Customer Reviews for Tenacity Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   187
4 stars   35
3 stars   18
2 stars   10
1 star   11

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(261 customer reviews)
Tenacity Herbicide
$65.53

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 261 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Frank on 05/07/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I had a lot of weed grasses in my yard and they were invasive and spreading over the whole yard. Tenacity targets weed grasses and kills them while leaving the rest of the yard in tact and that is exactly what it did. All of my weeds are dying. One thing you must note is that this herbicide needs to be watered after it dries on the plant so that the plant takes it in. It will not work if you just spray it on and don't get rain or water it for a couple of weeks. It's pricy but I know of no other chemical that will kill weed grasses and leave what you want, alone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    284 of 297 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A Miracle Herbicide!

    By Margaret on 08/14/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I had a lawn that was completely taken over by bentgrass. I used round up on the lawn and put in an entire new lawn. All was well for a year or two. Then the the bentgrass came back in a few isolated areas. I would have to round them up at the end of the season and reseed. This went on for a number of years. When I learned about Tenacity I was thrilled and gave it a try. It works wonderfully! Yes it is pricy, however it beats having to round up the bentgrass, clear it out, put down more top soil and reseed. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    173 of 180 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product! Does exactly what it advertises!

    By Debi on 09/07/2012

    My mom completely re-sodded front and back lawns and within 3 years it had been invaded by bentgrass. My new lawn was hydro-seeded 5 years ago in a new subdivision that used to be a golf course. Our methodology was to use Roundup in the fall (when the bent grass really seems to take off in growth) and then reseed the large killed off areas, hoping that the Roundup did a thorough job in killing the bentgrass. This becomes very tedious every year, not to mention the expense. We waited a few years for Tenacity to be available to the public and have both been having great results with the product. The good thing is that the remaining blades of good turf remain green in the kill zone. That gives me hope that I may not have to reseed, just wait for the good turf grass to fill in by itself. Our lawns are a combination kentucky blue and fescue blends. My only complaint is that the product is so concentrated and thick. The high concentration makes it even more critical to measure accurately! Not too crazy about the enclosed syringe measuring device. I feel it is too difficult to use and the potential to spill is high. I would love if there could be a more diluted Tenacity product to purchase for the average homeowner. That would make the product easier to measure, plus ensure a bit of wiggle room on the measurements?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    139 of 155 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No more Crabgrass!!

    By Rob on 08/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product really works. It does take time, so be patient. I still have to apply the second application to finish off the Crabgrass!!! It won't take much, the plants are almost dead now after 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    104 of 109 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Appears to be working!!!!!!!!!!!!

    By Del on 06/17/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I was skeptical about whether Tenacity could kill the Nimblewill in my lawn and still leave my Blue Grass and Fescue alone. It's been 2 weeks since the first application and it appears to have definitely wounded the Nimblewill. The second application was applied yesterday, so we'll see if it kills it or not. It's a "pricey" chemical, but is easy to use and hopefully effective. If it works it sure beats Roundup and reseeding.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    93 of 97 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Death of Nimblewill grass

    By David on 10/02/2015

    It took a while, but the grass and other weeds are all white/dying. I used three teaspoons of "Dawn Ultra" & one teaspoon of Tenacity to two gallons of water, per a study by Ohio State University.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    90 of 93 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Obvious it's working...

    By William on 08/15/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Lawn was overrun with a variety of weeds (bermudagrass, Nutsedge, clover). Applied at the higher rate (8 oz. per acre but converted down for residential lawn size) as directed, putting a little extra directly on problems spots. Day Four: Noticed large weed patches turning a bright green Day Seven: Weeds turning white and some turning brown, curling and clearly dying. Good fescue grass appears unaffected and fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    68 of 73 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Slow but sure...

    By Dan on 08/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Don't expect results immediately. I used Tenacity with a surfactant. I wasn't sure at first if the herbicide worked. After about a week, the Nimblewill started to turn white. None of the surrounding grass seems to have been harmed. Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    56 of 58 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally, a way to kill Creeping Bentgrass

    By Anonymous on 09/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    A year ago I killed my front yard (90'x80') with round up, tilled in compost and added about 8 yards of topsoil because it was infested with light green areas of poor quality grass which I know realize was creeping bentgrass. Starting late July this year I noticed areas of the lighter green grass popping up again so after some internet research I found out about Tenacity. This product is amazing! I mixed it up a week ago and applied with a 1 gallon tank sprayer (I recommend mixing 4 to 5 gallons at a time because Tenacity is thick and hard to measure small amounts) and sprayed entire front lawn, a couple of days ago I noticed the new growth on the bentgrass is white and yesterday even more of the bentgrass is losing it's color and turning white, the best part is the good lawn grass is still looking great, my lawn is a 33/33/33 mix of blue, ryegrass and fine fescue mix for NE. Don't be put off by price, this stuff works and goes a long way!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    51 of 55 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Paul on 07/15/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Applied Tenacity to eradicate nimblewill about 10 days ago. The weed is turning white and dying as represented. I am very encouraged, as the weed was overtaking an otherwise decent lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    43 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    TENACITY HERBICIDE

    By Rob on 09/23/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have used tenacity in several situations, and overall, it has been fairly effective. I originally purchased it to control nimblewill, post emergence. It was only moderately effective, although I think the nimblewill already had too much of a head start. The mature nimblewill did have white leaves, but I did not see any effect on the plant growth (or death). It has been effective against crabgrass, also post-emergent. I have also used it against Japanese Knotweed, post heavy injections into the stems with Roundup concentrate, on the regrowth after 3 doses of the above. There has been whitening of some leaves, but I have only today retreated this patch of one of the worst weeds I have ever seen. I am hopeful that the 2nd treatment will be more effective than the 1st one. By the way, my wife really didn't like the white patches in the lawn!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    32 of 42 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Only works temporarily

    By Gary on 09/10/2014

    It did work as advertised but the bentgrass came right back 100% in the same spots within 30 days. This product was applied professionally for two applications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    24 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    no more crepping bentgrass

    By Anonymous on 07/12/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Finally a working solution to crepping bentgrass. I was fighting bentgrass for the last 4 years and it always came back even after killing everything with roundup and redoing the whole lawn. This really works and after 1 week you can see first results. Make sure you use a surfactant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    23 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Nick on 08/20/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After trying everything to try and get rid of nimberwill in the yard, I was just about to use another application of roundup when I discovered Tenacity. So far it seems to be working and is very effective on crabgrass as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    21 of 23 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing results

    By Anonymous on 07/25/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I have been searching for a product to control both broadleaf and weedy grasses in my centipede yard in eastern NC. The initial price of the product was difficult to overcome, but I am glad that I tried the product. Spot treatment for post emergent control requires only 2.5 cc /gal of Tenacity and I added a surfactant. Within 3 days I could see white tips on the treated areas without any damage to the centipede. At 10 days the areas are browning, again without any damage to the centipede. Treated areas included; Florida betony, mimosa weed, bahia, crabgrass and a number of others. Looking forward to using this product on the Florida betony during the fall and spring blush.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    20 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works great to remove bentgrass

    By Jp on 09/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I had a large section (about 4,000 sq. ft.) of Kentucky bluegrass/fescue/perennial rye lawn which had long been seriously infested with creeping bentgrass, as well as some bermudagrass or nimblewill (I can't tell the difference between them) and wild violet. I used 2 applications (at the label recommended rate) of Tenacity, 10 days apart, starting the first week of September. I applied as a spot spray with a backpack sprayer. A week after the second application, I did indeed have large patches of white lawn. 10 days after the second application, The bentgrass appears to be completely dead, and the lawn grasses appear to be slowly recoloring. The Tenacity had little to no affect on the wild violets or the bermuda/nimblewill. It did nail a few plaintains, dandelions and some crabgrass. Since it's late in the season, I'll go back to hitting the wild violets and bermuda/nimblewill with Acclaim/Triclopyr, which does work well in a single application. Although the Tenacity is quite expensive, I've never seen anything else work like this on bentgrass. DMOPC.com's price for Tenacity was less than half the price from my local retail supplier. Along with that, a little of this product goes a very long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity herbicide

    By Bill on 09/18/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I'm not sure I used the right dilution. Instructions only cover one acre. How about mixing in oz/teaspoons per gallon for hand sprayer. I used a little over one teaspoon/gallon. Have soon no results but maybe I'm too impatient. Can you help?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    19 of 43 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity for crabgrass in blue/rye grass central IN

    By Anonymous on 06/16/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I usually use pre-emergent crabgrass (CG) control, but I needed to fill in bare spots from last years drought. I used Tenacity at 1 tsp per gallon with 3 tsp of non-ionic surfactant, i.e., 5 oz per acre as a spot treatment... difficult to do since CG is so ubiquitous. It seems to kill young CG well after 3 days dry & sunshine but washes off with rain after about 36 hr requiring re-treatment. It will kill other wide blade grasses (mature ones) that you may not recognize as CG and it's a little rough on newly emerged ryegrass in my hands at this rate. I just keep hoping to knock the CG back as the season continues.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Kicks Nimblewill Butt

    By Greg on 10/08/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Even the small container of the selective herbicide goes a long way for spot weed control as you use a miniscule amount of product, via the included syringe, for a pump sprayer. One needs patience as it takes an application, then another a couple of weeks later, for the nimblewill / nimbleweed to turn color. it will also turn neighboring grasses white as well, yet they will grow out according to the instructions. I am about to start re-seeding the thick areas of weed that will now pull out easily as it is dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity - great against crabgrass

    By M on 09/26/2015

    Crabgrass was rampant in my backyard. Sprayed once using a tank sprayer and surfactant as directed and virtually all of the crabgrass is now dead. Great product! Also appears to be working on what I call "wire grass", not sure of the technical name but it's weedy and grows low and wide like a rope or wire.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Never ending battle of Bentgrass

    By Kathy on 10/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I heard so many great things about Tenacity that I needed to try it to remove my lawn of bentgrass. This is my 3rd application and I still have bentgrass. It does work but expect at least 6 weeks of an unsightly lawn with each application. You will also have to keep reapplying it so your lawn will look unsightly again. Also it is costly but you only need 1/2 teas per gallon of wate.r Could be because of the amount od bentgrass that I have but I wish it would work quicker and more effectively. One plus, is that it does not damage the good turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    14 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Herbicide

    By Peter on 08/24/2015

    2 applications at 2 weeks apart - CRABGRASS DEAD! I used half bottle for my front lawn - about 100 x 100 feet (along with Turbo surfactant) in a hose sprayer. This stuff is darn good - grass (mix of blue, fescue and rye) all good - just the crabgrass and other weeds. Worked better than Trimec - which did not seem to do much at all. The crabgrass first turned white - and now is starting to die out and getting brown. I will now rake or pull out the crabgrass stubs to make room for new grass seeds in Sep. Very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    13 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally - a product that will kill stubborn weeds quickly!!

    By Bernie on 07/11/2017

    I've been trying to deal with Nimblewill that's been spreading steadily in almost an acre of lawn. Tried several products in the past several years, even tried a nationally-known commercial lawn care company. No luck. DoMyOwn led me to a good insecticide when I had an ant problem, so I decided to shop the website. That foray led to Tenacity coupled with a surfactant. I sprayed it with a tow-behind tank sprayer five days ago - the literature tells me that results should take up to three weeks, but the sporadic crabgrass has already turned completely white and the pesky nimblewill is well on its way, having gone to a very light yellow. The Tenacity interferes with chlorophyll production and eventually kills the plant. Best of all, Tenacity is extremely selective. My next-door neighbor who just finished building a new home, planted a new lawn two weeks ago, and the new grass has not yet been cut, although the crabgrass in his yard is growing wildly. I sprayed about a foot over the property line, and the results are striking. His tender new grass plants are still healthy and happy and deep green, but the crabgrass there is completely white. Tenacity isn't cheap, but if you're unfortunate enough to be fighting nimblewill or something equally pesky, this is the product to use! And if you're having difficulty identifying which pesky weed you're dealing with, check out the Plant and Pest Diagnostic Lab at Purdue University. You can send them a picture or a sample, and they'll positively identify it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Works

    By Anonymous on 06/19/2013

    Had quack grass starting to take hold in my yard. Used Tenacity and after 5 days I can already see the product working. Quackgrass is turning white and the surrounding lawn looks good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Placebo herbicide

    By Ryan on 03/31/2019

    I had really high hopes for Tenacity after reading the reviews. I also purchased the recommended surfactant and blue dye. After 3 weeks, none of the weeds have shown ANY signs of dying or deformation. I even selected a secluded section of the yard that was basically entirely weed covered and doubled the recommended amount used. The weeds continue to grow at the same pace as untreated sections of my yard. Including the pump sprayer I purchased to apply this product, I spent about $150 to control the weeds in my yard. Every penny I spent appears to be a penny wasted. I would not recommend tenacity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Poor long term results for me

    By Rick on 08/27/2017

    I've had to change my review from last year due to the fact that all of the Bent grass I thought I killed has recovered. I did 3 sprays last summer/fall. It severely damaged the Bent grass but also bleached the desirable grasses. I'm not sure how others claim that good grasses were not harmed. I had to paint my customers lawns because it was so unsightly. Then I had to reseed. A lot of work only to find that the Bent has come back nearly 100%. It did work better on some other weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity

    By Ken on 09/23/2014

    Verified Purchase

    I've used Tenacity for a couple of years. It's a good product. Very safe and easy to use. Best of all, it works on Bermuda grass and Nutsedge without damaging the regular grass. It can also be used in conjunction with overseeding or new seeding. For larger areas, I use Trimec since it is less costly per gallon, but for spot spraying and Bermuda, Tenacity is the most effective. Too, the price from domyownpest.com was the best I found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Tenacity Works

    By Paul on 09/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I decided to buy this as my Niblewill problem had gotten so out of control I would have had to replant half my lawn. Mixed according to directions and I'm watching the darn pest turn white. Also working on my clover, crab grass, and other broad leaf weeds. Used a 2 gallon tank sprayer to apply. So far so good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Indiana

    By Ray on 09/26/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Wow- it has been a lifetime looking for this solution, where have you been, the quantity is perfect for my 5000 sf

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Really Well On St.Augustine Floratam

    By J_l_ on 03/07/2017

    Extremely satisfied with the product. Took 2 applications in 2 weeks, with the 2nd application at a slightly stronger strength. First spray didn't seem to do anything but after the second spray close to 90% of the weeds were gone. In total, about 4 weeks for the product to work. Some blades turned white so lawn looks like it has highlights but grass is still healthy and should grow out of it. It may take multiple applications so don't be discouraged if it doesn't seem to work at first.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 261 reviews)