Customer Reviews for Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer (#21210XP)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   120
4 stars   36
3 stars   19
2 stars   11
1 star   20

Average Customer Rating

4.1 of 5 stars
(206 customer reviews)
Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 21210XP Drips and Puddles for Indoor Use

    By Bob on 09/17/2015

    Good sturdy sprayer but I would only recommend it for outdoor use. If you try to use it indoors be prepared for a mess. Reasons for my above statement: 1. Drips product after you release the trigger causing a good size release of product on your floor and puddles. 2. The adjustable spray nozzle doesn't adjust to a light stream. You either get a heavy stream (resulting in large puddles of product) or if you adjust the nozzle for a spray, you end up with a spray that is 10 to 12", way too much for indoor use. I talked to Chapin customer service and they are willing to work with you to resolve the problems. BUT all of their suggestions i.e. try a different spray nozzle, try a new trigger handle, did not fix the dripping/puddle issue. And the issue of product spray which is way too large for indoor use has not been resolved. Why can't Chapin come up with an adjustable spray nozzle that will give you a 6" spray pattern or a light stream? Seams like a pretty easy fix to me and one that I would pay for... I have an old $15 Round Up sprayer that really does works better than the Chapin sprayer. It doesn't drip product and the nozzle spray pattern works better for my indoor spray projects. Again, if you need a sprayer for outdoor use that seems well built and will last a long time, then this is probably a good purchase. But until Chapin fixes the above issues, I wouldn't recommend anyone using this sprayer indoors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin 1 Gal Sprayer

    By Keith on 05/22/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Well built. Suitable sprayer for outside only in my opinion. The spray tip dribbles after release of the handle, making a pretty good puddle. The nozzle cannot be adjusted to a very fine spray for indoor work, too much volume and dripping. I'm a former PC tech and just spoiled by the much more pricier B&G equipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Happy for the most part

    By Mickey on 08/31/2010

    Verified Purchase

    Verry well built sprayer, Should give me years of service. Mostly for outdoor use,The tip is adjustable but sprays too much volume for indoor use. Called to check on purchasing A differant tip but there is not one. The more you turn it down the wider the spray pattern gets and tends to drip. I plan on ordering A new tip to rule out defects.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    OK for outside

    By Scott on 05/27/2013

    It is just OK for outside. Fittings come loose a lot and end up leaking all over the place. This will leave a mess if you use it indoors. Can be adjusted to spray a good distance outdoors, but nozzle needs constant adjusting as it changes the width of the spray quite often. For $50 I'm disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Good for Outdoor Use - Leaks for Innside Use

    By Bob on 10/04/2017

    If all you need to spray is outdoors, by all means purchase this sprayer. Great quality parts and easy to use, OUTDOORS! If you plan to do any spraying indoors, be aware that this sprayer will drip and the spray area is over 12" in diameter, no matter how many different adjustments you make to control the flow of product. When you release the spray lever, product continues to spray for a second or so and will not stop. You end up putting way too much product down on your baseboard and you end up with very large puddles of product on your floor. If you want to do spraying indoors, buy the B&G sprayer. It costs $300 but just bite the bullet and pay for it. Over a one year period it will pay for itself based on how much you pay per year to a professional pest control company.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Nozel and spray patterns

    By Marshall on 01/08/2013

    The real rating unknown to me. But the problem seems to center a lot around the spray pattern and both it's adjustment and hold. I spent 30 years chasing bugs professionaly. I used a "professional grade" B&G sprayer. It had a 1 piece multi tip selection of course or fine fan spray tips/openings as well as course and pin stream patterns (I paid $160.00 for my 1 gal back in '96). Perhaps the company could at least imitate (within patent laws) these tips and charge a few dollars extra for good brass parts and a product that has both "good points and parts in its manufacture and operation as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Sprayer #212210xp

    By Feliciano on 10/18/2013

    Verified Purchase

    The sprayer construction--design was great tough construction; did have a great deal of problems when adjusting the spraying pattern that I wanted,BUT it kept Moving making me adjusting the nozzle several times. I fix the problem by Wrapping silicone tape on the treads of the nozzle(inside). I bought a FAN NOZZLE at A H/ware shop;but the fan pattern was-way to wide.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Better than average for the price you pay.

    By John on 09/08/2015

    Verified Purchase

    For $50... It's a pretty good little sprayer. For a homeowner looking to spray once in awhile... it's a pretty good sprayer. If your doing any kind of commercial work... it's good for a few jobs, then it leaks, is too small of a capacity, and is really annoying to work with. I loved this sprayer...for about a month. Then it was dripping constantly, the trigger was SUPER touchy, holding it the wrong would way would make it spray by itself. Not cool. If you're in a pinch, it can be great. But I would seriously recommend just getting a B&G. However, this thing paid for itself in 1 job tho... so i'm really not too upset about it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Its not a B & G

    By Dave on 12/21/2015

    Its ok I kinda wish I had the extra 200 at the time im use to a B&G and its nothing close to it but its alot better than a Walmart special its worth the $50 for sure its durable and a decent sprayer im just use to top of the line I guess working in the industry so long and all but overall it'll do until tax time for sure if you got $250 laying around get a B&G if not it will definitely get the job done

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Good product

    By Charlie on 09/11/2021

    Chapin sprayers usually last about 1 year. The pump wears out. What angered me is I could have bought this at Amazon for $12.00 less. However I have been dealing with DoMyOwn for about 10 years. They get 1st position from me. The sprayer works very well but can only give 3 stars due to how long they last.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    PUMP

    By Dale on 07/17/2020

    You have to always be pumping while you are spraying!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Review

    By Jeff on 07/17/2020

    Its an ok sprayer, i wanted 2 gallons but back ordred. Dont like pressure relief valve that requires fairly constant pumping to keep spray going decent. Otherwise its an ok, sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Problematic Sprayer

    By Rhonda on 01/24/2020

    This sprayer drips at the nozzle and requires frequent retightening at the handle. I repeatedly made sure all connections were tight but drips and loosening occurred. I got the job done but I would recommend looking for a different pressurized sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Does Not Maintain Spray Pattern

    By Birds on 06/13/2016

    Disappointed. We like the heavy duty brass components and sturdy plastic tank, but do not like that the spray wand as it does not maintain the set spray pattern. We are constantly having to stop and adjust the brass nozzle every few minutes. We set the wand tip to a mist pattern, all of a sudden it changes to a stream or it stops altogether. When it stops spraying, we check pressure, it is good. We check to see if something is clogging the sprayer wand or tube inside the sprayer; there is nothing. We adjust the spray wand tip (again), it starts working for a few minutes when we have to re-adjust it again. Very frustrating; the cheap plastic sprayers do not last long, but at least they work without constant adjustments.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chaplin Premier 1 gallon sprayer - my take on it

    By Jim on 10/09/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This sprayer has a great tank, pump, and hose. The spray wand is otherwise. The other reviews which are critical of the tip are true. My beef with this is that the wand valve body is not brass, but is zinc painted to look like brass with the Chinese trick brass colored paint. The lever is steel, with the same sneaky brass paint. The photo is decieveing. The tube and tip are brass. "with brass wand, handle and nozzle" is untrue, the wand handle is not brass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin Premier

    By Filipos on 08/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    All I have to say is it works really good!! All I have to say is it works really good!! All I have to say is it works really good!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Good quality sprayer - heavy stream

    By Erin on 04/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Purchased because I was tired of the cheap ones clogging and failing. Assembly was easy, but took some care to eliminate leaking. Appears to be high quality and well balanced. Easy to load, pump, carry, and clean. Spray is not as fine as I believe a household poison sprayer should be. It will throw a thick stream quite a ways: good for spraying corners of the attic and under gutters, but would not spray a fine mist as I desired for inside baseboards. It is acceptable, but not as good as I believe a $50 should be. Overall, I would probably still purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin Premier Sprayer

    By Jim on 11/04/2011

    The unit is solid and well built. But as others have said, the spray pattern control is bad. The spray comes out very heavy regardless of the adjustment (soak the floor if your not careful). It goes from full fan to stream and difficult to get anything in between.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Chapin Premier Sprayer- 1 gal.

    By John on 07/31/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Though the sprayer itself is very good, and well constructed, the spray nozzle is not precise enough to produce a narrow and fine spray. It sprays either too broad or too much a stream. Mfgr. could fix this quickly with some effort. Hardware store sprayers can do better, though may not have the quality construction.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)