Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   186
4 stars   23
3 stars   16
2 stars   4
1 star   22

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(251 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$69.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 5 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 61 to 90 (of 186 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works!

    By Debbie on 10/06/2017

    I read the reviews and q's & a's before applying. I think using the surfactant along with the Drive is very important. The crabgrass turned brown & died within a few days. It is advised to then remove the dead crabgrass. We have so much! I have removed most from the front area, but may not be able to remove all of it - just due to time constraints. I will be using a pre-emergent this spring. If I don't remove the dead crabgrass from the remaining areas of the yard I will be able to see if that step makes a difference when I compare results next summer between the front area and the rest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills crabgrass

    By Bl on 07/07/2015

    I didn't think this would be able to kill mature crabgrass right in the middle of summer. I did the recommended mixture for spot spraying in a 2 gallon sprayer and mixed in some MSO. After 3 days, the crabgrass (and barnyardgrass) started to wilt and become red and were on their way out. I had too much of the weeds that I had to apply this again a second time. After 2 weeks of the second application, most of the crabgrass were either brown or dead. I still have a few left here and there so I will just take care of those later, but I'd say 95% of the crabgrass + barnyardgrass was taken care of.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive xLr8 crabgrass killer

    By Glenn on 07/15/2018

    Works great / fast service and I will order again I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good-bye crabgrass

    By Mike on 09/02/2014

    Verified Purchase

    From Michigan -works great on crabgrass, even large tillered crabgrass. A bit pricey for blanket application, but great for spot spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent service and find

    By Yolanda on 11/03/2017

    Prices are great. Delivery to our office was fast. Wish I knew about this sooner. I highly recommend buying. Shipping was free with this purchase!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works, period.

    By Mike on 08/27/2016

    I followed the directions closely & used a surfactant. I made sure we had some rain first & I didn't mow. I applied it, and then we had some more rain in the days following. Within a week, the crabgrass was brown & crispy. It even rained very lightly within 12 hours of applying it & it still worked great (the label says wait at least 24 hrs. before watering). I would highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Actually Works

    By Frank on 08/24/2018

    I have been using this on major sections of the lawn that are covered with crabgrass. I use it a day or two before forcasted rain, and it has been working perfectly. It kills the crabgrass and does not harm the turf grass. It takes 3-4 days to see results, and a few more days to completely kill the crabgrass. I have been using it with the DyneAmic surfacant. The combination has been very effective. I just have a 2 gallon tank sprayer (nothing fancy), and spray a section at a time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Michael on 08/20/2017

    This product works great. I didn't know they had anything available to kill crabgrass in a yard. None of the grass was killed and all the crabgrass was eliminated. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    yes it works

    By Fyrcapn on 10/07/2016

    I use this with a surfactant. it is expensive but you only use 1.5 oz per gal. The draw back is if you wait (like I did ) till sept or so, the crab grass really takes hold and spreads (south Carolina) so you end up with large dead patches. Its amazing how that stuff spreads. I know the grass will fill back in again. I used amine 400 with it and did not have any bad grass damage. war on weeds and war on crabgrass, it never ends. next year --pre-emergent then touch up with drive earlier than sept.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best crabgrass killer I've ever used

    By Greg on 10/06/2017

    I put this on my lawn before leaving for a business trip. When I returned 3 days later, my crabgrass is dead or dying. This is the first product I've used with such great results. Application was very easy using my tow behind tank sprayer and instructions were easy to follow. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Perfect

    By Brad on 07/06/2018

    Just add MSO and it works perfectly. Used in my new Zoysia grass. I used the product 8 weeks after the sod was laid. I pulled the crabgrass (including the roots) multiple times. It kept coming back. It took two passes with this product to get everything. The Zoysia was slightly stressed but not harmed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    THIS STUFF WORKS!

    By Dean on 10/04/2016

    Although I've seen some negative reviews of this product, I have to think the people that made the comments didn't follow the directions or it was not crabgrass they were trying to kill. Be sure and use a surfactant with it. Great service from DoMyOwnPestCntrol.com, too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Quick, Fast, and a great product

    By Chris on 09/16/2016

    All the information I needed could be found through the Q and A. I made sure to use a surfactant. This nailed the crab grass. It got the clover in my yard as well but it took a while longer to see the effects kick in on it. Just what I was looking for

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 and Dyneamic

    By Joe on 09/06/2016

    I used Drive XLR8 and the recommended Dyneamic spreader for crabgrass in Bermuda turf, worked great with no damage to the Bermuda turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    K.O. for crabgrass!

    By Jarrod on 08/28/2016

    Works excellent. I mixed it with methylated seed oil to cut through the wax coating and had great results. Couldn't get one gallon of mixed product to cover a 1000 sq ft though - more like 500. Targeted just the crabgrass, nothing else - just what I needed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective

    By John on 08/03/2018

    Used a tow behind tank sprayer, easy to mix and saw the effect two days later. Crabgrass turning yellow and wilting.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    the best against crabgrass

    By Remi on 09/01/2017

    Very good product, i saw effects after 3 days. I'm using 10oz of xlr8 / 25 gallons

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Buffalo Grass

    By Laura on 05/24/2019

    Verified Purchase

    I am using Drive with surfactant to kill off a massive invasion of bindweed in my new buffalo grass lawn. It works great and does not harm the grass at all. One thing you need to get used to, is it does not show results for at least 6-7 days. Just follow the directions, as far as mixing rates, and it will work. My only complaint is it doesn't kill more varieties of weeds. This spring I'm going to add Ferti-lome Weed Free Zone to my mix and see if this gets most of the other weeds. I'm using a pump sprayer and spot treating. One other thing, DoMyOwn customer service is 5-star and they ship fast. Really love these guys.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    using drive xlr8

    By Jimmy on 08/05/2018

    I have used other products. they did not work.this product starts working in about two days. just use as directed. it does a great job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Jeff on 07/20/2017

    The best crab/orchard grass killer I've ever used. Kills the crab grass and doesn't effect the lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide

    By Robert on 08/17/2018

    Works great. Very effective crabgrass killer. I sprayed the crabgrass twice, three days apart and it was dead in a week

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really effective

    By Steve on 08/31/2018

    Works like nothing else I’ve tried on Post emergent crab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Thank you!

    By Francis on 06/02/2017

    My notes basically said that I purchased Drive XLR8 from you and wanted to tell you how delighted I am with the results of using it. About 80% of my Bermuda lawn was taken over by Torpedo Grass. I discovered that you sell the Drive product made by BASF and wanted to inform you of the outstanding performance of the product. Should you ever need a reference for it's use I am happy to be that resource. I have also written BASF and thanked them for the product. I am guessing that the purchase of this product saved me more than $3000+ which is what it would have cost to replace my lawn. Thank You!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Yellow foxtail

    By Roddy on 05/18/2017

    Drive XLR8 is the only herbicide I have used that actually killed the yellow foxtail in my yard. I am, so far, very pleased with its efficacy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DRIVE xlr8

    By Dave on 09/29/2018

    Mixed 64 oz. per 55 gallons of water plus 75 oz. of 2 ,4,D killed basically all crabgrass and most chickweed and broadleaves. I used 3 55 gallons sprayers for right at 2 1/2 acres. Very satisfy with the results. I noticed a yellowing of the crab grass about 24 to 30 hours later completely dead on the fourth day. Would have already plugged and sown grass seeds and fertilizer but it started raining.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great

    By Mbf1238 on 08/29/2017

    Read the other reviews online and it seemed this was the best option to defeat the crabgrass. I had tried several off the shelf crab grass killers to no avail. My yard was starting to get taken over. I followed the directions and I mixed with Southern Ag Surfactant. By the third day the yellowing was apparent. I am at day 6 now and I can tell it is dying. I just need to hit the spots I missed now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    yes it works

    By Fyrcapn on 10/07/2016

    I use this with a surfactant. it is expensive but you only use 1.5 oz per gal. The draw back is if you wait (like I did ) till sept or so, the crab grass really takes hold and spreads (south Carolina) so you end up with large dead patches. Its amazing how that stuff spreads. I know the grass will fill back in again. I used amine 400 with it and did not have any bad grass damage. war on weeds and war on crabgrass, it never ends. next year --pre-emergent then touch up with drive earlier than sept.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Johnny on 08/28/2015

    Product works great. Be careful to not mix too strong as it will retard growth of Bermuda grass. So glad to find a product that works on crab grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass control

    By Kevin on 08/24/2015

    This is the second year in a row I've used Drive xlr8. I use a pull behind sprayer, electric pump tsc 40 gallon. 60 0z of xlr8, pint of southern surfactant and it kills crabgrass. I have sandy soil and was infested. Next year I should be down to a pump sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This is my second bottle and it is awesome!!!

    By John on 08/26/2015

    I followed the direction exactly. I even measure in 10' increment and used pesticide flags, electrical flag and gas flags to create 10' lanes in my yard so I would not get overspray on 1 acre of land . After about 3 days it started looking brown...I had lots of crabgrass that I thought was just natural lime color grass. The first round of attack I killed at least 85% but I could see 15 % trying to come back where maybe not enough spray hit it so I just did my second spraying (14 days later) and hopefully will be at a 100% kill rate this time. Will use this again...and I already see in the last few days old grass coming back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 186 reviews)