Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   131
4 stars   17
3 stars   6
2 stars   6
1 star   23

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(183 customer reviews)
Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide
$49.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Showing only 4 star reviews - See all reviews
Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)
Sort:
  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Just OK

    By Bubba on 10/16/2010

    This product worked great... at first. Applied it correctly and it was like a nuclear bomb went off - no ants, no crickets, no anything. However, a week or so went by and the ants were back. Why? Probably because of local control. I have lots of sandy spots and those don't take to the poison well? I find the liquid talstar HARDER to apply, but it works better in all conditions. For some reason the granular works well for yards and areas with no sand, etc. The granules are also hard to spread in landscape beds. Talstar as a whole is the BEST so maybe the answer is to buy granular for the grassy areas that are usually large and hard to cover with spray and then buy the spray for the landscaping beds and sandy spots in your lawn. Either way BE CAREFUL this stuff is so toxic that in minutes lizards, crickets, and ants start to flee their hiding places and you'll find them everywhere... dead! 5 stars for the liquid Talstar for sure, 4 stars for Talstar XTRA because despite the fact it has pretty ant(s) on the packaging it is not that great for ant(s) and may not work around planting beds, near sidewalks, and/or empty patches in lawns.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    141 of 147 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fire ant control

    By Francis on 01/07/2017

    I have fire ants and had difficulty finding something to control them. Talstar XTRA works better than any other product I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    I hate mole crickets

    By Bernie on 05/22/2017

    I'm not sure there is anything on the planet that can kill mole crickets, but this comes about the closest I have found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works fairly well

    By Adam on 06/22/2017

    For general lawn ants like Cornfield ants, it does not work as fast as it claims. You really need to treat each and every mound, and there can be many, and then spread granules over the enitre lawn or the ants just move and invade the area not treated. You may have to do this 2 or 3 times to control them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Controlled but did not eliminate

    By R on 08/31/2018

    Controlled fire ants but did not eliminate them. Liquid base talstar works better than granulated form for ants and chinch bugs in my area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    SPREAD EASILY

    By D on 04/20/2017

    I applied the contents of the bag easy enough. Waiting to see if it is as effective as the PL Granules I used last time for mole crickets and ants. The size of these are definitely easier to broadcast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    so far so good

    By Mike on 06/15/2018

    It's been about 2 weeks since I put the Talstar Granules out. We live in South Carolina and have always had lots for fire ant mounds. Did not see one single mound when mowing the yard, not one! I'll update this review in a few weeks to report on how long this lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Doing a good job for 4 months

    By Elvi on 06/28/2019

    Started applying to my Florida 9000sqf lawn every 2 months and I’m very happy with results. Did find 2 tiny ant holes and spot sprayed. Doing a great job with Red ants. Neighbor just bought some to help with his red ant problem

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Professional home bug service used it... now I am.

    By Mac on 02/19/2021

    Promptly shipped and received after ordering Talstar Xtra from Do My Own. Same Insecticide used by prior professional home bug service. I will be doing my own home bug treatments so expect same effective results. Self application is substantial savings.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Telstar EXTRA granular insecticide

    By Charles on 09/05/2020

    I have used the fine granular insecticide with great results.I did not see that the EXTRA was a coarse granular formula and I am unsure if it will work as well.I wish that the granular size were better identified on the order form.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Got some results

    By Desmond on 06/19/2020

    I purchased this product because if chinch bugs in my yard. After putting product down I have noticed ants totally gonna but still see some chinch bugs but not as many as befor, so I believe I will have to treat it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Yard Treatment Product

    By Pete on 05/15/2020

    Talstar Xtra is an excellent yard treatment product that controls a wide variety of pests. It lasts well and is easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Ant and bug control

    By Clarissa on 10/10/2018

    Verified Purchase

    My son says it is great stuff. We use it on the whole yard to keep insects under control

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Talstar XTRA Granules

    By Santanu on 09/28/2018

    The deliver was on time. This product worked for me but it is expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Chris on 08/06/2015

    Great product. A good alternative when liquid treatments are not an option.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    We like it, solid performer

    By S.i.p.s. on 12/08/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Good granular and it works, against the Fire & Harvester ant mounds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Talstar xtra Granules

    By Robar on 10/11/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Great stuff. Expensive to use every 3 or 4 months for getting everything under control. (This was suggested to me by a lawn care pro to build uo a certain level in the lawn) It seems to have done the trick. Thank you kindly..

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 1 to 17 (of 17 reviews)