Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(367 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
On Sale!
$71.05
Was: $78.95

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 271 to 300 (of 367 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Makes you less crabby

    By Rick on 08/17/2019

    Ordered on a Saturday night, received on Tuesday afternoon. When you get service quickly from far away, it's always a beautiful thing. Follow the directions, the maker knows the best rate for sure kill(use a surfactant- it is important) . If a second app is needed, Follow the directions. Enjoy the rewards. After 3 days I was seeing results! I have 10k sq ft and used the 1.45 oz/per 1k rate. The first app eradicated 90% of my crabgrass. After waiting 14 days I made a second "spot spray" walk through and required only a half gallon mixed. Sure beats hand pulling doncha know. PreM is on my list of lawn care must haves. Pure neighborhood envy/domination is my lofty goal.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The best result !!

    By Troy on 08/23/2019

    Bottom line is Drive kills Crabgrass. Best I ever used ! Shipping is very fast also. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Stuff

    By Dean on 08/30/2019

    This is really the best crab grass killer I have ever used. Mix it as the directions say and you will have results. GOOD RESULTS

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Robert on 08/30/2019

    Product met expectations. Double sprits during one application did the trick. Don't waste time with cheap alternative they're not worth the frustration!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great for crabgrass

    By Sierra on 09/03/2019

    Little evidence it had much effect on clover and other weeds it claims to control. No effect on Japanese stiltgrass either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    IT WORKS

    By Lindsey on 09/06/2019

    Fantastic results!!! I had more dead crabgrass then you could shake a stick at. Highly recommend product estimate 95% kill rate. Used as prescribed in backpack sprayer over entire 1.5 acre yard. Took about 6 hours since I only fill to 2 gal. in 4 gal tank ( I'm no spring chicken any more). A few tanks were a mix with 2,4,d for other problem weeds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgraas Killer

    By Edward on 09/10/2019

    I recently noticed some significant infestation of crabgrass and other weeds appearing in my lawn. I immediately used a common weed and crabgrass killer hat is found in every hardware or big box store. After applying, to my frustration, the crabgrass infestation exploded. I immediately went on line and started to investigate other products to deal with this growing problem. Based on my investigation I selected "Drive XLR Herbicide Crabgrass killer" . I received my order within a few days and applied it using a backpack sprayer, following the instructions. Within a couple of days it was evident the product was working and within 10 days my lawn is crabgrass free. I had hoped it would also work on some of the other weeds that had appeared with the crabgrass, however despite the fact that not every weed was killed I am super pleased with the job that was done on the crabgrass. especially as it is one of the harder weeds to eradicate. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who has a crabgrass problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    First time trying

    By Andrew on 09/10/2019

    I got tired of seeing crabgrass multiply over my newly replaced marathon sod so I decided to try something new. I did not see any improvement using off the shelf spray herbicide so I did some reading and came across Drive XLR. Not knowing the success rate and going off the reviews from this website, I decided to give it a try Labor Day. I followed the instructions down to a T (measure the lawn coverage, test out the amount of water spray and mixed with the XLR). Did not water or mow the lawn next two days per instruction. Day 3 I started to notice the disorientation in color where the crabgrass laid within my lawn. My guess is the herbicide is working as it should. I will wait within a week before spraying Sedgehammer to rid of the nutsedge growing. XLR has proven to work on my lawn without damaging other nursery plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked great

    By Kevin on 09/13/2019

    By far the best Crabgrass killer I have used..It is a little pricey but if you want to kill your Crabgrass use this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Rick on 09/13/2019

    Crabgrass was dead in less than a week! Very effective product on crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass gone

    By Jean on 09/27/2019

    I had a lot of crabgrass growing on my 3 acre property. After the first application almost everything was gone. Repeated after 3 weeks and there are no visual signs that there was any crabgrass ever.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Randall on 09/27/2019

    Worked very well. Killed the crabgrass within a couple of days. Would purchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great!

    By Codey on 09/27/2019

    Kills crabgrass quick! Doesn't kill tall fescue type turf which is awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Killed my crabgrass but not my fescue.

    By David on 10/18/2019

    Really happy with the result of applying this in early fall prior to reseeding my lawn. All the crabgrass died in about 4 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Be Careful

    By Thomas on 11/08/2019

    Advertised to kill crab grass. After some research found it will kill crab grass and also your whole lawn if you have Florida grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Martin on 03/27/2020

    I used this when crabgrass began to creep into my cool-season NJ lawn. One application at the lightest rate (0.5 oz per 1,000 sq ft.) caused the weeds to turn slightly white and die. The following season I applied Tenacity as a pre-emergent and had no issues. I'd highly recommend both products as well as DoMyOwn.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not impressed

    By Sri on 04/10/2020

    Most of the weeds are still alive after first application. I am going to increase concentration and try again. But not impressed with it for now. I followed directions on first application including using surfactant.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nothing happened

    By Sar on 04/17/2020

    Pricey experiment. Crabgrass didn't change. It's been around a month. I re-measured my lawn square footage to verify. I put down 1.5 oz per 1000 sq ft. I did just use baby shampoo as the surfactant. I'll try doubling the application rate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great stuff

    By David on 05/29/2020

    I applied it late last summer to mature grass, with excellent kill off. Early application this year has worked well, thus far. There are some late germinators that will be treated again in the near future. There may be mild discoloring of Bermuda, but no damage at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 doesnt work

    By Terry on 06/16/2020

    This stuff is expensive junk. It JUST DOESNT WORK.It had no effect at all on my crabgrass. And yes, I used it with the expensive MSO (Dyne-amic). And by the way, if MSO is essential for Drive to work, why doesn't BASF put it right in the bottle, which is apparently what FMC does with Solitaire (which was equally disappointing). Fortunately, I bought a gallon of MSMA at my Ag supply store about 15 years ago, before it was taken off the market. Now that stuff works, even though it can be harsh on grass if you're not careful with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    MSMA vs. quinclorac

    By Terry on 06/16/2020

    Oops! Apparently MSMA can still be purchased. This is definitely what I'll use for crabgrass control, even if it does cause some temporary yellowing of grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Amazing Product

    By Chris on 06/19/2020

    Works great on all weeds and doesn't harm Bermuda at all. It also killed some St Augustine creeping up on my Bermuda, I was so happy

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Annihilating our Torpedo

    By Heather on 06/19/2020

    This stuff has been destroying our torpedo grass infestation, what a god-send!!! We have done 3 treatments on our Emerald Zoysia (my husband made it a bit stronger that the instructions) and we love it. Even with 50% stronger it isn't killing the grass. We finally got quack grass out of our beds, now time to get this out of our grass!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    worked reasonably well

    By Don on 06/20/2020

    I used Drive XLR8 (with recommended surfactant) as a spot treatment on crabgrass. The lawn itself was 1-2 months old blackjack bermuda (i.e. seeded). The Drive had little to no harmful affect on the bermuda. I'm opting to do touchup spot treatments every 2 weeks for a couple more treatments. reason is two-fold: instructions admit that crabgrass w/ 2-4 tillers may need extra treatment. Also, when doing spot treatments, I miss some of the crabgrass plants. The good news is that after 2 weeks it is obvious which crabgrass weeds are dying and which are not. I'd estimate I initially had a few thousand crab grass plants; at least half of those are dead after my 2nd treatment. The plan is to knock the crabgrass back some more and let the bermuda stolons do their thing. Next year I'll use pre-emergent and hopefully have minimal crab grass to control. Obviously I couldn't use pre-emergent when seeding a lawn. Though the lawn is probably only 15% crabgrass with rest being bermuda, I'll admit treating entire lawn instead of spot treating likely made more sense. Spot treatment is just more my thing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Doesn't kill as advertised.

    By Jerry on 07/03/2020

    Verified Purchase

    This is crap. This is not working as advertised. I mixed 4 tbsp to 1 gallon, with surfactant, sprayed crabgrass, fully coated. Next day, Nothing!. Absolutely, Nothing! At least Roundup will have a notable difference within 24-26 hours. Waste of time and money. Can't return due to I opened the container, but buyer beware. I will update this review if I need to, but as of today, I don't see a reason to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works great

    By Donnie on 07/03/2020

    this stuff works great and shipping could not be any faster.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It works

    By Chubb on 07/11/2020

    For years I have been frustrated by crabgrass invading my lawn and not having anything to spray on it to kill it. When I heard about this product I finally decided to gamble the 60+ dollars to see if it would work. Well, it really worked. It is the only chemical that gets rid of mature crabgrass. And, the neatest thing about killing crabgrass is that crabgrass is an annual. If you kill it this year, it will not return next year (unless new seeds have been dropped). 460+

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not work

    By Seth on 07/15/2020

    I used this on my lawn in Houston Tx area and killed other weeds but not the crabgrass which is my main problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Nope

    By Casey on 07/17/2020

    Wont work against Texas crabgrass. Most it will do is turn it purple/red then it comes back bigger.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Product - Finally After All These Years

    By Mark on 07/25/2020

    I've been fighting crabgrass in Greenville, SC for as long as I've owned a house (almost 30 years).. Over the years, I've tried all sorts of crabgrass weed killers - often at the expense of damaging my lawn. Finally I found Drive XLR8 and thought I would give it a try, or rather invest in it. XLR8 is an amazing product. I used 2oz per gallon as well as 1oz (or maybe it was 0.5oz) of their mineral oil surfactant (M.O.S) in a one gallon garden pump sprayer. I had a large area to spray and I used a broadcast spraying method. After a week, nearly all the crabgrass was dead - but my tall fescue (Kentucky 31) was just fine. I went back with a second spot treatment application on a few of the crabgrass weeds I missed. So no more back breaking from pulling crabgrass for me - or lawn damage from RoudUp. Follow the directions on the bottle which I think maybe a little conservative. This stuff works great as advertised. Excellent product indeed. PS: Once dead, the treated crabgrass seems to just dissolve..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 271 to 300 (of 367 reviews)