turned white - and now is starting to die out and getting brown. I will now rake or pull out the crabgrass stubs to make room for new grass seeds in Sep. Very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity - great against crabgrass

    By M on 09/26/2015

    Crabgrass was rampant in my backyard. Sprayed once using a tank sprayer and surfactant as directed and virtually all of the crabgrass is now dead. Great product! Also appears to be working on what I call "wire grass", not sure of the technical name but it's weedy and grows low and wide like a rope or wire.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    22 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Works

    By Anonymous on 06/19/2013

    Had quack grass starting to take hold in my yard. Used Tenacity and after 5 days I can already see the product working. Quackgrass is turning white and the surrounding lawn looks good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    17 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Works

    By Paul on 09/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I decided to buy this as my Niblewill problem had gotten so out of control I would have had to replant half my lawn. Mixed according to directions and I'm watching the darn pest turn white. Also working on my clover, crab grass, and other broad leaf weeds. Used a 2 gallon tank sprayer to apply. So far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Ken on 09/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I've used Tenacity for a couple of years. It's a good product. Very safe and easy to use. Best of all, it works on Bermuda grass and Nutsedge without damaging the regular grass. It can also be used in conjunction with overseeding or new seeding. For larger areas, I use Trimec since it is less costly per gallon, but for spot spraying and Bermuda, Tenacity is the most effective. Too, the price from domyownpest.com was the best I found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Really Well On St.Augustine Floratam

    By J_l_ on 03/07/2017

    Extremely satisfied with the product. Took 2 applications in 2 weeks, with the 2nd application at a slightly stronger strength. First spray didn't seem to do anything but after the second spray close to 90% of the weeds were gone. In total, about 4 weeks for the product to work. Some blades turned white so lawn looks like it has highlights but grass is still healthy and should grow out of it. It may take multiple applications so don't be discouraged if it doesn't seem to work at first.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Indiana

    By Ray on 09/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Wow- it has been a lifetime looking for this solution, where have you been, the quantity is perfect for my 5000 sf

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Be patient, it works and works well!

    By Daren on 06/15/2018

    I have been using Tenacity from domyown for a few years to get rid of nimblewill. As a side benefit, tenacity also knocks out most other undesirable weeds and, more importantly, undesirable grasses while not harming the stuff you want to grow! While it seems expensive at first, this is a professional product and is highly concentrated (4oz per acre), so it actually ends up less expensive than the stuff you get at the big box stores. (that isn't effective on anything but broadleaf weeds) It takes about a week before you see visible bleaching of the target weeds, but within a month, they'll be gone. If any remain, I hit 'em with a less aggressive 2oz/acre mix to finish them off. This year, I tried a tank mix of Tenacity and Acclaim, as I have an infestation of japanese stiltgrass and Acclaim knocks that out. So far, so good. It's nice having your lawn look like a fairway at a TPC golf course.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenancity Herbicide

    By Tim on 09/28/2016

    Lawn has very heavy weed pressure from years of neglect. Especially the grassy weed, nimblewill...Nothing will touch it until I found Tenacity Herbicide. Purchased same from Do My Own Pest Control. Product came via normal mail within 5-7 days. Mixed product in a hand held 1.5 gallon sprayer with regular liquid detergent used as a surfactant. 1 oz. of detergent and 1 teaspon of Herbicide per gallon of water was used. Product was put on 23 days ago and you can clearly see the nimblewill is nearly dead. I have an area that is almost solid nimblewill and it has killed this area as well. The nozzle on the sprayer sprays very fine, almost like a mist and i believe that helped as well keeping the product on the target. One issue only, if you have a lot of patches like i did, you will have some explaining to onlookers as you definitely have light patches where applied. Green is coming into these areas daily but is still visible at day 23....works as advertised. I used a plastic picnic teaspoon to measure product, not syringe provided as I am used to this method... clean up was easy with water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally...

    By Anonymous on 06/01/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Finally a product that claims to handle "Bent Grass" that really does. Wound up with an infestation of a creeping bent grass from a landscaper - tried product after product. Tenacity really does work, about a week after application I started to notice white spots in the lawn. The treated areas of bent grass grew whiter yet the regular grasses stayed green. After a short time the bent grass started to wilt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Solid Herbicide

    By Greg on 09/29/2013

    A unique set of features sets this herbicide apart from others. Tenacity is both pre-emergent and post emergent, it works on both grass and broadleaf weeds, and it won't affect grass seed germination. Excellent product when used on a newly seeded turf to prevent weed competition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Just what i needed

    By Gerald on 08/04/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Tenacity did it's job for my lawn. I put down 2 applications and I am going to spot treat a few spots that I want to make sure my bent grass is gone. The grass is already growing in the areas where the bent grass has died, and my lawn only look bad for about 4 weeks. It now is the best looking on my block and is thick and dark green. I also sprayed it on my neighbor's crabgrass along the edge's were are yards meet, and it killed it in 2 weeks and is gone. Amazing stuff. I have not seen one weed in my yard since putting this tenacity on. Now I have areal big challenge coming up with my brothers yard going to use it on his, that will really tell me how well it kills weeds and other grasses.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This is an incredible herbicide

    By Barry on 08/23/2014

    I applied this a week ago to creeping bent-grass and an occasional clump of crabgrass. As promised, the grasses are turning white. I'm sorely tempted to reapply after a week but will wait one more for the second application. And for those who note how expensive this is, it's a dollar an application for 2 gallons of spray ... compare that with other herbicides.. and it's low toxicity makes it a winner...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    ForsheeMS

    By Shane on 04/25/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Tenacity is excellent stuff! While most standard herbicides at the big box stores will take care of the easier to kill weeds Tenacity will get rid of the tougher ones. It really did a number on poa annua and crabgrass in my lawn with no permanent damage to the turf. I did get a little bleaching in my tall fescue but the color came back and all is well. Don't expect overnight results. Tenacity takes nearly 2 weeks to show visible results. Haven't used it as a pre-emergent yet but plan to this fall during my overseed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Richard on 07/07/2016

    Sprayed Tenacity on crabgrass and torpedo grass in centipede with very good results. After 4 days unwanted grass started turning white, 10 days later weeds were turning brown. If you have grassy weeds that cant'd be grubbed out of centipede this is the product you need.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass killer

    By Dark on 11/07/2016

    Goes a long way. One teaspoon for each gallon. Applied and the crabgrass began dying out in about 8 to 10 days. None of my St Augustine Floratamwas affected in any way. This product does the job. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone wanting to get rid of crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff!!!

    By Dave on 07/24/2018

    Bent grass and crabgrass took over my two acres of rye and bluegrass this year. In the past, I had tried to dig out and reseed the bentgrass and spot kill the crabgrass which drifts in from a neighbor’s yard. Heard about Tenacity in May. Two applications three weeks apart and all the bad stuff is gone! Rye and bluegrass filled in quickly. Really could not believe how well this worked. Will do spot application this fall and see how things come up in spring. I worked for a landscaper in high school and have always done my own yard work. I have never seen a more effective product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 327 reviews)