Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   138
4 stars   19
3 stars   6
2 stars   6
1 star   24

Average Customer Rating

4.2 of 5 stars
(193 customer reviews)
Talstar XTRA Granular Insecticide
$52.98

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 193 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    This Really Works!

    By S on 05/06/2016

    I was somewhat skeptical about ever finding a granular insecticide that worked as well as diazinon did. But I gave this a shot based on the reviews. To my surprise it exceeded my expectations and within a few days I started seeing exceptional results. I can say I will be a regular5 customer with this product from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Andy on 06/15/2016

    Highly recommend. Used for mole crickets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Does the job

    By Brandon4791 on 09/21/2016

    A couple years ago, we had a house built on some land that had been cow pasture for at least the past two hundred years. A few days after they sodded the yard, thousands of little ant hills sprouted up everywhere like the stars in the sky. The little guys were brazen in their attempt to enter the house as well. My better half and I felt overwhelmed and we called Terminix. A very kind associate came over and diligently applied Delta Dust all over the house and Delta G in the yard and charged us over $200. It was like shooting a BB gun at a freight train. Didn't make a difference at all. So I came to this website, did "Shop by Pest" applied the Talstar and two days later the anthills were gone. This stuff is easy to apply, not expensive, and gets the job done!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Fire ant control

    By Francis on 01/07/2017

    I have fire ants and had difficulty finding something to control them. Talstar XTRA works better than any other product I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra Granules

    By Terry on 05/03/2017

    I have been using this product and they are great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    I hate mole crickets

    By Bernie on 05/22/2017

    I'm not sure there is anything on the planet that can kill mole crickets, but this comes about the closest I have found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best Product!

    By Mari on 04/29/2018

    This stuff did not just relocate ant piles to other areas of the yard, but actually got rid of them. Lasted over 4 months and just now occasionally seeing ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent Mole Cricket Control

    By Anonymous on 08/02/2013

    Verified Purchase

    This product works exactly as it says it will work. Outstanding results!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Anonymous on 08/15/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Best product ever to rid dog kennel of fleas and ticks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Telstar granules

    By Don on 05/12/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Product was delivered very quickly and in good condition. Local pest control company said they use this very product with good insect control. But the price here was a fraction of having the local company come out. I used a hand held grass seeder to distribute the product around the perimeter of my house just two weeks ago. I suppose that is a little early to strongly endorse the product, but so far it seems to be doing the job. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Ron on 08/28/2015

    Amazing product say good bye to fire ants forever. I will definitely reorder.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar

    By Patrick on 09/15/2015

    Kills pest and ants as stated

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great product

    By Whitney on 03/15/2016

    I put this down because it kept the grubs away. I missed two seasons and was plaqued by moles, rabbits and groundhogs. It just rained so I know it will work quickly. Now to till the soil and broadcast spread a second bag just to be sure. Every product I have purchased over the past 7 years has never failed me since becoming a homeowner. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Be sure to water in if no rain

    By Gary on 07/12/2016

    Had rain in forecast so delayed watering in. Got good kill on sod webworm moths, but the eggs they had already released, hatched and had some lawn damage. Dry areas most severely infested. Watered lawn, has shut down the worm damage and spot treated infested areas.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    great

    By Joe on 07/14/2016

    Put this down to get rid of carpenter ants. Works great in combination with Taurus. Liked the granules for the ease of spreading on lawn vs spraying.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    It seems working pretty well

    By J. on 07/19/2016

    I'm used to mowing the lawn high, and the liquid one doesn't get to the root easily. So I changed to use this granual one the first time. Observed quite many June bugs dead in under the grass. Not sure how long it will last. Time will tell. It is pretty expensive though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra beats Bayer product for control of sod webworms

    By Woodshoe41 on 09/06/2016

    Used the big box Bayer product for several years, had to repeatedly apply granules and supplement with spraying to get some control. One Talstar Xtra application of 2#/1000 sq ft has given 2 months total control (to date). Also no mosquitoes in our very wet summer in Houston, related or not, it's all good. Have converted 3 neighbors to Talstar past 2 years. Have enough to make second application if necessary in our wet-hot climate.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Ronnie

    By Ronnie on 03/31/2017

    waste of money, did not kill the first aunt.... and I bought the big bag!! spend the money and get the Extinguish it will works

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you did not get the expected results from using the Talstar XTRA. For the best results using Talstar XTRA Granules to treat fire ants, we would recommend doing both a broadcast treatment and following the product label for drenching any existing mounds. Be sure to always water in the granules after spreading them. Using baits is the other way to treat for fire ants, just be sure that the ants are actively foraging before placing out baits. Please let us know if we can further assist you. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Works fairly well

    By Adam on 06/22/2017

    For general lawn ants like Cornfield ants, it does not work as fast as it claims. You really need to treat each and every mound, and there can be many, and then spread granules over the enitre lawn or the ants just move and invade the area not treated. You may have to do this 2 or 3 times to control them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Widows yard

    By Marc on 07/26/2017

    This product did not work. My neighbors husband passed this summer. She had many mole cricket tunnels. She wet her yard, I spread the Talstar out at a lower end density on the recommended amount. She reset her yard. 2 weeks later it's worse. Using soapy water I got 5 crickets in a 2 ft square! She needs help but appears Talstar not working.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best ever!

    By Pam on 11/10/2017

    I have purchased this product several times in the past couple of years and it is THE best to rid your yard of ants, fleas, tics, whatever. IT IS THE BEST!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Disappointing

    By Christopher on 05/29/2018

    I used Talstar Xtra on over 200 accounts this spring and have had a much higher callback rate than usual. I won't be using it again. You'll probably have much better results using a liquid like Temprid or Demand.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Controlled but did not eliminate

    By R on 08/31/2018

    Controlled fire ants but did not eliminate them. Liquid base talstar works better than granulated form for ants and chinch bugs in my area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    No longer works

    By Shelly on 03/02/2019

    I've used Talstar for 6 years on my Tampa FL lawn to eliminate mole crickets and chinch bugs. It worked great! Had so many compliments on my lawn. Last year it just seemed to stop working I applied it numerous times. Did the ingredients change?

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Granular

    By Taylor on 08/30/2019

    I have been using this product for almost 15 years. I spray the liquid in the spring and the fall and I used the granular two or three times during the summer about six weeks apart. I am in Texas and never, ever see an aunt or an ant hill in my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra granular insecticide

    By Thomas on 09/10/2019

    $340 worth of this stuff and it's done absolutely nothing. Used the same product 2 years ago and it was great did the same thing a week ago and it's done absolutely nothing. If you put it directly on the Mounds they just move a foot and come back up. Put it on the entire yard exactly the way you're supposed to. Really disappointed a lot of money for nothing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Keeps bugs away

    By Michael on 05/08/2020

    Use it monthly on my yard and keeps all bugs away especially scorpions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar XTRA Granules

    By Anonymous on 08/21/2013

    Verified Purchase

    So far, this product is kicking the bugs right out of my lawn. The grass is coming back as never before. The grass looks healthier and greener also. Do My Own Pest Control was a great help with getting my bug problems solved. The product, shipping, customer service,and price were unbeatable. Thank you so much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great!

    By Cody on 09/16/2013

    I live in Chandler Arizona and was having a problem with fire ants in my grass and rocks this year so I purchased this about a month ago and haven't seen any since. It states that the granules will last 4 months so I will update this review in another 3 if it doesn't last that long.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Talstar Xtra

    By Kevin on 09/08/2014

    I have bought The regular version of this before. It worked so well I bought the stronger version this time. I have used it on ants, roaches and grubs. I recommend this product. My only disappointment is that the bugs don't look any deader than they did with the standard strength stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Displaying 31 to 60 (of 193 reviews)