Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   240
4 stars   27
3 stars   16
2 stars   8
1 star   37

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(328 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$65.68

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 328 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Steve on 06/19/2017

    My crabgrass problem was as bad as it gets. It was not to be a spot spraying, it was going to be a complete spraying of the front lawn. I mixed according to specifications and sprayed the entire lawn. Three days later the only crabgrass is where i missed--a great product! I live in South Carolina where it is hot and humid and rains almost every afternoon, but the product withstood the elements.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Super product

    By Rb on 05/15/2018

    Drive XLR works as advertised. Used it on my lawn a few weeks ago and it took about 7 days to start seeing results. However it has been doing its thing. No dandelions, dollar weed and a significant reduction in crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Weed Wars

    By Jd on 06/24/2018

    Just finished my second treatment. I had thick crabgrass completely take over my side yard (on 2 acres). The first treatment got about 30% of it. The second treatment looks to be working better after adding the surfactant and going slower with 30gal tow spray rig. My biggest problem is not being able to buy this stuff in bulk. I need 2.5 gal jugs, not this little apple juice box. At 1.5 oz per gallon, I make 45 gallons. Empty!!! Gotta buy more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Stops Crabgrass in it's tracks.

    By Greg on 08/17/2011

    I mixed Drive XLR8 with DyneAmic Surfactant and this combo worked GREAT. The crabgrass started to die in 24 hour and some varieties were total dead in 3 day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    5 stars

    By Nick on 08/24/2014

    Verified Purchase

    One of the best stuff I ever use for the crabgrass. Don't waste your money on Home Depot stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good-bye crabgrass

    By Mike on 09/02/2014

    Verified Purchase

    From Michigan -works great on crabgrass, even large tillered crabgrass. A bit pricey for blanket application, but great for spot spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills crabgrass

    By Bl on 07/07/2015

    I didn't think this would be able to kill mature crabgrass right in the middle of summer. I did the recommended mixture for spot spraying in a 2 gallon sprayer and mixed in some MSO. After 3 days, the crabgrass (and barnyardgrass) started to wilt and become red and were on their way out. I had too much of the weeds that I had to apply this again a second time. After 2 weeks of the second application, most of the crabgrass were either brown or dead. I still have a few left here and there so I will just take care of those later, but I'd say 95% of the crabgrass + barnyardgrass was taken care of.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for spot application by nonprofessional homeowners.

    By Brenda on 08/17/2015

    Just look for Table 5. When I was shopping I was dismayed by vendors acting like the only way to use it is blanket application in 1000 foot swaths. Not so. We use a one gallon plastic milk jug well rinsed and follow the instructions on Table 5, including using methylated seed oil which we obtained from another source. Then we decant it into a 32 ounce plastic spray bottle we bought at Lowe's. Walk the yard and spray by hand. It works great. We have beautiful lush emerald zoysia and it has not hurt our grass. We wish it would hurt the bermuda that has invaded in a few places but for now we are happy that the crab grass clumps that we spray are toast. It will take a long time to go through 64 oz., we don't mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Magic Bullet

    By Larry on 09/18/2015

    This product works as advertised. I mixed it up according to the instructions, and hand sprayed all the crabgrass in my lawn. Within 36 hours, all the crabgrass was brown and dried up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Gave it 5 chances

    By Bruce on 07/19/2016

    Verified Purchase

    I really wanted this stuff to work and have given it ample opportunity but it has not done the job. I sprayed my yard twice last year and since crabgrass continues to germinate I have sprayed 4 times this year giving a stronger dosage each time to make sure I was getting the proper amount on. My crabgrass is maybe 50% affected by Drive XRR8. It just will not kill it. I can't tell how much it worked on other weeds because I mixed 2-4D in with it so I don't know what the 2-4D killed vs Drive. But I am sorely disappointed with the claims it makes on crabgrass and I truly wanted it to work but it just does not do the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not For Me

    By Cesar on 07/20/2016

    I have tall fescuse grass nice and green. However the back yard got a crab grass infestation. I bought this because of all the good reviews. I followed the EXACT instructions and NOTHING was killed. That includes my tall fescuse (which is a good thing)! Im going with PRE- Emergent next year!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass and foxtail control

    By James on 10/17/2016

    I have used XLR8 two times. The first time in a 1acre field and also in my yard which has buffalo and fescue grass. The first application worked great. I could see the dead crab and foxtail grasses die off and the buffalo come through. The field was mailnly foxtail so it looked pretty bleak after the foxtail died. I'm going to plant native grass this fall. I could not be happier with this product. Finally I'm getting it under control. I live in the country and have a very large yard so it has been time consuming to keep up with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Thank you!

    By Francis on 06/02/2017

    My notes basically said that I purchased Drive XLR8 from you and wanted to tell you how delighted I am with the results of using it. About 80% of my Bermuda lawn was taken over by Torpedo Grass. I discovered that you sell the Drive product made by BASF and wanted to inform you of the outstanding performance of the product. Should you ever need a reference for it's use I am happy to be that resource. I have also written BASF and thanked them for the product. I am guessing that the purchase of this product saved me more than $3000+ which is what it would have cost to replace my lawn. Thank You!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass killer didn't kill

    By Robert on 07/09/2017

    It's been almost three weeks since I applied it in my hay meadow. I followed the application instructions. Crab grass is still alive. Not showing any discoloration to be wiltering. I'm not satisfied at this point.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Seven days

    By Tim on 07/15/2017

    I sprayed Drive XLR8 on Sunday, July 9th. Temp was ~78 but clearly heading to the mid 90s that day. I used roughly 2oz per gallon. The change to the crabgrass was obvious by Wednesday morning. The weeds took a nose dive by Friday and were dead by Saturday morning. I took daily pictures hoping to load them here but don't have that option. Drive XLR8 worked extremely well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass

    By Barbara on 07/26/2017

    Young plants it did great on the older plants nothing

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Michael on 08/20/2017

    This product works great. I didn't know they had anything available to kill crabgrass in a yard. None of the grass was killed and all the crabgrass was eliminated. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This works!

    By Debbie on 10/06/2017

    I read the reviews and q's & a's before applying. I think using the surfactant along with the Drive is very important. The crabgrass turned brown & died within a few days. It is advised to then remove the dead crabgrass. We have so much! I have removed most from the front area, but may not be able to remove all of it - just due to time constraints. I will be using a pre-emergent this spring. If I don't remove the dead crabgrass from the remaining areas of the yard I will be able to see if that step makes a difference when I compare results next summer between the front area and the rest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    old Crabgrass

    By John on 10/06/2017

    Have the good old strong stuff, drive xlr8 works as directed. Like I said, strong crabgrass, I knew I would need a second treatment,, no problem This stuff WORKS!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff!!

    By Chad on 10/13/2017

    Followed instructions and could see results in about 3 days. Crab grass is dead. Used on fescue, which is fine, no negative impact.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesom

    By Sam on 08/17/2018

    If you want to kill crab grass without hurting your fescue, use this. Crabgrass will brown and disappear in 10 days

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Herbicide That Works !

    By Jc on 08/29/2018

    I applied Drive XLR8 on a Saturday morning, along with the Prime Source Duo Stick Adjuvant, on my fescue lawn that had several patches of mature crabgrass. By Monday afternoon, 95% of the areas I spot-sprayed indicated crabgrass that was dying (light tan color) and wilting. I mixed a gallon of the product according to the label directions. Bottom line, this is Herbicide that works !

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very promising

    By Randy on 06/22/2020

    I had reserved an area of my back yard this spring and the crabgrass had taken over before the rescue had a chance to germinate. I sprayed it yesterday and today the cg is already yellowing out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive Weed Killer

    By Bernie on 08/29/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Used with recommended surfactant "DynAmic". Weeds dead within a few days. Tall Fescue surrounding still alive. Good stuff. Not sure if it works as well without the surfactant, but am taking no chances --

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best crabgrass control product

    By Ted on 08/24/2012

    Verified Purchase

    After little success with several crabgrass control products, I used Drive XLR8. Within 2 days of application the crabgrass was browning and within a week the crabgrass was dead. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer?

    By Gregg on 05/07/2013

    Verified Purchase

    One week out.....XLR8 seemed to somewhat retard crabgrass growth, but sure did not kill crabgrass. Worked fairly well on some leafy weeds. I think Trimec-Plus does a much better job at half the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Truley Works ( XLR8)

    By Jim on 07/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Hi All Drive XLR8 is by far the very best crabgrass herbicide that I have ever used. Killed the crabgrass with in a week and continued killing new sproutings for a n additional two weeks. I would recommend it to every one every where there is a crabgrass problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Greg on 07/21/2014

    This product works like advertised. It kills crabgrass of all sizes and quantity, and nothing else. It didn't hurt my lawn and didn't even kill any other weeds. The crabgrass was dying within 2 days. I had to spray for those weeds separately as I didn't combine the Drive with anything else other than a surfactant because I wanted to see just what it would do. If I ever have to use Drive again, I would combine it with something like Crossbow. This stuff works when used as directed. It is a little pricey, but if you want to rid your lawn of crabgrass, this is the product to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work.

    By Joe on 09/26/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product does not work fon the small leaf ground ivy my grass is infested with and wild straberry. Followed instructions in detail.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Dean on 08/13/2015

    Worked great, very selective in killing very obtrusive widespread crabgrass. Turns red in a few days, dies within a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 61 to 90 (of 328 reviews)