Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   131
4 stars   17
3 stars   6
2 stars   6
1 star   23

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(183 customer reviews)
Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide
$49.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 1 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not as effective as stated

    By L on 03/19/2015

    Verified Purchase

    We used Talstar granules for ant control several years ago and it worked very well. Elected to go with the Talstar XTRA based on the product info and reviews and ordered 100#. Put all 100# down, some by hand spreader to enable me to increase the amount of granules in heavier infested areas and the other by push spreader - actually hand scooping out of the hopper to put additional granules on large ant mounds. There was a small ant mound on a brick walkway - put the granules directly on it by hand. Order another 50# as had another area that needed ant control. It rained after the initial spreading of the granules and within 2 days the ants on the brick walkway were alive and well! Had to supplement with a liquid 'kill them now' insect control. Needless to say for the amount of money we spent for 150# of this we are extremely disappointed. We will be looking for something else for our future ant control.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If the Talstar Xtra granules are applied at a higher rate and watered in as labeled, you should see an initial drop in activity within the first day or two after application. It is important to keep in mind that the active ingredients in Talstar Xtra will not transfer throughout the ant colonies. Depending on what type of ants you have in the yard, sometimes you can even see a surge in activity just after applying insecticides. The Talstar granules, however, will have a residual (they'll keep working) for at least 30 days, so you should see results for weeks. You may want to give the product some more time to work before using other products. You may also want to consider using an ant bait that will work throughout the colony; you will want an identification on the specific type of ant to choose the best bait. We are always happy to discuss your treatment further with you via live chat online, email (anytime), or telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    26 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't waste your money

    By Bill on 07/15/2014

    Verified Purchase

    this seemed to be ideal product for ants and I spread a hefty (at least 20 feet) ring around the house. Still seeing sugar ants galore. not happy with my purchase.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry that you are not happy with your purchase. Talstar XTRA granules are great for creating a barrier, but they will necessarily treat ants that are already inside the house. For ants inside, we would recommend our Complete Ant Kit (http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/complete-ant-kit-p-1055.html), which contains baits that the ants will transfer throughout the colony, regardless of how or where they have found entrance into the structure. We would be happy to discuss this further with you. We can be reached by telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST. We apologize for any inconvenience, and we appreciate your business! Customer Service Do My Own Pest Control

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Failure

    By Suzette on 08/06/2015

    I have used a spreader to get to the areas that were most infested by typical red ants and nothing happened so I reapplied a week later and the ants are still here! The only thing I can think this may have failed is we have been getting rain almost everyday. So disappointed. I was very happy with the other products I've purchased from this company dealing with chinch bugs...completely gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Pest control

    By Mark on 10/02/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This product does not work!!! Do not buy!!! I could have spit on the ants and caused more damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not so great!!

    By Nc on 04/16/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Decided to try the XTRA versus the PL. Over a week and it did not kill any fire ants (3 different lawns). Still have mounds full. I'm not sure if the batch was bad, but definitely did not work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did Nothing

    By Billie on 08/08/2016

    I put 50 pounds of Talstar XTRA Granules on my yard and watered in according to the instructions. My Chinch Bugs, fire ants, carpenter ants, earwigs, grubs, etc. are all alive and well. I've seen absolutely no change in the infestation in my yard after using this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Kurt on 01/05/2017

    Bought 2 bags,but does not work

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry you did not receive the results that you expected from Talstar XTRA Granules. We would be happy to troubleshoot with you if you can provide more information such as the pest you are treating and where and how you have applied the product. You can also call us at 866-581-7378 for assistance. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective Against Sod Webworms

    By Anthony on 09/05/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews about this product and had high hopes it would address my pest issue. I was interested in a product that could deal with my sod webworm issue. The sod webworms are a major pests in the Spring Texas. So, after reading the reviews, I purchased 3 bags of the Talstar XTRA Granules($120.84) in July 2017. Prior to applying the granules, I mowed the lawn closer than normal. I used a traditional mini broadcast spreader and handheld broadcast spreader to apply the granules to both the lawn and flower beds. After a few days, I monitored the lawn and flower beds. Initially, I noticed a slight decrease in the number sod webworms hanging around my entrance area to the house and the flower beds. I assumed the product was having an impact on the pest. Although, there was still a number of sod webworms flying around in the entrance area over the next few days. Later that evening, I applied another application(25lbs bag) of the Talstar XTRA Granules to the front lawn and flower beds again. And I made sure that the lawn was mowed prior to application. No luck. The pesky sod webworms were back in force the following week. If you have an issue with sod webworms, I would not recommend this product. I just placed an order for Bifen Granules, Bifen XTS and Cyzmic CS Micro-encapsulated Insecticide. Hopefully, the combination of products will eliminate the annoying and destructive pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Widows yard

    By Marc on 07/26/2017

    This product did not work. My neighbors husband passed this summer. She had many mole cricket tunnels. She wet her yard, I spread the Talstar out at a lower end density on the recommended amount. She reset her yard. 2 weeks later it's worse. Using soapy water I got 5 crickets in a 2 ft square! She needs help but appears Talstar not working.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra granular insecticide

    By Thomas on 09/10/2019

    $340 worth of this stuff and it's done absolutely nothing. Used the same product 2 years ago and it was great did the same thing a week ago and it's done absolutely nothing. If you put it directly on the Mounds they just move a foot and come back up. Put it on the entire yard exactly the way you're supposed to. Really disappointed a lot of money for nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ronnie

    By Ronnie on 03/31/2017

    waste of money, did not kill the first aunt.... and I bought the big bag!! spend the money and get the Extinguish it will works

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you did not get the expected results from using the Talstar XTRA. For the best results using Talstar XTRA Granules to treat fire ants, we would recommend doing both a broadcast treatment and following the product label for drenching any existing mounds. Be sure to always water in the granules after spreading them. Using baits is the other way to treat for fire ants, just be sure that the ants are actively foraging before placing out baits. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective Product

    By Barry on 06/21/2016

    I applied this product to control the small brown ants (we call sugar ants) in our back yard three weeks ago. I applied the product at the specified rate and lightly watered the lawn. The hundreds of small ant hills were still active the next day, after a week and now it's been 3-weeks and I've see no change from before I applied this Talstar Extra product. Do not buy this product! I called this site and they recommended this product to treat our specific type of ants - bad advise. You may want to look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Very Disappointed

    By Cynthia on 05/29/2020

    I purchased 2 bags of this product and it only killed 20% of the ants. Fleas are still terrible. I followed the instructions exactly. I applied with a lawn speader and it rained the evening it was applied. A lot of money spent and a waste of time. Now, I have to start over with another product and spend even more money. What a rip off. I wish I could give you negative stars. Will never buy from these folks again and will tell all my friends and neighbors what kind of experience I had.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffective product

    By Dustin on 05/29/2020

    I bought Talstar granules for ant control. The product was used as directed. After applying it I continued to notice ants several days later. I then applied a second treatment. Two treatments later I still have ants and I'm convinced the ants used the granules to help build there mounds. Not impressed with this product. Not purchasing again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Granulates

    By Michael on 10/23/2020

    Two days of showers & all ant hills are back.happy with Talstar p liquid but unhappy with bag of granulates.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Was not effective at all

    By Matt on 09/23/2020

    Verified Purchase

    I applied this product back in July per the recommended specs, and in September I have seen about 15 different fireant piles in my backyard. I have had better luck with the $20 bags at Lowes/Home Depot and will stick with those going forward.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    DOES NOT WORK

    By Courtney on 08/08/2020

    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product because it had excellent reviews and was supposed to last for months. Not only did it fail to eliminate the ant colonies all over my lawn, but it didn't even make a dent. Absolute waste of time and money. FYI, I thought it was operator error, so I purchased the liquid version afterwards. Same results, completely ineffective. I spent way too much money on these products to have such poor results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't jill the bugs

    By Sharon on 06/20/2020

    We spend this quite heavy...lots of money and it did NOT kill the bugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Telstar product didn’t work for my back yard.

    By Stefan on 06/16/2020

    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed! I used Telstar for fire ants in my back yard but didn’t work. Cheap product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Good overall bug protection

    By Harry on 05/01/2020

    only drawback is very fine. Need to place on lowest setting. Also so clear and fine you can not see where you placed. So needless to say you have to buy more than you really need.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ineffectual

    By Randy on 04/18/2020

    I tried this brand based off of a recommendation for St. Augustine grass in my area. This brand is more expensive than the brand I previously have used (Bayer Complete Insect Killer). This product had zero effect on ants, although the label indicates that it does. I broadcast the product according to directions and applied over ant mounds. Two weeks later I am doing a major landscape overhaul, removing sod, and I am noticing plenty of bugs. The product never eradicated the ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did NOT Kill Fire ANTS

    By John on 03/13/2020

    Did not kill any fire ants and was applied per specs on bag.A lot of money for NOTHING

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work on ants

    By Duane on 07/07/2019

    This product does not work on ants, and should not be advertised for ants. I spread heavy as per the instructions, then watered in as per the instructions. Every day that went by, i thought the ants would stop. No difference what-so-ever. Very disappointed with the product, and the customer service agent that told me this is what i need.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)