Customer Reviews for Talstar PL Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.6 of 5 stars
(291 customer reviews)
Displaying 31 to 60 (of 291 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Granules

    By Garri on 11/09/2010

    Verified Purchase

    I applied the Talstar Granules to the area surrounding the outside of my house a few weeks ago. The days following the application, I saw over a hundred dead waterbugs on my porch and side walk! I didn't know there was that many!!! I know this should last about 3 months and then I will reapply EVERY three months. I will continue to purchase as often as I have to. Money well spent. I recieved business cards along with my purchase for additional support from DMOPC, thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent product

    By Pam on 04/28/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This is the stuff that professional pest control people use. I saved a lot of money by doing it myself and the product works immediately. So pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Granules

    By Nancy on 05/11/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I applied the granules--hand-broadcast them using rubber gloves. I could not find information regarding a spreader to use and called the Talstar number. The friendly person there could not do more than I could--read the label. I asked locally and was encouraged to use my little Scott's hand spreader. The granules just ran through and (rain coming and it being the right time to treat for chiggers and chinch bugs here) I hand-broadcast the granules. I ran out of them before my yard was covered, so I know I applied them much too thickly. sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Roaches Gone!

    By Stacy on 10/09/2015

    I can't say enough about this product! 10 +++. I've been using Talstar granules for almost 3 years and I have seen around 4 roaches in that time frame. When we moved into this house it was infested with filthy roaches! We started using Talstar granules and it has done an amazing job on the roaches, ants and what ever other creepy crawly I had. I don't know because I never see anything, which is awesome! Easy to use. Affordable and works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Useless

    By George on 05/20/2016

    You are better off spraying sand :) After I applied, generously, on a small carpenter ant colony, the product, after it got soaked by rain a few hrs later...ants were not bothered a bit a few days later...or a week later then 2 weeks later...ants still there like nothing happened. Same reports from other customers, so applying this Talstar granules or doing nothing was giving me exactly the same thing: no results. Since ants react rather quickly to ANY kind of insecticide I wonder if product is a scam...and yes, I know how to apply granules, I've being doing it for 10 years, why did I decide to use Talstar this time is beyond me. Don't buy, waste of money and time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Review

    By Gary on 08/11/2016

    I reluctantly rate this product as a 1 star. Purchased last month and now have more insect issues than I had before using. Very difficult to apply (it's like sand) so it flows through the lawn spreader like water. The areas that I was able to treat had minimal impact. It appears that this is not the solution that I thought it would be. Spend the extra money and use Merit or Arena. These are systemic applications so when the insects eat the lawn - they die. The problem with non-systemic products is that they will kill if it comes in contact with the insect but if it doesn't - you are right back to square one. Not even as good as some of the products that you can buy in the big box hardware stores!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great on roaches

    By Mike on 08/29/2016

    I used to control pests around my house with Diazanon but since they took it off the market I can't get it. Last year the giant sewer roaches were getting in my house and I couldn't seal the house up enough.... Finally found Talstar PL Granules. No more roaches! It did however, make my St Bernard sick...and I was really careful around his water and food. I spread about a 12' wide band of Talstar around the foundation of my house and all the bugs seem to be dead in that band... I love this stuff! No odor and not dusty! I even dissolved some in a hose end sprayer and sprayed it on my vegetable garden. Horn worms were destroying my tomato plants but the spray killed them, now I have the best tomatoes (wash them real good before eating) Now when I walk in the yard

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Wrong application, right results

    By Dan on 06/22/2019

    I read up on Talstar, but last minute decided to order granules. My main target was mosquitos, and I should have purchased liquid, but I thought that killing ants was a nice added result. I began having doubts about the effectiveness of granules for skeeters, but the 10-12 foot band of granules around my house made the whole area mosquito-free. I am going to purchase liquid to use in some specific areas where granules won't work, as we strive to become a no stink-bug zone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Perfect Order

    By Jerry on 05/10/2011

    Verified Purchase

    Got everything I ordered very fast. Product is perfect for my needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Best Fire Ant killer out their

    By Kevin on 02/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have used this product for years to kill those nasty fire ants that invade my yard every year here in Texas. It's better than those bought at my local wal-mart. Kills them ants right where they are no chasing mounds around for days. Great buy and fast shipping....

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar PL Granules

    By Richard on 05/02/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Fast shipping. Product is barely noticable in the yard so it's a safe product to use and does a great job in controling the insects listed on the bag. Always a pleasure doing business with your company.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    wiped them out!!!

    By Chris on 07/05/2013

    We had mosquitos that could carry you away. One application and the next day all were dead. We had instant access to our yard again. It has lasted for over a month now. Good product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    not what I hoped for

    By Dennis on 06/07/2016

    after two applications.no change. Ants everywhere

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Jury is still out

    By Vickie on 03/14/2017

    I bought for tick control. So far they have gotten worse. Maybe after my third application it will be better.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your feedback! Ticks are found in highest numbers in dense foliage such as tall grasses where animals rest, so you may need to pair a liquid application for those areas where granules are not able to be applied to this kind of vegetation, leaf litter, etc. Step 3 in our Tick Treatment Guide has more tips about this application: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-ticks-a-489.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Cockroaches

    By Richard on 07/17/2017

    I created a perimeter of our patio with this product using the instructions. I'm still getting cockroaches that are on their back but not dead!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By Scotty on 06/10/2011

    We had an unusual Boxelder bug "explosion" in our yard this year. I used this product to treat the property and it worked very well. It took care of all the creepy crawlies that usually are found in the yard. I do recommend this product. Because I am into overkill, I used this in conjunction with Demon WP in areas close to and against the house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best granule pest control

    By Ray on 08/11/2011

    Verified Purchase

    This is my fourth order of Telstar granules what a great product... Controls and eliminates all bill bugs,cinch bugs, earwigs also and heaven knows what our bugs on my Florida lawn it's an amazing product we put it on the property line to stop bugs from coming over from neighbors who don't treat their lawns very satisfied

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great fire ant killer !!!

    By Jason on 08/13/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I have been using Talstar granular for a few years to treat fire ant mounds and it works great. Just sprinkle a little bit on and around the mound and your done.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Used to treat yard for ticks - hope it is working!

    By Robert on 08/24/2012

    Verified Purchase

    All the reviews here seem positive on its effectiveness, so we are hoping for the same. It was difficult to spread as it is too fine for our broadcast spreader. This is addressed, I believe, in the description so we were not totally surprised by that. We had to broadcast it by hand (with gloves, of course) and so it probably did not go on as uniform as it should have. We'll use something easier to spread next Spring. Any other suggestions for yard treatments for ticks?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    dont waste your money

    By Mark on 09/18/2012

    i could have spit on the fire ants, and caused more damage. this product does not work, i put a cup full on a couple of the ant hills, the rest in a spredder and used one bag for lees the 1/2 acre of property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    talstar pl

    By Amanda on 10/01/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Very unhappy... I thought it would work after reading all the reviews. Customer service said they would be dead before they entered my house.Not true. I wanted this to work so I could avoid putting poison in my home. Not happy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    the WORMS are GONE!!!

    By Bj on 05/05/2013

    Verified Purchase

    South Florida has been invaded with this awful seasonal worms. This product gets rid of them immediately!! We ordered it last year too. This is a repeat order. We'll get more when needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Great Price but waisted my money

    By Chris on 04/25/2016

    Put down two bags one week apart an the mole crickets just laughed at it. Wasted my money

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Lawn Nuke

    By Bob on 08/28/2016

    We had an infested yard with a million daddy long legs, earwigs, wolf spiders, beetles and other various bugs. I used a hand spreader and lightly covered my lawn then watered. I haven't seen a single bug since. It irradiated everything.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Second time?

    By Rp on 10/18/2016

    I used this product early summer mainly for mole crickets. worked great. Seen them back in September, reapplied. We received 5" of rain 4 days later. The product didnot work as previously used. I guess user error, in apply prior to a large storm? Any way, have purchased another bag, and will see how it works, this time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Chet on 11/11/2016

    Your product Talstar worked great for our problem, living in southwest florida and being invaded by centipedes and millipedes every day was horrible. I purchased the granular 25 lbs bag, it arrived 3 days, I applied it with in one day. The problem seems to have gone away, I did find a few each day for about a week, re applied a very small amour and haven't had any in s week, very satisfied, would recommend to anyone with my problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good stuff

    By Joe on 04/11/2017

    It does take a couple of days to work. Overall good stuff no more ticks in my back yard, will be using this as recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    TALSTAR PL GRANULES

    By Sherian on 07/01/2017

    TALSTAR effectively kills ant mounds. However, the ants generate new, multiple mounds within a few feet! --Never-ending treatments!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Red ants

    By Emile on 09/11/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Applied as directed and the ants were still there the next day. I live in Kosciusko Ms. Ortho use to sell ant killer that I broadcasted in my yard that worked, however they do not sell it anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    It’s ok

    By Chris on 10/12/2018

    This product is easy to apply and at least party effective. I have a severe ant problem this year (North Fl) and in all fairness NO product has been effective in controlling them. I am on my 6th different product. All of them have had some effect but none have totally controlled. I have only been able to keep them out of my house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 291 reviews)