Customer Reviews for Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   110
4 stars   52
3 stars   19
2 stars   6
1 star   7

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(194 customer reviews)
Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser
$7.68

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 3 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)
Sort:
  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Best that I have found

    By J.d. on 07/05/2010

    I estimate that the number of gopher/moles killed per gasser deployed is about 10%. Even though I would like a higher "kill rate", this product is more effective than any others that I have found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    59 of 62 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It's war!

    By Rian on 08/01/2010

    Gophers took over my yard. Leaving 8-10 new holes every 24 hrs. I've been at war with them 3 weeks placing a destroyer as soon as a hole appears. It's not over yet, but it's down to 1-2 holes in every 24 hrs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    35 of 37 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Potentially effective

    By Lukas on 05/03/2011

    We have a commercial orchard operation with an increasingly intrusive vole/mole problem working through. We have implemented several measures to kill or at least deter continued mole/vole presence. One of the latest we have tried is the Giant Destroyer smoke bombs. For our purposes, the way I went about using the bombs was finding potential burrow locations first. I accomplished this by using a Rodex 400 detonation system to expose the tunnels. When I came across a tunnel that was no longer paralleling the surface but went deep, that was when I used a Giant Destroyer smoke bomb. As a result of this, its effectiveness has not fully been measured yet for our operation. One thing I can tell you about this product is that it is a long duration poison smoke bomb and that the smoke is significantly heavy enough to seek out the lowest points within the tunnel and fill it up from there. I think the potential for this product to be effective is there but I cannot claim that until later on in our season.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Product Quality Complaint

    By Bob on 12/06/2012

    The smoke bomb works well if you can set off a bomb on each end of a main tunnel and catch them in the middle. Otherwise, you just run them around and eventually catch up to them. Not cost effective but I use these with "poison peanuts" and the war goes back and forth in spurts. My complaint is that the fuses have lost their stiffness in recent months and at times are so small in diameter or so soft that you cannot insert them into the hole to ignite the bomb or they fall out and the bomb doesn't ignite. The quality control is lacking and needs some serious attention!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    gassers

    By Joan on 05/04/2014

    I wish there were a magic wand to get rid of these varmits. They even chewed their way through a screen on the bottom of our grow box. While we have long used the Giant Destroyer, our results have been minimal. Better than nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Did It Work?

    By Rob on 11/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product to fight off a ground hog "Caddie Shack" style. I noticed this rodent making itself comfortable under my wooden deck by leisurely walking under it or using an entry hole 20 feet from the deck. I put a Gasser into the hole, covered it up, and hoped to see it running from the gas. Unfortunately, I didn't see any movement. I closed the gaps that allowed the ground hog easy access to the deck which limited it to the entry hole. I have not seen any sign of the rodent in the past 3 weeks. Either the Gasser worked, the ground hog closed off the burrow to hybernate, or it wasn't around when I gassed the hole. I'm not positive it worked, but I'm hopeful it did. Make sure you cover the hole with something (40lb bag of top soil worked well) to stop the gas from leaking out and stay upwind. I got a small whiff if this stuff and instantly felt queezy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Smoke Bomb worked as deterrent only

    By Steven on 04/16/2012

    I have been clearing my 5 acres of moles for the past year since I moved in. I have used poisons with limited success and was trying to find something more reliable. The Giant Destroyer worked as a deterrent to push the moles out of their holes but that only made my yard worse as new holes/mounds popped up. I finally caught the mole that was causing the most damage with a conventional trap. I will continue using the smoke bombs when needed but feel the traps are the most effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Good and Bad

    By Theo on 03/25/2013

    These bombs are hit and miss. If placed close enough to the main den they will work. If placed further away in one of the runs, the gas won't disperse enough to kill the critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    the only proof is a carcass

    By Tim on 02/02/2012

    Price is right, but if you are going after moles, traps are the best option. I had to resort to gassers because I had moles in an area where there were tunnels visible on the surface. I've deployed a total of 100 gassers in an area _1000 sf and still am not sure I killed anything. I've had lots of success in the past with traps, and you have proof of eradication.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    not that great

    By Frank on 05/28/2012

    Verified Purchase

    put one in a hole, the mole popped its head out another hole went back down?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Eradicating Critters

    By Jeff on 10/28/2018

    So far have been unable to get rid of the pests. I gas the exit holes in the yard, but the creatures will dig out my blockages, and we start the process over.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Seems Powerful Enough, Not Sure The Results Yet

    By David on 10/14/2018

    Still not sure how effective these are, but they are powerful. I hope they work. If they show effectiveness, I'll add more starts to the rating.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyers not good

    By Pankaj on 04/16/2017

    Gassers we bought this time were not good, many of those would stop burning after 50% to 60%. This is our third box and the issue happened with only this one, previous boxes were all good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Giant destroyer - mixed review

    By David on 04/11/2017

    I bought 2 dozen of these super gassers. I have had mixed success. several of the gassers only burnt around half way then went out. In addition the smoke did not appear to travel far along the tunnels. I ended up having to open the mole runs in several areas (15ft apart) and "mass bomb" them with 6 to 12 gassers. That appears to have done the job. I will keep using them but they are not all they are cracked up to be.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    New fuses for bombs

    By Bob on 04/01/2017

    My last order has fuses different from any I have had in the past. They appear to be stiffer, harder to ignite and they burn faster with less flame but I think more heat. I haven't decided yet if this is an improvement or if the prior fuses is better.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Packaging problem

    By Edward on 10/17/2016

    I would have given the product 5 stars because it works...but when you buy in bulk you get multiple packaging and the final bubble pack can not be opened in the field ...you have to precut on two sides...big hassle

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    GIANT DESTROYER

    By Ralph on 07/07/2016

    I have twice used the product, at this time have not viewed further activity.Although yet TBD. The 3 star is not to be my final rating. As shown above,TBD.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    mole bopper

    By Rey on 07/20/2011

    Appears to be working...don't see as many mounds as previously lil buggers move around quite a bit..hard to pinpoint where they will be next...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Didn't Eliminate Gophers, Slowed Them Down

    By David on 06/03/2019

    And "they" moved about 50' further away. Some if the gassers were duds, which is a rip-off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)