Customer Reviews for Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   119
4 stars   55
3 stars   19
2 stars   8
1 star   10

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(211 customer reviews)
Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser
$9.00

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer evaluation

    By Max on 10/30/2015

    I have a house on 200 acres, and I mow about 25 acres around the house. That 25 acres houses at least 100 moles which, because of digging up the ground, make mowing hard on my back and the equipment. Fighting moles for a long time makes me a local expert. Giant destroyer provides a good temporary solution but the efectivenes depends on the person's knowledge of moles' habits. The moles make two types of tunels. The TRANSPORT tunels are several inches in diameter and have smooth internal walls when active. They are used to help moles to go from their nests to the feeding tunels, where they feed on worms and insects. The moles only eat live prey and poisoned products are a waste of money. The moles are very smart about choosing locations for their nests and will only dig them below protected areas, between the tree roots, under concrete or any other cover. For Giant to be effective, first identify the active transport tunnels. They are raised above the surface. Stick your finger into it and feel that the sides are smooth. Do not squash any. When these tunels are identified, look if they point toward a protected areas where a nest is located. If you find it, get as close to the nest as you can, feel the tunnel again and find out in which direction it goes. Now light the Giant fuse and stick the bomb as far in the tunnel as far you can push it, hopefully in the direction of the nest. Now cover the hole you made so no smoke can escape. If you find out a good transfer tunnel there will be no return of the smoke toward you. If the tunnel is inactive or blocked the smoke will come back at you and you have wasted your effort. If the tunnels are still active, I have seen that smoke spreading through lateral tunnels as much as 10 feet away from the Giant. Hopefully the smoke is involving the nest, but moles commonly have two exists from their nest and it will be possible that one ventillation tunel may still be open. After you think that the smoke may have entered the nest, re-examine the area a few days later for new activity. If present, renew the procedure at a slightly different location. GOOD LUCK

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    103 of 105 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great at discouraging gophers, but there is a cheaper option

    By Joe on 03/30/2012

    These make lots of foul smelling smoke. It doesn't seem to kill many gophers, but everywhere that the smoke reaches they back-fill the tunnels. Yeah, it's not a great solution for the neighbors, but it's far better to have them move on that using poison which will kill things like lizards and frogs (both of which are very sensitive to toxins) and things we want helping control the bugs and pests. Also, those little colored smoke bombs you get from the vendors around the 4th of July work great - they're very small and easy to light and plop down a hole (be sure to cover it, naturally). The last time I got some, they were a dollar for a package of 6. They will smoke out and dissuade about a 10X20 area. Not very effective by themselves, but cheap enough to toss half a dozen down holes in one day. :) The smoke is much smellier due to the powdered dye in it than the Giant Destroyer and seems to be quite a bit more effective at getting them to leave the area. After a while, the soil will simply taste bad to them and they'll not come back. As a plus, they are far less of a health concern as the smoke isn't toxic and won't hurt your plants. Plus, it's easy to see where the smoke is coming out of or spreading to as it's brightly colored. Perhaps the cheapest anti-vermin trick I know of.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Definitely worth a try

    By Ed on 08/11/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I used the Giant Destroyer about 2 weeks ago and have not seen any mole activity since. The down side of using a product like this or poison pellets or worms is that you don't see the dead mole and therefore only have to assume you were successful based on how soon you see new "activity". I used the Talpirid mole traps and successfully nailed 3 moles. Therefore, I give 5 stars to the Talpirid mole trap. Other products I have used, and there were many, were a waste of time and money. Always follow the directions carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    25 of 26 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Gopher problem

    By Bob on 03/25/2011

    We live in a sandy soil area and gophers are everywhere. I tried sonic repelling (somewhat effective, but only for small areas), traps (no luck), poison (slow enough that you can't be sure you got them) and Giant Destroyer. I prefer the Giant Destroyer to all other methods tried because it is fast, easy to use and inexpensive. They burn hot and the gas is designed to kill so safety precautions obviously need to be taken but the instructions on the packages are good. In at least two trials the gophers successfully blocked the tunnels from the gas so try to trap them between two gassers simultaneously. Otherwise, if new mounds soon appear, the gas missed him or it is another critter.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer

    By Anonymous on 08/31/2013

    they work fine... but make sure you put them in an unblocked hole!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Back Yard Battle Field with Gophers

    By Michael on 09/18/2011

    I purchase Giant Destroyer by the case. They do the job, but the gophers return. My house is next to a regional park so the problem will always be there. They are cheaper by the case. Good product

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer

    By Ken on 07/29/2014

    I've tried everything to get rid of moles and voles. Poison worms, chewing gum, mothballs, and traps. My yard had so many tunnels that I got my car stuck in the front yard. They were tunneling under my foundation. Great improvement are noticeable now. I live in a heavily wooded area and Giant Destroyer is doing the trick. I am winning the battle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    work well

    By Anonymous on 07/08/2013

    These work well, although it takes patience and persistence as you won't wipe out a whole colony of moles in one treatment. The good news is that they do kill moles and don't leave behind toxic materials that can harm pets. Do My Own Pest Control.com has the best prices anywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer Mole Killers

    By Anonymous on 06/05/2013

    These things have made a major impact on the moles in my yard. I tried all 4 mechanical traps on amazon and the lousy worm mole baits. Not one worked. These things however, do work!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Smoke 'Em Out

    By Scott on 06/14/2015

    I have used this product for a number of years and have been buying from this seller. I use these in the spring and fall to keep the moles at bay and it works very well if used accordingly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Simple and effective

    By John on 09/04/2014

    I use the product on a golf course, as a safer alternative to the difficult-to-obtain aluminum phosphide fumigant, to control squirrels and gophers. As a stand alone product for a large area it will not excel but as a part of a greater IPM strategy it works quite well. Nearly any employee can use it safely (don't forget to have a fire extinguisher handy) with little worry of harm to customers, employees, or the property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Discourage burrowing beasts!

    By Tom on 07/24/2011

    I use these to discourage voles. (We live on the edge of some woodland lots with all kinds of critters.) The product poisons the air in burrows below the surface. It looks like a little dynamite stick. You light the fuse, pop it into the hole (all the way!), then cover it quickly because sulfurous fumes begin fast. Smoke probably will seep upwards, suggesting the fires of hell are beneath. Is this product so absolutely completely effective that the voles never return? No. Voles feed on grubs, so treat the area for grubs. But I find these "destroyers" are a great short-term way to encourage the critters to move on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Mole Again

    By Scott on 07/16/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I have long used this product, from this seller, for controlling the moles in my yard. It happens every year with a new batch of moles being born. I go out with my Giant Destroyer to claim back my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    get those moles

    By Bill on 07/28/2014

    Verified Purchase

    worked good but they are coming back this year but later in year will use again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works

    By Tim on 11/17/2017

    There were two main paths I had for moles. Put two in each. Havent seen them again. 2 weeks later. Bought 2 4 packs just in case. If you cant get the wick to stay in, just light the end of it where the wick goes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    does it kill?

    By Anonymous on 07/27/2013

    Verified Purchase

    out of 8 smoke bombs seems only 5 worked some did not smoke much that I could see and the critters were back the next day some have stayed inactive. and we wonder if it killed those diggers on not. may try them again if the old runs stay inactive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ground Hog destroyer

    By Frank on 09/25/2017

    I have ground hogs terrible in a creek bank that is covered with broken concrete chunks. That is a perfect home from ground hogs. The Giant Destroyer is the only product that will eliminate these pests. I've learned to use 2 gassers in each hole rather than one. I would say it has a 75% success rate the first time you gas their hole.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    smoke bombs

    By Anonymous on 06/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    product works but found them in a local store for less than 1/2 price of what your selling them for

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer

    By Steve on 12/30/2016

    I like it, the gophers , not so much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Victory!

    By Gregory on 03/22/2012

    I purchased a case of Giant Destroyer in the hopes of putting an end to a nearly year long battle with rodents. After using only half of the case my problems have finally been solved. Victory is mine! Smart animals can avoid traps & poisons but they can't outsmart these agents.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Best price good option

    By Jo on 12/11/2016

    We have so many gophers not sure we can ever get rid of them. We even hired a professional for $500, and that lasted maybe a month. FOr that price we are able to use a combination of gas, bait and castor beans to obtain some control. DO My Own has THE BEST PRICE for this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    smoke bomb

    By Adrian on 10/06/2016

    I tried one bomb to get a ground squirrel and it don't work.But when I put two together it did the job. thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Gopher Kill

    By Mr on 11/12/2017

    As a Pro trapper here in Florida, I have been using a Cinch Traps to trap Gophers , Now Moles I use Worms..after a week moles are gone, Some things a Gopher can tie me up for weeks and not come to the trap. I started to smoke the hard old ones..To find they plug the hole up after the smoke clears, I open up the hole ,(smelling the gas)place a Cinch trap and then i get him on the second try, Now a one step & one day operation i have the trap ready, place the bomb in the hole quickly put the set trap in the hole and with in an hour the half dazed gopher is in the trap. If you have moles coming from the neighbors, spread mole repellent around you fence line.that will keep then next door, if they get back in your yard, then smoke them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Gopher Bombs

    By Rollo on 02/10/2013

    Verified Purchase

    They work well, I've only seen one new mound since I used the bombs. Hope I'm rid of those pesky varments for good.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    great product

    By Sol on 11/26/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Super low price for a great item. I used this product to eradicate gophers in my yard and it is working well. I found this price the lowest I've seen so far. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Measured success-Buy enough

    By Mario on 11/08/2012

    I've had recurring gopher intrusions in my yards for years. I was content to drive over the mounds as retaliation. Not this year! My Bro-in-law showed up with a single 4-pk. They actually worked on a few. They then returned like pimples on a teens face. That is when I sought out GD in numbers. DMOPC had the best pricing on the case. I received them and have attacked on all fronts. They have dwindled if not outright retreated. Works fine but get MORE than enough. Don't go by mound count treble or quadruple your worst mounds in "sticks" of GD. Good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    smelly but effective

    By Lorinda on 10/09/2012

    I use these bombs for voles and ground squirrels in my gardens and lawns. We also have dogs and grazing animals so we don't use poison pellets or traps. I found they work more effectively when I use a hand-held (in my case Makita) blower to blow the smoke further and faster into the burrows.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Stupid Moles

    By Scott on 05/30/2012

    Looking for a better price and availability than from local Home Depot or Lowe's, I went online and located 'DoMyOwnPestControl.' At Home Depot these cost about $7.89 for a packet of (4) and here they are about $4.84 for a packet of (4) gassers for a difference of about $3.05. The package arrived in a timely manner and in good shape.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gassed

    By Susan on 12/29/2018

    He had holes everywhere, finally got with a second time!! Hope that is the end of him!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Gopher gas

    By Mike on 09/25/2020

    Seems to move them on. Bigger point is that this company had good prices easy to navigate website and quick delivery.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 55 reviews)