Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   240
4 stars   27
3 stars   16
2 stars   8
1 star   37

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(328 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
$65.68

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 328 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Bill on 10/03/2016

    So far, it doesn't work. I have spot crabgrass in a Bermuda lawn in Southern California, so I mixed a gallon of herbicide and surfactant. I have spot sprayed the crabgrass 3 times (a week apart) and it looks quite healthy. I may try a heavier concentration than the package recommendation, but would also appreciate any suggestions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not happy

    By Grace on 08/29/2017

    Verified Purchase

    I mixed 3 tbsp of XLR8 with 1 gallon of water and sprayed to crabgrass area. After 14 days of waiting, crabgrass looks healthy and green. Don't buy this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Kurt on 05/27/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Works as advertised provided you follow the directions. My yard was made of Crabgrass. This stuff killed it all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did not work at all

    By Charles on 07/07/2015

    Bought with the recommended SouthernAg surfactant. Mixed according to specifications in the manual stuck to the bottle, along with the recommended amount of surfactant in a 2 gallon pump sprayer. Sprayed lightly several times, sprayed heavily several times. Sprayed before I cut grass by several days, sprayed some after it was cut and stressed. Results: Kills white clover easily, did absolutely nothing to the crabgrass no matter how much was sprayed, or if I increased the amount mixed with water to 3x the recommended, or when I sprayed it. I won't be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not working for me

    By Rusty on 07/19/2016

    Followed instructions exactly as written - used with Prime Source Duo Stick. Spot treated several areas but only had poor results. Ended up applying 3 treatments. It yellowed my bermuda but only killed about 5% of the crabgrass. Bermuda is still yellow 4 weeks later. Wasted my time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Anonymous on 08/06/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Skeptical at first. I have been searching for a post emergent crabgrass killer for years. I bought Drive a few weeks ago and mixed it with a surfacant as the labels instructs. Used in a 3 gallon tank sprayer. Within 3 days crabgrass turned brown and died. Made a second batch and went over the spots I missed a week later. My yard is a fescue blend crabgrass free. Drive is a excellent product and well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Horrible!!!!!!

    By Oscar on 02/15/2015

    Verified Purchase

    This product has not worked at all. I followed directions to the T, but about the only change I seen is a color change to weeds. I would not recommend purchasing this product.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    It may take multiple applications to fully eradicate the weeds you are targeting. Also, if the plants are not actively growing, it may take many weeks for the active ingredient to translocate through the plant. We would be happy to discuss your situation over the phone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    homeowner

    By Marty on 07/22/2011

    Verified Purchase

    XLR8 is a great product at a reasonable price,even for a home owner,it really does work the first time. In the long run you will save money over using other weed killers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DRIVE XLR8

    By Free on 08/24/2014

    Works well on grabgrass. Be patient, curling in 2-3 days, brown in 7-10 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Use this correctly and weed grasses don't stand a chance.

    By Donnie on 09/10/2015

    A landscaper friend let me try some of his and I was amazed at the results so I bought my own jug. I see bad reviews that it does not work and I have to say if it does not work then the issue is with the execution. With the correct mixture, surfactant, and sprayer this will work every time. Unless what you are spraying is not on the killer list. Do it right, and it works every time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great!

    By Linda on 09/21/2015

    The product works great on crabgrass! It takes a few days but then all the crabgrass starts turning brown.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best crabgrass killer!

    By Pam on 07/31/2016

    This stuff rocks. It is the only thing that I have found that kills mature crabgrass,but doesn't kill the grass around it. You see the results in 1-2 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It Most Certainly Works

    By Greg on 08/01/2016

    Mixed 2 gallons water, 6 TBsp of Drive, 8 TBsp of 2 4-D Amine (broad weed killer), and 3 TBsp of Methylated Seed Oil (recommended to increase effectiveness). Used a tank sprayer to spot treat on a lawn with Kentucky Bluegrass and fescue. It rained about 10 hours after spraying...didn't matter one bit. In ONE day the crabgrass and clover was yellowing and dying and all the other grass was totally fine. Amazed at how fast and effective it is. Highly recommended. I can't vouch for how effective it is without the seed oil, but seeing how effective it is with it, I suggest you use it. If this doesn't work for you, you're doing something wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    crabgrass slayer

    By Shane on 05/19/2018

    mixing suggestion...I spray 1000 sf with about 2 gallons in a pump sprayer. That gives a mix ratio of about 0.725 oz (1.45 Tbsp) per gallon. The spot spray recommendation of 3Tbsp per gallon is a little too strong and will turn surrounding Bermuda grass yellow.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great

    By H on 08/21/2015

    We had lots and lots of crabgrass. We sprayed it with the ATV sprayer and then the handheld sprayer. We used Trimec before. This is better.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    By Darin on 09/02/2015

    I've been battling Crabgrass for years and pre-emergents have not been effective. I had a large area of Crabgrass in the 5th tiller stage and within about 4 days it was decimated. Brown, shriveled and barely recognizable. Going to continue with the pre-emergents and hit the Crabgrass in the 1st tiller stage and within a few years it should be gone. Drive is an excellent product. If you have various patches all over the place, I would recommend that you use it with a marker so you know where you sprayed. Follow the label and it will work. Crabgrass is very tough to get rid of. The seeds can lay dormant for years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works!

    By Bob on 09/12/2015

    I colleague of mine told me about Drive XLR8, so I purchased it online. I sprayed the product, combined with Bonide Turbo surficant, on a Saturday, then went out of town for a week. When I returned the next Saturday all the crabgrass was dead. It did not affect the good grass at all. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide

    By Dan on 07/18/2017

    I applied at the recommended rate and after 10 days it had no effect on the crabgrass. I contacted DoMyOwn and they said it can take 6-8 weeks to see results. If that is true, I do not think this product is good since I expect to see results in 10-14 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Sandra on 09/22/2017

    I've tried tons of things to kill crab grass...none worked. I was so frustrated, and decided to give this product a shot because of the reviews. We'll, IT WORKS! I mixed it with the Duo Stick, like it suggested. I couldn't tell anything for about 3-4 days and was a little worried. But then I started seeing a great effect! It's been a week and the crab brass IS DEAD!!!...without harming the other grass! I'm very pleased...a bit pricey, but so worth it! I'm going to use it again in the spring, then reseed later. Great purchase

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great

    By Rob on 08/03/2018

    Set Ortho hose end sprayer to 1 1/2 oz per gallon, two weeks crabgrass was dead, didn’t harm fescue, Bermuda, fescue, or Zoysiagrass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    The Truth !!

    By Mr. on 06/22/2020

    This product is the truth. I had crabgrass aggressively invading my Bermuda. I used XLR8 per the instructions with a surfactant and blue dye. In 3 days the crabgrass was dying. 1 month later and it is completely dead and shriveled.No harm at all to my Bermuda. The key is to be patient and you won’t be disappointed. Ordering was super easy and shipped fast. Will definitely use this product and website again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Ron on 08/17/2011

    Straight Quinclorac. Just the ticket for crabgrass control (after the 2nd or 3rd tiller growth. Used at the proper time it is Very effective. Worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome!

    By Frank on 08/26/2012

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is incredible! I read the instructions and online tips from DMOPC.com staff, mixed it with DyneAmic surfactant and within 3 days I had brown spots all over the yard. It killed all the crabgrass (even that which was well established) and did no harm to my grass. I am extremely pleased with this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Did Not Work

    By Debra on 09/06/2012

    Verified Purchase

    Unless my husband or I missed something here, this did not kill our crab grass. I am totally not happy that we spent $87 bucks on something. We have buffalo grass and bermuda. At least it didn't kill anything (meaning our other grass.) We will have to find an alternative or dig out the grab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not as Expected

    By Brad on 09/12/2012

    Verified Purchase

    I thought I had finally found the ative crabgrass killer. In some ways I did. It does kill crabgrass that is cut really low prior to the application. On other areeas, where I mow on a 3.5 to 4 setting, it does nothing at all. I used the surfactant as well, and it is just not what I was hoping for when I ordered.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Drought

    By Rathman on 08/24/2015

    Drive does work but not in drought...mixed 1.5 drive per gallon an .05 non ionic surfactant...i also did run sprinklers night before. They yellowed out then came right back...didnt rain for 2 days had irrigation turned off also turned back on in 3 days. Then did 2nd app...same yellowed came back...an 2nd time ground had perfect moisture two intake chem...unhappy.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear the Drive was unable to perform due to drought! Unfortunately the stress of drought causes the plants not to be able to properly take up liquid which does indeed mean that herbicides cannot perform as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does Not Work.

    By L on 08/26/2015

    After 2 applications in 3 weeks, this product has failed to produce any results. Not only does it not show any signs of beginning to kill it, the crabgrass seems to be flourishing now more than before. Another waste of money in the ever futile attempt to rid my yard of crabgrass. What would I liked to have known before I purchased this product? A money-back guarantee.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you did not receive the expected results from using Drive. Drive is known as one of the best crabgrass herbicides in on the market and is used daily by professional lawn care companies. There can be certain stressors such as high heat, drought and moving that can cause treatment failure. One of our customer service team members will be in touch with you today to help trouble shoot the treatment and assist in any way possible. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Buffalo grass management tool

    By Paul on 09/15/2015

    Received product quickly. I have been working / struggling over my buffalo grass patch for three years now but refuse to give up. Drive XLR8 gave me the upper hand, now I am on top. Buffalo is highly tolerant of this product and it performs well on weedy grasses. I have not identified some of these weed grasses but Drive knocked them out along with Korean and japanese clovers. Curious though, some clover patches died quickly and others require 2-4D, and they look like the same plant. Maybe Jap. and Kor. clovers respond differently. I can't tell them apart. Drive nails foxtail grasses quickly. It's now one of my most valuable prairie management tools for buffalo. Can't wait until next year to finally see my pristine buffalo patch.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8

    By Jim on 05/01/2017

    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is unbelievable. I have 2 acres of grass. I have battled weeds and crab grass for years. I picked up a 30 gallon sprayer I tow with my lawn tractor. I used Drive XLR8 last year. It killed all the crabgrass and weeds. This year I only had 2 dandy lions..my neighborhood was covered. I did not spray yet this year. Is this a pre-emergent?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are happy to hear that this product worked well for you. However this is a post emergent so it will only work on what you already have. If you are looking for a pre-emergent too, while Drive is not a pre-emergent, you will often see a reduction in weeds because you eliminated them in the last season and it takes time for them to build back up in some case. In the future you may want to put down http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/dimension-2ew-herbicide-p-1494.html or http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/prodiamine-65-wdg-generic-barricade-p-2495.html.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Appears to be working

    By Francis on 05/17/2017

    I have applied this to the torpedo grass that has invaded my yard and the torpedo grass is turning yellow. Does NOT appear to be damaging the original Bermuda grass. Too early to know if it will be a total kill on the torpedo grass but am hopeful. Check back in a month.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 328 reviews)