Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(396 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
On Sale!
$59.98
Was: $78.95

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 396 reviews)
Sort:
  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer?

    By Gregg on 05/07/2013

    Verified Purchase

    One week out.....XLR8 seemed to somewhat retard crabgrass growth, but sure did not kill crabgrass. Worked fairly well on some leafy weeds. I think Trimec-Plus does a much better job at half the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Truley Works ( XLR8)

    By Jim on 07/13/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Hi All Drive XLR8 is by far the very best crabgrass herbicide that I have ever used. Killed the crabgrass with in a week and continued killing new sproutings for a n additional two weeks. I would recommend it to every one every where there is a crabgrass problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Greg on 07/21/2014

    This product works like advertised. It kills crabgrass of all sizes and quantity, and nothing else. It didn't hurt my lawn and didn't even kill any other weeds. The crabgrass was dying within 2 days. I had to spray for those weeds separately as I didn't combine the Drive with anything else other than a surfactant because I wanted to see just what it would do. If I ever have to use Drive again, I would combine it with something like Crossbow. This stuff works when used as directed. It is a little pricey, but if you want to rid your lawn of crabgrass, this is the product to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Does not work.

    By Joe on 09/26/2014

    Verified Purchase

    Product does not work fon the small leaf ground ivy my grass is infested with and wild straberry. Followed instructions in detail.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    XLR8

    By Gjroman on 10/08/2014

    The fall application appears to have killed the crabgrass which was my intent. Spring will indicate if it was a job well done. Why can't the spec simply say how many oz. of product to use per gallon of H2O for various applications?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    When applying herbicides, it is most important to apply to correct amount of product per area for the best results. Because your water is only a carrier, how much water is needed to accurately distribute the herbicide will vary greatly depending on the type of equipment, density of vegetation, and moisture content in the soil. We recommend calibrating your equipment with water first to determine what mixture works best for your application and with your equipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Dean on 08/13/2015

    Worked great, very selective in killing very obtrusive widespread crabgrass. Turns red in a few days, dies within a week.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Finally something that works on crabgrass

    By Dan on 08/14/2015

    Finally something that actually kills crabgrass in one application without damaging fescue lawn grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Use with caution...

    By Brian on 08/21/2015

    I very carefully applied Drive XLR8 mixed with DyneAmic surfactant directly onto late-emergent crabgrass. It killed all of the crabcrass but it also turned my tiff bermuda yellow-green in the treated areas. There were yellow-green spots all over my lawn. After first mowing, things are starting to look a little better. So, the product works but you must be careful when spot-treating. Next time, I will increase the dilution.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Effectiveness

    By Charles on 08/27/2015

    The product does exactly what it says it will do. I have a continuing problem getting rid of Goosegrass in my tall fescue turf. I wanted to make sure that the turf wouldn't be affected when spraying the Goosegrass. The Drive works great and leave my tall fescue untouched. A nice product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Good grab grass killer in the right concentration

    By Mark on 08/27/2015

    I bought some of this to try as I have an area of my yard that is tough on regular grass to survive as the soil is poor quality, so over time crab grass has filled in and taken over. I tested this in a spot sprayer first to make sure it worked as indicated. My results are as follows, yours may vary. I first mixed and sprayed exactly as directed and found it burned the crab grass but over 3 weeks did not knock it out. I increased the concentration of the mix by about 15% and tried again. Magic, it wiped out my test patterns in days so I applied to the entire yard. It completely eradicated the crab grass and left the rest of my yard and grass untouched and green. Now I believe this stuff was advertised to kill some other broad leave plants but do to me already spraying my yard in the spring the only other weed still lingering in some areas was clover, I find this weed one of the hardest to knock out. Anyhow this spray did nothing to clover, did not even phase it. But if you are looking for something to kill grab grass and you experiment a bit and find the right concentration to water ratio for your yard it will definitely knock out crab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By Johnny on 08/28/2015

    Product works great. Be careful to not mix too strong as it will retard growth of Bermuda grass. So glad to find a product that works on crab grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    No More Crabgrass!!!

    By Scottie on 08/29/2015

    I sprayed my one acre yard, that was severely infested with crabgrass, white clover and chickweed, with Drive XLR8 herbicide. I used 1/2 gallon to a 15 gallon sprayer and mixed in some surfactant to insure a the product would work as described. It took two 15 gallon sprayers full to do the job. Within a couple of days the crabgrass was showing extreme stress. Within a one to two week period all of my crabgrass was completely dead. The broad leaf weeds were dead within 48 hours. The chickweed and white clover took about a one to two week period to die. But, they're all officially dead. Nothing but the fine fescue turf grass left. So, this stuff really works well!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Robert on 08/31/2015

    Due to the extremely wet spring and early summer we had here, my regular pre-emergent was rendered ineffective. Crabgrass took over my entire yard. I applied "Drive XLR8 Crabgrass Killer" as directed on one acre of my property. Within 3 days the crabgrass and many other weeds yellowed and within a week the plants shriveled enough to allow my fescue to come thru and start to re establish my lawn. I was extremely pleased with the performance of the product. This product requires a surfactant to be applied with it and I strongly recommend using it as directed. I purchased a seed oil product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Use with methylated seed oil

    By Matthew on 09/09/2015

    This stuff worked very well. I live in Virginia and I had several patches of well-established crab grass infesting my fescue lawn. Using this with the MSO as recommended on the label worked very well, noticeable change in 72 hrs, brown dead crabgrass in 1 week! Controlled other weeds as well. Worth the cost. Plan on using this and alternating with Tenacity (mesotrione) for weed control throughout the season.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    I'm pretty disappointed so far.

    By Herbicide on 09/10/2015

    I haven't seen any results so far. I kinda feel like I wasted $75.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Please note that it can take 2-3 weeks before you see full results. It is also essential that you use Drive XLR8 with a surfactant for the best results. Please let us know if we can help you trouble shoot the application. We can be reached at 866-581-7378

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works Great !!

    By David on 09/23/2015

    Kills only what you want Killed not your whole lawn

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Potent Cocktail

    By Ken on 05/23/2016

    Posted same review on another product.Used DyneAmic with Drive XLR8 and Certainty on newly seeded Princess 77 yard 100' x 80'. After 3 weeks, Princess and Quackweed started to emerge. Used landscaper who infected my front yard with this crap. Several areas of crabgrass also noticed. The above cocktail, properly mixed per instruction, killed the crabgrass within 4 days, and the quackgrass, one week out is now a bright yellow. Will be applying a second mixture to the quckgrass in another week just for the overkill. Princess grass still smiling.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    good mistake

    By Paul on 07/10/2016

    I bought a hand sprayer that attaches to garden hose. I set the selector on the hand spray wrong. Did not set # to arrow on sprayer. Crabgrass started to die in 3 days. I used a lot more Drive XLR8. Next used a pull behind sprayer attached to mower at the correct speed and oz per acre not good. If you don't spray early in season you might want to add more. Beautiful front yard now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Great!

    By Mike on 08/05/2016

    I have not found anything that works better than this product. I mix 1-1/2 oz per gallon of water (6 oz per 4 gallon back pack sprayer) and just spot treat. Takes about 2-3 days before you see yellowing. I spray the crabgrass when it's a little longer and wait at least three days before I mow or water. Also helps if the grass is getting good water before you apply. Doesn't work as well when the grass is so dry/brown. Crabgrass comes in stages so multiple spot treatments work the best for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Goodbye crab grass!!!

    By Charles on 08/12/2016

    Verified Purchase

    Tried Quinkill (small container) in the fall last year to experiment. Not great results, but also realize conditions for application just couldn't be met. Took the plunge and bought this (little pricey as well), and applied it exactly as label indicates for spot application in KY Bluegrass. Worked great! Chlorosis in about 2-3 days and Necrosis in about a week. Applied Thursday and Mowed Saturday. Applied in mid 80-low 90 temps. Normal irrigation up to application and then No water for 2 days afterward. Between this and speedzone, I have a 95% weed free lawn now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best I've found for mature crabgrass

    By Dave on 08/13/2016

    Better than any herbicide you can purchase at a box store. I've been fighting crabgrass for years and have tried numerous products. Pre-emergent never seem to last through the growing season and other products are not very effective on mature plants and require several applications. Noticeable results in three days and after a week I would say it is a 99% kill rate. I have 4.5 acres and only applied with 2 different boom sprayers. I properly calibrated my sprayers and mixed Drive per the manufactures recommendations. A little pricey but money well spent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    works as advertised

    By Todd on 08/24/2016

    worked great on big patches of crab grass in my lawn killed the crabgrass in about 4-5 days and did not yellow the good grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This stuff works, period.

    By Mike on 08/27/2016

    I followed the directions closely & used a surfactant. I made sure we had some rain first & I didn't mow. I applied it, and then we had some more rain in the days following. Within a week, the crabgrass was brown & crispy. It even rained very lightly within 12 hours of applying it & it still worked great (the label says wait at least 24 hrs. before watering). I would highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Murders crabgrass!

    By Daniel on 08/27/2016

    I had a huge crabgrass outbreak and this product was incredibly effective in killing it off quickly. Most of my crabgrass was 5+ tiller. I used a pump sprayer and spot sprayed my whole yard. Only spots of my mixed lawn with fine fescue showed some yellowing. The bluegrass tall fescue and ryegrass was completely unaffected by the herbicide. Exactly what I expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    K.O. for crabgrass!

    By Jarrod on 08/28/2016

    Works excellent. I mixed it with methylated seed oil to cut through the wax coating and had great results. Couldn't get one gallon of mixed product to cover a 1000 sq ft though - more like 500. Targeted just the crabgrass, nothing else - just what I needed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 and Dyneamic

    By Joe on 09/06/2016

    I used Drive XLR8 and the recommended Dyneamic spreader for crabgrass in Bermuda turf, worked great with no damage to the Bermuda turf.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Quick, Fast, and a great product

    By Chris on 09/16/2016

    All the information I needed could be found through the Q and A. I made sure to use a surfactant. This nailed the crab grass. It got the clover in my yard as well but it took a while longer to see the effects kick in on it. Just what I was looking for

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    THIS STUFF WORKS!

    By Dean on 10/04/2016

    Although I've seen some negative reviews of this product, I have to think the people that made the comments didn't follow the directions or it was not crabgrass they were trying to kill. Be sure and use a surfactant with it. Great service from DoMyOwnPestCntrol.com, too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    yes it works

    By Fyrcapn on 10/07/2016

    I use this with a surfactant. it is expensive but you only use 1.5 oz per gal. The draw back is if you wait (like I did ) till sept or so, the crab grass really takes hold and spreads (south Carolina) so you end up with large dead patches. Its amazing how that stuff spreads. I know the grass will fill back in again. I used amine 400 with it and did not have any bad grass damage. war on weeds and war on crabgrass, it never ends. next year --pre-emergent then touch up with drive earlier than sept.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    yes it works

    By Fyrcapn on 10/07/2016

    I use this with a surfactant. it is expensive but you only use 1.5 oz per gal. The draw back is if you wait (like I did ) till sept or so, the crab grass really takes hold and spreads (south Carolina) so you end up with large dead patches. Its amazing how that stuff spreads. I know the grass will fill back in again. I used amine 400 with it and did not have any bad grass damage. war on weeds and war on crabgrass, it never ends. next year --pre-emergent then touch up with drive earlier than sept.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 396 reviews)